RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Industry Analysis

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Internet access to the lastest version of the federal government's coding system used for classification of companies.

REF HF1042.S72
Standard Industrial Classification Manual. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office. 1986. In order to facilitate the collection and presentation of statistical data on various industries, the federal government developed the SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) scheme, which is a 4-digit classification of all industries. Business Census statistics follow this scheme, as well as many commercial sources such as market guides and directories. Also available via the OSHA web site

TRADE AND PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS

QUICK REF
Encyclopedia of Associations. Detroit: Gale Research. Useful guide to national and international organizations, including trade, business and commercial; legal; governmental & public administration; educational; etc.

REF HD 2346.U5S65
Small Business Sourcebook . Detroit: Gale Research, 1998. Annotated guide to 17,000 listings of sources of information designed to facilitate the start-up, development and growth of specific small businesses. Includes trade association information as well as journals, directories, sources of supplies, and books.

GENERAL INDUSTRY OVERVIEWS

REF HG4519.S772
Analyst's Handbook, Composite per Share Data, by Industries. New York: Standard and Poor's Corporation. Contains figures for more than 100 industries. Covers earnings, dividends, sales, etc.

CMS/Film 5
Barron's : National Business & Financial Weekly. Chicopee, MA: Barrons. Weekly publication which often discusses outlook for an industry.

RESD/Film 154
Business Week . Greenwich: McGraw-Hill. "Industry Outlook" edition. Published every January. Gives outlook for top 24 industries in the United States.

REF HC102.E53 1994
Encyclopedia of American Industries . Detroit: Gale Research.Two volume set detailing comprehensive information on a wide range of industries based on the SIC codes. Within each industry section information on specific industry leaders in included. Data on sales; market share; volume of production and new product development are included for the leaders.

 REF HD2324.E53 1996
Encyclopedia of Global Industries. Detroit: Gale Research. Chronicles the history, development, and current status of 115 of the world's highest profile industries. Presented in SIC code order.

RESD/Film 155
Forbes. New York: B.C. Forbes & Sons Publishing. "Annual Report on American Industry." (Jan. 1st issue of each year). Ranks industries and their companies according to profitability (return on equity and total capital) and growth (sales and earnings per share) over the past five years. Gale's Business and Company Resource Center. Database includes company profiles, financial information histories, products and brands, and company/industry rankings. Searchable by company name, ticker symbol as well as keyword.

CMS/Film 713
Industry Week. Cleveland: Penton/IPC. Regularly has articles on industrial growth and outlook.

REF HD9724.M258
Manufacturing and Distribution USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics, & Leading Companies . Detroit: Gale Research. Presents comprehensive information on industrial activity over a span of 11 years in two volumes. Features data on industry performance and company participation for 459 manufacturing industries.


Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors & Executives via NetAdvantage. New York: Standard & Poor's . Web based access to the Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys.

 REF HD9981.4.S479
Service Industries USA : Industry Analysis, Statistics, & Leading Organizations . Detroit: Gale Research. Provides analytical data on the U.S. services sector combining statistics on establishments, employ- ment, revenues, ownership and occupations. Covers 2, 100 services grouped into 151 industries.

REF HC101.U54
U.S Industry & Trade Outlook. New York: McGraw-Hill. Formerly the U.S. Industrial Outlook. Industry-by-industry overview of the U.S. economy for hundreds of industries. Includes charts and graphs as well as narration.
 
 

STATISTICAL SOURCES

REF HC101.A13122
Business Statistics of the United States. Lanham, MD: Bernan Press. Presents data by major industry group based on the SIC codes.

 REF HC103.E26
Economic Indicators Handbook . Detroit: Gale, 1996. Wide range of statistical series commonly used for measuring the U.S. economy. Includes GNP; national income and production income; composite indexes of leading, lagging and coincident indicators; CPI; PPI to name a few. Historical numbers available for some series back to 1929.

 REF HF5415.2.M3348
Market Share Reporter . Detroit: Gale Research. Annual. Compilation of market share reports from articles and brokerage reports. Information is available by SIC code as well as company name.

 REF HA202.A35
Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office. Annual. Standard summary of statistics, this includes a selection of data from many publications, both government & private. Tables include citations to original source for further research capability.

 REF/PER HC101.A13
Survey of Current Business. Washington, DC: Bureau of Economic Analysis. A general source for up-to-date statistics on all aspects of the American economy. Historical statistics are compiled in Business Statistics (REF. HC 101.A13122). The Survey also includes many valuable articles (e.g. each July the national income and product accounts are outlined). Current issues are in the Reference collection.
 

BUSINESS CENSUS INFORMATION

County Business Patterns. Washington, DC: Department of Census. Provides annual employment and payrolls and total establishments by county and by industry. Also number of establishments by employment size. Excludes government employees. Self-employed, farm and domestic workers, etc. Based on SIC code scheme.

Economics Census Information. Provides statistics on wide range of U.S. industries including manufacturing, retail, service and wholesale. Covers employment, payroll, expenditures, and quantity value of materials consumed and products shipped. Published every 5 years.

FINANCIAL RATIOS

RESD HD2771.I52
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios. New York: Dun Bradstreet. Annual. Financial ratios for 800 lines of business based on the SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) codes. Includes private and publicly held firm information for all size ranges of corporations. Available in print only at the library's Circulation Desk. Use your RIT ID to borrow for in-library use.

RESD HF5681.B2R6
Annual Statement Studies. Philadelphia: Robert Morris Associates. Annual. Financial & operating ratios on nearly 30 lines of business: including manufacturers, wholesalers, retailers, services, and finance companies . Annotated bibliography of sources for financial to operating ratios in each issue. Available in print only at the library's Circulation Desk. Use your RIT ID to borrow for in-library use.

REF HC106.6.S74
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys via NetAdvantage. New York: Standard & Poor's Corporation. Twice per year. For each industry covered the survey provides sales, operating income, profit margin, depreciation, taxes, earnings, dividend yielded, book value, return on book value, working capital expenditures.

RESD HF5681.R25A4
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall. Annual. Financial and operating ratios for manufacturing industries. Available in print only at the library's Circulation Desk. Use your RIT ID to borrow for in-library use.


JOURNAL ACCESS


ABI/Inform. Comprehensive index of over 1,400 business related journals from 1970 to date.


Factiva. Financial information as well as articles on companies available via this web based service.


Lexis/Nexis. Database service providing access to over 700 business and news files including newspapers, magazines company and industry reports as well as legal and medical information."

INTERNET SOURCES

Selected web sites for Industry Information are found on the library's web page.


For more information contact:
Jennifer Freer
Business Reference Librarian
Business News and Resources
jlfwml@rit.edu
IM me at bizlibrarian