RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Sign Language Interpretation-Print Resources

Check out the Sign Language(s) Dictionaries guide as well. An asterisk * indicates that the material is also available at ETRR, LBJ Building 60, Room 3355. Remember that we have the NTID Research Dept. composed of experts who have bibliographies on selected presentations and articles on the web site. The interpreting field has many different types of interpreting jobs (oral, cued speech, tactile, deaf, ASL, transliterating) in various settings (education, medical, mental health, conferences, legal, business, government, telephone, theatrical, tv, religious, vocational) and requires at least 2 years of study. In addition to hearing interpreters, we also have deaf interpreters.

Legal Interpretation

Theatrical Interpretation

Medical Interpretation

Journals and Web Sites

Oral Transmission

Interpreting Video Guide

Religious Interpretation

Einstein Library Catalog


Some interpreting-related vocabulary are defined from Solow, S.N. (1981). Sign language interpreting: A basic resource book. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf, Humphrey, A.H. (1999). Decisions? decisions! Practical guide for sign language professionals. Amarillo, TX: H & H Publishers or from Sign Media & Madonna University.

1. Interpretation-the re-expression in one language of a message originally delivered in another language in such a way that the interpretation is clear, unambiguous, and immediately comprehnesible so that the listener or viewer does not have to re-interpret mentally. The essense of interpretation is the presevation of meaning across two languages, communities, and cultures. (Sign Media & Madonna University).

2. Transliteration-the expression of one form (e.g. signed or spoken) of a message originally expressed in a different form (e.g. spoken or signed). In general, there is an attempt to retain the grammar and syntax of the original. (Sign Media & Madonna University).

3. Sign to Voice interpreting or "voice" interpreting-the process of transmitting ASL or gestured communication into spoken English for communication between deaf and hearing people. (Solow).

4. Sign to Voice transliterating or "voice" transliterating-the process of transmitting English-related or English oriented varieties of manual communication into spoken English for communication between deaf and hearing people. (Solow).

5. Oral Transmission-Transmission of auditory input into the visual mode of speechreading accompanied by facial expression and body language. (Solow).

6. Tactile Interpreting-Deaf-Blind individuals generally rely on tactile fingerspelling and signing, tactile typing or tracking (holding the wrists of the signer) or a combination. Sometimes use a Deaf interpreter and a hearing interpreter.(Solow).

7. Minimal Language Competency Interpreting-Persons who have inadequate education, lack of exposure to any language or for other reasons are not competent in any language. They use neither ASL nor English fluently. They may use "home signs".It is common to use props, gestures, pictures and a Deaf interpreter. The Deaf interpreter will interpret to the hearing interpreter what the minimal language deaf person is communicating. The hearing interpreter then interprets what the deaf intepreter is communicating. (Solow).

8. Fingerspelling-a way of manually representing words and sentences from a spoken language (that has a written form) by using separate handshapes for each letter of the alphabet in that spoken language. Also called dactylogy.(Sign Media & Madonna University).

9. Deaf Interpreter (DI)-an individual who is Deaf with training in interpretation. The DI interprets between the hearing ASL/English interpreter and the Deaf client(s), while the ASL/English interpreter interprets between the Di and the other non-deaf client. (Humphrey).

ENCYCLOPEDIAS OR REFERENCE WORKS-Use the following specialized reference books. These are good resources to use when starting to do research on a topic. Articles are written by experts in the field and have bibliographies for further reading. If you are not sure of a topic, browsing through these works will give you topic ideas.

Baker, C. & Jones, S.P. (Eds.). (1998). Encyclopedia of bilingualism and bilingual education. Philadelphia: Multilingual Matters. (In Reference area on the 1st floor REF LC3707 .E53 1998).
This encyclopedia is divided into three sections: individual bilingualism; bilingualism in society and bilingual education. It includes many pictures, graphs, maps and diagrams. The book concludes with a comprehensive bibliography on bilingualism. Part 1 focuses on Individual bilingualism- what is a bilingual?- bilingualism and the family- the everday use of bilinguals- bilingualism and thinking- measurement of bilingualism; Part 2 focuses on Bilingualism in society-bilingualism in communities- how many languages are there in the world? - languages in contact, the mapping of languages in the world, presentation of language maps-language change- language planning and evolution- bilingualism and culture-bilingualism and politics; Part 3 Bilingual education focuses on- the aims of bilingual education- weak forms of bilingual education- strong forms of bilingual education- bilingual education and the community- bilingual education in the United States- bilingual eduation for students with special needs- bilingual education for the deaf and hearing impaired- language awareness-multiculturalism in education- the bilingual classroom- factors affecting second languae acquistion- second language learning in the classroom.(from Multilingual Matters web site).

Marschark, M. & Spencer, P.E. (Eds). (2003). Oxford Handbook of deaf studies, language and education. New York: Oxford University Press. (4th floor, HV2380 .O88 2003).
The Handbook of Deaf Studies, Language, and Education is the definitive professional reference work in the field of deafness research. This volume covers all important aspects of deaf studies: language, social/psychological issues, neuropsychology, culture, technology, and education. Each chapter, written by an acknowledged authority in the field, contains a state-of-the-art review of an important aspect of research concerning individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing. The book also includes comprehensive bibliographies and a glossary. The editors are from the two primary institutions for research and post-secondary education of deaf individuals and were founding editors of OUPs Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education. The Handbook is intended for researchers, educators, educational administrators, service-providers such as audiologists, speech therapists, and school psychologists, as well as graduate students in the field of deaf studies. (from Amazon).

*Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. (2002). Membership directory. Silver Spring, Md. : RID Publications. (1st floor, REF HV2522.R423).
A popular quick-reference guide to RID members, leaders, and deafness-related organizations you can turn to whenever you need to reach the right person. The directory features a new layout and simplified format. New software now enables RID to publish more up-to-date information, more often - promising increased accuracy and reliability. (from RID web site).

*Van Cleve, J.(Ed.) (1987). Gallaudet encyclopedia of Deaf people and deafness. New York: McGraw-Hill.. (Reference and 4th floor- REF HV 2365.G35 1986).
Check out Vol. 2 "Interpreting" p. 89-96. Topics covered: Terminology, History of Interpreting, Images of the Interpreter, Ethics, Etiquette, Settings for Interpretation (Educational, Legal, Medical, Mental Health, Rehabilitation & Social Service, Business, Industry & Government, Performing Arts and Religious Settings), Special Communication Techniques, Marketplace and Working Conditions, Practical Considerations, and Summary.

BOOKS-Books are good places to get in-depth information and the historical background of an issue. They are not good places to find recent information. Check the bibliography (list of resources) at the end of most books to find other suggestions of where to find related articles and books. Most Deaf-related books are in the HV 2350 are on the 4th floor.You can find books about Deaf Culture in the Einstein Catalog. Note you can browse the entire catalog, the video catalog or the e-content catalog.

Do a Word Search using the entire catalog and try these keywords: interpret* AND deaf. The asterisk at the end of the word interpret* will give you variants of that word root such as interpreter, interpreting etc. Try the Subject Search may be found by using the following subject headings ( American Sign Language, Deaf - Means of Communication, Interpreters for the Deaf, Mainstreaming in Education, Manual Communication, Sign Language) to retrieve ALL records. Do not use the asterisk when you do a subject search.

If we do not have the book you want, be sure to check the "Connect NY" library catalog. If you still cannot locate the book, go to Interlibrary Loan Service and request the book. ILL service is fast and the book arrives within a few days Remember that we now have e-books via netLibrary and ebrary. If we have the title via netLibrary or ebrary, click on the title link to read the book on-line. Go to the E-Content Catalog via Einstein Catalog to search for ebooks and ejournals. They are the equivalent of print books and are up-to-date and recent.

GENERAL INTERPRETING RESOURCES


*Cartwright, B.E. (1999). Encounters with reality: 1,001 interpreter scenarios. Silver Spring, MD: RID Press. (ETRR only HV2402.C37 1999).
This unprecedented text provides over 1000 scenarios that will mirror the often unpredictable situations that interpreters face during the course of their careers. The text sheds light on the way interpreters must be mentally prepared for the unexpected. Includes ethical, cross-cultural, and communication challenging scenarios with sample responses from both Deaf consumers and experienced interpreters. (from RID web site).

*Cokely, D. (1992). Sign language interpreters and interpreting. Burtonsville, MD: Linstok Press.(4th floor, HV2402.S53 1992).
The subjective assessment of sign language interpreters / Michael Strong and Steven Fritsch Rudser -- An examination of some personal characteristics & abilities of sign language interpreters / Steven Fritsch Rudser and Michael Strong -- Linguistic analysis of change in interpreters language, 1973-1988 / Steven Fritsch Rudser -- The effects of lag time on interpreter errors / Dennis Cokely -- Determining register in Sign-to-English interpreting / Risa Shaw -- Interpreters' recognition of structure & meaning / Robert M. Ingram --Miscommunication in interpreted class-room interaction / Kristen Johnson.

*Cokely, D. (1992). Interpretation : A sociolinguistic model. Burtonsville, MD: Linstok Press. (4th floor, HV2474 .C64 1992).
This book describes factors that influence interpreters and their interpretation. Main focus of the book is on a model for interpretation between ASL and English. Chapter titles include: Interpretation-An Overview; Interpretation as Mediation; Quantitative Analsysi of Interpreter's Performance; Miscue Causes; and Implications/Applications.(from Sign Media web site).

*Decher, M. (Ed.). (1999). Our stories: The soul of sign language interpreting. Salem, OR : AGO Gifts and Publications. (4th floor, HV2402 .O97 1999).
Contains various stories from interpreters and is the first book of its kind to look at the people behind the profession, not the technical aspects.

*Fant, L.J. (1990). Silver threads: A personal look at the first twenty five years of the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. Silver Spring, MD: RID Publications.(4th floor, HV 2402.F268 1990).

*Fischer, T. (1995). Establishing a freelance interpretation business : Professional guidance for sign language interpreters. Hillsboro, OR. : Butte Publications, Inc. (4th floor, HV2402 .F47 1995).
This authoritative and comprehensive guide is a must for anyone planning to become a professional freelance sign language interpreter. Everything you need to know is here: the in's and out's of certification; legal, tax and liability insurance considerations; questions of ethics and attorney/client confidentiality. Includes firsthand, tried-and-true advice on organizing your business, marketing, scheduling and billing systems, as well as the practical use of team interpretation, audio-visual presentations and confidential case notes. Sample forms, a glossary and a resource list offer valuable practical assistance. Here's your guide to starting your business, increasing your training and experience, and assuring your success as a freelance interpreter. (from Butte Publications web site).

*Frishberg, N. (1990). Interpreting: An introduction. Silver Spring, MD: RID Publications. (4th floor HV2402.F758 1990).
This book sets the standard for texts in the interpreting field. Among a wealth of informative and timely chapters are overviews of the history of interpreting, working conditions, and research. Includes the RID Code of Ethics, nationwide state interpreter laws, and a complete bibliography of interpretation resources.(from RID web site).

*Harrington, F.J. (2001). Interpreting interpreting: Studies and reflections on sign language interpreting. Coleford, ENG: Douglas McLean. (4th floor HV2402.H377 2001).
This book demonstrates current thought and practice within the Sign Language interpreting profession and is an important reference for students and working interpreters alike. Two major sections focus on issues relating to the structure of the profession and underlying principles of service provision, and on interpreting practices within health care, education and the law. The principal focus is on interpreting as a social and linguistic process which fundamentally depends upon human relationships. Informed throughout by the perspectives of a range of deaf and hearing collaborators, the authors discuss material arising from extensive involvement in the delivery, management and analysis of interpreting services, and draw upon primary research experience. Topics cover the relationship between deaf people, interpreters and the stakeholders, the nature and regulation of 'good practice' and the roles of interpreters in many different situations.(from Forest Bookstore web site).

*Humphrey, J. H. (1995). So you want to be an interpreter? : An introduction to sign language interpreting. Amarillo, TX : H & H Publishers ; Salem, OR : distributed by Sign Enhancers, Inc. (4th floor, HV2402 .H86 1995).
Learn about the interpreting process, ethics, the job market, and more. Prepare for certification, use for independent study, or as a course textbook. Includes thought questions and practice activities.

*Humphrey, J.H. (1999). Decisions? decisions!: A practical guide for sign language professionals. Amarillo, TX: H & H Publications. (4th floor, HV2402.H85 1999).
This text offers you a comprehensive guide to professionalism, critical thinking, and ethical decision-making. A fun and provocative read, it provides over 100 case studies, specific guidelines to direct professional decisions, and more.

*Metzger, M. (1999). Sign language interpreting: Deconstructing the myth of neutrality. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor HV 2402.M37 1999).
Demonstrates that the ideal of a sign language interpreter as a nonpartisan language conduit does not exist in reality, and offers evidence of this disparity by analyzing two videotaped ASL-English interpreted medical interviews. Looks at how interpreters influence discourse, expectations of participants and interpreters in discussions, and the ways in which interpreters affect exchanges, and addresses potential implications of these findings regarding language interpretation in medical, educational, and other contexts. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (Einstein Catalog)

*Mindess, A. (1999). Reading between the signs: Intercultural communciation for sign language interpreters. Yarmouth, ME: Intercultural Press. (4th floor, HV2402.M56 1999).
Designed to help sign language interpreters and anyone interested in Deaf culture, this book investigates the cultural differences present between the Deaf and hearing worlds. Mindness, a professional sign language interpreter, begins with a general discussion of intercultural communication, with specific examinations of American culture and Deaf culture, focusing especially on their dissimilarities. Later chapters provide techniques for cultural adjustments in interpreting situations, and explore the relationship of the interpreter to the Deaf community. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (Einstein Catalog)

*Moxham, T. (1996). How to use a sign language interpreter : A guide for businesses. Hillsboro, OR : Butte Publications. (4th floor, HV2402 .M688)
Everything you ever wanted to know about interpreters (but didn't know where to ask)! An essential resource for every business and the interpreters who work with them. This book demystifies the role of the sign language interpreter clearly and accurately, especially for the layman who needs interpreter services. Includes a history of interpreting, a description of interpreter services, some of the myths and misunderstandings about access, tips for securing and using interpreter services, plus excellent advice for businesses and a practical glossary. (from Butte Publications web site).

Patrie, C. (1997). An annotated bibliography on interpretation. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University. (4th floor HV 2402.P37 1997).

*Registry of Intepreters for the Deaf Inc. (1998). National testing system: Sample generalist written test questions. Silver Spring, MD: RID Publications. (ETRR only HV2402.R445 1998).

Seleskovitch, D. (1998). Interpreting for international conferences : Problems of language and communication. Washington, D.C. : Pen and Booth.(ETRR only P306 .S413 1998).
This introductory text gives an excellent overview for new students of interpretation, and serves as a terrific resource for professionals. (from RID Publishing web site).

*Solow, S.N. (1999). Sign language interpreting: A basic resource book. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (4th floor, HV2474.N48).
Topics include the role and behavior of interpreting, interpreter ethics, various sign systems, situation assessment, physical factors, information on the Deaf community itself, and certification. This is an invaluable book for interpreting students and teachers, support service professionals, and those looking to integrate deaf and hearing individuals in given situations. (from Sign Media web site).

*Stewart, D.A., Schein, J.D. & Cartwright, B.E. (1998). Sign language interpreting : Exploring its art and science. Boston : Allyn and Bacon. (4th floor, HV2474 .S68 1998).
Examines past and present models of sign language interpretation, and presents two new models that address both the cognitive factors involved in the process of interpreting and the interaction of participants and environmental factors. Offers a realistic view of interpreting from the perspective of all those involved, and illustrates how culture interacts with signed and spoken language to shape the accuracy of interpretation. Includes 50 scenarios for reflection on issues of ethics. Of interest to interpreters, program administrators, and related agencies. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (Einstein Catalog)

CONVENTIONS/CONFERENCES

*Association of Visual Language Interpreters of Canada. (2000). AVLIC 98 at the turn of the century: Research and practices in interpretation: Papers from the 12th Conference of the Association of Visual Language Interpreters of Canada. Edmonton, CA: AILVC. (ETRR only HV2402.A88 1998).
An extremely interesting read, the AVLIC ’88 conference papers written in the past, that still hold true today. Within the pages of this document, ‘The Final Frontier: How We Can Serve the Deaf Blind Community,’ by Liz Scully; ‘The Physiology of Interpreting,’ by Jina L. Radozychi; ‘A Short Odyssey in Search of Truth-or-How I learned to be Happy With ASL,’ by Lou Fant, just to name a few. This timeless resource is a must for your shelves.(from AVLIC web site).

*McIntire, M. (Ed.). (1985). Proceedings of the 9th RID National Convention, 1985 (Interpreting: The Art of Cross-Cultural Mediation). (4th floor, HV2402.R46 1985).
The collection of papers presented at the San Diego Convention, including presentations on Deaf humor, children of parents who are Deaf, black interpreters and black Deaf culture. (from RID Publications web site).

*Plant-Moeller, J. (Ed). (1992). Proceedings of the 12th RID National Convention, 1991 (Expanding Horizons). Silver Spring, MD: RID Publications. (HV2402 .R46 1991 ).
A collection of articles presented by professionals from around the world, including those from Canada, Norway, Sweden, and France. Mme. Danica Seleskovitch’s keynote address is included. (from RID Publications web site).

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. (1995). Proceedings of the 14th National Convention, 1995 (A Celebration of the Profession). Silver Spring, MD: RID Publications.
Topics include: Language Acquisition; Intercultural Communication; Educational Interpreting; Mentorship; Independent Study, and many others. (from RID Publications web site).

*Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. (1997). Celebrating the vision: RID in the 21st century: Proceedings of the 15th National Convention of the Registry of Intepreters for the Deaf, August 5-9, 1997, Long Beach, Ca. Silver Spring, MD: RID. (4th floor, HV2402.R46 1997).
Topics include: Finger Spelling Instruction, Interpreting in the Hospice Setting, Working with Silent Films, Independent Study techniques, Team Interpreting, Interpreting Needs of Culturally Diverse Communities, Educational Interpreter's Role in Teaching Consumerism, Register, and more. (from RID Publications web site).

*Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. (1999). Proceedings of the 16th National Convention of the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf: Honoring our past, creating our future together, August 2-7, 1999, Boston, MA. Silver Spring, MD: RID Publications. (4th floor, HV 2402.R46 1999).
Topics include: Organizational Cultural Change and Strategies, Interpreting in Jewish Settings, Program Accreditation, Implications of Vision Loss on the Interpreting Process, Practitioner-Research: One Community’s Experience, Scripture and Analysis and Interpretation, Do Deaf People Have a Disability, A Practical Approach to CulturalAdjustments, National Curriculum for Interpreters Working with Persons who are Deaf-Blind, The Role and Credentials of Deaf Teachers in Sign Language Interpreter Education, The Perceptions of Deafness and Language Learning of Incoming ASL Students, The Mutual Relevance of Ethnography and ASL/English Interpreting. (from RID Publications web site).

*Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. (2002). Proceedings of the 17th National RID Conference, 2001 (Tapestry of Our Worlds). Alexandria, VA: RID Publications. (4th floor, HV2402 .R46 2001).
An excellent collection of papers on topics ranging from educational interpreting to guided self-assessment. (from RID Publications web site).

DEAF BLIND INTERPRETING


Heubner, K. M. (Ed.). (1995). Hand in hand : Essentials of communication and orientation and mobility for your students who are deaf-blind. New York : AFB Press, (4th floor, HV1597.2 .H34 1995 v.1-2)

Mesch, J. (2001). Tactile sign language : Turn taking and question in signed conversations of deaf-blind people. Hamburg : Signum. (4th floor, HV1598 .M4713 1998).

EDUCATIONAL INTERPRETING

*Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. (2000). Educational interpreting: A collection of articles from VIEWS, 1996-2000. Silver Spring, MD: RID Publications. (4th floor HV 2402.E38 2000).
Article topics include: The Challenges of Educational Interpreting; Educational Interpreting: Raising the Standards; Ethics in Educational Interpreting; Guidelines For Inservicing Teachers; Issues With the Individuals With Disabilities Act (IDEA), and Much More! Also includes RID’s Standard Practice Paper on Educational Interpreting and
the Code of Ethics. (from RID Publishing web site).

Sanderson, G., Siple, L., and Lyons, B. (1999). Interpreting for postsecondary deaf students: A report of the National Task Force on quality of services in the postsecondary education of deaf and hard of hearing students. Retrieved 21 August 2002 from the Northeast Technical Assistance Center web site:
http://netac.rit.edu/publication/taskforce/interpreting/interpreting.html

*Seal, B.C. (1998). Best practices in educational interpreting. Boston: Allyn & Bacon. (4th floor, HV 2402.S43 1998).
Noting that the services provided by interpreters for the deaf and hard-of-hearing in educational settings are often inferior to those offered in other domains, such as medical or judicial settings, Seal (communication sciences and disorders, James Madison U.) cautions that education interpreting practices should always be held to the best possible standard. She describes ideal practices for specific grade levels from preschool through high school, and discusses issues related to personnel, administration, higher education, and research. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

INTERPRETING AND TRANSLITERATING


Borden, B.B. (1996). The art of interpreting ASL. Plymouth, MI: Hayden-McNeil. (4th floor HV2402.A78 1996).
Includes a CD-ROM and a video which support the exercises in the text.

*Kelly, J.E. (2001). Transliteration: Show me the English. Alexandria, VA: RID Press. (4th floor, HV2402.K45 2001).
This text provides a comprehensive overview of the task of transliterating, and its primary goal is to serve as a standardized curriculum for students currently enrolled in IPPs who have taken at least one semester of interpreting skills.

Patrie, C.J. (2000). English skills development. San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress. (4th floor, HV2402.E542 2000).
This set consists of a workbook, a teacher's guide and videos. Topics include: visual form and meaning, meaning and visual form, lexical substitution, paraphrasing propositions, paraphrasing discourse, main idea identification, and summarizing.(from DawnSignPress web site).

Patrie, C.J. (2000). Cognitive processing skills in English. San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress. (4th floor, HV2402.C6423 2000).
This set consists of a workbook, a teacher's guide and videos. Topics include: comprehension of source material, memory, acuity and discrimination, immediate repetition, delayed repetition, number repetition, word-level pattern inference, phrase-level pattern inference, and multitasking. (from DawnSignPress web site).

Patrie, C.J. (2001). Translating from English. San Diego, CA:DawnSignPress. (4th floor, HV2402.P382 2001).
This set consists of a workbook, a teacher's guide and videos. Offers a studied, careful way to learn about transferring information from one language to another.(from DawnSignPress web site).

*Taylor, M.M. (1993). Interpretation skills: English to American Sign Language. Edmonton: Interpreting Consolidated. (4th floor HV2402.T39 1993).
Most interpreters express interest in enhancing their skills. However, the criteria defining competence in the interpretation field are vague, and so improvement was hard to define and to achieve. Interpretation Skills: English to ASL by Marty Taylor, Ph.D., describes the skills that are key to strong interpretations in a readable fashion. It is the fruit of four years of research focused on isolating and defining over 50 skills needed in English to ASL interpretations. For each skill, the reader will find definitions and related errors. The skills are presented in a sequence starting with knowledge-lean skills that are used in making parts of an interpretation accurate and progressing toknowledge-rich skills which add eloquence to an interpretation as a whole. (from Interpreting Consolidated web site).

JOURNAL OF INTERPRETATION

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. (2002). Journal of interpretation. Alexandria, VA: RID Publications. (2nd floor, PER HV2497.P76).
Includes the following papers: International Sign: A Practitioner’s Perspective; An International Perspective: What Are Ethics For Sign Language Interpreters? A Comparative Study Among Different Codes of Ethics; Linguistic Coping Strategies of Interpreters: An Exploration; Interpreting for Foreign Language Courses: The Case of Spanish; Qualifications of Sign Language Interpreters in the Criminal Justice System; and Essential Education for Sign Language Interpreters in Pre-College Educational Settings.

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. (2001). Journal of interpretation: Millennial edition. Alexandria, VA: RID Publications.(2nd floor, PER HV2497.P76).
Includes the following papers: Interpreting Culturally Rich Realities: Research Implications for Successful Interpretation; Features of Voice-to-Sign Transliteration by Educational Interpreters; Knowledge of Deaf Community-Related Words, Symbols and Acronyms among Hearing People: Implications for the Production of an Equivalent Interpretation; Vicarious Emotional Trauma of Interpreters: A Clinical Psychologist’s Perspective, and Linguistic Incompetence to Stand Trial: A Unique Condition in Some Deaf Defendants. (from RID Publications web site).

*Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. (2000). Journal of interpretation. Alexandria, VA: RID Publications. ( 2nd floor, PER HV2497.P76).
Includes the following papers: American Sign Language Interpreters: Diversity in Progress; Honoring Our Past, Creating Our Future Together; Exploring Ethics: A Case for Revising the Code of Ethics; Transliteration: A Comparison of Consumer Needs and Transliterator Preparation and Practice; Transliteration: The Consumer’s Perspective; Sign (Language) Interpreting in Flanders, Belgium; and The Ten C’s of Effective Target Texts. (from RID Publications web site).

*Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (1999). Journal of interpretation. Silver Spring, MD: RID Publications. (2nd floor, PER HV2497.P76).
Psychophysiological Basis for Discomfort During Sign Language Interpreting; Sign Language Interpreters; Simultaneous Interpreting andMemory; Saving Face: The Interpreter and Politeness; A Comparative Analysis of a Direct Interpretation and an Intermediary Interpretation in ASL; A Study of the Demographics of Attendees at the 1997 RID Biennial Convention; The Professionalization of Community Interpreting. (from RID Publications web site).

*Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. (1997). Journal of interpretation. Silver Spring, MD: RID Publications.(2nd floor, PER HV2497.P76).
Includes papers on topics ranging from RID and NAD interpreters evaluations to working in teams.(from RID Publications web site).

*Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. (1993). Journal of interpretation. Silver Spring, MD: RID Publications.(2nd floor, PER HV2497.P76).
Includes articles on interpreting in New Zealand, cultural variability and the interpreter, role metaphors for interpreting, and team interpreting. (from RID Publications web site).

*Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. (1987). Journal of interpretation. Silver Spring, MD: RID Publications.(2nd floor, PER HV2497.P76).
Includes articles on Carpal Tunnel/ Overuse Syndrome, Third Culture and rebuttal, Interpreter Burnout, educational interpreting, sign language and the mentally retarded, professional standards, book reviews and the amended RID Bylaws. (from RID Publications web site).

*Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. (1986). Journal of interpretation. Silver Spring, MD: RID Publications.(2nd floor, PER HV2497.P76).
Includes a lively discussion/rebuttal of the U.S. Majority Culture, Code of Ethics, voice interpreting, and educational interpreting. (from RID Publications web site).

LEGAL INTERPRETING


Brennan, M. (1997). Equality before the law: Deaf people's access to justice. Durham, ENG: Deaf Studies Research Unit. (4th floor, KF8725.B746 1997).

*Caccamise, F. (1998). Signs for legal and social work terminology. Rochester, NY: Rochester Institute of Technology, NTID. (4th floor, HV2474 .C326 1998).

Costello, E. (2003). Random House Webster's American Sign Language legal dictionary. New York: Random House. (4th floor, K52.A6 C67 2003).

Foret, A.T. (1976). A manual and dictionary of legal terms for interpreters for the deaf. Detroit, MI.: Center for the Administration of Justice, Wayne State University Law School. (4th floor KF156.F65 1976).

MEDICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH INTERPRETING

Burke Video Company. (1996). Deaf patients : A communicative aid. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers. (4th floor, HV2474 .D425 1996).
An instructional guide for American Sign language interpreters in the medical field. The set includes illustrated text, video text, and an workbook to assist the interpreter in being better prepared on a medical interpreting assignment

*Costello, E. (2000). Random House Webster's American Sign Language medical dictionary. New York : Random House. (REF HV2475 .C663 2000).
This dictionary of medical signs, all of them clearly illustrated, carefully described, and -- unlike other ASL dictionaries -- are defined. This book contains over1,000 signs, including signs for illnesses, treatments, and drugs, as well as for human anatomy and psychology, described with step-by-step instructions for making the sign, and fully illustrated with full-torso drawings Such signs are clearly needed by the ever-increasing numbers of Americans for whom ASL is either their native language or the language they learn in order to communicate effectively with those who use it. (from Einstein Catalog ).

*Garcia, W.J. (1983). Medical sign language: Easily understood definitions of commonly used medical, dental, and first aid terms. Springfield, IL: Charles C. Thomas. (OVER 4th floor HV2475.G37 1982).
This book explains medical terms and shows how to translate the English words into ASL. Each entry lists the term, defines it, and places it in context. Detailed descriptions of the appropriate sign(s) follow, accompanied by clear line drawings of each sign. (from Info to Go)

*Woodward, J. (1980). Signs of drug use. Silver Spring, MD: T. J. Publishing. (4th floor, HV2475.W65)
This book provides more than 160 different signs related to drug and alcohol use. Signs are clearly illustrated and notes on the derivation of each sign are presented. Companion video from ETRR Video 5265. (from Info to Go)

ORAL TRANSMISSION

Gonzalez, K. (1988). Oral interpreting: Selections from papers by Kirsten Gonzalez. Washington, DC: AGB Association for the Deaf. (4th floor HV 2487.G66 1988).

*Northcott, W.H. (1984). Oral interpreting: Principles and practices. Baltimore: University Park Press.(ETRR only HV2402.072 1984).

*Witter-Merithew, A. & Siple, L. (1985). Curriculum guide for the instruction of oral interpreting. Washington, DC: AGB Association for the Deaf. (4th floor, HV2402.W57 1985).

RELIGIOUS INTERPRETING

Bar-Tzur, D. (1999). Resources for religious/spiritual interpreting. Retrieved August 2, 2002 from http://www.rit.edu/~dabdis/rlgn/rsorcs.html

*Caccamise, F. (1993). Technical signs 7: Manual seven: Religion/Catholic. Rochester, NY: Rochester Institute of Technology, NTID. (4th floor and 3rd floor Archives HV 2474.T43 1993 v. 7).

Costello, E. (1986). Religious signing: A comprehensive guide for all faiths. New York: Bantam Books. (4th floor, HV2475.C67 1986).
This guide includes vocabulary for effective communication in religious settings. More than 500 signs are included. The book contains a special section of favorite verses, prayers and blessings. A complete index and cross-references are also included.

King, T.A. (1998). Effective religious interpreters: Insights from a deaf perspective. Washington, DC: Kingme Publishing. (OVER 4th BV4463.K56 1998).

THEATRICAL INTERPRETING

*Caccamise, F. (1993). Technical Signs 8: Manual Eight: Theater. Rochester, NY: Rochester Institute of Technology, NTID. (4th floor and 3rd floor Archives HV 2474T43 1993 v. 8).

*Cassell, J. (1994). Folk Music Concert in ASL [videorecording]. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers. (45 mins.). Color/Signed/Voiced. (ETRR only VIDEO 6515 no.9).
Here's a front row seat at a concert by John McCutcheon with ASL interpreter, Jenna Cassell.

*Gebron, J. (2000). Sign the speech : An introduction to theatrical interpreting. Hillsboro, OR : Butte Publications. (4th floor, HV2508 .G42 2000).
This one-of-a-kind guide eases your way through the often confusing world of actors, directors and theater managers. Solid, practical advice on translating dialogue, the placement of interpreters, rehearsal and performance issues, the technical and artistic process, as well as theater etiquette and terminology. Great for the theater novice or the experienced theater interpreter! A comprehensive theater glossary and invaluable examples of contracts, note-taking and script-marking proves that this book is a must for anyone interested in the exciting world of theatrical interpretation. (from Butte Publications web site).

*Willow, M.G. (2000). Crossing that bridge : A guide to making literary events accessible to deaf & hard-of-hearing. Minneapolis, MN : SASE. (4th floor, HV2500 .W47 2000).
Leads arts administrators and literary event programmers through the process of making public readings accessible to deaf and hard-of-hearing audiences. Beyond showing how organizations can profitably comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act, this pioneering and much-needed guidebook illustrates how ASL interpretation opens new
channels of understanding, discovers unforeseen layers of artistic meaning, and facilitates communication among diverse communities. (from RID Publishing web site).


JOURNALS, PERIODICALS, MAGAZINES-These are good places to find recent information on a topic. Use the International Bibliography of Sign Language and/or NTID Deaf Index.Use the Gallaudet Index to Deaf Periodicals to help you find citations on your topic. The Gallaudet Index DOESN'T index recent information. Deaf Life Magazine is highly recommended and we keep back issues in bound format on the 2nd floor PER HV2350.D45. When you find a citation you like and want to locate the journal or magazine, use the Einstein Catalog to find the journal title and the location. It may be available in print on the 1st floor on the Current Magazine Shelves or at the Reserve Desk, in bound periodical format (Deaf Life magazine) on the 2nd floor, on microfilm/microfiche on the 2nd floor, and/or online via a full-text database. For citations on American Sign Language, try the online database Linguistics Abstracts for citations. Full-text articles may be found via ABI Inform, Academic Search Elite-ERIC , FirstSearch-MLA Bibliography and OMNI.

There is an ASL - Deaf Culture Journal Guide . The guide lists the web and database links for you for all journal titles. Some recommended periodicals are: Deaf Rochester News, Silent News, Deaf Life, Sign Language and Linguistics, Journal of Deaf Studies and Education (available on-line), American Annals of the Deaf (available on-line), Journal of Interpretation, Views, Sign Language Studies and there are more.There is also a Deaf and Special Education Journal Guide.

NEWSPAPERS-These are good places to look for current information or to get an overview of the day-to-day coverage of a particular issue. Try the ABI-PROQUEST or Academic Search Elite databasesl to get newspaper articles. WWW-Check out the Deaf Internet Resources. Click on ASL and Interpreting Resources to find good web links related to your topic. ASL University is a good resource and has topic suggestions. .

FACT SHEETS- We have quick reference short papers on various topics from Gallaudet University REF HV 2353.N375 and SHHH REF HV 2353.S53 in the reference area on the 1st floor. Check out Info to Go from Gallaudet University which has online "quick reference" sheets.



For more information contact:
Joan Naturale
Deaf, Disability and Education Librarian
Deafness News and Resources
jxnwml@rit.edu
IM me at ntidlibrarian
Videophone IP: 129.21.179.36 (D-Link)