RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Selected Sources: Intellectual Property

This is a guide to finding information on Intellectual Property (i.e., patents, trademarks and copyrights) in the collection at RIT Library. The guide provides a list of the latest books added to the collection, as well as a list of internet sites that you can search to find additional information on intellectual property. The book list is not exhaustive; to find further resources in the collection, use Einstein, the library catalog. The subject headings "patents", "intellectual property", "copyright" and so forth will be useful.

When searching the web use the same subject headings but please be sure to critically evaluate any web resources that you encounter.

Internet access
Twigg, Carol A. Who owns online courses and course materials?: intellectual property policies for a new learning environment. Troy, N.Y. : Centre for Academic Transformation, Rensselear Polytechnic Institute, c2000.

NetLibrary electronic book
Stim, Richard. Getting permission: how to license & clear copyrighted materials online & off. Berkeley, CA : Nolo.com, 2000

NetLibrary electronic book
Stim, Richard. Copyright law. Albany, N.Y. : West Legal Studies, c2000.

K1401 .L47 2001
Lessig, Lawrence. The future of ideas : the fate of the commons in a connected world. New York : Random House, c2001

Z325 .L84 2002
Loewenstein, Joseph. The author's due : printing and the prehistory of copyright. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2002

K1401 .M378 2003
Matsuura, Jeffrey. Managing intellectual assets in the digital age. Boston, MA : Artech House, 2003

REF KF2995 .F53 1996
Fishman, Stephen. The copyright handbook : how to protect and use written works. Berkeley : Nolo Press, c1996, 3rd ed.

HG4515 .F76 2002
Berman, Bruce M. From ideas to assets : investing wisely in intellectual property New York : Wiley, c2002

Z278 .D43 2001
Cope, Bill. Digital rights management and content development Altona, Vic. : Common Ground Publishing, 2001

ML3790 .S5 2000
Krasilovsky, M. William.This business of music : the definitive guide to the music industry New York : Billboard Books, c2000.

KF2995 .C74 2000
Crews, Kenneth D. Copyright essentials for librarians and educators. Chicago, IL : American Library Association, 2000.

KF2980 .A5 2001
Intellectual property : a guide for engineers : a project for the Committee on Issues Identification. American Society of Mechanical Engineers New York, N.Y. : ASME Press, 2001

KF3024.C6 F57 1998
Fishman, Stephen. Copyright your software. Berkeley, CA : Nolo Press, 1998. 2nd ed.

KF2995 .W48 1996
Wilson, Lee. The copyright guide : a friendly handbook for protecting and profiting from copyrights. New York : Allworth Press, c1996 .

KF2994 .L88 1997
Lutzker, Arnold P. Copyrights and trademarks for media professionals. Boston : Focal Press, c1997.

HF5415.153 .L48 2002
Levy, Richard C. The complete idiot's guide to cashing in on your inventions. Indianapolis, IN : Alpha, c2002

KF3030.1 .L58 2001
Litman, Jessica. Digital copyright : protecting intellectual property on the Internet ... Amherst, N.Y. : Prometheus Books, 2001

KF3114.8.E54 S83 1995
Successful patents and patenting for engineers and scientists. New York : IEEE Press, c1995 .

T333 .G53 2003
Gibbs, Andy. Essentials of patents. New York : Chichester : Wiley, 2002

T211 .J34 2002
Jaffe, Adam B. Patents, citations, and innovations : a window on the knowledge economy. Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2002

Z551 .A68 1998
Anderson, Judy. Plagiarism, copyright violation, and other thefts of intellectual property : an annotated bibliography with a lengthy introduction. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c1998.

Z653.7 .C377 1996
Carter, Mary E. Electronic highway robbery : an artist's guide to copyrights in the digital era. Berkeley, CA : Peachpit Press, c1996.

KF2980 .E44 1999
Elias, Stephen. Patent, copyright & trademark. Berkeley : Nolo Press, 1999, 3rd ed.

REF KF3133.C65 S76 1995
Stobbs, Gregory A. Software patents. New York : Wiley Law Publications, c1995.

REF T339 .C347 1995
Carr, Fred K. Patents handbook : a guide for inventors and researchers to searching patent documents and preparing and making an application. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c1995.

KF889.3 .Z6114 2002
Zoellick, Bill. CyberRegs : a business guide to Web property, privacy, and patents. Boston : Addison-Wesley, c2002

T339 .G67 1995
Gordon, Thomas T. Patent fundamentals for scientists and engineers. Boca Raton : CRC Lewis, 1995.

KF2979 .M37 2001
McSherry, Corynne. Who owns academic work? : battling for control of intellectual property. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2001

REF Z688.P36 W33 2002
Wherry, Timothy Lee. The librarian's guide to intellectual property in the digital age : copyrights, patents, and trademarks. Chicago : American Library Association, 2002

REF T339 .C347 1995
Carr, Fred K. Patents handbook : a guide for inventors and researchers to searching patent documents and preparing and making an application. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c1995.

REF T339 .B92 1999
Bryant, Joy L. Protecting your ideas : the inventor's guide to patents. San Diego : Academic Press, c1999.

Page maintained by: Science Librarian