Deaf Literature Sampler: Anthologies
Asterik * indicates a D/deaf
author. All book reviews are either from Amazon, the Einstein Catalog, publishing
catalogs, bibliographies in the back of anthologies, Janet Rosen, a librarian
from Washington, DC, and articles by Robert Panara. Efforts have been made to
include as many genres as possiblenonfiction (autobiographies, personal
narratives, biographies, essays, interviews and articles), drama, fiction (novels,
historical fiction) poetry (ASL and English) and ASL Literature. All formats
are covered, including videos. For more books on this topic, check the Einstein
Catalog and search by keywords deaf and fiction or deaf author* http://albert.rit.edu/.
For more articles on this topic, check out the Gallaudet Index to Deaf Periodicals
which includes citations to Deaf Life and other popular deaf publications. http://liblists.wrlc.org/gadpi/home.htm. Another database you might want to try is the NTID Deaf Index. Go to the Deaf Studies databases and explore. http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/topic/deafstudies.html
If a book is not housed at Wallace Library or ETRR , try Connect NY http://www.connectny.info/screens/opacmenu.html
to see if area college libraries have it. If not, send your request via
Interlibrary Loan http://wally.rit.edu/myaccount/ill.html.
Your book usually arrives within a few days.
Also, The Tactile Mind is a literary print publication for the
signing community. http://www.thetactilemind.com/.
We have this publication on the CMS and in bound periodical format (back
issues). 2nd floor PER PS508.D43T335.. Another journal you might find useful is Sign Language Studies available
online via the Einstein Catalog in the Project Muse database. http://albert.rit.edu/search/tsign+language+studies/tsign+language+studies/1,2,9,B/frameset&FF=tsign+language+studies&7,,8/indexsort=-
Batson, Trent and *Eugene Berman. Angels
and Outcasts: An Anthology of Deaf Characters in Literature. Washington,
DC: Gallaudet College , 1985. 3rd floor (2 copies) and ETRR PN6071.D35A6
1985 . Also available as an ebook. Click on title.
Dickens, Welty, and Turgenev are only three of the master storytellers in Angels
and Outcasts. This remarkable collection of 14 short stories offers insights
into what it means to be deaf in a hearing world. The book is divided into three
parts: the first section explores works by nineteenth-century authors; the second
section concentrates on stories by twentieth-century writers; and the final
section focuses on stories by authors who are themselves deaf. Each section
begins with an introduction by the editors and each story is preceded by a preface.
Angels and Outcasts concludes with an annotated bibliography of other prose
works about the Deaf experience. In addition to fascinating reading, it provides
valuable insights into the world of Deaf people.
*Bragg, Lois. (Ed.). Deaf World: A Historical Reader and Primary Sourcebook.
New York: NYU UP, 2001. REF, 4th floor and ETRR HV2545.D43 2001.
To many who hear, the deaf world is as foreign as a country never visited. Deaf
World thus concerns itself less with the perspectives of the hearing and more
with what Deaf people themselves think and do. Editor Lois Bragg asserts that
English is for many signing people a second, infrequently used language and
that Deaf culture is the socially transmitted pattern of behavior, values, beliefs,
and expression of those who use American Sign Language. She has assembled an
astonishing array of historical sources, political writings, and personal memoirs,
from classic 19th-century manifestos to contemporary policy papers, on everything
from eugenics to speech and lipreading, the right to work and marry, and the
never-ending controversy over separation vs. social integration. At the heart
of many of the selections lies the belief that Deaf Americans have long constituted
an internal colony of sorts in the United States. While not attempting to speak
for Deaf people en masse, this ambitious platform anthology places the Deaf
on center stage, offering them an opportunity to represent the world--theirs
as well as the hearing world--from a Deaf perspective. For Deaf readers, the
book will be welcomed as a gift, both a companion to be savored and, as often,
an opponent to be engaged and debated. And for the hearing, it serves as an
unprecedented guide to a world and a culture so often overlooked. Comprising
a judicious mix of published pieces and original essays solicited specifically
for this volume, Deaf World marks a major contribution.
Cyrus, Bainy. Deaf Women's Lives : Three Self-Portraits. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 2005. 4th floor and ETRR HV2373 .D43 2005. Also available as an ebook via ebrary: http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/rit/Doc?id=10081792&f00
Erting, Carol. (Ed.). The Deaf Way: Perspectives from the International
Conference on Deaf Culture. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP,
1994. REF, 4th floor (2 copies) and ETRR HV2359.I487 1989.
This compilation of presentations from the 1989 Deaf Way international conference
on deaf culture provides the most comprehensive international perspective on
deaf culture to date. Although it is unfortunate that it has taken five years
for this publication to appear, it is, in another sense, little short of a miraculous
feat of translation and editing that such a volume should be printed at all,
when one considers that the papers were translated into English from a wide
array of signed and spoken languages. The works vary widely in content and style:
some are quite anecdotal, whereas others follow a more traditional scientific
format. Topics include an extensive section on deaf cultures around the world;
deaf history; sign languages in society; diversity in the deaf community; family
issues; educational issues; deaf/hearing interaction; deaf people and the arts;
and human rights issues. The collection is distinguished by its true diversity
of viewpoints from around the globe.
Grant, Brian. (Ed.). The Quiet Ear : Deafness in Literature : An Anthology.
Boston : Faber and Faber, 1988. 3rd floor (2 copies) and ETRR PN6071.D35 Q5
1988.
Includes anecdotes dating from 425 BC to 1900s and autobiographies of Harriet
Martineau, John Kitto, Helen Keller and Frances Warfield. There are excerpts
from fiction and drama as well as verse.
*Jepson, Jill Christine. (Ed.).No Walls of Stone: An Anthology of Literature
by Deaf and Hard of Hearing Writers. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 1992. 3rd floor and ETRR PS508.D43 N6 1992.
Poetry, essays, short stories, and drama by D/deaf writers reveal that deafness
is a richly textured world. The collection covers many topics, from audiology
and the administration of a hearing test to the speech of the deaf transcribed
as spoken English, offering details and information unfamiliar to most hearing
people. The various authors compellingly utilize language to help the reader
see more deeply and understand more profoundly the human condition, both in
aspects particular to the deaf and in universal experiences shared by all. Not
since the publication of Raija Nieminen's Voyage to the Island (Gallaudet Univ.
Pr., 1990) has the silent universe been so dramatically explored.
*Krentz, C. (Ed.). A Mighty Change: An Anthology of Deaf American Writing,
1816-1864. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP. 3rd floor and
ETRR (2 copies) PS508.D43M54 2000.
Includes the Brief Narrative of the Life of Mrs. Adele M. Jewel
(1830s), Laura Redden Searings. A Few Words about the Deaf
and Dumb, and Belle Missouri (1858 & 1863)., John Carlins
writings and Edmund Booths letters. In this anthology, editor Krentz presents
the writings of prominent members of the deaf American community from 1816 to
1864, a time when they were beginning to find a public voice that was both political
and creative. In the antebellum period, advocates for the deaf, particularly
proponents of deaf education, gained ground. Much of the writing of this period
emphasized the educatability of the deaf and the need for this education to
help the deaf create social bonds and gain religious salvation. Divided into
two parts, this anthology highlights individual writers--particularly those
who used their creative talents to support the cause of deaf education--and
writings created in relation to specific deaf community events. In both cases,
owing to the lack of records, the writings presented are those of white males,
which Krentz points out in the hopes of inspiring future research
*Luczak, Ray. (Ed.). Eyes of Desire: A Deaf Gay and Lesbian Reader.
Boston: Alyson, 1993. 3rd floor (2 copies) and ETRR PS509.H57 E9
1993.
In a collection of essays, deaf lesbians and gay men discuss their lives, describing
how they discovered their sexual identity, overcame barriers to communication
in a hearing world, and created a deaf gay and lesbian culture.
*Montgomery, George (Ed.). Language for the Eye: An Anthology of Deaf
Writing and Publication. Edinburgh: Scottish Workshop
1995. 3rd floor PS508.D43 1995.
*Panara, Robert., Taras B. Denis and James H. McFarlane. (Eds). The Silent
Muse: An Anthology of Prose and Poetry by the Deaf. Washington, DC:
Gallaudet College Alumni Association, Gallaudet College, 1960. 3rd floor Archives
and ETRR (2 copies) PS508.D4S54 1960.
Includes prose and poetry by deaf authors.
*Paris, Damara Goff and Mark Drolsbaugh (Eds.). Deaf Esprit: Inspiration,
Humor and Wisdom from the Deaf Community. Salem, OR: AGO Gifts and Publications,
1999.
Imagine being deaf and living through the German occupation of Norway during
WW 2. Learn about life among the Deaf Navajos. Find out how a Deaf boy creates
an ASL version of Rock-Scissors-Paper. Experience Deaf Pride in the late 60s.
Agonize with a mother as she tries to make sense of both sides of the CI controversy.
Laugh in the library with well-known comedian CJ Jones.
Stremlau, Tonya M (Ed. ). The Deaf Way II Anthology: A Literary Collection
of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Writers. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 2002. 3rd floor and ETRR PS508.D43D43 2002.
Brings together stellar contributions by 16 international D/d writers. Features
poetry, essays, short stories, and one play, all of which offer thought-provoking
perspectives on elements from the personal universes of these gifted authors.
Williams, Thais T. (Ed.). Stars, Wind, and Dreams: Poems, Stories and
Essays by Hearing Impaired Students. Salt Lake City, UT: AGBAD,
1994. 3rd floor (2 copies) PS508.D43S73 1994.
The best collection of poems, stories and essays from a writing project initiated
by the Utah Chapter of the Alexandar Graham Bell Association for the Deaf
Websites
Explore http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness.html#lit
Guide created by Joan Naturale 31
March 2004.
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Links checked 17 August 2004.
|