RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives





Deaf Literature Sampler: International

Asterik * indicates a D/deaf author. All book reviews are either from Amazon, the Einstein Catalog, publishing catalogs, bibliographies in the back of anthologies, Janet Rosen, a librarian from Washington, DC, and articles by Robert Panara. Efforts have been made to include as many genres as possible—nonfiction (autobiographies, personal narratives, biographies, essays, interviews and articles), drama, fiction (novels, historical fiction) poetry (ASL and English) and ASL Literature. All formats are covered, including videos.

For more books on this topic, check the Einstein Catalog and search by keywords deaf and name of the country ie, deaf and (french or france) http://albert.rit.edu/. For more articles on this topic, check out the Gallaudet Index to Deaf Periodicals which includes citations to Deaf Life and other popular deaf publications. http://liblists.wrlc.org/gadpi/home.htm . Another database you might want to try is the NTID Deaf Index. Go to the Deaf Studies databases and explore. http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/topic/deafstudies.html

If a book is not housed at Wallace Library or ETRR , try Connect NY http://www.connectny.info/screens/opacmenu.html to see if area college libraries have it. If not, send your request via Interlibrary Loan http://wally.rit.edu/myaccount/ill.html. Your book usually arrives within a few days.

Also, The Tactile Mind is a literary print publication for the signing community. http://www.thetactilemind.com/. We have this publication on the CMS and in bound periodical format (back issues). 2nd floor PER PS508.D43T335. Another journal you might find useful is Sign Language Studies available online via the Einstein Catalog in the Project Muse database. http://albert.rit.edu/search/tsign+language+studies/tsign+language+studies/1,2,9,B/frameset&FF=tsign+language+studies&7,,8/indexsort=-.


Europe: France

Autobiography
*Laborit, Emmanuelle. The Cry of the Gull. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University Press, 1998. 3rd floor and ETRR PN2638.L22 A313 1998.
The autobiography of French deaf actress Laborit, known for her roles in Beyond Silence and the French version of Children of a Lesser God. She describes the effects of France's one-time criminalization of sign language, her strained relationships with her parents, and her frustrations at being placed in a speech-oriented school. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

Historical Fiction
Hugo, Victor. The Hunchback of Notre Dame. New York: New American Library, 1965. 3rd floor (3 copies) PQ2288.C6 1965. Video available in video stores.
In spite of his deafness and society's unwillingness to communicate with him, Quasimodo, the bellringer of Notre Dame is able to use his superior intellect and powers of observation interacting with the world around him. The story is set in 15th century Paris, and reflects the historical, social and political conditions of that period. Quasimodo uses home signs, speech, paper and pen for writing and lipreading to communicate. (Rosen, 1993).

Drama
Bouilly, J.N. Abbe de l'Epee: Founder of the First Institution in Paris for the Deaf and Dumb. A Dramatized Tale Founded on Historical Fact. Bristol: I.E. Chillcott, 1870. 4th floor, HV2426.A2B6 1971.
Historical drama mainly noteworthy for its portrait of Abbe de l'Epee, famed teacher of the deaf in France. Plot revolves around the teacher's attempts to aid an abandoned deaf boy who ultimately regains family and riches. Play reveals fact that deafness is no barrier to intelligence or its communication through writing.

Video: Documentary
In the Land of the Deaf. Dir. Nicolas Philibert. Les films d’Ici, 1994. 99 mins. Color/Voiced/Signed/Captioned. 4th floor HV2736 .I58 1994 and ETRR Video 6452. In French Sign Language.

Video: Personal Narrative
*Culture Shock: America Different, An ESL Learning Experience for Signers. Dir. Margaret Messner Chastell and Guilaume Chastell. Perf. Guillaume Chastell. Sign Enhancers, 2000. 112 mins. Color/Signed/Captioned. 4th floor, GN517 .C85 2000. CD available at RES MULTI 221.
The story of a deaf man (Guillaume Chastell) and his experience with culture shock in adjusting from French to American culture, told in ASL video, with English captions and a multimedia glossary.

Europe: Spain

Fiction
Wojeciechawska, M. A Single Night. New York: Harper and Row, 1968.
Religious novel set in a small village in Spain with a deaf girl who is an outcast in society until she finds meaning and love in caring for a sculpture of the Christ child.

India

Autobiography
Vasishta, Madan. Deaf in Delhi: A Memoir. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 2006. (4th floor and ETRR, HV2865.D45 V38 2006)

Nepal

Taylor, Irene. Buddhas in Disguise: Deaf People of Nepal. San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress, 1997. 4th floor and ETRR HV2855.9 .T39 1997.
Photographs and stories that shed light on the deaf culture and community in Nepal.

Orient

*Parsons, Frances Margaret. I Didn’t Hear the Dragon Roar. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1988. 4th floor and ETRR HV2534.P37A3 1988.
Discusses her journey through China.

Tropics
*Nieminen, Raija. Voyage to the Island. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1990. 4th floor (2 copies 4th floor and ETRR HV2785.5.N54 1990. Available as an e-book. Click on title.
Recounts the experiences of the author who left her native Finland with her husband for the Caribbean Island of St. Lucia, where she discovered the paradoxes of an exotic paradise amidst poverty. Nieminen, deaf herself, set out to teach the deaf children of the island sign language, then reading, writing, and math.

*Parson, Frances Margaret. Sound of the Stars. New York: Vantage Press, 1971. 4th floor and ETRR HV2988.P3.

Websites
General Deaf Multicultural Links http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness.html#gdmc
International Sign Languages http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness.html#int

Guide created by Joan Naturale 31 March 2004.
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Links checked 17 August 2004.