Deaf Literature Sampler: Hearing Parents-Deaf Children
Asterik * indicates a D/deaf
author. All book reviews are either from Amazon, the Einstein Catalog, publishing
catalogs, bibliographies in the back of anthologies, Janet Rosen, a librarian
from Washington, DC, and articles by Robert Panara. Efforts have been made to
include as many genres as possiblenonfiction (autobiographies, personal
narratives, biographies, essays, interviews and articles), drama, fiction (novels,
historical fiction) poetry (ASL and English) and ASL Literature. All formats
are covered, including videos.
If a book is not housed at Wallace Library or ETRR , try Connect NY http://www.connectny.info/screens/opacmenu.html
to see if area college libraries have it. If not, send your request via
Interlibrary Loan http://wally.rit.edu/myaccount/ill.html.
Your book usually arrives within a few days.
For more books on this topic,
check the Einstein Catalog. and search by keywords deaf and deaf* and famil*
http://albert.rit.edu/. For more articles
on this topic, check out the Gallaudet Index to Deaf Periodicals which includes
citations to Deaf Life and other popular deaf publications. http://liblists.wrlc.org/gadpi/home.htm . Another database you might want to try is the NTID Deaf Index. Go to the Deaf Studies databases http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/topic/deafstudies.html.
Also, The Tactile Mind is a literary print publication for the signing
community. http://www.thetactilemind.com/.
We have this publication on the CMS and in bound periodical format (back
issues). 2nd floor PER PS508.D43T335. Another journal you might find useful is Sign Language Studies available
online via the Einstein Catalog in the Project Muse database. http://albert.rit.edu/search/tsign+language+studies/tsign+language+studies/1,2,9,B/frameset&FF=tsign+language+studies&7,,8/indexsort=-.
Families -Hearing Parents
and Deaf/HH Children
Autobiographies/Personal
Narratives/Interviews
Bennett, Hester Parsons. Road Girl. Long Beach, CA: Colling, 1973. Archives Panara Collection HV2534.A3 B466 1973.
Colorful autobiography, travel narrative and account of experiences with deaf twin daughters.
Blackhorse, Buck. Empty Bedrooms: The International Adoption of a Deaf
Filipino Boy. New York: Vantage, 2000. 4th floor HV2392.2.B62
2000.
Bennett, H.P. Road
Girl. Long Beach, CA: Colling, 1973. (3rd floor, Archives Panara Collection)
Colorful autobiography, travel narrative, and account of experiences with deaf
daughters.
Bowers, Tressa. Alandras
Lilacs. Washington, D.C. : Gallaudet UP, 1999. 4th
floor, HQ759.913 .B68 1999 and ETRR (2 copies). Available as an e book. Click
on title.
Bowers here recounts her experience as a hearing parent raising a deaf daughter
and gives advice to other parents of deaf children. Don't dutifully do what
the experts suggest, she implores. When she was a young parent, experts told
her that the oral method offered the best hope for Alandra; as a result, even
when this method had clearly failed her daughter, she continued to struggle
with it--that is, until Alandra finally taught her otherwise. Bowers offers
hope to parents just discovering that their child is deaf and gives them the
questions to ask and the resources to pursue. Bowers's best advice? "Follow
your heart and love your child." This engaging narrative provides good
reading for anyone with an interest in the subject, whether serious or casual,
and boldly takes on the oral vs. signing debate.
Candlish, Patricia Ann Morgan.
Not Deaf Enough: Raising a Child Who is Hard of Hearing with Hugs, Humor
and Imagination. Washington, DC: AGBAD, 1996. 4th floor and ETRR HV2391.C36
1996.
Forecki, Marcia Calhoun.
Speak to Me. Washington, DC: Gallaudet College 1985. 4th
floor (2 copies) and ETRR HV2392.2F67 1985.
This compelling true-life story deals with a single parent making the discovery
that her 1-year-old son is deaf.
Franzosa, K.R. Forth
and Back: Coping with Deafness. Bloomington, Ind.: 1st Books Library,
2001. 4th floor HV2390 .F7 2001.
Parent's story of raising a profoundly deaf daugher.
Froude, Jenny. Making
Sense in Sign: A Lifeline for a Deaf Child. Buffalo, NY: Multilingual
Matters, 2003. 4th floor HV2717.F76F76 2003.
Gray, Daphne. Yes
You Can, Heather!: The Story of Heather Whitestone, Miss America 1995.
Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan, 1995. 4th floor (3 copies) and ETRR
HQ1220.U5W464 1995.
Written by Heathers mother, here is the inspiring account of how one remarkable
young woman, deaf from childhood, became the first physically challenged person
to win the coveted Miss America title. Complete with a full-color photo section,
this portrait of God's grace and Heather's determination is a true Cinderella
story, offering heartwarming proof that dreams really do come true.
Harris, George. Broken
Ears, Wounded Hearts. Washington, DC: Gallaudet College, 1983.
4th floor and ETRR HV2534.H33H37 1983.
Medugno, Richard. Deaf Daughter, Hearing Father. Washington, DC. Gallaudet UP, 2005. 4th floor and ETRR HQ759.913 .M438 2005.
Meadow-Orlans, Kathryn P.,
Marilyn Sass-Lehrer and Donna M. Mertens. (Eds). Parents and Their Deaf
Children: The Early Years. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP,
2003. 4th floor and ETRR HV2551.M43 2003.
Presents research findings from surveys and interviews of parents conducted
by the National Parent Project (1996-2002)
Sheridan, Martha. The
Inner Lives of Deaf Children: Interviews and Analysis. Washington, DC:
Gallaudet UP, 2001. 4th floor and ETRR, HV2391 .S58 2001 .
Basing this book on her doctoral dissertation, Sheridan (social work, Gallaudet
U.) excerpts from interviews with deaf and hard of hearing children to let them
express their perceptions and experiences. She refrains from deep psychological
analysis of the individuals, focusing instead on the similarities and differences.
Nor does she try to link the children, their stories, or situations to the existing
literature and published research, in order to allow the children's voices to
remain autonomous. c. Book News Inc.
Spradley, Thomas. Deaf
Like Me. Washington, D.C. : Gallaudet College, 1985. 4th floor
(2 copies) and ETRR, HV2391.S66 1985.
Deaf Like Me is the moving account of parents coming to terms with their baby
girl's profound deafness. The love, hope, and anxieties of all hearing parents
of deaf children are expressed here with power and simplicity. In the epilogue,
Lynn Spradley as a teenager reflects upon being deaf, her education, her struggle
to communicate, and the discovery that she was the focus of her father's and
uncle's book. At once moving and inspiring, Deaf Like Me is must reading for
every parent, relative, and friend of deaf children everywhere.
Fiction
Bowen. Elizabeth.
Eva Trout. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1968. 3rd floor, PR6003.O6757E9
An eccentric and wealthy divorcee buys a baby on the black market during the
late 1950's in Europe. When she discovers the child is deaf, she decides to
keep him with her all of the time as she travels around the world. His only
communication with his mother is through lipreading and gestures. Although the
people around him think he is incapable of understanding what is happening to
him, he is able to surprise everyone at the end of the story by committing an
act which frees him from his over-protective mother.
Videos
For a Deaf Son.
KARA, 1994. 60 mins. Color/Voiced/Captioned. ETRR VIDEO 5214.
A hearing family faces many challenges when deciding how to communicate and
educate their deaf son Thomas.
*Deaf Culture-Shared
Wisdom for Families. Perf. Nathie Marbury. Sign Enhancers, 1996. 42
mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor HV 2395.D465
no 8L and ETRR VIDEO 5263 no.5
This video focuses on parenting advice about raising children from experienced
parents. All types of families share their wisdom--deaf parents with deaf and/or
hearing children, hearing parents with deaf and/or hearing children, and "codas",
hearing children of Deaf adults.
Websites
Families via DeafLinx http://www.deaflinx.com/
and
http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness.html#fam
Guide created by Joan Naturale 31
March 2004.
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Links checked 17 August 2004.
|