|
LA Support Research Guide: Military
Keywords: Try different keywords to expand your search and find more results
Boolean Searching and Truncation: Use AND to narrow your search if you want both words to show up in your search results. Ex War AND encyclopedia. Use OR to broaden your search if you want either word to show up in your search results. EX: ( female* OR wom*n) AND encyclopedia. Use the asterisk* to find variant spellings of the word such as female, females, woman, women etc.
Encyclopedias-Ref area on the 1st floor (may not be borrowed):
1. Encyclopedia of Conflicts since WW 2 D843 .C568 1999
2. Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War DS557.7 .E53 1996
3. Encyclopedia of the Persian Gulf War UF500 .G8 1995
4. Encyclopedia of War and Ethics B105.W3 E53 1996
5. Women and the Military U21.75 .S54 1996
Einstein Catalog http://albert.rit.edu/
War books (circulating books) tend to be in the D area on the 4th floor. Try war and opposing viewpoints; war and abc-clio; war and current controversiesTry keyword and then click on subject headings to expand your search and find more materials.
Remember to click on e-content catalog to find ebooks via netLibrary or go to netLibrary to do a search via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/netlibrary/netlibrary.html.
After checking our catalog, if you want to find more materials check out Connect NY catalog http://www.connectny.info/search/ where you can borrow from other NY college libraries. Service is fast and usually the book arrives overnight.
If there is a book you want that you can’t find via Einstein or ConnectNY, try the Interlibrary Loan system via https://ill.isc.rit.edu/ILLiad/logon.html
Full-Text Databases-Find full-text articles from journals and email them to yourself or print them out easily. They are the same articles you find in print journals. .http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html
1. CQ Researcher http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/
2. Opposing Viewpoints
3. Academic Search Elite-MasterFileIndex-BusinessSourcePremiere http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/acadelite/acadelite.html
4. Omni Files http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/omni/omni.html
5. ABI http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/abi/abiweb.html
Maintained by: Joan Naturale
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Compiled 2 August 2004.
|