LA Support Research: Continuing Education
If you are interested in deaf education topics, check out the deaf internet resources page.
Keywords: Try different keywords to expand your search and find more results. College Education, Distance Learning, Vocational Training, Postsecondary Education, Nontraditional Students, Single Sex Education, Alternative Education, Bilingual Education, Special Education, Deaf Blind Education, Learning Disabilities, English as a Second Language Education etc.
Boolean Searching and Truncation: Use AND to narrow your search if you want both words to show up in your search results. Ex: College Education AND Women. Use OR to broaden your search if you want either word to show up in your search results. EX: (female* OR wom*n) AND college education. Use the asterisk* to find variant spellings of the word such as females/female; woman/women
Encyclopedias-Ref area on the 1st floor (may not be borrowed):
In addition to general encyclopedias such as World Book and online encyclopedias such as Britannica Encyclopedia Online http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/britannica/britannica.html check out specialized encyclopedias:
Encyclopedia of Education LB 15 .E47 2003
Standards and Schooling in the U.S. LB 2822.82 .S82 2001 (4th floor)
Encyclopedia of bilingualism and bilingual education LC 3707 .E53 1998
International encyclopedia of the sociology of education LC191 .I49 1997
Encyclopedia of language and education P40.8 .E53 1997
Einstein Catalog http://albert.rit.edu/
Education books (circulating books) tend to be in the LB area on the 4th floor.Try keyword to do a search. Try Education and ABC CLIO and Education Encyclopedia to get some reference books. Then, click on subject headings to expand your search and find more materials.
Remember to click on e-content catalog to find ebooks via netLibrary and eBrary or go to netLibrary to do a search via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/netlibrary/netlibrary.html. eBrary is http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.html
After checking our catalog, if you want to find more materials check out ConnectNY catalog http://www.connectny.info/search/ where you can borrow from other NY college libraries. Service is fast and usually the book arrives overnight.
If you checked all catalogs and there is a book you want that you can’t find via Einstein or ConnectNY, try the Interlibrary Loan system via https://ill.isc.rit.edu/ILLiad/logon.html. You must register for this service.
Full-Text Databases-Find full-text articles from journals and email them to yourself or print them out easily. They are the same articles you find in print journals. http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html
CQ Researcher
http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/
Opposing Viewpoints
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ov/ov.html
AcademicSearchElite-MasterFileIndex-ERIC-UltraSchool
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/acadelite/acadelite.html
Omni Files
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/omni/omni.htmlFactsSearch via FirstSearch
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/firstsearch/fs.html
ABI
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/abi/abiweb.html
SIRS Researcher
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/sirs/sirs.html
English Works –Gallaudet University http://depts.gallaudet.edu/Englishworks/Has research paper guides, paraphrasing section, words that introduce quotes, etc.
Virgil Information Literacy Tutorial http://www.sunywcc.edu/library/Review how to narrow your topic, find keywords etc.
Maintained by: Joan Naturale
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Compiled 2 August 2004.
|