RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives




LA Support Research: Consumer Safety

TOPIC: Consumer Safety, Unsafe Products, Consumer Protection, Consumer Complaints, Product Safety, Product Recall, Consumer Products; Product Quality; Dangerous Products; Faulty Products, Consumer Fraud (ie, tires, airbags, car seats, toys, automobiles, food, airlines). Try to find synonyms of your keywords

For ex: Car Seats or Child Safety Restraint Seats. Reference Works:  In addition to checking out the general encyclopedias like WORLD BOOK, check out these specialized encyclopedias. Remember we also have online encyclopedias via the Database List (Britannica’s Encyclopedia). 
Encyclopedia of the Consumer Movement REF HC 79.O63E53 
CQ Researcher-Go to the Database list via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html
Scroll down to Congressional Quarterly or go to this link http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/ 
Food Safety Battle, U.S. Auto Industry, Airline Industry Problems, Mad Cow Disease, Cell Phone Safety 

Books-Go to Einstein Catalog http://albert.rit.edu/. Search by keywords.
Consumer Fraud HV6695 .N67 1998 4th floor
You can search CONNECT NY (we share catalogs and materials with 5 other colleges) and order books which will be shipped overnight for pick-up at the Circulation Desk. http://www.connectny.info/screens/opacmenu.html 

If our library and Connect NY do not have books you need, go to Interlibrary Loan via http://wally.rit.edu/myaccount/ill.html. You need to register before you can use this service. If you find a citation for a book or article you want, you can copy and paste easily and send in your request. 

Ebooks….read books online (books are the same as print books).
Ebrary http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebooks.html#ebrary and netLibrary http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebooks.html#netlibrary 

Databases http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html 
ABI
Academic Search Elite-MasterFile-Newspaper
Omni Files
Opposing Viewpoints

Maintained by: Joan Naturale
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Compiled 2 August 2004.