RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

LA Support Research: Technology Problems

TOPIC: Technology and Negative Aspects (Effects); Internet Privacy; Internet plagiarism; Internet and Social Aspects; Cybercrime; Computing and Society; Computer Crimes; CyberSmut, Pornography and the Internet, Internet and Software Filters, Computers and moral/ethical aspects.  

REFERENCE WORKS:  In addition to checking out the general encyclopedias like WORLD BOOK, check out these specialized encyclopedias. Remember we also have online encyclopedias via the Database List (Britannica Encyclopedia). 

American Justice (REF KF154.A44)
West’s Encyclopedia of American Law (REF KF154.W47)
Encyclopedia of Social Issues (REF HN57.E59)
Encyclopedia of Computer Science (REF HN57.E59 )
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice REF HV 6017.E52 2002
West’s Encyclopedia of American Law REF KF 154.W47 

CQ RESEARCHER. The print version up to the year 2000 is available on the 1st floor in the Ref area. Call number is REF H35.E351). It’s also available online via http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/

CyberPredators 3/1/02
Internet Privacy 11/6/98
Libraries and the Net 6/1/01 

CIRCULATING BOOKS
Crime and the Internet  HV6773 .C75 2001 
Crime, deviance and the computer HV6773.2 .H65 1997 
Pornography in America A Reference Handbook HQ 471.S59 2000
Crime in the Digital Age HV 6773.E72
Cyberpunks: Outlaws and Hackers on the Computer Frontier QA 76.61469
Hackers: Heroes of the Computer Revolution QA 76.61469 

Try ConnectNY http://connectny.info/ You can order books and pick them up overnight.

 
netLibrary online books via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/netlibrary/netlibrary.htm
lDo a keyword search 

DATABASES http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/electronic.html
1. ABI
2. Academic Search Elite; Master File
3. Opposing Viewpoints
4. OmniFiles

Compiled 2 August 2004
by Joan Naturale
JXNWML@rit.edu

Maintained by Joan Naturale
JXNWML@rit.edu
IM me via AOL, Yahoo or MSN via ntidlibrarian
Reference Desk one 2 one IM assistance
MLA and APA Online Citation Builder