LA Support Research Guide: Affirmative Action
TOPIC: Affirmative Action; Civil Rights; Minorities Employment; Reverse Discrimination; ADA (Americans With Disabilities Act—check at the ref. rack the guide for resources). Use a thesaurus for synonyms and check subject headings in records when searching for books or articles for more keywords.
REFERENCE WORKS: In addition to checking out the general encyclopedias like WORLD BOOK and Britannica Encyclopedia Online, http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/britannica/britannica.html check out these specialized encyclopedias.
1. Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America (REF E185.61.E544)
2.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights (REF JC571.E671996)
3.
International Encyclopedia of Human Rights (REFJC 571.M3243)
4.American Justice (REF KF154.A44)
5.
West’s Encyclopedia of American Law (REF KF154.W47)
Other background resources:
CQ Researcher. The print version up to the year 2000 is available on the 1st floor in the Ref area. Call number is REF H35.E351). It’s also available online via http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/
Look up:
Rethinking Affirmative Action4/28/01
Affirmative Action 9/21/01
Black Middle Class 1/23/98
Diversity in the Workplace 10/10/97
CIRCULATING BOOKS--Check out the HF 5549 area; KF 4755 area; JC 571 area; HT 601 area; for disabilies and affirmative action HD 7256 area on the 4th floor.
Affirmative Action A Reference Handbook HF5549.5.A34 E39 1999 4th floor
Affirmative Action HF5549.5.A34 A42 1996 4th floor
OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS Books
Social Justice JC599.U5S5945
Civil Liberties KF4749.A2C497
Social Issues HN59.2.S624
If you cannot locate what you want in the library using the Einstein Catalog, try ConnectNY http://connectny.info/ .You can order books and pick them up overnight. If there is a book you want which you can't find here at Wallace Library or through Connect NY, you can use the Interlibrary Loan System http://wally.rit.edu/myaccount/ill.html
eBooks
netLibrary online books via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/netlibrary/netlibrary.html Do a keyword search. See:
Notes of a racial caste baby: color blindness and the end of affirmative action
Also try ebrary
DATABASES http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html
1. ABI
2. Academic Search Elite; Master File, Hot Topics
3. OMNIfile
4. Opposing Viewpoints
Maintained by: Joan Naturale
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Compiled 2 August 2004.
|