LA Support Research: Famine in Africa
TOPIC: Famine in Africa: Look up synonyms such as hunger, food shortage..use places such as Sudan and Somalia
Reference Works: In addition to checking out the general encyclopedias like WORLD BOOK, check out these specialized encyclopedias. Remember we also have online encyclopedias via the Database List (Britannica Encyclopedia). http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/britannica/britannica.html
Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students REF DT3.A249 2002, 1st floor
World Hunger A Reference Handbook HD9000.5.K883 1991, 4th floor
CQ Researcher- The print version up to the year 2000 is available on the 1st floor in the Ref area. Call number is REF H35.E351). It’s also available online via http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/
Water Shortages (08/01/2003)
Famine in Africa (ll/08/2002)
Foreign Aid After Sept. 11 04/26/2002
Global Refugee Crisis 07/09/1999
Population and the Environment 07/17/1998
Circulating Books: Check out the HV 630-690 and HD9000.5 P564 areas
Check our Einstein Catalog and use your keywords to find books and videos. http://albert.rit.edu/
If you cannot find enough resources on your topic from our library, use ConnectNY where you can borrow from 5 other NY college libraries….they send your books quickly for pick up at the Circulation Desk. http://www.connectny.info/screens/mainmenu.html
Problems of Africa-Opposing Viewpoints HC800.P76 1986 , 4th floor
Africa Opposing Viewpoints DT30.5 .A3549 1999 , 4th floor
Dust to dust: A doctor’s view of famine in Africa HV630.H45 1992, 4th floor
Population-Opposing Viewpoints HB883.P67 1995, 4th floor
Hunger Current Controversies HD9000.5.H814 1995, 4th floor
The geopolitics of hunger, 2000-2001 : hunger and power HV696.F6 G388 2001 , 4th floor
Compassion fatigue : how the media sell disease, famine, war, and death PN4888.D57 M64 1998, 3rd floor
Famine & fat : readings on poverty, wealth & food security, HD9000.6 .F355 2000 , 4th floor
Seeds of contention : world hunger and the global controversy over GM crops HD9000.5 .P564 2000 , 4th floor
EBooks
Who’s hungry? And how do we know? : food shortage, poverty and deprivation via netLibrary http://www.netlibrary.com/
The state of food insecurity in the world 2001 [electronic resource] : food insecurity : when people live with hunger and fear starvation.food insecurity via eBrary http://site.ebrary.com/lib/rit
Databases http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html
ABI
Academic Search Elite, Master File, TOPIC Search, MAS Ultra
Country Watch
Omni Files
Opposing Viewpoints
Maintained by: Joan Naturale
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Compiled 2 August 2004.
|