International Marketing
STATISTICS
REF HA17.D45
Demographic Yearbook. New York: United Nations. Annual. Statistics
on population, natality, mortality, life expectancy, marriages,
divorces for almost 250 geographical entities, with special topic
tables giving county-by country population by age, sex, religion,
literacy, educational attainment, etc.
REF HF91.I653
Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook. Washington, D.C.: International
Monetary Fund. Annual. Presents detailed data on exports and imports of
155 countries. REF HG3881.I626
International Financial Statistics. Washington: International
Monetary Fund. Quarterly publication with statistical information for most
countries in the world. Covers statistics such as exchange rates; interest
rates; prices; government finance and national accounts.
REF HF91.U473
International Trade Statistics Yearbook. New York: United Nations.
Annual. Annual export and import statistics for 139 countries, with figures
for each country given by SITC commodity number concerning about four years.
Library Homepage/Electronic Resources
Internet Securities Emerging Markets. Boston: Internet Securities,
Inc. Access to news, company and financial data from more than 25 emerging
markets within Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe. Data is
compiled from local, in -country sources such as newspapers, statistial
bureaus, market research firms and stock exchanges. Information available
is in full text format.
REF HF91. U48
Price Waterhouse Guides . Doing Business in .... Tampa: Price
Waterhouse. Series of volumes covering individual countries that range
from Japan to Bahrain.
REF HA12.5.U63
Statistical Yearbook. New York: United Nations. Annual. Basic
reference work for statistics on all U.N. countries. The sections cover
population, manpower, agriculture, production, mining, manufacturing, construction,
energy, foreign trade, transport, communications, consumption, balance
of payments, wages and prices, national accounts, finance, housing, education,
and culture.
REF HF5410.W67
World Market Share Reporter: A Compilation of Reported World Market
Share Data and Rankings on Companies, Products, and Services. Detroit:
Gale Research. Biennial.
REGULATIONS/MARKET INFORMATION
REF HF3011.E9
Exporters' Encyclopedia. New York: Dun & Bradstreet.
Comprehensive world marketing reference guide in five sections. "Export
Markets" gives market information for specific countries. Other sections
contain general export information; export and shipping practices; reference
data; names of government agencies, trade associations, chambers of commerce,
overseas ports and trade centers.
REF HF3000.I57
International Trade Reporter. Washington, DC: Bureau of National
Affairs. Weekly. Includes full text of significant decisions on imports/exports
and related issues in international trade.
COUNTRY SPECIFIC RESOURCES
REF D410.A732 No. 1-58
Area Handbook Series. Washington: Library of Congress. Set of
58 volumes each devoted to a specific country.
REF HC175.A844
Argentina Business: The Portable Encyclopedia for Doing Business
with Argentina. California: World Trade Press, 1998. REF HC115.C1984
Canada Business: The Portable Encyclopedia for Doing Business
with Canada. California: World Trade Press, 1997.
REF HC340.12.E63
Emerging Market of Russia: Sourcebook for Investment and Trade.
New York: John Wiley & Sons, 1998.
REF HC435.2.I5327
India Handbook: Prospects onto the 21st Century.
Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997.
Library Homepage/Electronic Resources
Stat-USA (National Trade Data Bank) . Web based source of Reference
Area international trade statistics. Includes materials from U.S. government publications
and publishers, such as the Handbook of International Economic Statistics
published by the CIA.
BASIC INTERNATIONAL DIRECTORIES
REF HG 4538.A1 D5
Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1991. Lists over 3,250 companies in alphabetical
order giving name of officer in charge of foreign operation and countries
of operation as well as by geographical location, parent/subsidiary and
product or service information.
REF HG4057.A155
Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States .
New York: Simon & Schuster, 1998. The direct opposite of the above
listing.
REF HF3011.D635
Directory of United States Exporters. New York: Journal of Commerce,
1997.
REF HF3012.D533
Directory of United States Importers. New York: Journal of Commerce,
2000.
RESD HD2755.5.H668
Hoover's Handbook of World Business . Austin: Reference Press.
Annual. Profiles 165 corporations based in 61 different countries. Includes
overview of company, history, general company growth statistics, and key
competitors as well as one page country
overviews.
REF HD2721.I62
International Directory of Company Histories. Chicago: St. James
Press. Multiple volumes. Gives historical development of the world's largest
and most influential companies. Each has a minimum of $2 billion in annual
sales or are a leading influence in a particular industry or location.
Mergent Online
New York: The Source. Annual. Source of financial and business information
on over 3,000 major corporations in 100 countries. Includes company history,
description of business , financial statements, management, debt, capital,
and other key data.Searchable by sompany name, SIC/NAICS, and exchange. alson
includes overviews of specific countries.
REF HF3630.2.A48W47
Western Companies Interested in Doing Business in Russia. Washington:
Russian Info & Business Center, 1997.
REF HF54.U5W667
World Business Directory . Detroit: Gale Research. Annual. Directory
information for more than 140,000 companies in over 180 countries.
ABSTRACTS AND FULL TEXT ARTICLES
ABI/Inform .Comprehensive index of over 1,400 business related
journals from 1970 to date. Includes a 150 word abstract for each article
indexed. Approximately 50% of the journals are available in a full text
format directly on line.
Factiva. A full text database to over 3,000 publications
is available. Publications include national, regional and local newspapers and magazines such as Wall Street Journal,
New York Times, and Business Week.
Lexis/Nexis . Database service providing access to over 700
business and news files including newspapers, magazines company and industry
reports as well as legal and medical information.
INDEX A121.N45
New York Times Index. Also available via First Search; Lexis/Nexis
and Factiva.
INDEX HG1.W258
Wall Street Journal Index . Also available via First Search
and Factiva.
INTERNET SOURCES
Selected
International web sites. are good starting points for web
research. Individual connections may change without notice.
For More Information Contact:
Jennifer Freer
Library Liaison
E. Philip Saunders College of Business
Business News and Resources
jlfwml@rit.edu
IM me at bizlibrarian 
|