How to Find Journal/Magazine Articles on Your Subject
Current print journals and magazines are located on the first floor
(CURRENT MAGAZINE SHELVES or RESERVE DESK). Microfilm, bound volumes
and some Print Index/Abstract volumes (MICROFILM, PER or INDEX)
are located on the second floor. Access to all electronic fulltext
materials including online journals and magazines can be found in
the E-Content Finder.
If RIT Library does not own the journal/magazine (it's not
in Einstein) or does not have access to it in an electronic database,
ask at the Reference Desk for help accessing IDS
EXPRESS. or place an online request. You can fill out this form to request a copy
of the article from another library. Most articles can be delivered
quickly but you may have to allow 10 days for obtaining hard to
find material.
JOURNAL: A term used to identify a publication containing
scholarly articles based on theory or based on research conducted
by scientific methodology. Articles are written by scholars and
practitioners in the field. They are refereed by an editorial committee
of peers before being accepted for publication. Articles contain
footnotes, charts and graphs, as needed, and end with a bibliography
of sources. Journals are often published by a university press or
are sponsored by a professional organization.
MAGAZINE: A term used to describe publications intended
for the general public or a particular interest group. Most articles
are written by professional journalists, not scholars. The category
covers a broad range: from scandal sheets to respected news reporting,
from hobby groups to newsletters of professional organizations intended
to keep practitioners aware of new developments.
ABSTRACTS: Used to locate articles on your subject in journals
and magazines. Lists article information (citations) under subject
terms. Abstracts give a summary of the contents of the article as
well as its citation. In print versions abstract entries are arranged
in subject groupings and identified by consecutive numbers. A subject
index or keyword index will usually identify the abstract entry
numbers.
INDEXES: Used to locate articles on your subject in journals
and magazines. Lists article information (citations) under subject
terms. Contains only the information shown below:
PRINT INDEX CITATION:
title of article author
Japanese perceptions of motherhood. B. Bankart
title/abbr. of journal volume # pages month-year
Psychol Women Q* 13: 59-76 Mr '89
* A list of journal abbreviations is usually available within the
index or abstract.
ONLINE DATASE (ABSTRACT) CITATION:
Record 1 of 1 in PsycINFO 1989-1992
AN: 1989-36265-001
DT: Journal-Article
TI: Japanese perceptions of motherhood.
AU: Bankart,-Brenda
AF: Wabash Coll, Crawfordsville, IN, USA
SO: Psychology-of-Women-Quarterly. 1989 Mar; Vol 13(1): 59-76.
JN: Psychology-of-Women-Quarterly;
IS: 0361-6843
PY: 1989
LA: English
AB: Administered a motherhood inventory (MI) to 157 unmarried
male and 85
unmarried female Japanese university students and 72 married mothers
(aged
29-65 yrs). Factor analyses revealed distinctive profiles for each
group...
INDEX/ABSTRACTS FORMATS: Indexes/Abstracts may be print
based or an online database (some of which contain the full text
of the articles). Each index /abstract covers a different set of
journals/magazines. The index/abstract you choose depends on your
topic.
-
Online: RIT Library liscenses hundreds of indexes
and abstracts on different subjects available through telecommunication
hookups to large databases. FirstSearch, Factiva, Lexis/Nexis
and CARL are examples of some of the indexes available through
the Web. You can access our online
databases at http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html
-
CD: Selected indexes are available on CD-ROM. Reference
area pc workstations have access to most of our CD-ROM products.
These are not available remotely. There are also 4 carrels in
the Reference area that house pc with select CD Rom databases
which cannot be networked and/or are not available online except
as stand alone products. For more information on which databases
are available on
CD Rom. see http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/cdrom.html
-
Paper: Some current print volumes and many back volumes
are located on the second floor INDEX Shelves by call number
[at the end of the BOUND PERIODICAL area] or on the first floor
QUICK INDEX area [at the end of the Reference collection]. Consult
the EINSTEIN catalog by title for the exact location of the
ABSTRACT/INDEX (and which dates the library holds: LIBRARY HAS).
-
Mediated Searching: A few specialized indexes/abstracts
are available on a cost recovery basis only with the assistance
of your subject specialist and a commercial vendor. Contact
the reference dek 475-2563 or your subject
specialist for assistance {http://wally.rit.edu/depts/ref/research/research.html}
Step 1
Which index/abstract should you use?
-
Ask for assistance at the RIT Library Reference Desk (716)
475-2563
-
Access the electronic databases and resources related
to your discipline which have been pre-selected by the subject
bibliographer at http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html
-
Get a free subject
help guide/bibliography [which lists publications including
abstracts/indexes] from the take one racks on the first floor
across from the reference desk or online at http://wally.rit.edu/pubs/guides/guides.html
Libraries do not subscribe to every journal/magazine covered by
a particular index. If you are using a online database which contains
some full text or full content material then the article indeed
may be available online. A list of our full content
databases is located at http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/fulltext.html.
To determine if a specific journal is covered by one of our electronic
databases, use the Ejournal
Finder on the menu bar at http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html.
Step 2
If the citation (print or online) is not a full content article,
then the journal title must be checked in the "Einstein" online
system. Use Einstein:
http://albert.rit.edu/screens/opacmenu.html to determine if RIT Library has the journal you need, has the year the article appeared
in the journal and find out what format the article is available
in: paper or microfilm.
For example, to find the article listed above select the TITLE
search option on the Einstein system. Enter the name of the journal/magazine.
If RIT Library has the journal the Einstein record will include
information on its location, format and call number within the box
at the bottom of the screen.
RIT Library Catalog
You searched: TITLE psychology of women quarterly
Title Psychology of women quarterly [microform]. --
Publisher [New York, Human Sciences Press], 1976-
Location CURRENT MAGAZINE SHELVES
LIB. HAS Current Magazines on 1st Fl.
Latest Received: December 1999 23:4
Location MICROFILM Area 2nd Fl.
Latest Received: 1998 22
LOCATION CALL NO. STATUS
CURRENT MAGAZINE SHELVES CURRENT MAGAZINE SHELVES current issues
AVAILABLE
Translation Help:
Current journals and magazines are located on the first floor (CURRENT
MAGAZINE SHELVES or RESERVE DESK). QUICK INDEX is at the end of
the Reference collection. Microfilm, bound volumes and some Print
Index/Abstract volumes (MICROFILM, PER or INDEX) are located on
the second floor.
LIBRARY HAS call numbers such as PER TK 1 .A6 .G56 v.1-5, 1978-1980,1982-,
Latest issue received: November 99 99:5 can be interpreted as
follows: This is a bound PERiodical located in the PER collection,
on the second floor. The call number in the PER collection is TK
1 .A6 .G56. The library has volumes (v.) 1 through 5 and then all
the issues from 1978-1980 and then 1982 to present. The latest bound
periodical to arrive in the library for this title is the November
1999 issue. That is 1999, volume 5.
This page maintained by: Margaret Bartlett
|