Deaf Literature Sampler:
Deaf Culture
Asterik * indicates a D/deaf
author. All book reviews are either from Amazon, the Einstein Catalog, publishing
catalogs, bibliographies in the back of anthologies, Janet Rosen, a librarian
from Washington, DC, and articles by Robert Panara. Efforts have been made to
include as many genres as possiblenonfiction (autobiographies, personal
narratives, biographies, essays, interviews and articles), drama, fiction (novels,
historical fiction) poetry (ASL and English) and ASL Literature. All formats
are covered, including videos.
For more books on this topic,
check the Einstein Catalog and search by keywords deaf and deaf culture http://albert.rit.edu/.
For more articles on this topic, check out the Gallaudet Index to Deaf Periodicals
which includes citations to Deaf Life and other popular deaf publications. http://liblists.wrlc.org/gadpi/home.htm . Another database you might want to try is the NTID Deaf Index Interpreting Go to the Deaf Studies databases and explore. http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/topic/deafstudies.html
If a book is not housed at Wallace Library or ETRR , try Connect NY http://www.connectny.info/screens/opacmenu.html
to see if area college libraries have it. If not, send your request via
Interlibrary Loan http://wally.rit.edu/myaccount/ill.html.
Your book usually arrives within a few days.
Also, The Tactile Mind is a literary print publication for the
signing community. http://www.thetactilemind.com/.
We have this publication on the CMS and in bound periodical format (back
issues). 2nd floor PER PS508.D43T335. Another journal you might find useful is Sign Language Studies
available online via the Einstein Catalog in the Project Muse database.
http://albert.rit.edu/search/tsign+language+studies/tsign+language+studies/1,2,9,B/frameset&FF=tsign+language+studies&7,,8/indexsort=-
Autobiographies, Personal
Narratives, Interviews: Articles
*Bahan, Ben Notes
from a Seeing Person, and other selections. American Deaf Culture:
An Anthology. Silver Spring, Md. : Linstok Press, 1989. 4th floor (2
copies), ETRR (3 copies) HV2530 .A547 1989.
*Gannon, Jack. Importance
of a Cultural Identity. Perspectives on Deafness. Ed. M.D.
Garretson. Silver Spring, MD: NAD, 1991. REF, 1st floor and 4th floor REF HV2380
.P457 1991.
*Graybill, Patrick. Another
New Birth: Reflections of a Deaf Native Signer. Cultural
and Language Diversity and the Deaf Experience. Ed. Ila Parasnis.
New York: Cambridge UP, 1997. Available as an e-book. Click on
title.
*Mow, Shanny . How
Do You Dance Without Music? and other selections. American Deaf
Culture: An Anthology. Silver Spring, Md. : Linstok Press, 1989. RES,
4th floor and ETRR (3 copies) HV2530 .A547 1989.
*Mow, Shanny. My Life
on Paper. Deaf World: A Historical Reader and Primary Sourcebook.
Ed. Lois Bragg. New York: NYU UP, 2001. 48-50.
*Willard, Tom. What
Exactly Am I Supposed to Overcome? Deaf World: A Historical Reader
and Primary Source Book. Ed. Lois Bragg. New York : St. Martin's Press,
2001. REF 4th floor and ETRR HV2545 .D43 2001.
Books
*Ballin, Albert. The Deaf Mute Howls. Washington, D.C. : Gallaudet
UP, 1998. 1998 4th floor HV2474.B3 and ETRR HV1624.B35 A3.
Bullard, Douglas. Islay. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 1986. 3rd floor and ETRR PS3552.U424I8 1986
Cohen, Leah Hager. Train
Go Sorry: Inside a Deaf World. Boston, Houghton Mifflin, 1994. 4th floor
and ETRR HV2561.N72N35 1994.
The history of the Lexington School for the Deaf, the oldest school of its kind
in the nation, comes alive with Cohen's vivid descriptions of its students and
administrators. The author, who grew up at the school, follows the real-life
events of Sofia, a Russian immigrant, and James, a member of a poor family in
the Bronx, as well as members of her own family both past and present who are
intimately associated with the school. Cohen takes special pride in representing
the views of the deaf community--which are sometimes strongly divided--in such
issues as American Sign Language (ASL) vs. oralism, hearing aids vs. cochlear
implants, and mainstreaming vs. special education. The author's lively narrative
includes numerous conversations translated from ASL. This is a one-of-a-kind
book for both young and old readers.
*Eastman, Gilbert.
Just a Deaf Persons Thoughts. Burtonsville, MD.
: Sign Media, Inc., 1996. 4th floor (2 copies) and ETRR HV2395 .E28 1996.
*Eastman, Gilbert. Just
a Deaf Persons Thoughts II. Burtonsville, MD. : Sign Media, Inc.,
2000. ETRR HV2395 .E28 2000.
*Holcomb, Roy. Deaf
Culture Our Way: Anecdotes from the Deaf Community. San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress,
1994. 4th floor and ETRR HV2380 .H643 1994. 1st ed was titled Hazards of Deafness
and 2nd ed. Was titled Silence is Golden, Sometimes.
*Jacobs, Leo M. A
Deaf Adult Speaks Out. Washington, DC. Gallaudet College, 1980.
4th floor and ETRR HV2380.J32 1980.
*Ladd, Paddy. Understanding
Deaf Culture: In Search of Deafhood. Buffalo, NY: Multilingual Matters,
2003. 4th floor and ETRR HV2380.L26 2003.
This book presents a Travellers Guide to Deaf Culture, starting
from the premise that Deaf cultures have an important contribution to make to
other academic disciplines, and human lives in general. Within and outside Deaf
communities, there is a need for an account of the new concept of Deaf culture,
which enables readers to assess its place alongside work on other minority cultures
and multilingual discourses. The book aims to assess the concepts of culture,
on their own terms and in their many guises and to apply these to Deaf communities.
The author illustrates the pitfalls which have been created for those communities
by the medical concept of deafness and contrasts this with his new
concept of Deafhood, a process by which every Deaf child, family
and adult implicitly explains their existence in the world to themselves and
each other.
*Moore, Matthew. For
Hearing People Only: Answers to Some of the Most Commonly Asked Questions About
the Deaf Community, Its Culture and the Deaf Reality. Rochester,
NY: Deaf Life Press, 2003. 4th floor and ETRR HV2545 .M66 2003.
Neisser, Arden. The
Other Side of Silence: Sign Language and the Deaf Community in America. New
York: Knopf, 1983. 4th floor (3 copies), Archives and ETRR HV2545.N44 1983.
*Olivia, Gina. Alone
in the Mainstream: A Deaf Woman Remembers Public School. Washington,
DC: Gallaudet UP, 2004.
*Pizzo, Rose. Growing
Up Deaf: Issues of Communication in a Hearing World. Philadephia, PA.
Xlibris Corp., 2001. 4th floor and ETRR HV2534.P58 A3 2001.
*Swett, William B. Adventures
of a Deaf-Mute. Philadelphia, PA: University of Pennsylvania Library
On-Line Books, 2003. http://www.hti.umich.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=moa;idno=ABY9683
Boston: Boston Deaf-Mutes Mission, 1874. ETRR Rare HV2370.S924 1874.
This is a travel diary of Williams adventures in the White Mountains of
NH.
*Tait, George. Autobiography
of George Tait: A Deaf Mute Who First Gave Instructions to the Deaf and Dumb
in the City of Halifax: Also an Extract from an American Paper on Teachers and
Modes of Teaching the Deaf and Dumb. Feltham: British Deaf History Society
Publications, 2002. 4th floor HV2576 .T35 2002.
*Wright, David. Deafness:
An Autobiography. New York: Harper Perennial, 1994.4th floor HV2717.W7
A3 1994. Also available at ETRR and 4th floor (2 copies) HV2534.W73A3 as Deafness
(1969). Also available 4th floor HV2717.W77 A3 1990 as Deafness: A Personal
Account.
Drama
*Baldwin, Stephen. Birth of a Deaf Play. 1990. Archives, 3rd floor
PS3552.A549 A19 1978. E-reserve.
*Baldwin, Stephen. Christmas
Oasis. Archives, 3rd floor PS3552.A549 A19 1978. E-reserve.
*Baldwin, Stephen. Develop,
Divide, Conquer and Destroy. Archives, 3rd floor PS3552.A549 A19 1978.
E-reserve.
*Baldwin, Stephen. Dr.
Corsons Famous Tues. Night Live. Archives, 3rd floor PS3552.A549
A19 1978. E-reserve.
*Baldwin, Stephen. Obstacle.
Archives, 3rd floor PS3552.A549 A19 1978. E-reserve.
*Baldwin, Stephen. You
Were Ok, Ok Fine. Archives, 3rd floor PS3552.A549 A19 1978. E-reserve.
*Bangs, Donald and Jan DeLap.
Institution Blues. 1996. RES PS3552.A4756 I577 1996. E-reserve.
The play illustrates how a school for the Deaf becomes a home for the students,
where they acquire a family and an identity.
Bouilly, J.N. Abbe
de l'Epee: Founder of the First Institution in Paris for the Deaf and Dumb.
A Dramatized Tale Founded on Historical Fact. Bristol: I.E. Chillcott,
1870. 4th floor, HV2426.A2B6 1971.
Historical drama mainly noteworthy for its portrait of Abbe de l'Epee, famed
teacher of the deaf in France. Plot revolves around the teacher's attempts to
aid an abandoned deaf boy who ultimately regains family and riches. Play reveals
fact that deafness is no barrier to intelligence or its communication through
writing.
*Bragg, Bernard. Tales
from a Clubroom. 1981. RES, 3rd floor (2 copies) and ETRR PS3552.R248T3.
*Conley, Willy. Broken
Spokes. Minneapolis, MN : The Tactile Mind Press, 2002. RES PS3553.O496
W384 2002.
*Conley, Willy. The
Water Falls. Minneapolis, MN : The Tactile Mind Press, 2002. RES PS3553.O496
W384 2002.
*Malzhaun, Eric. The
Color of Love. RES PS3550.A1 C656 1970z.
Medugno, Richard. Bigger
Dreams: A Two-Act Play About Deaf Politician Gary Malkowski. Bloomington,
IN: 1st Books Library, 2003. RES PS3563.E248 2003.
Peterson, Rico. Seeing
Place. 1990. RES PS3566.E747 S445 1990. E-reserve.
Fiction
Bishop, W.H. "Jerry and Clarinda". Queer People Including the
Brown Stone Boy. New York: Street & Smith, 1902.
Deaf hero, Jerry, after many trials along the way finds happiness in marriage
to a deaf school chum, Clarinda. Cast of deaf characters includes an armless
deaf friend and a deaf horse. Includes references to and examples of writing
challenges deaf persons sometimes face. Obvious plot with turns.
Bullard, Douglas. Islay,
A Novel. Silver Spring, MD: TJ Publishers, 1986. 3rd floor (3 copies)
and ETRR, PS3552.U42418 1986.
Video Documentary
CBS News Sunday Morning:
Sign City [Jan. 13, 2002]. CBS Video, 2002. 27 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.
(ETRR Reserve Shelf).
This video is about the deaf community in Rochester, NY. Rochester, NY has the
most deaf people per capita compared to other cities in the nation. Due to copyright
restrictions, we cannot put the video on the 5 day shelf. However, you can stop
by Joan Naturale's office to borrow the video.
In the Land of the
Deaf. Dir. Nicolas Philibert. Les films dIci, 1994. 99 mins. Color/Voiced/Signed/Captioned.
ETRR Video 6452. In French Sign Language.
Video Autobiography,
Personal Narratives
Deaf Culture Autobiography: Alfred Sonnestrahl. Perf. Alfred Sonnestrahl.
Sign Enhancers, 1990. Color/Voiced/Signed . 40 mins. 4th floor,
HV2395 .D465 no.8C and ETRR VIDEO 5970.
Alfred discusses his training in hearing schools and his professional training
in engineering, social sciences, disability awareness and communication devices
that aid the deaf and hard of hearing. He shares an inspiring story of overcoming
discriminatory practices for hiring mechanical engineers within the U.S. government
with the help of LBJ.
Deaf Culture Autobiography:
Paul L. Johnston, Ph.D. Perf . Paul L. Johnston. Sign Enhancers, 1989.
Color/Voiced/Signed. 31 mins. 4th floor, HV2395 .D465 no.8D
and ETRR VIDEO 5970.
Using ASL, Paul tells about going to a residential school, having assistance
with interpreters, his training as an artist, going to graduate school at Penn
State and becoming a college art teacher to both hearing and Deaf students.
Deaf Culture Autobiography:
Rev. Thomas Coughlin. Perf. Rev. Thomas Coughlin. Sign Enhancers, 1989.
Color/Voiced/Signed. 30 mins. 4th floor HV2395 .D465 no.8E
and ETRR VIDEO 5970.
Rev. Thomas Coughlin describes how he broke through the barriers of discrimination
with sheer determination and hard work to become one of the first Deaf priests
in America.
Deaf Culture Lectures:
An Inside View. Perf. Nathie Marbury.Sign Enhancers, 1996. 42 mins.
Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor HV 2395.D465 no. 8J.
ETRR VIDEO 5263 no.3
Nathie Marbury ( a popular and vivacious signer) gives you an intimate view
of Deaf culture, including cross-cultural etiquette, tales from Deaf schools
and more.
Deaf Culture Lectures:
Cultural Differences. Perf. Nathie Marbury. Sign Enhancers, 1998. 35
mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4tht floor, HV 2539.D465
no. 8J and ETRR VIDEO 5263.
Popular and humorous deaf performer Nathie Marbury lectures about the different
values between Deaf and hearing cultures. Marby's amusing anecdotes include
a story about the reaction of her children's hearing friends to her cooking--not
the food, but because she unknowingly banged pots and pans around, they wondered
why she was so angry.
Deaf Culture Lectures:
Tools for a Cross-Cultural Adventure.
Perf. Nathie Marbury. Sign Enhancers, 1996. 42 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.
1st floor, 5 day collection HV 2395.D465 no. 8K and ETRR VIDEO 5263 no.4
Examines the different characteristics of the distinct cultures of the hearing
and the Deaf. Focuses on growing up within a Deaf family.
*Hearing World Around
Me. Perf.
Trix Bruce. TrixBruce.com, 2003. DVD. Color/Signed/Voiced. 4th floor, HV2534.B77 A3 2003.
"Trix Bruce's stories are those of culture clash and connection, contact
and confusion, and the many ways which language and identity can twist our perceptions
of each other. You will enjoy her energetic style, witty delivery, poetic grace,
and open-hearted honesty while you gain a realistic perspective of life as a
deaf person among the hearing.
*Portraits.
Perf. Shirley Allen, Mary Beth Barber, George Kononenko and Robert Panara. Rochester,
NY. 29 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. NTID/RIT, 1992. ETRR VIDEO 5361.
Actress Mary Beth Barber, Hewlett Packard project leader George Kononenko, educator
Shirley Allen, and poet Bob Panara describe becoming deaf, growing up and adjusting
to their deafness, and their achievements as adults.
Remembering Shirley:
Shirley Panara Tribute. NTID, 2003. 86 mins. Color/Signed/Captioned/Voiced.
4th floor and Archives 3rd floor HV2534.P276 R45 2003.
She was the first Deaf librarian at the Library of Congress, and later became
the librarian at the Rochester School for the Deaf, Rochester, N.Y. She founded
the Eastern Deaf Women's Bowling Association, was a member of Deaf Women of
Rochester, and was a long-time supporter of NTID's theatre arts department.
Introduction by John Panara -- Testimonial given by Vicki Hurwitz -- Interpretation
in dance of Psalm 23 by Thomas Warfield -- Photographs from Shirley Panara's
life -- Testimonial given by Robert F. Panara -- Video clips of Shirley Panara
Viewpoints 1: Deaf
Culture. Dir.
Johann Paoletti-Schelp. Sign Enhancers, Inc., 2000. 57 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.4th floor, HV 2395.V538 2000 pt. 1 and ETRR VIDEO 6621
Consists of unrehearsed interviews with 6 different D/deaf individuals who come
from a broad range of educational and linguistic backgrounds and discuss topics
important to interpreters, D/deaf people and others within the community. Despite
the different backgrounds, there are similar views held on Deaf Culture.
Viewpoints 3: Deaf
Education.
Dir. Johann Paoletti-Schelp. Sign Enhancers, Inc., 2000. 42 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor HV 2395.V538 2000 pt.3 and ETRR VIDEO 6621..
Consists of unrehearsed interviews with 6 different D/deaf individiuals who
come from a broad range of educational and linguistic backgrounds offering opinions
and experiences on the topic of Deaf Education.
*The World According
to Pat: Reflections of Residential School Days. Perf. Pat Graybill.
TJ Publishers, 1986. 80 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. 4th floor,
HV2430 .W67 1986 and ETRR VIDEO 5787
Dramatised presentation in which Patrick Graybill remembers the joys and values
of growing up attending a residential school
*You Think Deaf People
Have Problems? Perf. Angela Stratiy. Deaf Utopia, 1999. 90 mins. Color/Voiced/Signed.4th floor HV2380.Y675 1999 and ETRR VIDEO 6604
This videotape features Angela Petrone Stratiy's one-woman comedy show based
on her "research" on hearing people, and her perspectives on how deaf
people survive in the hearing world.
Videos-Fiction
Alice and the Aurifactor. Dir. Jorg Fockete. Louder than Words,
1995. 15 mins. B&W/Voiced/Signed/Captioned.3rd floor, PN1995.91.G47 A553 1995).
Silent with piano accompaniment.Signed (German sign language), with title cards in German with English subtitles. A deaf girl, Alice, enters the world of bedtime stories to face an evil sorcerer who is oppressing a land of deaf people by turning deaf people into mutated hearing
beings.
Websites:
Deaf Way II http://www.deafway.org/
Two Views of Deafness http://wally.rit.edu/depts/ref/research/deaf/twoviews.html
Deaf Glossary
http://members.tripod.com/lynngronvold/glossary1.html
Guide created by
Joan Naturale 31 March 2004.
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Links checked 17 August 2004.
|