LA Support Research Guide: Eating Disorders
SAMPLE TOPIC: Body Image and Eating Disorders; Anorexia, Depression and Eating Disorders, Eating Disorders, Bulimia. Can do other topics like body piercing, body art, cosmetic surgery, feeling like an outsider due to different skin color or disability, advertising and the body.
REFERENCE WORKS: In addition to checking out the Britannica Encyclopedia Online
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/britannica/britannica.html and print encyclopedias, check out the following specialized encyclopedias.
Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders REF RC552.E18C57
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior REF BF.31.05
Encyclopedia of Psychology REF BF 31.E52
Encyclopedia of Social Issues HN57.E59
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women HQ 1115.R69 2000
CQ RESEARCHER: Available online via http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/Check out Obesity Epidemic, Obesity and Health, Diet and Health, Treating Anxiety, Eating Disorders
CIRCULATING BOOKS: http://albert.rit.edu/search/XThe fat of the land: the obesity epidemic and how overweight Americans can help themselves RC628.F86 1997Weighty issues: fatness and thinness as social problems RA645.023W45 1999Opposing viewpoints: Eating Disorders RC552.E18 E28212 2001
Connect NY http://www.connectny.info/screens/opacmenu.html Borrow from other NY colleges and get books shipped overnight for free. Pick up at the circulation desk.
NetLibrary online books http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/netlibrary/netlibrary.html
FULL-TEXT DATABASES http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html
1. ABI
2. Academic Search Elite, PsychArt, PsychInfo, MasterFile, Health Source Plus, TOPICSearch
3. Opposing Viewpoints
4. Omni Files
5. Health Reference Center
Maintained by: Joan Naturale
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Compiled 2 August 2004.
|