LA Support Research Guide: Genetic Engineering
TOPIC: Genetic Engineering (Medical); embryo research, fetal tissue research, human experimentation in medicine, stem cell biology, gene therapy, animal experiments, biotechnology
REFERENCE WORKS-In addition to general print and online encyclopedias such as World Book and Britannica (find in database list), check out these specialized encyclopedias.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics REF QH 332.E52
The Facts on File dictionary of biotechnology and genetic engineering REF TP248.16 .S84 2001
Encyclopedia of Social Issues REF HN 57.E59
Encyclopedia of Human Biology REF QP 11.E53
Encyclopedia of Animal Rights and Welfare REF HV 4708.E53
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology (database list)Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (database list)
CQ RESEARCHER-Go to the Database list via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html
Scroll down to Congressional Quarterly or go to this link http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/
Human Genome Research
Designer Humans
Cloning Controversy
Embryo Research
BOOKS-Go to Einstein Catalog http://albert.rit.edu/
Redesigning humans : our inevitable genetic future QH438.7 .S764 2002 3rd floor
Genetic engineering QH442 .G44312 2002 3rd floor
Genetic engineering : opposing viewpoints TP248.6 .D83 2001 3rd floor
The Ethics of Sex and Genetics OVER RG 133.5E855 4th floor
Redesigning creation : debating the biotech revolution TP248.13 .R42 2000 3rd floor
Social issues in science and technology : an encyclopedia Q175.5 .N49 1999 3rd floor
Animal Rights Q175.5 .N49 1999 3rd floor
Animal Rights Opposing Viewpoints HV4711 .A58 1996 4th floor
Animal Experimentation Opposing Viewpoints HV4915 .A638 2002 4th floor
Biomedical Ethics Opposing Viewpoints R 724 .B492 1998 3rd floor
Becoming immortal : combining cloning and stem-cell therapy QH442.2 .S564 2002 3rd floor
Cloning : responsible science or technomadness? QH442.2 .C5678 2001 3rd floor
Clone : the road to Dolly, and the path ahead QH442.2 .K65 1998 3rd floor
You can search CONNECT NY (we share catalogs and materials with 5 other colleges) and order books which will be shipped overnight for pick-up at the Circulation Desk. http://www.connectny.info/screens/opacmenu.html
FULL-TEXT DATABASES http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html
ABI
Academic Search Elite-MasterFile-Health Source
HealthReferenceCenter
Omni Files
Opposing Viewpoints
Maintained by: Joan Naturale
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Compiled 2 August 2004.
|