Interior Design Biography: Selected Resources
This guide lists sources for finding biographical and pictorial information about
interior designers and interior design firms. The titles cited here emphasize
twentieth-century designers, particularly contemporary practitioners. Information
about earlier periods can be found by consulting the library catalogs and periodical
resources described below. Sources are arranged by bibliographic type in a logical
searching sequence.
Biographical dictionaries and directories are the best places to begin research
on the life and work of an artist in any medium. The dictionary and directory
entries help the researcher formulate his or her search strategy by providing
basic biographical facts about the subject--dates, nationality, important commissions.
The titles described below also provide citations to other sources of information
about interior designers, listing specific books, periodical articles, and exhibition
catalogs that may be available in the RIT Library collection.
REF NK1165.E53 1997
Banham, Joanna. Encyclopedia of Interior Design.Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn
Publishers, 1997.
Provides description and entries for a broad range of subjects and individuals
related to the history of interior design. Inlcudes many 20th century designers.
Entries include a general discussion of the designers life and work, biographical
data, selected works, publications written by the designer as well as a bibliography
for further reading.
REF NK1370.B93 1994
Byars, Mel. The Design Encyclopedia. New York: John Wiley & Son,
1994.
Includes entries of individuals and firms "directly associated with the
production of the decorative and applied arts in the past 125 years."
International scope. Entries for individuals include basic biographical
information, list exhibitions and awards, provide brief description of work and
a bibliography of publications by and about the designer.
REF NA680.C625 1994
Contemporary Architects. 3rd ed. New York: St. James Press, 1994.
Covers 400 major contemporary architects and architectural firms, including those
active in related areas of design (interiors, furnishings). Brief biography, major
commissions and exhibitions, publications by and about, short personal statement,
critical assessment, and illustrations given in each entry.
On Order
Contemporary Designers. 3rd ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 1997.
Includes major contemporary interior designers among the over 600 entrants practicing
in all fields of design. Brief biography, exhibitions, publications by and about,
short personal statement, critical assessment, and illustrations given in each
entry.
REF NK1705.I58
Interni Guida. Milan: Elemond spa. Annual. Current edition
only.
General buyers guide for the Italian interior design and interior architecture
industry. Includes a section listing Italian interior designers and
architects and firms. Entries give basic contact information, arranged alphabetically by
names of firms and designers.
REF NK1705.I588 1991
Interior Designers in the United States of America. Melbourne: Images
Publishing Group, 1991.
Showcase of 50 American interior design and architecture firms. Entries
provide contact information, list principals, give a partial list of clients,
and illustrate the firm's recent projects. Many entries include a statement summarizing
the firm's design philosophy and give a brief history of the firm.
REF NK1390.P53 1990
Pile, John. Dictionary of 20th-Century Design. New York: Facts on File, 1990.
Though not restricted to biography, includes extensive coverage of individual designers
and design firms in all media. Brief, but informative entries, many illustrated.
REF NK1700.W46
Who's Who in Interior Design. Laguna Beach, CA: John L. Pellam.
Current edition only.
International scope, covering almost 3,400
practicing professional designers. Biographical data (dates, education), address and phone number, lists of awards,
memberships, professional affiliations, major projects, and publications (rather poor
citations) are given in each entry.
REF NK1175.D485 1984
Design. Oxford, Eng.: Clio, 1984.
Subject oriented annotated
bibliography on all aspects of design compiled from periodicals, books, and exhibition catalogs
published from 1972 to 1984. Names of individual designers and design firms are listed
in the subject index in the back of the volume.
REF NK1160.D5 1991
Designers International Index. 3 vols. London: Bowker-Saur, 1991.
Biographically oriented bibliography providing coverage of all aspects of design.
Entries are drawn from a core of approximately 100 periodicals dating from the early
1980s to the present supplemented by books, reference sources, and other periodicals
from the early 20th-century to date. Organized by artists' names with an index
by media.
Illustrated Surveys of Interior Design
Though not specifically biographical works, the titles listed here provide
substantial biographical information and illustrations of the work of interior
designers and design firms.
In process 2003
Abercrombie, Stanley. A Century of Interior Design 1900-2000: A Timetable
of the Design, the Designers, the Products and the Profession. New York:
Rizzoli International Publications, 2003.
REF NK1980.B73 1980
Brown, Erica. Interior Views: Design at its Best. New York: Viking, 1980.
Two-page essays about the lives and work of forty designers and design firm principals
active in the United States and Europe. Excellent color illustrations of typical work.
NK1980.B84 1991
Bullivant, Lucy. International Interior Design. New York: Abbeville, 1991.
Survey of 76 public interior design projects completed between 1988 and 1990, each
documented by a descriptive essay and excellent color photographs. Brief biographical
entries for architects and designerswhose work is included in the survey are given on
pages 246 to 249.
NK2115.8.D36 1989
Dampierre, Florence de. The Decorator. New York: Rizzoli, 1989.
Chatty biographical profiles of 48 contemporary interior designers (primarily
Americans). Excellent photos and basic directory information provided for all
designers included.
NK2004.H36 1992
Hampton, Mark. Legendary Decorators of the Twentieth Century. New York:
Doubleday, 1992.
Profiles of 22 major decorators present basic biographical information and an
analysis of the artist's style and contribution to the profession. Anecdotal
style, watercolor illustrations by the author.
NK1980.M38 2001
Massey, Anne. Interior Design of the 20th Century. London: Thames and
Hudson, 2001.
NK1710.P55 2000
Pile, John F. History of Interior Design. New York: John Wiley, 2000.
A major survey textbook on interior design examining 6,000 years of personal
and public space.
NK2004.S65 1987
Smith, C. Ray. Interior design in 20th-Century America: A History New
York: Harper and Row, 1987; and
NK1980.T37 1986 Smith, C. Ray, and Alan Tate. Interior Design in the 20th
Century. New York: Harper & Row, 1986.
Both titles are general histories of interior design with profiles of major
designers which include basic biographical information, descriptions and critical
assessments of their influence on the field. Fair illustrations, some in color,
bibliographies.
Library Catalog Subject Headings
Suggested subject searching strategies for "Einstein," the library catalog, for
monographs (books, exhibition catalogs) about a designer's work are given
below. Also check the catalog for books written by designers and extensively-illustrated books
and exhibition catalogs about their work using an author search strategy.
[Name of Architect, Designer, Firm]
[Building Type]
[Interior Type]
Interior Architecture
Interior Decoration
Interior Decorators
RIT Library maintains subscriptions to over forty architecture and interior design
periodicals (journals, magazines, bulletins, newsletters, annuals). Most of these
titles are covered by the indexing services listed in the first section below. These
services provide precise subject access to current periodical literature and are useful
for retrospective searching as well.
Consult the library catalog to determine the library's specific holdings of the
titles given here, to find older titles, and to identify the many general interest magazines
that regularly feature articles about interior design and designers.
Indexing/Abstracting and Database Services
Print issues of the titles listed here are found in the Index area on the
2nd floor.
Architectural Index. Vol. 1- , 1959- . Annual.
Print format back issues: INDEX NA1.A59. .
Covers nine professional architecture and interior design journals, five of which
are received at RIT Library. Suggested subject headings are:
[Name of Architect, Design, Firm] in "Artist or Designer" section
[Name of Country] (except the United States)
[Name of State] (United States only)
[Building Type]
[Interior Type]
Interior Design
Art Full-Text. Indexing 1984 -. Abstracts 1994 - . Monthly. Selected
Full-text beginning 1997 - .
Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases and Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/art/art.html
Print Issues: INDEX N1.A1A68. Vol. 32-38 1983/84-1989/1990.
Art Index Retrospective. Indexing 1929-1984. Citations and Abstracts.
Electronic format: RIT Library Web page: Databases and Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/artretro/artretro.html
Print Issues: INDEX N1.A1A68. Vol. 1-32. 1929-1983/84.
Suggested subject headings are:
[Name of Architect, Designer, Firm]
[Building Type] Interior Design
[Interior Type]
Interior Design
Interior Furnishings
Design and Applied Arts Index.
Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases, Catalogs and More via WilsonWeb
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/daai/daai.html
Print format back issues: INDEX NK1110.D47. Vol. 1-6, 1987-93. Semi-annual.
Covers seventeen architecture and interior design titles received at RIT Library.
Suggested subject headings are:
[Name of Architect, Designer, Firm]
[Building Type]: Architecture and Interior Design
[Interior Type]: Interior Design
Interior Design
Readers' Guide Full-Text
Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases and Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/omni/omni.html
Indexing 1982-. Abstracts 1984- . Full-Text, 1994- .Monthly.
Print Issues: INDEX AI3.R4 v.1-54 1900-1994.
Current Periodicals
The location of older and current issues of each title are given on the
first line of each entry below. Those marked "PER" are shelved in the bound
periodicals section on the second floor of the library. Those marked "Film"
are shelved in the Micro-VIA area on the second floor. Current issues are
located on the Current Magazine Shelves (CMS), 2nd floor or at the Reserve
Desk (RESD), 1st floor. RIT Library holdings and the indexing/abstracting
and database services that cover each title are listed following the citation.
PER NK1700.A24 / CMS
Abitare. Monthly. No. 97- , 1971- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text, Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER NA1.A563 / CMS
Architectural Design. Monthly. Vol. 43- , 1973- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text, Reader's Guide Full-Text.
PER NA1.A58 / CMS
Architectural Digest. Monthly. Vol. 26- , 1970- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text, Reader's Guide Full-Text.
PER NA1.A6 and Film 994 / CMS
Architectural Record. Monthly. Vol. 84- , 1938- .
Indexed by Architectural Index, Art Full-Text, Reader's Guide Full-Text.
PER NA1.A69 and Film 1082 / CMS
Architectural Review. Monthly. Vol. 127- ,1960- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text, Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER NA1.A326 / CMS
Architecture. Monthly. Vol. 59- , 1973- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text, Architectural Index/
PER NA680.A73 and Film 1078 / CMS
L'Architecture d'Aujourd'hui. Bi-monthly. No. 159- , 1971- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text.
PER NA4.A778 / CMS
L'Architettura. Monthly. Vol. 17- , 1971- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text
PER NA7100.B45 and Film 504 / CMS
Better Homes and Gardens. Monthly. Vol. 16- , 1937- .
Indexed by by Reader's Guide Full-Text.
PER NA1.B583 / CMS
Blueprint. Monthly. No. 87- , 1992- .
Indexed by Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER NK8.N6B66 / CMS
Bonytt. Monthly. Vol. 10- , 1950- . (Incomplete).
PER NA4.C3 / CMS
Casabella. Monthly. Vol. 37- , 1973- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text.
PER TA 175 .D38 and Film 754 / CMS
Design. Monthly. No. 290- , 1973- . (Incomplete).
Indexed by Art Full-Text, Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER NK1458.A1D432 / CMS
Design DK. Quarterly. Vol. 1- , 1995- .
Indexed by Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER N4.D6 / CMS
Domus. Monthly. No. 232- , 1949- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text, Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER TH 805.F55 / CMS
Fine Homebuilding. Bimonthly. No. 6- , 1982- .
PER NA1.F66 / CMS
Form. 8 issues/year. Vol. 52- , 1956- . (Incomplete).
Indexed by Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER E151.H5 and Film 973 / CMS
Historic Preservation. Bimonthly. Vol. 26- , 1974- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text.
PER NA1.P67 / CMS
Historic Preservation Forum. Quarterly. Vol. 1- , 1987- .
Current Year Only / CMS
Historic Preservation News. Monthly.
PER NA7100.H65 and Film 1087 / CMS
House Beautiful. Monthly. Vol. 62- , 1927- . (Incomplete).
Indexed by Reader's Guide Full-Text.
PER NK1700.D55 / CMS
Interior Design. Monthly. Vol. 25- , 1954- .
Indexed by Architectural Index, Art Full-Text, Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER TS1300.I67 / CMS
Interiors. Monthly. Vol. 110- , 1950- .
Indexed by Architectural Index, Art Full-Text, Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER NK1700.I65 / CMS
Interni. No. 447- , 1995- . Monthly.
Indexed by Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER NA6.J3 / CMS
Japan Architect. Monthly. Vol. 37- , 1962- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text.
.
PER NK1700.J68 / CMS
Journal of Interior Design Education and Research. Semi-annual. Vol.
5- , 1979- .
Film 95 / CMS
Journal of the American Planning Association. Quarterly. Vol. 38- ,
1972- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text.
PER NA1.A327 / CMS
Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians. Quarterly. Vol.
40- , 1981- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text.
PER TK1.L23 / CMS
Lighting Design & Application. Monthly. Vol. 13- , 1983- .
PER NA4.L68 / CMS
Lotus International. Quarterly. No. 1- , 1964/65- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text.
PER TS840.M2 / CMS
MD. Monthly. Vol. 12- , 1966- .
Indexed by Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER N6535.N5M47 / CMS
Metropolis. Monthly. Vol. 1- , 1981- .
Indexed by Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER NK 1160 .M66 / CMS
Modo. Monthly. No. 74- , 1984- .
Indexed by Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER TS171.A1T77 and Film 1678 / CMS
Ottagono. Quarterly. No. 1- , 1966- .
Indexed by Design and Applied Arts Index.
PER NA1.P7 and Film 954 / CMS
Progressive Architecture. Monthly. Vol. 26- , 1945- .
Indexed by Architectural Index, Art Full-Text.
PER NA12.R65 / CMS
RIBA Journal. Vol. 92- , 1985- . Monthly.
Indexed by Art Full-Text.
PER AP2.T6 / CMS
Town & Country. Monthly. Vol. 119- , 1966- .
Current Year Only / CMS
Visual Merchandising and Store Design. Monthly.
PER NA1.A1W5 / CMS
Werk, Bauen + [und] Wohnen. Monthly. Vol. 6- , 1951- .
Indexed by Art Full-Text.
Annuals
RARE NK1700.A242
Abitare Annual. No. 1- , 1986?- .
Milan: Editrice Segesta.
NK1980.I58
International Contract Design. Vol. 1-2, 1988-90.
New York: Abbeville Press.
RARE NC997.A1I48
International Design Yearbook. Vol. 1- , 1985- .
New York: Abbeville Press.
Maintained by Kari Horowicz.
|