LA Support Research: Civil Rights and African Americans
TOPIC: Civil Rights and African Americans
REFERENCE WORKS: In addition to checking out the general encyclopedias like Britannica Online via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/britannica/britannica.html, check out these specialized encyclopedias.
The encyclopedia of civil rights in America 1 st floor, REF E185.61 .E544 1998
West’s Encyclopedia of American Law REF KF154.W47
100 greatest African Americans : a biographical encyclopediaE185.96 .A83 2002
Almanac of African American heritage : a book of lists featuring people, places, times, and events that shaped Black culture E185 .A448 2001
Atlas of African American History E185 .C55 2001
African American Encyclopedia E185 .C55 2001
CQ RESEARCHER. The print version up to the year 2000 is available on the 1 st floor in the Ref area. Call number is REF H35.E351). It’s also available online via http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher
Race in America 7/11/2003
Rethinking Affirmative Action 4/28/01
Affirmative Action 9/21/01
Black Middle Class 1/23/98
Diversity in the Workplace 10/10/97
CIRCULATING BOOKS
Use the Einstein library catalog to find books http://albert.rit.edu/. Do a keyword and subject search. Modify your search by date, so you see the most recent titles first. Try civil rights and abc clio; civil rights and opposing viewpoints
Racial justice in America : a reference handbook 4 th floor E185 .M95 2003
The ABC-CLIO companion to the Civil Rights Movement REF 1 st floor E185.61 .G895 1993
If we do not have books you like in our library, try ConnectNY http://connectny.info/ You can order books and pick them up within a few days.
netLibrary online books via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/netlibrary/netlibrary.html
Do a keyword or subject search. Try e-brary as well.
Databases
1. Opposing Viewpoints
2.Academic Search Elite; Master File, TOPIC
3.OMNIfile
4.ABI
5.SIRS Researcher
6. Ethnic and Gender Studies Databases http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/topic/multicultural.html
7. Political Science Databases
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/topic/polsci.html
Maintained by Joan Naturale
JXNWML@rit.edu
IM me via AOL, Yahoo or MSN via ntidlibrarian
Reference Desk one 2 one IM assistance
MLA and APA Online Citation Builder
|