RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives



LA Support Research Guide: School Violence



TOPIC:
  School (student, youth, teen, adolescent, juvenile) Violence (shooting, homicide, death, murder, crime, bullying)

REFERENCE WORKS:  In addition to checking out general print such as World Book and online encyclopedias such as Britannica Online,  check out the following specialized encyclopedias 

  1. Encyclopedia of Violence REF HM291.D4857
  2. Violence in America REF HN90.V5474 1999
  3. Aggression and Conflict: A Cross Cultural Encyclopedia REF HM 136.L46 1994
  4. Encyclopedia of Social Issues REF HN57.E59 1997
  5. Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant behavior HV6017 .E53 2001
  6. Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice HV6017 .E52 2002
  7. Encyclopedia of Education REF  LB15.B56 1970 
  8. Encyclopedia of gun control and gun rights KF3941.A68 U88 2000 
  9. Encyclopedia of Psychology REF BF 31.E52 2000
  10. Encyclopedia of Human Behavior REF BF31.E52 2000

 CQ RESEARCHER:  Print version up to the year 2000 is available on the 1st floor in the Reference area. Call number is REF H35.E351. It’s also available online via http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/. See the following issues: School Violence, Zero Tolerance, Kids in Prisons, Boys Emotional Needs, Childhood Depression 

STATISTICAL HANDBOOKS
Statistical Handbook on Violence in America REF HN90.V5S833 1996

STATISTICS ON THE WEB
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/steduc.html#schoolviol 

OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS BOOKS
Violence HN90.V5V5494 2001 (4th floor)
Gun Control HV 7436.G868 1997 (4th floor)
Education LA217.2 .E37 1999  (4th floor)
Gun Violence  HV7436 .G876 2001 
Juvenile Crime HV9069 .J78 2001 
Teens At Risk HV1431 .T44 1998   

CIRCULATING BOOKS
School violence : a reference handbook LB3013.3 .K68 1997  (4th floor)
Violent children : a reference handbook  HQ784.V55 K56 1995 
Check the LB 3013 and the HQ 780 areas for more books

Try ConnectNY http://connectny.info/ You can order books and pick them up overnight 

NETLIBRARY E BOOKS
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/netlibrary/netlibrary.html Nobody Left to Hate
Systemic Violence in Education : Promise Broken 

ELECTRONIC DATABASES
ABI
Opposing Viewpoints
Academic Search Elite, Master File, MAS Ultra School, ERIC, Psychinfo,Psychart
Omni

Maintained by: Joan Naturale
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu
Compiled 2 August 2004.