RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives



LA Support Research Guide: Prison Reform

TOPIC: Prison reform; Alternatives to Prisons (Corrections, Imprisonment, Incarceration); Prison vs. Rehabilitation; Criminals Rehabilitation; Prison construction; Canada and Prisons; Community Based Corrections; Electronic Monitoring; Shock Incarceration; Parole and Probation 

REFERENCE WORKS:  In addition to checking out the general encyclopedias like WORLD BOOK, check out these specialized encyclopedias. Remember we also have online encyclopedias via the Database List (Britannica Online Encyclopedia). 

  1. Encyclopedia of America’s Prisons HV9471.E425

  2. Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice HV6017.E52

  3. Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior (REF HV6017.E53)

  4. Violence in America (REF HN 90.V5 V5474 1999)

  5. Encyclopedia of Violence (REF HM 291.D4857)

Vital Statistics in Corrections (REF HV7248.V5) 

STATISTICAL HANDBOOKS

  1. Statistical Handbook on Violence in America (REF HN90.V5S833 1996).

 CQ RESEARCHER. The print version up to the year 2000 is available on the 1st floor in the Ref area. Call number is REF H35.E351). It’s also available online via http://library.cqpress.com/

  1. Prison Building Boom 9/17/99

  2. Prison Overcrowding 2/4/94

  3. Mandatory Sentencing 5/26/95

  4. Juvenile Justice 2/25/94

  5. Drug Policy Debate 7/28/00

CIRCULATING BOOKS
Prisons in America: A Reference Handbook HV 9471.R35
Try the HV9275-9471 area (4th floor)

OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS 
America’s Prisons  HV9471 .A488 2001 

 
netLibrary online books via http://www.netlibrary.com/index.asp
Do a keyword search
Lawful order [computer file] : a case study of correctional crisis and reform 

DATABASES http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html
1.ABI
2. Opposing Viewpoints
3. Academic Search Elite; Master File
4.  FirstSearch-WilsonSelect, Reader’s Guide Abstracts; Social Science; OMNIfile
5. SIRS Researcher
6.Criminal Justice Abstracts via SilverPlatter

Maintained by: Joan Naturale
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Compiled 2 August 2004.