RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives
NetS@vvy Tutorial: Careers and Employment Dictionary || Links || Help

5: Find Job Leads

5A: Locate Available Jobs

When you're ready to look for a job, the Web can speed up the process. There are three kinds of Web sites that you can use to find jobs:

Specialized job listing services are available.
National: A large jobs database is America's Job Bank, a joint project of the U.S. Department of Labor and state employment agencies. Local: Use NY and Rochester job databases to locate jobs in the area. You can submit resumes that will be available to potential employers. Students: A database available to college students is RITJobZone. Guide: See JobWeb: Employment Centers on the Net for a thorough guide to many different types of job listing sites. Try MonsterTrak and JobHunt.org as well.

JobWeb Home Page

  1. Traditional classified ads (in newspapers) and Web classified ad services provided by Yahoo! and others. National: Use CareerBuilder to search the combined ad listings of major U.S. newspapers. Local: To focus your search on a particular city, look at the online version of that city's newspaper. Use Yahoo! Newspapers to find newspaper sites easily. You can find the Democrat and Chronicle newspaper.

  2. Web sites of companies, organizations, governments (such as the State of NY) often list job openings.If you know of particular companies that you want to work for, check their Web sites for employment opportunities.


RIT Student Employment Banner


Suggested Activity: Find an ad in your career area in the Rochester area. Use this YahooMap link to get driving directions from NTID to that job address. Print it out. Find an ad in your career area in a different city from Rochester. Explore the USACity or VirtualRelocation links to get more information about that city, apartments and relocation information.

USA CityLink Home Page

5B: Applying For A Job

After locating job opportunities, it's time to focus on presenting yourself well. There are many books that will help with this task, but some Web sites also provide good information. See:
Suggested Activity: Where do expect to be in five years? What can you contribute to this organization? Do these questions leave you speechless? Try the Interview Center.

Quick Quiz: Test your understanding. Select an answer, then click on the Get Answer button to find out how you did. (These scores are not recorded)

Careerpath provides a quick way to:

Correct answer:


Next: Deaf & Disability Laws and Resources