|
Opposing Viewpoints APA or MLA Citation Using Noodlebib
This is from Noodlebib KnowledgeBase http://www.noodletools.com/kb/index.php?article=48
Gale's Opposing Viewpoints was originally a series of books, where each book was a collection of reprinted essays and articles focused on particular controversial issues ("censorship" in the example below).
APA: How do I cite a reprinted article in Gale's Opposing Viewpoints?
Source Citation: "Government Censorship Would Benefit Society" by Roger Kimball. Censorship. Tamara L. Roleff, Ed. Opposing Viewpoints® Series. Greenhaven Press, 2002. Reprinted from "The Case for Censorship," by Roger Kimball, The Wall Street Journal, October 8, 2000, by permission of the author and The Wall Street Journal. Copyright © 2000 Dow Jones and Company Inc. All rights reserved. Reproduced in Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Farmington Hills, Mich.: Gale Group. 2004
.In this example, Censorship is the name of a book in the Opposing Viewpoints Series, so you would use the "book" citation type in NoodleBib and selecting "Reprint of a periodical article" from the following screen.
Note: You can get to the same form by selecting "Newspaper or Newswire" as the citation type and then selecting "Reprint in a book" from the following screen.
Select "online" as the publication medium and "aggregated database" as the online retrieval mechanism.The only example the APA Publication Manual gives for a reprinted work is example #40, which is a section of a book that has been reprinted in a different edited book.
NoodleBib uses the formatting suggested by the current version of the APA Style Helper software (v5.0) for reprints of periodicals, which uses the word "From" as follows (no parentheses like in example #40 "Reprinted from..."):
Kimball, R. (2002). Government censorship would benefit society. In T. L. Roleff (Ed.), Censorship. Opposing Viewpoints series. San Diego, CA: Greenhaven Press. (Reprinted from Wall Street Journal, 2000, October 8). Retrieved March 13, 2007, from Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center database (X3010113243).
Note that the original title of the article is not included (according to the APA Style Helper software). The city of publication for the collection could be added in if desired, although it isn't included in the "source citation."
This citation is obtained by completing the main citation form in NoodleBib as follows:The reprinted periodical article
- Title of periodical: Wall Street Journal Title of article (as given in the collection): Government censorship would benefit society Author(s) of article: R. Kimball
- Periodical publication date: October 8, 2000
The book/collection in which the article is reprinted
- Title of book/collection: Censorship Publisher: Greenhaven Press Publication location: San Diego, CA
- Publication of copyright year: 2002
Additional information about the book/collection, if available
- Series name: Opposing Viewpoints series
- Editor(s) of collection: T. L. Roleff
Online retrieval details
- Date of access: March 13, 2007 Name of aggregated database: Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
- Item/accession number: X3010113243
Gale's Opposing Viewpoints was originally a series of print books. Each book was a collection of reprinted essays (e.g., Viewpoint essays) and articles about a controversial issues ("endangered oceans" in the example below).
Source Citation: "Antisubmarine Sonar Threatens Marine Mammals" by Nathan LaBudde. Endangered Oceans. Louise I. Gerdes, Ed. Opposing Viewpoints® Series. Greenhaven Press, 2003. Nathan LaBudde, "U.S. Navy Plans Ocean Assault," Earth Island Journal, vol. 41, Summer 1999, p. 18. Copyright © 1999 by Earth Island Journal. Reproduced by permission.Reproduced in Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Farmington Hills, Mich.: Gale Group. 2004 http://www.galenet.com/servlet/OVRC
In this example, Endangered Oceans is the name of a book in the Opposing Viewpoints Series. The article "Antisubmarine Sonar Threatens Marine Mammals" is reprinted from Earth Island Journal where it originally appeared in 1999. In NoodleBib, follow these steps:
1. Choose the "journal" citation type
2. Select "Reprint in a book" on the following screen
3.. Select "online" as the publication medium
4. Choose "subscription" as the database type
In the Subscription Database Wizard, search for "Opposing Viewpoints". Type in http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ov/ov.html. In the "Basic Information" section of the main form, supply the information about the journal
In the section titled "Information about the collection in which the content is reprinted" supply the information about the "collection" (Endangered Oceans).
In this case, your MLA citation would be:
LaBudde, Nathan. "Antisubmarine Sonar Threatens Marine Mammals." Endangered Oceans. Ed. Louise I. Gerdes. Opposing Viewpoints Ser. Greenhaven, 2003. Rpt. of "U.S. Navy Plans Ocean Assault." Earth Island Journal 41 (Summer 1999): 18. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Thomson Gale. RIT Library, Rochester, NY. 11 Nov. 2004 <http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ov/ov.html>.
Note: Not all the articles in the Opposing Viewpoints series are reprinted from journals, magazines or newspapers. In the citation below, Opposing Viewpoints Digests are original material published in print by Gale and mounted online in the Opposing Viewpoints Reseource Center.
Gale's Source Citation: "Abortion Should Be Legal." Abortion: Opposing Viewpoints Digests. Reproduced in Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Farmington Hills, Mich.: Gale Group. 2004 http://www.galenet.com/servlet/OVRC
1. Select "book" as the citation type in NoodleBib
2. Iindicate that you are citing a specific named section or chapter within the book. In this example, the book's name is Abortion: Opposing Viewpoints Digests and the section is called "Abortion Should Be Legal."
"Abortion Should be Legal." Abortion: Opposing Viewpoints Digests. Farmington
Hills, MI: Gale, 2004. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Thomson Gale.
RIT Library, Rochester, NY. 19 June 2006 <http://wally.rit.edu/
electronic/ov/ov.html>.
For more information contact:
Joan Naturale
Deaf, Disability and Education Librarian
Deafness News and Resources
jxnwml@rit.edu
IM me at ntidlibrarian
Videophone IP: 129.21.179.36 (D-Link)
|