RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

LA Support Research: Short Stories

Captioned and Signed Literature Videos/DVDs. Some are found in the library in our 5 day collection; others are found in the MRC (Media Resource Center) at ETC , basement of the library, and a couple are found at ETRR, 3355, LBJ. You can view videos at the MRC where they have about 15 videos, players and captioning devices.

Short Stories -Captioned
A & P by John Updike DVD WML, 5 day collection, PS3571.P4 A63 2002    
Barn Burning by William Faulkner. ETC VH2723
Bartleby the Scrivener by Herman Melville. DVD WML, 5 day collection PS2384 .B2 2003    
Battle Royal by Ralph Ellison. WML, 5 day collection PS3555.L625 Z85 2001    
Cask of Amontillado, The by Poe. DVD WML, 5 day collection PS2618 .C37 2002    
Chrysanthemums, The by John Steinbeck. WML 5 day collection PS3537.T3234 C479 2001 
Clean, Well Lighted Place, A by Hemingway. DVD WML, 5 day collection PS3515.E37 C43 2003 
Everyday Use by Alice Walker. DVD WML, 5 day collection PS3573.A425 E74 2003    
Horse Dealer's Daughter, The. ETC VH 2718 
I'm a Fool. ETC VH2722
I Stand Here Ironing by Tillie Olsen. DVD WML, 5 day collection PS3565.L82 Z467 2003 
Jilting of Granny Weatherall. VH2724
Lottery, The by Shirley Jackson. DVD WML, 5 day collection PS3519.A392 L67 1980 
Occurence at Owl Creek Bridge ETC VH1512 (silent video)
Paul's Case by Willa Cather. ETC VH 2437   
Rappaccini's Daughter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. ETC VH2439
Rose for Emily, A by Faulkner. DVD WML, 5 day collection PS3511.A86 R6 2001    
Soldier's Home by Hemingway. ETC VH 2728 
Story of an Hour. ETC VH667  
Tell Tale Heart by Poe. ETC VH2435
Two Soldiers by Faulkner. DVD WML, 5 day collection PS3511.A86 T9 2001   
Worn Path, A by Eudora Welty. DVD WML, 5 day collection PS3545.E6 W67 2002   
Yellow Wall-Paper, The by Charlotte Gilman. ETRR VIDEO 5123    

Short Stories-Signed. Found in the library’s 5 day collection, ETRR, 3355 LBJ and MRC, ETC

Edgar Allen Poe Chilling Tales .Each of these short stories is told in ASL by master story teller Patrick Graybill who also provides a brief biography of Edgar Allan Poe. Enjoyable entertainment for Deaf people, sign language classes, interpreting students.

**The Black Cat. Pef. Patrick Graybill. Videocassette. Sign Media, 1996. 60 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (PS2613 .A64 1996).
A classic case of how past abuse and cruelty can haunt us and rule our imaginations. The cat is gone, but does this sense of guilt and remorse come from outside or from within?

**The Fall of the House of Usher
. Pef. Patrick Graybill. Videocassette. Sign Media, 1996. 60 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (PS2614 .A64 1996).
A fascinating story of the literal and figurative decline of the Usher family. Is the remaining heir truly mad or does the house really havea life of its own.

**The Pit and the Pendulum
. Pef. Patrick Graybill. Videocassette. Sign Media, 1996. 60 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (PS2618 .P58 1996).
The classic story of torment and torture during the famous Spanish Inquisition. You're left alone in the dark but reaching out into the darkness, are you really alone?

Short Stories-CDs

Gift of the Magi: ASL Sign Language. CD-ROM. Texas School for the Deaf, 1997. Color/Signed. (PS 2649.PS.653). At Reserve Desk in Wallace Library.
A husband and wife sacrifice treasured possessions in order to buy each other Christmas presents. Each page of the story is translated into ASL. Selected vocabulary words are also signed. There are also three grammar lessons that enable the user to improve his/her skills in using subject-verb agreement, sentence fragments and passive voice.


Finding Short Storieshttp://wally.rit.edu/

1. Use the online library catalog called Einstein (if you are on the library home page, click on the first link in the first column or go to http://albert.rit.edu/ to find short stories or literary criticism about the story you are reading.

Choose Subject from the Einstein Menu screen and then type the author's name (last name first). It is not necessary to type the author's full name but it is important to spell correctly.

Example: Henry O

A list of SUBJECT HEADINGS will appear in alphabetical order. Select the heading with the subdivision "biography" (for biographical information) or criticism (for critical analysis of the writer's works).

Example: Henry O 1862-1910 - Criticism and Interpretation

If your search does not have what you are looking for, choose the subject heading with the most entries. This is usually found in line 1 or 2.

To locate a short story in Einstein, do a title search by choosing T for Title from the Einstein Menu screen:

Example: Gift of the Magi

You may also do a word search by selecting keyword from the Einstein Menu screen:

Example: Poe literary criticism

2. Another way to find stories is to browse the call numbers on the shelves of the Wallace Library .  You may browse the call number sections listed below. These are on the 3 rd floor.

  • PN 120,
  • PS 2112
  • PZ 1.

3. Another way to find a short story is to use the Internet. Some stories are in the public domain because the copyright has expired. (old stories)

Gift of the Magi http://mbhs.bergtraum.k12.ny.us/cybereng/shorts/magi.html

The Lady or the Tiger? http://mbhs.bergtraum.k12.ny.us/cybereng/shorts/tiger.html

The Necklace http://mbhs.bergtraum.k12.ny.us/cybereng/shorts/necklace.html

The Most Dangerous Game http://mbhs.bergtraum.k12.ny.us/cybereng/shorts/danger.html

The Lottery http://reading.englishclub.com/index.htm

Story of an Hour http://www.vcu.edu/engweb/webtexts/hour/storyofhour.html

Yellow Wallpaper http://www.vcu.edu/engweb/webtexts/wallpaper/

Short Stories for ESL http://reading.englishclub.com/short-stories.htm

Internet Public Library-Literary Criticism http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/

Poe Decoder http://www.poedecoder.com/

American Literary Classics http://www.americanliterature.com/SS/SSINDX.HTML

Bibliomania Online Short Stories http://www.bibliomania.com/0/5/frameset.html

Classic Horror Short Stories http://www.classichorrorstories.com/stories.html

Classic Short Stories http://mbhs.bergtraum.k12.ny.us/cybereng/shorts/

StoryBites-Online Reviews http://www.storybites.com/

Literary Explorer http://www.geocities.com/blondelibrarian/literaryexplorer/shortst.html


Finding Criticism of The Story (analysis of the story)

You can use the Literary Index database to find citations to criticism of authors’ works.

For this example, I will use “The Telltale Heart” by Edgar Allen Poe.

First I have to find the Literary Index database. When you are on the library home page, http://wally.rit.edu, click on the 1 st link “Databases” in the 2 nd column. You will see an A-Z database list. Scroll down to the L section and look for Literary Index and click. Then click on title and type in “tell-tale heart” and click on “match all words”. Click search.

You will see two results. Click on the first one.

You will see this list of references to literary criticism about the work. We do not have all of these in our library, but we have some. * indicates we have here in the library.

"The Tell-Tale Heart"

World Literature Criticism, volume(s) 4:2760-61

*Short Story Criticism, volume(s) 1:384, 393-94, 408; 34:239-87; 35:307-11, 314, 343, 345-46; 54:198, 218

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, volume(s) 1:500; 16:295, 301, 303, 309-10, 315-16, 319, 328-29, 331-32, 336; 55:172, 202; 78:256-63, 265-70, 272-75, 277-86, 289-90, 294, 296-300; 97:180; 117:320, 322-23

Short Stories for Students, volume(s) 4:343-59

Exploring Short Stories, volume(s)

Beacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults, volume(s) 5:2599-2604

Beacham's Encyclopedia of Popular Fiction: Analyses, volume(s) 7:4132-35

The only one we have is the Short Story Criticism. You can look this up in our library catalog to find out where it’s located in the library. Go to http://wally.rit.edu and click on the first link in the first column Library Einstein Catalog. Do a keyword search and type in Short Story Criticism. Note that it’s in the reference section, 1 st floor (can’t borrow out of the library but you can make copies with your ID card—costs 8 cents a page to copy. Go to Circulation desk to add money to your card or transfer monies from your tiger account.) Note the call number is REF PN 3373.S386

Look for the volume you want.

*Short Story Criticism, volume(s) 1:384, 393-94, 408; 34:239-87; 35:307-11, 314, 343, 345-46; 54:198, 218

For example, look for volume 1, page 384, 393-394 and 408 for what other writers said about this story.

You also can use a full-text database such as Academic Search Elite via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html

Click on ASE, click search this database, click ebsco host, check off academic search elite and American humanities index databases, type in the keywords tell tale heart and poe. You should see 17 results. Click on the 1 st one and you will see a full text article from a magazine that explains what the author thinks the poem is about. You can email the article to yourself or to a friend and/or print it out.

Other databases to try are: Omni, MLA, Essay and Literature, JSTOR

Try the Humanities databases available via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/topic/humanities.html

 

Maintained by Joan Naturale
JXNWML@rit.edu
IM me via AOL, Yahoo or MSN via ntidlibrarian
Reference Desk one 2 one IM assistance
MLA and APA Online Citation Builder