Deaf Literature Sampler: Deaf Parents-Deaf Children
Asterik * indicates a D/deaf
author. All book reviews are either from Amazon, the Einstein Catalog, publishing
catalogs, bibliographies in the back of anthologies, Janet Rosen, a librarian
from Washington, DC, and articles by Robert Panara. Efforts have been made to
include as many genres as possiblenonfiction (autobiographies, personal
narratives, biographies, essays, interviews and articles), drama, fiction (novels,
historical fiction) poetry (ASL and English) and ASL Literature. All formats
are covered, including videos.
For more books on this topic,
check the Einstein Catalog. and search by keywords deaf parent* http://albert.rit.edu/.
For more articles on this topic, check out the Gallaudet Index to Deaf Periodicals
which includes citations to Deaf Life and other popular deaf publications http://liblists.wrlc.org/gadpi/home.htm . Another database you might want to try is the NTID Deaf Index. Go to the Deaf Studies databases http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/topic/deafstudies.html.
If a book is not housed at Wallace Library or ETRR , try Connect NY http://www.connectny.info/screens/opacmenu.html
to see if area college libraries have it. If not, send your request via Interlibrary
Loan http://wally.rit.edu/myaccount/ill.html.Your
book usually arrives within a few days.
Also, The Tactile Mind is
a literary print publication for the signing community. http://www.thetactilemind.com/.
We have this publication on the CMS and in bound periodical format (back issues).
PER PS508.D43T335. You can also subscribe to a free weekly e-zine.
Another journal you might find useful is Sign Language Studies available online
via the Einstein Catalog in the Project Muse database. http://albert.rit.edu/search/tsign+language+studies/tsign+language+studies/1,2,9,B/frameset&FF=tsign+language+studies&7,,8/indexsort=-
ASL Literature/Poetry
*The Treasure.
Dir. Lynnette Taylor. Prod. Cheri Smith, Ken Mikos and Ella Mae Lentz. Perf.
Ella Mae Lentz. In Motion Press, 1995. 60 mins. Color/Voiced/Signed. 1st floor
5 day collection PS3562.E47 T74 1995, ETRR VIDEO 6485 (2 copies) and ETC VH
1456.
Ella Mae Lentz is a noted ASL poetess. Travels with Malz.. Travels with Malz,
the next generation.. Eye music.. The baseball game.. Silence oh painful.. Circle
of life. To a hearing mother.. The dogs.. The door.. Children's garden.. The
treasure
Autobiographies/Personal
Narratives
*Bragg, Bernard. Lessons
in Laughter: The Memoirs of a Deaf Actor. (as signed to Eugene Bergmann).
Washington, D.C. : Gallaudet UP, 1989. 3rd floor (2 copies) and
ETRR PN2287.B6827A31989. See video.
To succeed as an actor is a rare feat. To succeed as a deaf actor is nothing
short of amazing. Lessons in Laughter is the story of Bernard Bragg and his
astonishing lifelong achievements in the performing arts. Born deaf of deaf
parents, Bernard Bragg has won international renown as an actor, director, playwright,
and lecturer. Lessons in Laughter recounts in stories that are humorous, painful,
touching, and outrageous, the growth of his dream of using the beauty of sign
language to act. He starred in his own television show "The Quiet Man",
helped found The National Theatre of the Deaf, and traveled worldwide to teach
his acting methods.
*Mowl, Gary E. Raising
Deaf Children in Hearing Society: Struggles and Challenges for Deaf Native ASL
Signers. Cultural
and Language Diversity and the Deaf Experience. Ed. Ila Parasnis.
New York: Cambridge UP, 1996. Available as an e-book. Click on
title.
*Searls, Susan C. and David
R. Johnston. Growing up Deaf in Deaf Families: Two Different Experiences.
Cultural
and Language Diversity and the Deaf Experience. Ed. Ila Parasnis.
New York: Cambridge UP, 1996. Available as an e-book. Click on
title.
White, Barbara J. This
Child is Mine: Deaf Parents and Their Adopted Deaf Children. Deaf
World: A Historical Reader and Primary Sourcebook. Ed. Lois Bragg. New
York: New York UP, 2001. 68-80.
Biographies
In Memoriam: Marie
Philip (1953-1997). Deaf Life. (Dec. 1997): 10-27.
Moore, Matthew S. Leading
Light: A Tribute to Bruce Hlibok. Deaf Life 8:3 (Sept. 1995):
8-19. See video below
Drama
Baldwin, Stephen. A
Play of Our Own III: Is the Baby Deaf or Hearing? National Theatre of
the Deaf, June 1978. RES, Archives, 3rd floor PS3552.A549 A19 1978b. E-Reserve.
Peterson, Rico. Another
Play of Our Own. Feb. 10,1978. RES PS3566.E747A56 1978 and E-Reserve.
Videos
Autobiography/Personal
Narratives
*An Interview with
Bernard Bragg: The Man Behind the Mask. Dir./Prod. Joe Dannis. Perf.
Bernard Bragg. 213 mins. Color/Voiced/Signed/Captioned. DawnSignPress, 1995.
6 video set 3rd floor, PN2287.B6827 A3 1995, ETRR VIDEO 6518 and ETC VH 1459. See companion book.
Bernard Braggs' series of stories of his life and career--growing up as a deaf
child in a deaf family, working with Marcel Marceau, developing the sign-mime
theater, and helping to found the National Theatre of the Deaf. Based on his
fascinating autobiography, Lessons in laughter, Bragg's memories are amusing,
painful, outrageous and above all, inspiring to Deaf and hearing persons alike.
*CBS News Sunday Morning
Jan. 20, 2002. CBS Video, 2002. 32 mins. Dir. Charles Osgood. Perf.
Matchett Family. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 3rd floor,
PN1992.77.A1 C28 2002 and ETRR Reserve.
The Matchetts is a family of four who are deaf and live in Rochester, N.Y. There
is discussion about the different educational placements of the Matchetts' two
deaf children based on individual differences and needs.
*Deaf Culture Autobiography:
Dennis Schemenauer. Perf. Dennis Schemenauer. Sign Enhancers, 1990.
29 mins. Color/Voiced/Signed. 4th floor, HV2395 .D465 no.8F
and ETRR VIDEO 5970.
Expressive and articulate in ASL, Dennis came from a family with generations
of involvement in the Deaf culture. He tells about his life and shares Deaf
history. On Sept. 28, 1990, this renowned ASL teacher died of AIDS.
*Deaf Culture Autobiography:
M.J. Bienvenu. Perf. M.J. Bienvenu. Sign Enhancers, 1989. 41 mins. Color/Voiced/Signed.
4th floor, HV 2395.D465 no.8B and ETRR VIDEO 5970.
Using ASL, renowned Deaf spokeswoman and educator MJ Bienvenu shares touching
glimpses into her family background and recaptures the childhood experiences
that led to the successful woman she is today.
History Sources. L.
Fischer-Wanted by the National Archives-Deaf History Researchers. T. Jones-
America's First Multi-Generation Deaf Families. Sign Media, 1992. 1 hr. Color/Signed/Voiced.
4th floor, HV2474 .I5847 1992 Vol.17.
*On and Off Stage:
the Bruce Hlibok Story. Dir. Ann Marie Bryan. New York University, 2002.
See article section above. 3rd floor, PN1998.3.H55 O65 2002.
*Wonder, Guy. Guy
Wonder: Stories and Artwork. Minneapolis, MN: Tactile Mind, 2003. 4th floor HV2534.W66 A3 2003 and ETRR CDROM 1008.
This documentary is the closest thing to an autobiography of a Deaf artist you'll
ever get your hands on. Guy Wonder is a third-generation Deaf man who has led
a captivating life. Funny and sad stories about growing up in a Deaf family
and in a Deaf school, becoming an artist in New York City, and making a new
niche for himself in San Francisco fill this DVD. And Guy Wonder: Stories and
Artwork answers the question: How did he become a Deaf artist? Along with the
stories, a ton of extras, and a conversation with the director about signing
creativity, Guy Wonder gives a tour of his artwork, all of which draws you into
the same room with this unforgettable Deaf artist.
Guide created by
Joan Naturale 31 March 2004.
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Links checked 17 August 2004.
|