RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives



LA Support Research Guide: Gay, Lesbian and Transgendered Issues

TOPIC: Gay, lesbian, transgendered, transsexual, homosexual, bisexual  issues and civil rights.

REFERENCE WORKS: In addition to checking out the general encyclopedias like WORLD BOOK, check out these specialized encyclopedias. Remember we also have online encyclopedias via the Database List (Britannica Encyclopedia). http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/britannica/britannica.html

Human Sexuality: An Encyclopedia REF HQ 9.H846 1994
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior REF BF31.E5 1994
Encyclopedia of Psychology REF BF 31.E52 2000
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality REF HQ76.25.E53 1990
Working with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender college Students REF LC192.6.W67 1998
Encyclopedia of Human Emotion REF  BF 531.E55 1999
A legal guide for lesbian and gay couples REF  KF539 .L44 2002 
Completely queer : the Gay and Lesbian encyclopedia REF HQ75 .H63 1998 
Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America  (REF E185.61.E544)
Encyclopedia of Human Rights (REF JC571.E671996)
International Encyclopedia of Human Rights (REFJC 571.M3243)
American Justice (REF KF154.A44)
West’s Encyclopedia of American Law (REF KF154.W47)

CQ RESEARCHER:  Print version up to the year 2000 is available on the 1st floor in the Reference area. Call number is REF H35.E351. It’s also available online via http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/.

Gay Marriage 09/05/2003
Gay Rights Update  
04/14/2000

Circulating Books , 4th floor

Homosexuality HQ76.3U5 H675 1999
Human Sexuality HQ 21.H744 1995
Sexual Values HQ 34. S48 1999
Sex  HQ18.U5 S484 2000 
Teenage Sexuality HQ27.T425 2001
Discrimination JC599.U5 D56 2003 
Suicide HV6548.U5 S86 1992 
Gay and lesbian rights : a reference handbook HQ76.3.U5 N48 1994 
Gay rights HQ76.8.U5 K73 2000 
Gay rights current controversies HQ76.3.U5G394 1996 
Feminism : a reference handbook HQ1410 .H365 1998 
Homsexuality current controversies HQ76.25 .H6739 2003 
Out for good : the struggle to build a gay rights movement in America HQ76.8.U5 C58 1999 
Courting justice : gay men and lesbians v. the Supreme Court HQ76.8.U5 M97 2001 
Out of the ordinary : essays on growing up with gay, lesbian, and transgender parentsHQ777.8 .O87 2000 
Anti-gay rights : assessing voter initiatives HQ76.8.U5 A67 1997 
Homosexuality : debating the issues HQ76.3.U5 H673 1995 
Private lives, public conflicts : battles over gay rights in American communities HQ76.8.U5 B87 1997 
Love the sin : sexual regulation and the limits of religious tolerance  BR115.H6 J34 2003 
Social Justice JC599.U5S5945
Civil Liberties KF4749.A2C497
Social Issues HN59.2.S624

3rd floor

Gay rights, military wrongs : political perspectives on lesbians and gays in the military UB418.G38 G35 1996 

Ebooks

The stranger next door [electronic resource] : the story of a small community's battle over sex, faith, and civil rights from eBrary http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.html

Same sex [electronic resource] : debating the ethics, science, and culture of homosexuality from netLibrary http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/netlibrary/netlibrary.html

 Databases http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html

ABI
Academic Search Elite, Master File, TOPIC Search, PsychInfo, PsychArt, MAS Ultra
Omni Files
Newspapers
Opposing Viewpoints

Maintained by: Joan Naturale
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Compiled 2 August 2004.