RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives



LA Support Research Guide: Homeland Security



TOPIC: Office of Homeland Security; Tom Ridge; U.S. and Terrorism. How do we keep America safe? Identify the problems/solutions in keeping America safe.  

REFERENCE WORKS:  In addition to checking out the general encyclopedias like WORLD BOOK, check out these specialized encyclopedias. Remember we also have online encyclopedias via the Database List (Britannica’s Encyclopedia). Encyclopedia of World Terrorism HV6431 .E53 1997, 1st floor  

CQ RESEARCHER-Go to the Database list via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html Scroll down to Congressional Quarterly or go to this link http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/ Check the bibliographies of CQ Researcher to find books and articles you might want to use for your research
Do a keyword search and you should find the following reports:
Future of the Airline Industry
Presidential Power
Policing the Borders
New Defense Priorities
War on Terrorism 

 BOOKS-Go to Einstein Catalog http://albert.rit.edu/ and do a keyword search on Terrorism AND America. Use terrorism and abc clio, terrorism and opposing viewpoint* and terrorism current controvers* to find good books on this topic.  Browse the call number HV6432 area on the 4th floor.

Islam Opposing Viewpoints BP173.7 .I854 2001 
Weapons of Mass Destruction Opposing Viewpoints U793 .W43 1999
Terrorism Opposing Viewpoints HV6431 .T485 1999
The Middle East Opposing Viewpoints DS63.1 .M5425 1999

You can search CONNECT NY (we share catalogs and materials with 5 other colleges) and order books which will be shipped overnight for pick-up at the Circulation Desk. http://www.connectny.info/screens/opacmenu.html

If our library and Connect NY do not have the books you need, make your request via Interlibrary Loan. You need to register before you can use this service. If you find a citation for a book or article you want, you can copy and paste easily and send in your request. http://wally.rit.edu/myaccount/ill.html 

Ebooks….read books online (books are the same as print books). Ebrary “Protecting the American Homeland” http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebooks.html#ebrary and netLibrary http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebooks.html#netlibrary

FULL-TEXT DATABASES http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html

ABI
Opposing Viewpoints
Academic Search Elite-MasterFile-Military-Newspapers
Omni Files
Newspapers Databases

Maintained by: Joan Naturale
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Compiled 2 August 2004.