Mental Health and Deaf Resources
The following resources are found in Wallace
Library and/or the Educational
Technology Resource Center (ETRR) in Building 60, 3355. An * means it's
also available at ETRR. If you are interested in more books on this topic, use
the subject in the library's Einstein catalog.
If we do not have the book you want, be sure to check the "Connect
NY" library catalog. If you still cannot locate the book, go to
Interlibrary Loan and request the book. ILL service is fast and the book
arrives within a few days. Please note that we keep ERIC documents [microfiche]
Lib. has 000001- 1966- located in 2nd Fl. Microfiche Cabinets. The full-text
ERIC documents
are also available (1996- present) via the Ebsco database. Remember that we
have the NTID Research Dept. composed
of experts who have bibliographies on selected presentations and articles on
the web site.This bibliography includes book, video, software and web resources.
The School Psychology
Guide, Deaf
and Special Education Guide, and
Deaf Culture Guide all have resources for further research.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS OR REFERENCE WORKS-Use the following specialized
reference books. These are good resources to use when starting to do research
on a topic. Articles are written by experts in the field and have bibliographies
for further reading. If you are not sure of a topic, browsing through these
works will give you topic ideas.
Deaf Related Encyclopedias and Resources
Baker, C. & Jones, S.P. (Eds.). (1998). Encyclopedia of bilingualism
and bilingual education. Philadelphia: Multilingual Matters. (In Reference
area on the 1st floor REF LC3707 .E53 1998).
Part 3 Find bilingual education for the deaf and hearing impaired..(from
Multilingual Matters web site).
Bolton, B. (2001). Handbook of measurement and evaluation in rehabilitation.
Gaithersburg, MD: Aspen Publishers. (4th floor, HD7255.5.H35 2001).
Ch. 17. Assessment of individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing.
Health Association-MCAHI. (1998). Finding your way for deaf, hard of hearing
and hearing people: Community resource handbook. Rochester, N.Y. : The Health
Association. (REF 1st floor, HV2561.N7F3 1998).
*Marschark, M. & Spencer, P.E. (Eds). (2003). Oxford handbook of deaf
studies, language and education. New York: Oxford University Press. (4th
floor, HV2380 .O88 2003).
Morton, D.D. & Christensen, J.N.(Eds.). (2000). Mental health services
for deaf people: A resource directory. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University.(REF
1st floor RC451.4.D4M455 2000).
Parlato, S.J. (1995). All about deafness: Where to turn....for answers to
questions about hearing loss: A directory to 450 support groups and organizations
for parents, professionals and late-deafened adults. Rochester, NY: Salvatore
J. Parlato. (REF 1st floor HV2545.P37 1995).
*Van Cleve, J.(Ed.) (1987). Gallaudet encyclopedia of Deaf people and deafness.
New York: McGraw-Hill.. (In Reference area on the 1st floor and on the 4th floor-
REF HV 2365.G35 1986).
Look up Vol. 2 Psychology Evaluation, p. 332-336, Psychology, p. 336-344, Psychotherapy,
p. 344-351. Check out Social Work in Vol. 3.
Psychiatric Assessment Manuals
American Psychiatric Association. (1994).Diagnostic and statistical manual
of mental disorders : DSM-IV. Washington, DC : American Psychiatric Association.
(3rd floor and 1st floor, RES RC455.2.C4 D54 1994).
Use of the manual -- DSM-IV classification -- Multiaxial assessment -- Disorders
usually first diagnosed in infancy, childhood or adolescence -- Delirium, dementia
and amnestic and other cognitive disorders -- Mental disorders due to a general
medical condition -- Substance-related disorders -- Schizophrenia and other
psychotic disorders -- Mood disorders -- Anxiety disorders -- Somatoform disorders
-- Facititious disorders -- Dissociative disorders -- Sexual and gender identity
disorders -- Eating disorders -- Sleep disorders -- Impulse-control disorders
not elsewhere classified -- Adjustment disorders -- Personality disorders --
Other conditions that may be a focus of clinical attention -- Decision trees
for differential diagnosis -- Criteria sets and axes provided for further study
-- Glossary of technical terms -- Annotated listing of changes in DSM-IV --
Alphabetical listing of DSM-IV diagnoses and codes -- Numerical listing of DSM-IV
diagnoses and codes -- ICD-9-CM codes for selected general medical conditions
and medication-induced disorders (cont) DSM-IV classification with ICD-10 codes
-- Outline for cultural formulation and glossary of culture-bound syndromes
-- DSM-IV contributors.
American Psychiatric Association. (2000). Diagnostic and statistical manual
of mental disorders: DSM-IV-TR. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association.
(3rd floor and 1st floor, REF RC455.2.C4 A48 2000).
Similar to the contents listed above.
Psychology/Psychiatry/Counseling Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Benner, D. (Ed.). (1999). Baker encyclopedia of psychology & counseling.
Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books. (1st floor, REF BF31.B25 1999).
Provides thorough coverage of psychological terms, concepts, and research from
a Christian point of view, identifying the issues and applications of particular
importance from that perspective and duggesting ways of evaluating the concepts,
theories, and research findings in terms of biblical teachings. This first update
since 1985 takes the 1994 publication of the fourth edition of the Diagnostic
and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders into account and offers improved
cross-referencing. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Colman, A.M. (2001). A dictionary of psychology. New York : Oxford University
Press. (1st floor REF BF31.C65 2001).
Perhaps one of the most useful, but certainly the most delightful feature of
the dictionary are the Greek and Latin roots or other origins that Colan (psychology,
U. of Leicester) provides in nearly every entry. He offers definitions of the
most important and difficult words readers are likely to encounter in books
and articles on psychology. In addition to the basic terminology of psychology
and psychiatry, he delves into technical areas of neuroanatomy, neurophysiology,
psychopharmacology, and statistics where most such references dare not tread.
He cross-references extensively rather than indexing. c. Book News Inc.
Corsini, R.J. (Ed.). (1994). Encyclopedia of psychology. New York: John
Wiley & Sons. (1st floor, REF BF 31.E52)
The first edition of this work (Wiley, 1984) won two prestigious awards. With
well over 400 contributors, approximately 2500 articles, and about 15,000 references
(not including duplications), this current four-volume edition may prove to
be a winner as well. The first three volumes contain the complete text, while
the fourth offers a biographical dictionary of prestigious psychologists, a
huge bibliography, a list of ethical principles and conduct codes for psychologists,
and a name and
subject index. The signed entries vary in length and include cross references
and lists of further references, where possible. Subtopics are accompanied by
charts, graphs, pictures, or drawings. A particularly interesting section deals
with places (i.e., histories of psychology and examinations of national viewpoints
regarding research and therapy in regions like Africa, Canada, and Latin America).
Additionally, the articles about the psychology of music, money, law, and the
arts are valuable sources of information. (from Einstein Catalog).
Corsini, R.J. (1999). Dictionary of psychology. Philadelphia, PA: Brunner/Mazel.
(1st floor, REF BF31.C72 1999).
The most comprehensive, up-to-date reference of its kind, "The Dictionary
of Psychology" maintains a user-friendliness throughout, a combination
which ensures that it will serve as the definitive work for years to come. With
a clear, functional design and written in a highly readable style, the dictionary
offers over 10,000 entries (including interdisciplinary terms and contemporary
slang), more than 12 illustrations, copious examples of terms, as well as extensive
cross-referencing of entries. (from Einstein Catalog).
Corsini, R.J. (Ed.). (2001). Handbook of innovative therapy. New York:
John Wiley & Sons. (1st floor, REF RC480.5.H276 2001).
Complete and comprehensive volume on the many different and revolutionary psychotherapies
in use today. Includes new and groundbreaking therapies such as eye movement
desensitization. Contents: Actualizing Therapy, Allo-Centered Psychotherapy
color="993366">, Art Therapy, Autogenic Training, Biofeedback Therapy, Body
Therapies, Brief Psychodynamic Therapy, Brief Therapy, Cognitive Behavior Therapy,
Comprehensive Relaxation Training, Conditioned Reflex Therapy, Covert Conditioning,
Crisis Management, Dance/Movement Therapy, The Deep Psychobiology of Psychotherapy,
Direct Psychoanalysis, Eidetic Psychotherapy, Encouragement Therapy, Ericksonian
Therapy, Existential-Humanistic Psychotherapy, Experiential Therapy, Eye Movement
Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR), Feminist Psychotherapy
Fixed Role Therapy, Focusing, Healing the Divided Self, Holistic Education,
Immediate Therapy, Impasse/Priority Therapy, Integration Therapy, Integrity
Groups, Interpersonal Process Recall, Life Skills Training, Mainstreaming, Meditation,
Metaphor Therapy, Morita Psychotherapy, Multiple Family Therapy, Naikan Psychotherapy,
Narrative Therapy, Natural High Therapy, The New Identity Process, Nondirective
Psychoanalysis, Orgone Therapy, Poetry Therapy, Primal Therapy, Primary Relationship
Therapy, Problem Solving Group Therapy, Programmed Success Therapy, Provocative
Therapy, Psychodrama, Psycho-Imagination Therapy, Psychomaterialism, Psychosynthesis,
Radical Psychiatry, Reevaluation Counseling, Responsive Therapy: An Invitational
Counseling Model, Self-Image Therapy, Sex Therapies, Short-Term Targeted Therapy,
Social Influence Therapy, Solution Focused Therapy, Strategic Solution Focused
Therapy, Stress Management, Structured Learning, Thought Field Therapy, Triad
Counseling, Twenty-Four Hour Therapy and Verbal Behavior Therapy.
Craighead, W. E. (2001). The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral
science. New York : John Wiley & Sons. (1st floor, REF BF31 .E52 2001).
Contributions from 1,000-plus authors on some 1,200 topics encompass concepts,
techniques, and biographical profiles relevant to ten areas of psychology: applied,
clinical, cognitive, developmental, educational, measurement, personality, physiological,
social, and history/theory. The entries range in length from a column or so
to many pages. Each entry is signed and includes biographical references and
cross references. Indexing is by subject and author.Book News, Inc.®, Portland,
OR
Hersen, M. (Ed.). (2002). Encyclopedia of psychotherapy. San Diego, CA:
Elsevier Science. (1st floor, REF RC475.7 .H47 2002).
Psychotherapy is the dialogue between patient and therapist in the diagnosis
and treatment of behavioral, crisis, and mental disorders. Psychoanalysis as
formulated by Sigmund Freud is the first modern form of psychotherapy and this
approach has given rise to several score of psychodynamic therapies. In more
recent times behavioral, cognitive, existential, humanistic, and short-term
therapies have been put into practice, each with a particular focus and each
giving rise to variations in structure and content of treatment as well as therapeutic
outcomes. These therapy approaches relate the patient/therapist dialogue to
different aspects of the therapeutic process.
For instance, behavior therapies focus on the patient's conduct and cognitive
therapies treat the client's thought processes. The Encyclopedia will cover
the major psychotherapies currently in practice as well as the classical approaches
that laid the foundation for the various contemporary treatment approaches.
In addition, the Encyclopedia will identify the scientific studies conducted
on the efficacy of the therapies and review the theoretical basis of each therapy.
(from Amazon
Bookstore web site).
Kazkin, A.E. (2000). Encyclopedia of psychology. New York: Oxford University
Press. (1st floor, REF BF31 .E52 2000).
Developed and published in co-operation with the American Psychological Association,
this encyclopaedia will become the basic reference in the many academic and
professional disciplines known collectively as psychology. A combination of
historical, descriptive, synthetic, and analytic articles will cover topics
raging from educational, clinical and experimental psychology to personality,
organizational/industrial, and social psychology as well as psychoanalysis and
cross-cultural psychology. Some exampls of the contents include :A handbook
of tools - research design and statistics, testing and assessment; On body and
mind, brain and behavior; The self among others - the worlds of the personal,
interpersonal, and the social; Tracing development across the lifespan; Institutions
and environments: interactions with family, school and work; Cultural and cross-cultural
psychology; Mental health and mental disorders; Interventions for health and
wellness; and Psychology and the larger world. . A full article list is available
via http://www.oup.co.uk/encpsych. (from
Oxford University Press
web site).
Ramachandran, V. S (Ed.). (1994). Encyclopedia of human behavior. San
Diego, CA: Academic Press. (1st floor, REF BF31.E5).
This encyclopedia fills a 20-year need for a comprehensive reference source
in this area of study. Though there have been major advances in our understanding
of human behavior, particularly in the fields of neuroscience and psychology,
until now no interdisciplinary or encyclopedic source has updated Robert Goldenson's
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior (1970). The encyclopedia is organized alphabetically
by subject. Essays are written by experts in the field and contain an outline
of contents, a glossary, and a comprehensive discussion that includes history,
theories, theorists, implications, interventions, treatments, and conclusions.
Articles are cross-referenced and a bibliography is included for each entry.
A very good index provides a complete listing of where and in what context a
topic is covered within the broad subject areas. (from Einstein Catalog).
Psychologists Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Kimble, G.A. (Ed.). (1991). Portraits of pioneers in psychology. Hillsdale,
NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.(1st floor, REF BF109.A1 P67 1991).
Presents the pioneering contributions to psychology of 22 men and women from
an informal and personal perspective. All but one of these pioneers were born
in the 19th century, and most became very influential in their field. The book
contains a nice mix of approaches and styles. There are chapters on Freud, James,
Hull, Watson,
Calkins, Wertheimer, Lashley, Tolman, Heidbreder, and many others. There is,
however, a certain arbitrariness in the selection of pioneers for example, there
is little on structuralism, though there is an interesting piece on Titchener.
The quality of the chapters, written by experts in the field, is almost uniformly
excellent. Many are entertaining and provide important insights into the thinking
and personalities of the pioneers, while some concentrate on their lives, and
others on their intellectual contributions. It is an interesting blend, but
readers should not expect exhaustive analyses of the pioneers' work. (from Einstein
Catalog).
Sheehy, N.(Ed.). (1997). Biographical dictionary of psychology. New York
: Routledge Reference. (1st floor, REF BF109.A1 B56 1997).
Provides biographical information and critical analysis of the influences and
reception of some 500 key contributors to the field of psychology, charting
the development of the practice of psychology around the world from the 1850s
to the present. Alphabetical entries include birth and death dates, main interests,
education and appointments, principal publications, and essays appraising the
psychologist's achievements and ideas. For students, academics, librarians,
and practitioners of
psychology and cognitive science. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc.,
Portland, OR
School Psychology Resources
Fagan, T. (Ed.). (1996). Historical encyclopedia of school psychology.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.(1st floor, REF LB1027.55.H57 1996).
In more than 400 entries, this encyclopedia treats several areas relevant to
school psychology: assessment, intervention, consultation, administration and
supervision, professional guidelines, agencies, and issues. The entries provide
current definition, background information, related topics (marked by asterisks),
see also references, and lists of additional readings. There are brief biographical
sketches for notable psychology professionals. The preface explains how to use
the encyclopedia effectively. Separate lists of professional organizations,
associations, relevant journals, and classic texts are included. (from
Einstein Catalog).
Fagan, T. (2000). School psychology : Past, present, and future. Bethesda,
MD : NASP Publications. (4th floor, LB3013.6 .F34 2000).
Contents include: Introduction to the field of school psychology -- Historical
development of school psychology -- The employment context of school psychologists
-- Roles and functions of school psychologists -- Professional evaluation and
accountability -- The preparation of school psychologists -- The regulation
of school psychology -- Practica, internships, and job-site considerations --
School psychology in Canada: past, present, and future perspectives -- International
school psychology --Perspectives on the future of school psychology -- Appendix
A. School psychology data sheet -- Appendix B. Primary journals and books on
school psychology --Appendix C. American Psychological Association Ethical principles
and code of conduct -- Appendix D. National Association of School Psychologists
Principles for professional ethics.
>Reynolds, C. (Ed.). (1999). Handbook of school psychology. New York:
John Wiley and Sons. (1st floor and 4th floor, REF LB1051.H2356 1998).>
As the standard reference in the field, this edited handbook focuses on how
a school psychologist can operate and create change within the educational system,
instead of focusing solely on the diagnosis and treatment of an individual.
Groth-Marnat, G. (1997). Handbook of psychological assessment. New York
: John Wiley & Sons. (1st floor, REF BF176.G76 1997).
A step-by-step guide to the classic tests for psychological assessment, including
Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Bender-Gestalt, Rorschach, the Minnesota Multiphasic,
and projective drawings. Compiles information from many separate manuals and
texts. The third edition updates evaluation systems, includes new and revised
tests, adds sections on ethics and test selection, and expands the coverage
of various topics. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Newmark, C.S. (Ed.). (1996). Major psychological assessment instruments.
Boston: Allyn & Bacon.(4th floor, BF176 .M35 1996).
Contents include: The Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory-2 (MMPI-2),
>The Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory-Adolescent (MMPI-A), The Millon
Clinical Multiaxial Inventory-III (MCMI-III), The Rorschach, The Thematic Apperception
Test (TAT), The Clinical Use of Figure Drawings, The Wechsler Intelligence Scale
for Children-Third Edition (WISC-III) , The Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale-Revised
(WAIS-R) , The Kaufman Assessment Battery for Children (K-ABC), The Bender-Gestalt
Test (BGT), The Halstead-Reitan Neuropsychological Test Battery (HRNTB).
Squire, L. (Ed.) (1992). Encyclopedia of learning and memory. New York
: Maxwell Macmillan International. (REF BF318 .E53 1992).
Containing 189 alphabetically arranged, signed articles, most accompanied by
a bibliography, this reference for students, teachers, and the educated public
encompasses the range of current knowledge about the brain's ability to process,
store, and retrieve vast amounts of information. It's particularly helpful in
explaining the biological aspects of learning and memory--brain anatomy, function,
and chemistry--to the general reader through the use of illustrations. In addition,
the Encyclopedia contains 26 biographies of key individuals associated with
the field, including Freud, Piaget, and Skinner . (from Amazon
web site).
Sternberg, R.J. (Ed.) (1994). Encyclopedia of human intelligence. New
York : Maxwell Macmillan International. (REF BF431 .E59 1994).
A comprehensive guide to the many theories of the way humans gather and use
information, and to the men and women who developed these theories. Among the
topics covered are aging, Alzheimer's disease, aptitude tests, bias in testing,
cognitive styles, culture, drugs, dyslexia, ethnicity, genius, illiteracy, intuition,
reasoning, schooling and intelligence, test-taking strategies, underachievement,
and wisdom. The 250 original, signed articles are arranged alphabetically and
some are illustrated with drawings, charts, or photographs that are useful in
explaining anatomy and function of the brain and nervous system. (from Amazon
web site).
Noshpitz, J.D. (Ed.). (1997). Handbook of child and adolescent psychiatry.
New York: John Wiley & Sons. (1st floor, REF RJ499.3 .H356 1997).
Volume one presents material on normal development first, followed by theoretical
and clinical perspectives, and then by clinical syndromes of infancy and early
childhood. Topics include high-risk environments and young children; maternal
depression and infant maladjustment; Margaret Mahler's theory of separation-individuation;
feeding disorders of infants and toddlers; substance abuse, fetal alcohol syndrome
and related neonatal disorders; gender identity disorders of childhood; traumatic
stress disorder; and autism and the pervasive developmental disorders. Annotation
copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Social Work and Rehabilitation Encyclopedias and Resources
Bolton, B. (2001). Handbook of measurement and evaluation in rehabilitation.
Gaithersburg, MD: Aspen Publishers. (4th floor, HD7255.5.H35 2001).
Contents: 1. Scores and norms -- Ch. 2. Reliability -- Ch. 3. Validity -- Ch.
4. Intelligence testing -- Ch. 5. Aptitude testing -- Ch. 6. Assessment of personality
-- Ch. 7. Assessment of psychopathology -- Ch. 8. Vocational inventories --
Ch. 9. Assessment interviewing -- Ch. 10. Assessment of independence -- Ch.
11. Neuropsychological assessment -- Ch. 12. Assessing work behavior -- Ch.
13. The O*NET occupational information system -- Ch. 14. Measurement of client
outcomes in rehabilitation -- Ch. 15. Assessment of career development and maturity
-- Ch. 16. Assessment of individuals with visual impairments -- Ch. 17. Assessment
of individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing -- Ch. 18. Assessment of adults
with mental retardation -- Ch. 19. Assessment in psychiatric rehabilitation
-- Ch. 20. Multicultural issues in assessment
Dell Orto.A.E. (1995). Encyclopedia of disability and rehabilitation.
New York : Macmillan Library Reference USA. (1st floor, REF HV1568 .E53 1995).
A reference that provides rehabilitation information on both the medical and
social aspects of a wide range of disabilities--physical and mental, organic
and traumatic--and available therapies, processes, concepts, and sources of
support, as well as simple explanations of terms and procedures. The articles
are arranged alphabetically and thoroughly cross-referenced; each entry also
includes a bibliography. The articles emphasize that people with disabilities
share a commonality with those who are not disabled. Where appropriate, entries
also include lists of organizations and foundations as resources for help or
further information. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Edwards, R. (Ed.). (1997). Encyclopedia of social work. Washington, DC:
National Association of Social Workers. (In Reference area on the 1st floor
REF HV35.S6).
Tovah M. Wax has written an article that examines the multifaceted nature of
deafness, the Deaf community, and factors that contributed to Deaf culture and
offers suggestions for social work intervention in the Deaf community. (Vol.
1, pp. 679-684).ETRR has this article ( NTID-RR 1543). Dean K. Santos has written
an article about the culture model of deafness (including psychosocial development,
mental health, family dynamics, and sociocultural environments of people in
the deaf population) with implications for social work practice. (Vol. 1, pp.
685-704).ETRR has this article ( NTID-RR 1530 ).
BOOKS--Books are good places to get in-depth information
and the historical background of an issue. They are not good places to find
recent information. Check the bibliography (list of resources) at the end of
most books to find other suggestions of where to find related articles and books.
Most Deaf-related books are in the HV 2350 are on the 4th floor. You can find
books about Communication and Deaf in the Einstein
Catalog. Note you can browse the entire catalog, the video catalog or the
e-content catalog. Do a Word Search using the entire catalog and try these keywords:
deaf* communication, hearing impair* and communication. Also try the keywords
for language and communication options, such as Cued Speech. The asterisk at
the end of the word deaf* will give you variants of that word root such as deafened,
deafblind, etc.Try the Subject Search to retrieve ALL records you might miss
using the keyword search. Do not use the asterisk when you do a subject search.
Remember that we now have e-books via netLibrary.
If we have the title via netLibrary, click on the title link to read the
book on-line. Go to the E-Content Catalog via Einstein
Catalog to search for ebooks and ejournals. They are the equivalent of print
books and are up-to-date and recent. If we do not have a book you want here,
click on the Connect NY catalog,
do a search and make a request for the book if it's available. If it's not available,
then go to Interlibrary
Loan to make your request.
Andrews, J.F., Leigh, I. and Weiner, M.T. (2004). Deaf people : Evolving
perspectives from psychology, education and sociology. Boston : Pearson/Allyn
and Bacon. (4th floor, HV2380 .A63 2004).
Three authors--one hearing and two deaf examine the psychology of the Deaf community,
including history, current topics, case studies, and personal experiences. The
book provides a reference for a wide range of students, professionals (including
psychologists, linguists, social workers, physicians, and educators), and parents.
Andrews (Lamar U.), Leigh (Gallaudet U.), and Weiner (Gallaudet U.) address
historical perspectives 1950 to present, an anthropological view of Deaf culture,
causes of hearing loss, language learning and teaching approaches, and psychological
issues of children and adults. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland,
OR
*Caccamise, F. (1998). Signs for legal and social work terminology. Rochester,
NY: RIT, NTID. (4th floor, HV 2474.C326 1998).
Cammeron, J. (2000). American families in crisis. Rochester, NY : RIT,
NTID. (OVER 4th floor, HV6626.2 .C35 2000).
Corker, M. (1994). Counselling: The deaf challenge. London, UK: Jessical
Kingsley. (4th floor, HV2395.C67 1994).>
Contents: Identifying and Exploring the Deaf Challenge, Themes, Contexts and
Definitions - The Prevailing Winds, The Challenge of the Unconscious - Personal
Agendas, Making the Unconscious Conscious - Roles and Relationships in Counselling
Deaf Clients, The Communicative Challenge - Language for Growth, The Methodological
Challenge - Moving Beyond a 'Talking Through' Mairian Corker, and Paul Redfern,
Deaf Experiences of Counselling Process and Counselling Training, Working Across
Worlds I: Deaf Client - Hearing Counsellor Jane McIntosh, and Rachel Wood, Working
Across Worlds II: The Deaf Counsellor and the Hearing Family - Facing the Experience
of Failure, Art-in-Therapy: The Role of Art-Communication and Picture-Art in
Working with Abused Deaf Clients Margaret Kennedy, The Deaf Alliance Sharon
Ridgeway, Issues for Deaf People in Counselling Training Laraine Callow, Sharon
Ridgeway, and Mairian Corker
Denmark, J.C. (1994). Deafness and mental health. Bristol PA: Jessical
Kingsley Publishers.(3rd floor, RC 451.4.D4D46 1994).
Few people are fully aware of the psychological and sociological implications
of different tyeps of deafness, or of the problems of deaf people with disabilities,
and few members of the caring professions have any training in this field. This
clear, practical book, by one of the world's leading psychiatrists in work with
deaf people, outlines the nature of the different kinds of deafness and covers
both clinical and service aspects of working with deaf people. This book includes
many illustrative examples and is written not only for professionals in the
mental health field, but also for all those whose work brings them into contact
with deaf children and adutls. Because deafness is not a 'visible' problem,
it is often difficult to take account of the problems that deaf people face,
and this book will be of particular use in helping to understand better the
nature of deafness and to recognize mental disorder. (from book jacket).
Densham, J. (1995). Deafness, children and the family: A gudie to professional
practice. Brookfield, VT: Ashgate Pub. Co. (4th floor, HV 2391.D46 1995).
A book that focuses attention on the impact of deafness, parental reactions,
and the emotional implications of deafness in terms of stigma, self-esteem,
and socialization. It emphasizes the need for a multidisciplinary approach with
cooperation between different professionals working in the field, and with parents
of deaf children.
Discussions of theories of development and language acquisition offer an historical
perspective of education of deaf children. Includes an overview of causes and
treatments of deafness. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
*Glickman, N.S. & Harvey, M.A. (Eds.). (1996). Culturally affirmative
psychotherapy with deaf persons. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates,
Inc. (3rd floor, 2 copies, RC451.4.D4 C85 1996)
Check out "Is There a Psychology of the Hearing?", "The Development
of Culturally Deaf Identities", "Storytelling and the Use of Culturally
Appropriate Metaphors in Psychotherapy with Deaf People", "Report
from the Front Lines: Balancing Multiple Roles of a Deafness Therapist",
"Mental Health Service and the Deaf Community: Deaf Leaders as Culture
Brokers", "Deaf Therapists, Deaf Clients, and the Therapeutic Relationship".
In this book, the shift from a medical-pathological view of deafness to one
culturally centered is applied to the field of psychotherapy for deaf persons.
That comprehensive understanding of signed language and deaf culture is crucial
to successful treatment of deaf clients in mental health settings is amply demonstrated
throughout the volume. The first half of the book is applicable not only to
mental health professionals but also to any professional who works with deaf
clients. The second half is more focused toward the mental health profession.
As a whole, the book provides a valuable combination of theory and practical
tips. Book jacket.
Glickman, N.S. & Gulati, S. (Eds.). (2003). Mental health care of deaf
people : A culturally affirmative approach. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum
Associates. (3rd floor, RC451.4.D4 M44 2003).
Deaf adults and children, like their hearing counterparts, experience a full
range of mental health problems. They develop psychoses, sink into depressions,
abuse alcohol and drugs, commit sexual offenses, or simply have trouble adjusting
to life situations. But when a deaf client appears on the doorstep of an ordinary
hospital, residential facility, clinic, or office, panic often ensues. Mental
Health Care of Deaf People: A Culturally Affirmative Approach offers much-needed
help to clinical and counseling psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers,
nurses and other mental health professionals -- and to their program administrators.
The editors (a psychologist and a psychiatrist) and the authors (leading authorities
with a variety of experitises) systematically review the special needs of deaf
patients, particularly those who regard themselves as "culturally Deaf,"
and provide professionals with the tools they require to meet those needs. Among
them is an extensive "library" of pictorial questionnaires and information
sheets developed by one of the very few psychiatric units in the country devoted
to the deaf. These handouts greatly simplify the processes involved in the diagnosis
and treatment of people who in many cases are not good readers of English --
for example, explaining psychiatric symptoms and medication side effects. The
handouts are reproduced on a CD included in each copy of the book, to enable
purchasers to print out and use copies in their work. This comprehensive clinical
guide and its accompanying CD constitute vital resources for all those who seek
to provide sensitive, effective mental health care to deaf people. Book jacket.
*Gutman, V. (Ed.). (2002). Ethics in mental health and deafness. Washington,
DC: Gallaudet University Press. (3rd floor, RC451.4.D4 E86 2002).
This volume explores ethical issues specific to working with deaf clients, including
matters of confidentiality, managing multiple relationships, and the clinician's
competency to provide services, particularly in communicating with and understanding
deaf people. Led by editor Virginia Gutman, a unique assembly of respected mental
health professionals share their experiences and knowledge in working with deaf
clients. Irene Leigh commences the book with her varied experiences as a deaf
mental health practitioner, and Gutman follows with insights on ethics in the
"small world" of the Deaf community. William McCrone discusses the
law and ethics, and Patrick Brice considers ethical issues regarding deaf children,
adolescents, and their families. In contrast, Janet Pray addresses concerns
about deaf and hard of hearing older clients. Minority deaf populations pose
additional ethical questions, which are detailed by Carolyn Corbett. Kathleen
Peoples explores the challenges of training professionals in mental health services
specifically for deaf clients. Closely related to these topics is the influence
of interpreters with deaf clients in mental health settings, which Lynnette
Taylor thoroughly treats. This text also features a chapter on genetic counseling
and testing for deafness by Kathleen Arnos. The final section, written by Robert
Pollard, examines ethical conduct in research with deaf people, a fitting conclusion
to a volume that will become required reading for all professionals and students
in this discipline. Book jacket.
*Harvey, M.A. (1989). Psychotherapy with deaf and hard of hearing persons:
A systemic model. Hillsdale, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.(2 copies,
RC451.4.D4H37 1989).
An ideal reference for professionals interested in or working with the deaf
and hard-of-hearing as well as a text for students of clinical, social, and
health psychology, counseling, language and linguistics, rehabilitation, and
work with the deaf and hard-of- hearing. This comprehensive treatise on the
applications of systems theory presents a model designed to aid clinicians and
counselors in understanding and treating deaf, hard-of-heading, and deafened
individuals. The model uses a wide ecological perspective to examine the influences
of larger networks -- families, professionals, and friends -- on the individual
and vice versa. The author balances theoretical descriptions with practical
intervention guidelines utilizing actual case studies and verbatim transcripts
of therapy sessions. Contents: A Systemic Model. Lifespan Development of the
Deaf Eco-System. Lifespan Development of the Hard-of-Hearing Eco-System. Pragmatics
of Systemic Intervention. Treating the Hard-of-Hearing Individual in Context.
Treating the Deafened Individual in Context. On Joining the Deaf Client. Communication
Logistics of Family Treatment. The Use of Interpreters in Family Therapy. Hearing
Children of Deaf Parents. The Parents-School-Student Triangle. Treatment of
the Individual/Family/Vocational Rehabilitation Systems. (from Lawrence
Erlbaum Associates website).
Harvey, M.A. (2003). Psychotherapy with deaf and hard of hearing persons
: A systemic model. Mahwah, NJ : Lawrence Erlbaum. (2 copies, RC451.4.D4
H37 2003).
Harvey (Boston U.) describes a systemic model for understanding and treating
deaf and hard-of-hearing persons within the context of their families and their
larger networks of school, friends, and co-workers. The book offers a resource
and textbook for mental health professionals treating clients whose lives have
been affected by hearing loss in themselves or family members. The revised and
expanded edition includes a new preface, a chapter on coping with the daily
hurtful exchanges experienced by the deaf and hard-of-hearing, and coverage
of spiritual issues related to the experience of loss. Annotation (c)2003 Book
News, Inc., Portland, OR
Lala, F.J.J. (2000). Deaf and hard of hearing substance abusers. Hazelton,
MN: The Distance Learning Center for Addiction Studies. (4th floor, HV 4999.D43.L353
2000).
This information is presented as a 2-part course. Part 1 contains the following
information: 1) introductory materials, including the introduction, the background,
the nature of the study, the purpose of the study, the need for and significance
of the study, the definition of terms, the assumptions, and the limitations
and delimitations; Relevant Characteristics of the Deaf Population, describes
those characteristics of the deaf population that are related to substance abuse
and its successful treatment; a review of the literature on alcoholism as it
relates to the deaf; and a review of the literature on drug abuse and the deaf.
Part 2 of the course will cover the following information: a review of programs
for deaf substance abusers that have been described in the literature or described
for the writer, at his request, for this course; a discussion that ties together
all the various threads into one coherent whole, and discusses implications
of certain viewpoints which have been developed in answer to several pre-eminent
and salient questions about deafness, the ramifications of present trends toward
prevention and treatment of substance abuse among the deaf, and proposed and/or
projected developments in the field; the summary, conclusions and recommendations
for future research and practice to help prevent substance abuse among deaf
people and to help deaf substance abusers overcome their disabilities and lead
normal, productive lives.
Laurenzi, C. & Ridgeway, S. (Ed.). (1996). Progress through equality:
New perspectives in the field of mental helath and deafness. London, UK:
BSMHD Publications. (3rd floor, RC 451.4.D4P76 1996).
What are the current trends in the issues facing deaf people with mental health
needs? What are the subjective views of deaf people themselves? Are the current
forms of intervention merely sticking plaster thus avoiding the real issues?
These are the sort of questions addressed by the 18 authors in their attempt
to provide the field with an alternative, non-medical perspective on mental
health and deafness. The book consists of the following contributions: Doug
Alker charts the passage of institutional oppression facing deaf people, John
Denmark examines the growth of the field from its modest beginnings, Kathy Robinson
examines the impact upon the family of meeting deafness as culture, Jill Jones
argues that a healthy deaf identity and the acquisition of BSL are interwoven,
Annette Joseph examines the complex cultural issues facing black deaf children,
Wendy McCracken offers a paradigm for the teaching of sex education to deaf
people, Margaret Kennedy argues for the non-medicalisation of child sexual abuse,
Sharon Ridgeway assesses the criminal justice system's inept handling of abuse
cases, Alice Thacker offers an insight into schizophrenic sign, Susan Phoenix
proffers a model for family intervention using total communication, Lee Fullwood
and Philippa Clark offer a school-based model for handling problem behavior,
Sally Austin and Herbert Klein present a cognitive behavioral approach to psychopathy,
John Vaughan shows how NVQs can be used to train deaf people as mental health
workers, Jim Kyle offers an insight into the roles and adaptations evolving
from deaf-hearing interaction, Paul Redfern argues that deaf people should develop
their own professional support structures, and Carlo Laurenzi concludes the
book by challenging the field to face up to the real issues of the day.(from
book jacket).
Leigh, I.W. (Ed.). (1999). Psychotherapy with deaf clients from diverse groups.
Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press. (3rd floor, RC451.4.D4P79 1999).
The following chapters are profiled: A.E. Sussman and B.A. Brauer "On Being
a Psychotherapist with Deaf Clients", I.W.Leigh and J.W.Lewis "Deaf
Therapists and the Deaf Community: How the Twain Can Meet", T.M. Wax "The
Evolution of Psychotherapy for Deaf Women", V. Gutman "Therapy Issues
with Deaf Lesbians, Gay Men, and Bisexual Men and Women", S.S.Myers, R.R.
Myers, and A.L. Marcus "Hearing Children of Deaf Parents: Issues and Interventions
within a Bicultural Context", C.A. Corbett "Mental Health Issues for
African American Deaf People", N.M. Eldredge "Culturally Responsive
Psychotherapy with American Indians", C.L. Wu and N.C. Grant "Asian
American and Deaf", M. Hernandez "The Roel of Therapeutic Groups in
Working with Latino Deaf Adolescent Immigrants", D.J. Langholtz and R.
Roth "Deaf People with HIV/AIDS: Notes on the Psychotherapeutic Journey",
F. Burke, V. Gutman and P. Dobosh "Treatment of Deaf Survivors of Sexual
Abuse: A Process of Healing", I.D. Miner "Psychotherapy for People
with Usher Syndrome", and D. Guthmann, K. Sandberg, and J. Dickinson "Chemical
Dependency: An Application of a Treatment Model for Deaf People.
McDonald, B. (1984). How families grow: Specialized psychotherapy with hearing
impaired children and their families. Littleton, CO: Social Synergistics
Co. (3rd floor, RC 451.4.D4M23 1984).
*Miller, B.G (1998). Deaf & sober : Journeys through recovery. Silver
Spring, MD : National Association of the Deaf. ( 4th floor, HV4999.D43 M55 1998).
This book offers an understanding of the unique challenges and experiences of
deaf people with addiction. Anonymouse personal narratives bring the recovery
issues to life.
*Paul, P. V. (1993). Toward a psychology of deafness : Theoretical and empirical
perspectives. Boston, MA : Allyn & Bacon. (4th floor, HV2395 .P38 1993).
Providing an in-depth examination of the impact of deafness on cognitive and
psychosocial development, this clearly written book synthesizes salient theory
and research findings from an interdisciplinary perspective. >The issues behind
the clinical vs. cultural debate are explored in detail, including oralism,
total communication, and the use of American Sign Language -- the three major
communication philosophies currently influencing the education of deaf children.
With the exception of a chapter on culture and identity, the major focus of
the book is on individuals with severe to profound hearing impairment. Whether
these individuals are linked to a world of vision or a world of audition is
explored in some detail; the authors point out the pervasive implications of
this issue for the development of cognition, language and literacy.
Scheetz, N.A. (2004). Psychosocial aspects of deafness. Boston : Pearson/Allyn
and Bacon. (4th floor, HV2380 .S34 2004).
This book highlights contemporary mental health issues affecting deaf and hard
of hearing individuals with overviews of topics in the fields of psychology,
sociology, and deafness. The text covers the development of one's identity,
the emergence of the healthy personality, and the establishment of mental health
services for deaf and hard of hearing individuals. In addition, it provides
the reader with a review of assessment instruments, counseling techniques and
therapeutic models. Family dynamics are discussed from a multiplicity of ethnic
backgrounds reflecting the cultural diversity that is evident within the Deaf
community. Furthermore, strategies for classroom management are included that
focus on enhancing the emotional growth of deaf and hard of hearing children.
The broad scope of the subject matter presented allows flexibility and provides
fresh material for new approaches to courses related to this topic within the
field of deaf education. (from Amazon).
Stein, L.K., Mindel, E.D., & Jabaley, T. (Eds). (1981). Deafness and
mental health. New York: Grune & Stratton, Inc. (3 copies-3rd floor,
RC451.4.D4D42).
Contents: Studies of Behavioral Problems of Deaf Children, Early Identification
and Parent Counseling, The Parent-Professional: A Personal View, Psychological
Evaluation of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Treatment Issues with Deaf Children:
An Eriksonian Perspective, Therapy in the Office or Classroom?, Behavior-Modification
Model in a Residential Setting for Multihandicapped Deaf Children, Mental Health
and the Deaf Adult, Insight-Oriented Psychotherapy with the Deaf, Counseling
the Deaf Client, The Role of the Clergy Serving the Deaf, Sign Language, Mental
Health and Satisfactory Interaction, Legal Strategies to Improve Mental Health
Care for Deaf People, Employment, Deafness and Mental Health, and Mental Health
Needs and Priorities in Deaf Children and Adults: A Deaf Professional's Perspective
for the 1980s.
Trychin, S. (Ed.). (1995). Guidelines for providing mental health services
to people who are hard of hearing. San Diego, CA: Rehabilitation Research
and Training Center, California School of Professional Psychology. (3rd floor,
RC 451.4.D4G85 1995).
Contents: Distinguishing Differences Among People with Hearing Loss, Demographics
of Hearing Loss, Identifying People Who Are Hard of Hearing, The Impact of Hearing
Loss, Intervention Strategies, Other Intervention Strategies, Psychological
Testing, Other Conditions Related to Hearing Loss, National and Local Resources,
References and Communication Guidelines.
*Vernon, M. & Andrews, J.F. (1990). The psychology of deafness: Understanding
deaf and hard of hearing people. New York: Longman. (3 copies- 4th floor,
HV2395.V47 1990).
Hearing loss is the most prevalent chronic health problem in the U.S., yet little
attention has been given to understanding the psychological implications for
deaf and hard of hearing persons. In this text, the authors argue that deafness
is a psychological variable that causes the life experiences of the hearing
to consistently differ from those of the deaf and hard of hearing. Covering
all levels of hearing loss-from prelingual and profound deafness to a partial
and mild hearing loss, the text demonstrates how and why a hearing loss creates
psychological stress regardless of its degree, basic principles of psychodiagnosis
with deaf persons, and suggestions for working more efficiently with the deaf
community. The following areas are featured: A comprehensive section on the
American deaf community and the causes of deafness, A comparison and analyssi
of forms of communication used by the deaf, An examination of the pressures
deafness imposes and the attitudes of hearing people toward deaf children and
adults, A section on diagnosis aimed at reducing the amount of misdiagnosis
with deaf children, and a bilingual/bicultural approach toward helping deaf
children learn. (from book jacket)
CONFERENCES
*Altshuler, K.Z. & Rainer, J.D. (Eds.). (1967). Workshop for psychiatrists
on extending mental health services to the deaf (1967: New York School for the
Deaf). Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare. (4th
floor, HV2395.W6 1967).
*Conference, Sociology of Deafness.(1982). Social aspects of deafness.
Washington, DC: Gallaudet College.(4th floor HV2526.S633 1982-V.3,4,5,6. ETRR
has v. 1,2,3,4,5,6.).
European Society for Mental Health and Deafness. (1989). European congress
on mental health and deafness: Proceedings: Rotterdam, The Netherlands, November
9-11, 1988. Utrecht : Bijl Consultancy.
Contents: The World of the Deaf: Categoraization of Deaf People and Culture
as Resources in Mental Health Services, Communication and Deafness, Life with
a Deaf Child, Deafness and Personality Development: Dissolving the Myths, Pitfalls
in Diagnosis, Surdophrenia, A Psychiatric Department for the Deaf, Rehabilitation
and Aftercare, When a Deaf Child Needs Help, Research Project European Society
for Mental Health and Deafness, and Deafness and Mental Health: Where Do We
Go From Here?
In most European countries mental health care is not accessible for deaf clients
or patients: there is a communication gap between professional and patient and
on average mental health care professionals do not have sufficient knowledge
of deafness and its consequences. So a deaf person in need of psychiatric help
often cannot find a psychiatrist capable to help him. Among other problems in
the field of mental health care of deaf patients the main problem seems to be
a lack of knowledge among the workers. Therefore this conference was organized
and more are planned for the future. (from book jacket).
Petersen, E.W. (Ed.). (1983). Deafness and mental health: Emerging responses.
Silver Spring, MD: American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association.
Polakoff, D.P. (1975). An orientation to deafness for social workers: Papers
from the workshop held March 18-20, 1975, Gallaudet College, Washington, DC.
Washington, DC: Gallaudet College.(4th floor, HV 2395.074).
*Research conference on the social aspects of deafness.(1986). Papers for
the second research conference on the socail aspects of deafness: Gallaudet
College, Washington, DC, June 8-10, 1986. Washington, DC: Gallaudet College.
(4th floor, HV 2526.S633 1986).
JOURNALS, PERIODICALS, MAGAZINES-These are good places
to find recent information on a topic. Use the ETRR
Index to Interpreting and Deaf Periodicals. Use the Gallaudet
Index to Deaf Periodicals to help you find citations on your topic. The
Gallaudet Index DOESN'T index recent information. Deaf Life Magazine is highly
recommended and we keep back issues in bound format on the 2nd floor PER HV2350.D45.
When you find a citation you like and want to locate the journal or magazine,
use the Einstein Catalog to find the journal
title and the location. It may be available in print on the 1st floor on the
Current Magazine Shelves or at the Reserve Desk, in bound periodical format
(Deaf Life magazine) on the 2nd floor, on microfilm/microfiche on the 2nd floor,
and/or online via a
full-text database.s. Full-text articles may be found via ABI
Inform,
Academic Search Elite-ERIC, PsychART, PsychInfo or OMNI
Files Megatext (Education Full-Text, Social Sciences Full-Text). There is
an ASL - Deaf Culture
Journal Guide and Deaf
-Special Education Journal Guide. These guides list the web and database
links for you for all journal titles. Some recommended periodicals are: Deaf
Rochester News, Silent News, Deaf Life, Journal
of Deaf Studies and Education , American
Annals of the Deaf , , Sign
Language Studies, JADARA, Deaf Worlds, and there are more. In additon,
check out the Psychology
Journals Guide and Social
Work Journals Guide, Some titles that may be of interest: School Psychologist,
School Psychology Quarterly, Journal of School Psychology, Journal of Psychoeducational
Assessment, Children and Schools: A Journal of Social Work Practice, Journal
of Ethnic and Cultural Diversity in Social Work, Journal of Family Issues, Journal
of Family Psychology, Journal of Multicultural Social Work, International
Journal of Addictions, British Journal of Addiction, Journal of Addictive Diseases,
Journal of Drug Issues and Community Mental Health Journal.
NEWSPAPERS-These are good places to look for current information or to
get an overview of the day-to-day coverage of a particular issue. Try the ABI-PROQUEST
or Academic
Search Elite databasesl to get newspaper articles.
VIDEOTAPES-Available on the 1st floor in the Videotape
Browsing Collection across from the Circulation Desk. You may borrow them for
up to 5 days.See the WML
ASL and Deaf Culture Vdeo Guide. There are also videotapes at ETRR-NTID
(only faculty and staff may borrow videos, but students can view videos at ETRR).
See the ETRR ASL and Interpreting
Video List .The Media Resource Center in the basement of WML also has some
videos and you must view the videos in the viewing room (there are about 15
tvs and vcrs). If you use the Einstein Catalog,
you can find videos on deaf and psychology or social work or mental health by
searching the video catalog. Use both keyword and subject searches to retrieve
all records. Check out the videos:
*Barwiolek, A. (1993). Silent suffering: Substance abuse in the deaf
community. [Videorecording]. Trenton, NJ: Signs of Sobriety, Inc.
15 mins. Color/Captioned/Signed. (1st floor video collection HV 4999.D43555
1993).
Discusses alcohol and drug addiction services to the deaf community and covers
cultural, treatment and recovery issues.
Burke Video Company. (1996). Deaf patients : A communicative aid. .
[Videorecordings]. Salem, Or. : Sign Enhancers. 480 mins. Color/Voiced/Signed.
(1st floor video collection HV2474 .D425 1996).
An instructional guide for American Sign language interpreters in the medical
field. The set includes illustrated text, video text, and an workbook to assist
the interpreter in being better prepared on a medical interpreting assignment.
*Caccamise, F. (1978). Psychology I, II, III, IV, V. [Videorecordings].Rochester,
NY: Rochester Institute of Technology, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.
(50, 46, 55, 53, 50 min.). (MRC, Basement, Wallace Library - VH1843.9A-E).
CONTENTS: Depth perception. -- Memory 1. -- Memory 2. -- Memory 3. -- Thinking
1. -- Thinking 2. -- Motivation 1. -- Motivation 2 >CONTENTS: General 1. --
Types of psychologists. -- Research 1. -- Research 2. -- Learning and conditioning
1. -- Learning and conditioning 2 CONTENTS: Emotional health 1. -- Emotional
health 2. -- Emotional health 3. -- Emotional health 4. -- Emotional health
5 CONTENTS: Technical signs for emotions, social psychology, attribution theory,
proxemics, personal space/zone
*Caccamise, F. (1978). Social Work I, II. [Videorecordings]. Rochester,
NY: Rochester Institute of Technology, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.
(30 min.). (MRC, Basement, Wallace Library - VH1843.23A-B).
Inks, Boo. (2000). Anywhere, to anyone. [Videorecording]. 17 mins. Color/Signed.
Austin, TX : Orchard Communications. (1st floor, HV6626.7 .A59 2000).
Dramatization of abuse of deaf women. Examples include a wife of a superintendent
of a deaf school, a pregnant unwed woman, college educated successful deaf couple,
and a housewife with a hearing husband.
*University of California San Francisco Center on Mental Health and Deafness.
(1993). Counseling deaf people: A skill training series [videorecordings].
(3). Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers. 60 min. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (1st
floor video collection HV 2395.C628 1993 no. 1-3).
Analyze simulated counseling sessions from rehabilitation, college and mental
health settings and learn easy to apply techniques. Comes with a companion guide.University
of California San Francisco Center on Mental Health and Deafness. (1991).
Mental health video series [videorecordings]. (3). 60 mins.Salem, OR: Sign
Enhancers. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (1st floor video collection HV 4999.D43M45
1991 no.1-3)
The 1st video called "What is Therapy?" (25 mins.) describes types
of therapies available to deaf and hard of hearing addicts and alcoholics. The
2nd video entitled, "Meeting the Challenge: Working with Deaf People in
Recovery" (20 mins.) offers advice to service professionals, and the 3rd
video entitled "I Can: Stories of Deaf and Hard of Hearing People in Recovery"
(60 mins.) features 6 recovering addicts and alcoholics telling their stories.
WWW-Check out the
Deaf Internet Resources. You can click on Deaf and Mental Health Issues
or go to http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness.html#men.
FACT SHEETS- We have quick reference short papers on various topics from
Gallaudet University REF HV 2353.N375 and SHHH REF HV 2353.S53 in the reference
area on the 1st floor. Check out Info
to Go from Gallaudet University which has online "quick reference"
sheets.Check out Health and Mental Health via http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/InfoToGo/index.html#health
Suggestion form
for new guides tailored to specific class assignments, topical
bibliographies, or instructions for the use of specific research
tools.
Maintained by: Joan Naturale
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Links checked 15 March 2003. Check links free via http://validator.w3.org/checklink.
Input URL, click summary option, then click check.
|