RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

How To Find Information on Your Career in Medicine and Science.


Web Resources || General Reference Sources || Biology Careers || Chemistry Careers || Clinical Sciences Careers || Mathematics Careers || Physician Assistant Careers || Physics Careers || Forecasting Material

 

Web Resources

  • AANPA
  • AAPA Employment
  • Absolutely Healthcare
  • Advance for Physician Assistants
  • Agriculture Biotech Chemical Job Page
  • American Astronomical Society
  • American College of Physicians
  • American Meteorological Society
  • Association of Family Practice Physician Assistants
  • Careers in Botany
  • Cell & Molecular Biology Online
  • Electrochemical Society
  • Health Careers Web
  • International Isotope Society
  • JobsStat
  • MedicalWorkers.com
  • MedSearch America (Healthcare Industry)
  • Medzilla
  • Physician Assist Aids Network
  • Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics

     

    GENERAL REFERENCE SOURCES:

     

     

    REF. HF5381.D66
    Dun's Employment Opportunities Directory. Dun & Bradstreet, Annual. This directory includes a brief description of each employer, the career opportunities the employer provides,and whether summer jobs or work/study programs are offered. Includes a geographic index,industry classification index, and a discipline index subdivided by state.

    REF. LC1072.I58G55 1997
    Internships: The Hotlist for Job Hunters. Macmillan, 1997. This guide will also lead you to internships that will help give you good work experience.

    REF. HF5382.75.U6J62
    Job Bank Series. (vols. 1-16). Bob Adams, Inc., Annual. This series covers all of the major metropolitan cities. There is a listing of all the companies for that city. Included in the listing is the address, the name of the personnel director, and an overview of the company.

    REF. HF5382.5.U5N34 2001
    National Job Bank: A Comprehensive Guide to Major Employers in the United States. Bob Adams, Inc., 2001. The listings within the book are by state. The industrial/georgraphical cross index includes these categories; chemicals, computer related,health care, research and development, and rubber and plastics.

    REF. LC1072.I58P48 1998
    Peterson's Internships. Peterson's, Annual. This guide list internship programs available in the United States. It gives information on the requirements, deadline for applications, training requirements and much more.

    REF. HF5382.5.U5P763 2000
    Professional Careers Sourcebook. Gale Research, 2000. . This book gives job descriptions, salaries, and growth potential of different careers. It also gives a list professional associations, educational directories, scholarships and other sources of information.

    REF. Q149.U5S315a
    Salaries of Scientists, Engineers, and Technicians. Scientific Manpower Commission, Annual. This guide gives the starting salaries for graduating candidates by curriculum. It tells the number of degrees granted by male and female, and it gives the starting salaries for both.

     

    BIOLOGY CAREERS:

    RESD. Q317.B452
    Biotechnology Directory Annual: Products, Companies, Research and Organizations. Stockton Press, Annual. This directory contains international coverage arranged by country.

    REF. HD9999.B443V63
    Biotechnology Guide U.S.A.: Companies, Data and Analysis. Stockton Press, Annual. This directory lists only those companies that are actually working with the new technologies of genetic engineering, monoclonal antibodies, large-scale cell culture, and the like.

    REF QH442.G462
    Directory of Biotechnology Companies. Mary Ann Liebert, 2000. This directory details the composition and activities of 87 American biotechnology centers. The information in each listing includes the address, the name of the contact person, area of concentration, and its funding sources.

     

    CHEMISTRY CAREERS:

    REF HF5381.V45 no.63
    Opportunities in Chemistry Careers. VGM Career Horizons, 1997. This book covers the various opportunities available to those who are interested in pursuing a career in chemistry.

     

    CLINICAL SCIENCES CAREERS:

    REF. RA960.A43
    American Hospital Association Guide to the Health Care Field. American Hospital Association,Annual. This is a central source for information on health care institutions, the American Health Association, and agencies in the health care field.

    REF. RB36.2.C553
    Clinical Laboratory Reference. Medical Economics Co., Annual. This directory contains a listing of professional organizations, distributors reference laboratories for rare tests, and it also includes a calendar of national and international meetings.

    RA976.A78 1998
    Delmar's Handbook for Health Information Careers. Delmar Publishers, 1998. This book covers career information on medical record management, health management and other areas of interest in the healthcare field.

    REF R690.V45 1998
    Handbook of Health Care Careers. VGM Career Horizons, 1998. This books covers areas from medicine to animal care. It discusses interviewing techniques, and it talks about the future of health careers.

    R690.D36 1998
    Health Care Job Explosion: High Growth Health Care Careers and Job Locator. Bookhaven Press, 1998. This book discusses the growing areas of the healthcare industry. There are job hunting tips, and employment forecasting.

    REF R690.G47 1997
    Health Careers Today. Mosby Lifeline, 1997. This book surveys health occupations, including basic health care skills, and job hunting skills.

    REF. HF5382.5.U5C625
    Job Choices:....In Science and Engineering. National Association of Colleges and Employers, Annual. This directory contains information on who is hiring, what recruiters are looking for in potential candidates, and it gives a listing of employers with brief descriptions.

    REF HF5381.V45 no. 72
    Opportunities in health and Medical Careers. VGM Career Horizons, 1998. This book provides information on vocational skills necessary for particular health and medical careers.

    REF HF5381.V45 no. 55
    Opportunities in Physician Careers. VGM Career Horizons, 2000. This books provides information on careers as physicians, physician assistants and much more.

    .

    MATHEMATICS CAREERS:

    REF. QA13.N67
    Assistantships and Graduate Fellowships in the Mathematical Sciences. American Mathematical Society, Annual. This is an alphabetical listing of colleges and universities by state, including the canadian provinces. It gives information on the type of assistance, services that are required, degrees awarded, and much more.

    REF. QA1.M765
    Mathematical Sciences Professional Directory. American Mathematical Society, Annual. Thisdirectory lists active professionals within the mathematical science field. There is also a non-academic organizations section.

    REF. QA13.N67
    Notices of the American Mathematical Society. American Mathematical Soceity, Annual. This is a special issue that covers assistantships and fellowships in the mathematical sciences. The directory lists graduate student assistantships and faculty fellowships.

    QA10.5.A15 1996
    101 Careers in Mathematics. Mathematical Association of America, 1996. A good resource for those considering careers in mathematics.

     

    PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT CAREERS:

    R847.A1A56 1996/97
    Annual Report on Physician Assistant Eductional Programs in the United States. Association of Physician Assistant Programs, Annual. This annual publication gives you useful information on the educational programs that offer the physician assistant degree program.

    RESD. R697.P45A67 1991
    Appleton & Lange's Review For the Physician Assistant. Appleton & Lange, 1991. This is a review guide with sample exams and questions for the physical assistant test.

    RESD. R697.P45N488 1995
    physician's Assistant. National Learning Corporation, 1995. This is a review manual to help prepare you for the physician assistant examination.

    REF. R847.5.N38
    Physician Assistant Programs Directory. The Association, Annual. This directory contains a state by state listing of physician assistants programs.

    RESD. R697.F45P53 1991
    Physician Assistant: 850 Multiple Choice Questions With Explanatory Answers. Appleton & Lange, 1991. This is a review manual for the physician assistant examination.

    RESD. R697.P45P53 1996
    Physician Assistant: 925 Questions & Answers. Appleton & Lange, 1996. This is a review manual for the physician assistant examination.

    OVER R697.P45I78 1998
    Review Questions For Physician Assistant Certifying Examinations. Parthenon Publishing Group, 1998. This is a review manual with practice questions and answers.

     

  • PHYSICS CAREERS:

    REF. QC147.N75O57
    Directory of Physics and Astronomy Staff. American Institute of Physics.
    American Institute of Physics, Annual. This directory lists addresses of academic institutions and research and development organizations and their staff.

    FORECASTING MATERIAL:

    When searching for job information, it is a good idea to have some background information on the health of the industry in which you are seeing employment. Listed below are two sources that will give you good statistical information in the health and science fields.

    REF HD6278 .U5F277 1999
    America's Top Jobs for College Graduates. Jist Works, 1999. This book forecasts what and where the top jobs for the future will be. There are job descriptions, salary information and much more.

    REF HF5382.5.U5C271 1998
    Career Guide to America's Top industries. Jist Works, 1998. This book gives a very detailed description of the industries that are predicted to be the fastest growing over the next few years.

    REF HF5382.F368 1998
    Enhanced Occupational Outlook Handbook. Jist Works, 1998. This book compliments the Occupational Outlook Handbook.

    REF HF5381.A1O36
    Occupational Outlook Handbook. U.S. Department of labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Annual. This annual publication gives very detailed information on various occupations. It gives outlook for the next 10 years, salary information and more.

    REF HF5382.U5O35
    The 1994-2005 Job Outlook in Brief. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 1996. This guide gives job forecasts in almost every industry.

    .


    Maintained by: Science Librarian Outreach/User Services Coordinator
  •  


    .