Deaf Literature Sampler: Multiple Identities
Asterik * indicates a D/deaf
author. All book reviews are either from Amazon, the Einstein Catalog, publishing
catalogs, bibliographies in the back of anthologies, Janet Rosen, a librarian
from Washington, DC, and articles by Robert Panara. Efforts have been made to
include as many genres as possiblenonfiction (autobiographies, personal
narratives, biographies, essays, interviews and articles), drama, fiction (novels,
historical fiction) poetry (ASL and English) and ASL Literature. All formats
are covered, including videos.
For more books on this topic,
check the Einstein Catalog and search by keywords deaf and black or deaf and
hispanic, etc. http://albert.rit.edu/.
For more articles on this topic, check out the Gallaudet Index to Deaf Periodicals
which includes citations to Deaf Life and other popular deaf publications. http://liblists.wrlc.org/gadpi/home.htm . Another database you might want to try is the NTID Index to Interpreting and
Deaf Periodicals. Go to the Deaf Studies databases and explore. http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/topic/deafstudies.html
If a book is not housed at Wallace Library or ETRR , try Connect NY http://www.connectny.info/screens/opacmenu.html
to see if area college libraries have it. If not, send your request via
Interlibrary Loan http://wally.rit.edu/myaccount/ill.html.
Your book usually arrives within a few days.
The Tactile Mind is a literary print publication for the signing
community. http://www.thetactilemind.com/.
We have this publication on the CMS and in bound periodical format (back
issues). 2nd floor PER PS508.D43T335. Another journal you might find useful is Sign Language Studies available
online via the Einstein Catalog in the Project Muse database. http://albert.rit.edu/search/tsign+language+studies/tsign+language+studies/1,2,9,B/frameset&FF=tsign+language+studies&7,,8/indexsort=-.
Identity, Multiple Identities or The Other Issues
Autobiographies/Personal Narratives
*Brueggemann, Brenda Jo. On Almost Passing and Are You Deaf
or Hearing? Lend
Me Your Ear: Rhetorical Constructions of Deafness. Washington, D.C.
: Gallaudet UP, 1999. 4th floor, HV2380 .B69 1999 and ETRR (2
copies). Also available as an e-book. Click on title.
Doe, Tanis M. Multiple
Minorities: Communities Within the Deaf Community. The Deaf Way.
Ed. Carol Erting. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 1988. 464-469. 4th floor, REF and ETRR HV2359 .I487 1989.
*McCaskill-Emerson. "Multicultural/Minority
Issues in Deaf Studies". Deaf studies III : Bridging Cultures in
the 21st century: Conference Proceedings, April 22-25, 1993. J. Cebe
(Ed.). Washington, DC: Gallaudet University, Continuing Education and Outreach,
1993. 4th floor HV 2526.D423 1993.
Taylor, George and Anne
Darby. (Eds.). Deaf Identities. Coleford: Douglas McLean, 2003.
4th floor and ETRR, HV2380 .D42 2003.
This new book is a collection of inspiring and moving contributions from a wide
range of Deaf people that reflect radically changing times. The rising level
of awareness of the needs of Deaf people, and the discrimination and oppression
they still face, is mirrored by the many changes within the Deaf community.
Significantly, the rise in mainstreaming of deaf children, cochlear
implants, political activity for rights and the recognition of BSL, all represent
a considerable challenge to the static notion of deafness and deaf peoples
cultural identity.
Fiction
McCullers, Carson. The
Heart is a Lonely Hunter. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co., 1940. 3rd floor,
PS3525.A1772H4. See video1st floor, 5 day collection or ETC Video 79.
With its profound sense of moral isolation and its sensitive glimpses into the
inner lives of lonely people, it is considered McCullers' finest work. The focus
of the work is on John Singer, a deaf-mute in a Georgia mill town during the
1930s, and on his effect on the people who confide in him. When Singer's mute
Greek companion of 10 years goes insane, Singer is left alone and isolated.
He takes a room with the Kelly family, where he is visited by the town's misfits,
who turn to him for understanding but have no knowledge of his inner life. When
Singer discovers that his Greek friend has died, he realizes that he can communicate
with no one and shoots himself. The author established her reputation with the
novel, which was her first. The book's emphasis on individuals who are considered
outcasts because of race, politics, disability, or sensibility placed it squarely
within the Southern gothic tradition of American literature.
Video-Personal Narratives
*An Introduction to
American Deaf Culture: Identity. Dir. MJ Bienvenu. Sign Media.,
1988. 55 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. ETC VH 1945 and ETRR VIDEO 5711 no.3.
MJ Bienvenu moderates a deaf panel and all-deaf audience discussion of the importance
of identity in the deaf culture. All agreed that the degree of hearing loss
was unimportant to culturally deaf people. What is important to a deaf person's
identity is his/her attitude about deafness, his/her participation in the deaf
culture, and his/her use of American Sign Language.
African Americans Autobiographies/Personal
Narratives
Armburo, A. "The Black
Community". Bilingual Considerations in the Education of Deaf Students:
ASL and English.:Proceedings of the Conference, June 28-July 1, 1990.
J. Cebe (Ed). Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University, College for Continuing
Education, 1992. 4th floor, HV2437 .B55 1990.
*Brooks, Dianne K. In Search of Self: Experiences of a Postlingually Deaf
African-American". Cultural
and Language Diversity: The Deaf Experience. Ed. Ila Parasnis. New
York: Cambridge UP, 1996. 3rd floor (Archives), 4th floor and
ETRR HV2545 .C85 1996.Available as an ebook. Click on title.
*Dunn, L.M. "The Deaf Community in the 21st Century: A Black Deaf Perspective". Deaf Studies V: TOWARD 2000 - Unity and Diversity: Conference proceedings.
April 17 - 20, 1997. Ed. C. Carroll. Washington, D.C.: College for Continuing
Education, Gallaudet University, 1998 ETRR, .HV2526 .D423 1998.
Lewis, J.G. Ebonics
in ASL: Stylistic Variation in African American Signers". Deaf Studies
V: TOWARD 2000 - Unity and Diversity: Conference proceedings. April 17 - 20,
1997. Ed. C. Carroll. Washington, D.C.: College for Continuing Education,
Gallaudet University, 1998 ETRR, .HV2526 .D423 1998.
*Hairston, Ernest. Black
and Deaf in America: Are We That Different. Silver Spring, MD: T.J.
Publishers, 1983. 4th floor (2 copies) and ETRR HV2545.H342 1983.
Get an in-depth look at some of the difficulties in the black deaf community
with interviews with prominent black deaf Americans. Share in their joys, fears
and hopes for the future plus discover signs that are used in the black community.
*Wright, Mary Herring. Far from Home: Memories of WW II and Afterward. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 2005. 4th floor and ETRR HV2534.W75 2005. Available as an ebook via ebrary:
*Wright, Mary Herring. Sounds
Like Home: Growing Up Black and Deaf in the South. Washington, DC:
Gallaudet University Press, 1999. 4th floor (2 copies) and ETRR HV2534.W75 A3
1999. Available as an ebook click on title.
Wright tells of her experiences growing up as a deaf person in Iron Mine, North
Carolina in the 1920s-1940s. Her account is historically significant because
its provides valuable descriptive information about faculty and staff at a residential
school for black deaf and blind students. She was involved in the school as
both student and teacher, and gives details on curriculum, which included a
Black History celebration. Includes b&w photos from family collections.
Lacks a subject index.
Seelye, John. The Kid. New York, Viking, 1972. 3rd floor, PS3569.E35K5.
Novel of a small western town, late 19th century, that includes an African deaf
character. The black, deaf man possesses unusual strength and occult powers,
but nevertheless comes to a violent end. He communicates by sign to his friend,
the Kid.
Video
Class of '52. Dir. Gene Robinson. Host Lonnelle L.Crosby. Gallaudet
University, 1990. 43 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.4th floor,
HV2530 .C5 1990 and ETRR 6630.
The story of African-American children, their parents, their teachers and their
struggle to gain admittance to the Kendall School on the campus of Gallaudet
University.
Websites
Deaf African Americans
http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness.html#daa
Asian Americans Personal
Narratives
Chough, S. The Fascinating Asian/Deaf Cultures in America". Deaf
Studies V: TOWARD 2000 - Unity and Diversity: Conference Proceedings. April
17 - 20, 1997. Ed. C. Carroll. Washington, D.C.: College for Continuing
Education, Gallaudet University, 1998 ETRR, .HV2526 .D423 1998.
Osugi, Y. "Preliminary Examination of the Life Story of a Deaf Japanese
American". Deaf studies VI: Making the Connection Conference Proceedings.
April 8-11, 1999. Ed. J. Cebe. Washington, DC: College for Continuing
Education, Gallaudet University, 1999. 4th floor, HV2526.D423 1999.
Plue, C.J. "A History
of Deaf Asians/Pacific Islanders in America". Deaf Studies VI: Making
the Connection. Conference Proceedings. April 8-11, 1999. Ed. J. Cebe
Washington, DC: College for Continuing Education, Gallaudet University. (4th
floor, 1999. 4th floor, HV2526.D423 1999.
Fiction
Scribner, Keith. Miracle Girl. New York: Riverhead Books, 2003.
3rd floor, PS3569.C735 M57 2003.
In this follow-up to his successful debut novel, The Goodlife, Scribner focuses
on the commercialism of religious fervor. In the dying industrial town of Hudson
City, NY, a deaf Vietnamese American girl named Sue Phong begins appearing in
people's dreams and healing their ailments. As the media pick up the story,
throngs of worshipers flock into the city, creating a financial boom. The impact
of these miracles on the residents of Hudson City is narrated by John Quinn,
a space planner for the Catholic Church, who has been taking bribes from a sleazy
developer named Buddy Jensen. As it becomes more and more likely that Hudson
City will grow into a commercial healing site, Quinn finds himself trapped between
the money and power around him and the disillusionment in his personal life.
He discovers that "people who don't have faith in anything don't have miracles." It is only when Quinn decides to help Sue Phong escape from the city and destroy
the growing commercialism that he finds a cure for his own failings. This is
a well-crafted story with real characters and an astute insight into the lack
of principles in our contemporary culture.
Websites
http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness.html#as
Native Americans Autobiographies/Personal
Narratives
*Alfred, Glenn and Karen Johnson as told to Henning Irgens and Sharon Kay Wood. Through the Eyes of Deaf Navajos. Deaf Esprit. Ed.
Damara G. Paris and Mark Drolsbaugh. Salem, OR: AGO Gifts and Publications,
1999. 113-127. 3rd floor and ETRR, PS508.D43 D4 1999.
*Dively, Valerie L. Contemporary
Native Deaf Experience: Overdue Smoke Rising. Deaf World: A Historical
Reader and Primary Sourcebook. Ed. Lois Bragg. New York: NYU UP,
2001. 390-405. 4th floor, REF and ETRR. HV2545 .D43 2001.
*Kelley, W.P. Pueblo
Indian Children Who Are Deaf". Deaf Studies VI: Making the Connection:
Conference Proceedings, April 8-11, 1999. Ed. J. Cebe Washington, DC:
College for Continuing Education, Gallaudet University. 4th floor, 1999. 4th
floor, HV2526.D423 1999.
*McKay-Cody, M.R. "Plains
Indian Sign Language: A Comparative Study of Alternative and Primary Signers". Deaf Studies V: TOWARD 2000 - Unity and Diversity: Conference proceedings.
April 17 - 20, 1997. Ed. C. Carroll. Washington, D.C.: College for Continuing
Education, Gallaudet University, 1998 ETRR, .HV2526 .D423 1998.
*Paris, Damara G. and Sharon
Kay Wood. Step into the Circle: The Heartbeat of American Indian, Alaska
Native, and First Nations Deaf Communities. Salem, OR: AGO Publications,
2002. OVER 4th floor (2 copies) and ETRR HV2545 .S747 2002.
Fiction
Hubbard, R. Queer Person. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1930.
Simple story of an outcast Indian boy growing up deaf. He communicates in Indian
Sign Language and reads lips. He is cured of deafness and as a hearing Indian
gains tribal status. When we was deaf, he was considered an evil spirit.
Thon, Melanie Rae. Sweet
Hearts. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2000. 3rd floor, PS3570.H6474
S9 2002.
How hard and how long will we persist in the often hopeless quest to save the "starved nestlings" among our neglected children? In her latest novel,
Thon poses this question via the story of two delinquent children on the lam.
Just turned 16, Flint Zimmer, who was conceived during, has just been released
from a five-year term in a Montana reform school after a history of juvenile
offenses, including setting fire to an expensive boat when he was eight and
housebreaking when he was 11. On a day that brings "bad weather and bad
luck," he hitchhikes across the state to the house where Frances, his mother,
lives, hiding there for 11 days in the cold mud under the porch. When he finally
slips inside, his heavy-drinking mother allows him to spend only one night.
Flint persuades his 10-year-old sister, Cecile, to join him; the two children
assault and rob the kindly local pediatrician and hit the road. The frightening
yet heartbreaking story of their flight is "told" by their mother's
unmarried sister, Marie, a "deaf girl" who refuses to speak aloud
but addresses herself mentally to Frances. Marie's narration is multifaceted,
including a history of six generations of "motherless girls," a meditation
on the nature of language and memory, an angry dirge for the passing of the
Crow language and culture (now a persistent but faint strain in this "mixed
blood" family) and an expos of prison conditions. Episodic, intensely imagined
and darkly portentous, the novel's suspense accrues to the ultraliterary drumbeat
of metaphor. Evincing the psychological acuity demonstrated in the author's
earlier Iona Moon and the stories of Girls in the Grass, it benefits from Thon's
skillful use of nontraditional narrative devices, haunting evocation of Native
American history and legend, and mystical vision of the power of forgiveness
and love.
Website
Deaf Native Americans
http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness.html#na
Gay Issues Autobiography/Personal Narratives
Kane, Thomas. Deaf
Gay Mens Culture. The Deaf Way. Ed. Carol Erting.
Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 1988. 483-485. 4th floor, REF and ETRR. HV2359 .I487 1989
Luczak, Raymond. Notes
from a Gay Writer. Deaf Life. March 1991. 18-23. 2nd floor, Bound Per. HV2350.D45.
Drama
Emery, Drew. The Language
of One. 1996. RES PS3555.M2 L35 1996. E-reserves
In this humorous work, the Deaf, gay and Jewish character Albert Rose explores
the ideas, interplay and conflicts of identity, belonging and relationships
in his journey of self-discovery.
*Holcomb, Thomas K. Hear
No Scream: AIDS in the Deaf Community. 1995. RES PS3558.536 W44 1995.
E-Reserve
Website
http://www.deafqueer.org/
Prisoners
Miller, Katrina R. Deaf Culture Behind Bars: Signs and Stories of
a Texas Population. Salem, OR: AGO Pub., 2003. 4th floor HV7296.M555
2003.
Websites
General Deaf Multicultural
Links
http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness.html#gdmc
Deaf Hispanic Americans
http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness.html#hi
For more information contact:
Joan Naturale
Deaf, Disability and Education Librarian
Deafness News and Resources
jxnwml@rit.edu
IM me at ntidlibrarian
Videophone IP: 129.21.179.36 (D-Link)
|