Sources for International Statistics
Library Databases
Country Watch Provides information and news on the individual
countries of the world.
Global Market Information Database
From Euromonitor this database provides hundreds of economic and social indicators. Historical and current data is available in an easy to download format in Excel, Word or PDF. Getting Started with GMID.
ISI Emerging Markets Coverage includes countries in Latin America, Eastern Europe, and Eastern and Southeastern Asia. Includes current information on events, companies and indutries as well as macroeconomic issues.
Contact Jennifer Freer for training on these databases.
Print General Statistics Resources
REF HA17.D45
Demographic Yearbook. Published by the United Nations. Includes
wide variety of tables by country. Information available for 299
countries or areas throughout the world.
REF HC10.H34
Handbook of Industrial Statistics. New York: United Nations.
Statistics intended to allow comparisons between countries and
their level of manufacturing activity. Information is available by country
as well as by type of manufacturing processes.
REF HA175 .M55 2003
International historical statistics : the Americas, 1750-2000.
New York: Palgrave.
REF HA4675 .M552 2003
International historical statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000. New York: Palgrave.
REF HA1107 .M5 2003
International historical statistics : Europe, 1750-2000. New York: Palgrave.
REF HF91.U473
International Trade Statistics Yearbook. New York: United Nations.
Annual. Two volumes. Trade statistics for over 150 individual countries
and and product. 5 years of data available in each publication.
REF HC10.O68
Main Economic Indicators. Paris: OECD. Monthly.
Statistics such as unemployemnt; interest rates; hourly earnings; gross
domestic product; exchangte rates; etc. for OECD member countries.
REF HC79.I5I507a
National Accounts Statistics . New York: United Nations. Annual.
Two volumes. Detailed national accounts for 170 countries & areas.
Covers a 10 year period.
Stat-USA
(National Trade Data Bank) . Washington: U.S. Department
of Commerce. Web based source of international trade statistics. Includes materials from
U.S. government publications and publishers, such as the Handbook of International
Economic Statistics published by the CIA.
REF HC10.O18
OECD Economic Outlook . Paris: Organisation for Economic Co-Operation
and Development. Each issue contains overall analysis of the latest economic
trends and short-term projections by specific country.
REF HA202.A35
Statistical Abstract of the United States . Washington: Governement
Printing Office. Annual. Includes some international statistics. Includes
original source at the end of each table for further research.
REF HC59.7.W659
World Development Report . New York: Oxford University Press.
Each covers a specific topic, i.e. Investing in Health 1993. Also included
in each issue are tables on basic economic indicators by country (GNP;
Life Expectancy; Adult Illiteracy; Income Distribution; Health & Nutrition).
REF HC10.W7979
World Economic Outlook. Washinton, DC: International
Monetary Fund. 2000. Country projections for approximately
50 of the largest world economies.
REF HC10.W827
World Resources . New York: Basic Books. Statistics and narration
on condition and trends in the world's natural resources and in the global
economy.
REF HD4826.I63
Yearbook of Labour Statistics . Geneva: International Babour
Office. Provides principal labour statistics for over 190 countries,
areas or territories. Most tables cover a ten year span.
Internet Sources
Selected web sites for International
Information are found on the library's web page.
For More Information Contact:
Jennifer Freer
Library Liaison
E. Philip Saunders College of Business
Business News and Resources
jlfwml@rit.edu
IM me at bizlibrarian 
|