RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Finding Career Information in the Area of Packaging

Web Resources || General Career/Employment Sources || Titles Specifically Related to Packaging || Creative Directories || Packaging Periodicals With Job Ads


Web Resources

 

  • Adhesive Packaging Specialities, Inc.
  • DuPont Company.
  • Flexo Exchange
  • Interpack.net
  • JobHunt.
  • Jobs: Plastics Industry and Packaging
  • Jobs: Printing, Publishing and Packaging
  • Jobwerx Manufacturing Network
  • NPPS, Inc.
  • Packaging Careers.com
  • Packaging Department
  • Packaging Magazine
  • Packaging Personnel Company Ltd.
  • Packaging Trade Worlds
  • Paperfiber.com
  • P/S Label & Packaging Industry.
  • PrintEmploy.com.
  • US Careers Resource Center.
  • W.R. Grace Company.
  • Women in Packaging, Inc.

     

    General Career/Employment Sources

    REF HF5549.5.C67P582
    Corporate Jobs Outlook. Corporate Jobs Outlook, Inc., Annual. This is a 2 volume set that provides valuable information on growing companies. You will find salary and benefits information on each of the companies included. There is also information on the company's job stability, and it provides unique information to job seekers with special needs. For example, Corporate Jobs Outlook lists companies that promote women or minorities to top level posts.

    REF HF5381.D86
    Dun's Employment Opportunities Directory. Dun and Bradstreet, Annual. This directory lists major companies, with a description of the company and the disciplines that they hire.

    REF HF5382.75.U6J62
    Job Bank Series. Bob Adams, Inc., 1994. This series is a geographic breakdown of major metropolitan cities. Each book covers a particular city and the companies that are located there. There is background information on the city and its economy. .

     

     

    Titles Specifically Related to Packaging

    REF HD9999.C743B4 2002
    Be a Hunter: And Capture the Perfect Packaging Jobs. Women in Packaging, 2002. This book gives job hunting tips, career development advice, resume preparation and much more.

    REF TS195.A1C3
    Canadian Packaging Buyer's Guide. Maclean-Hunter, Annual. This guide gives an overview of the packaging industry in Canada. It also gives a list of companies that manufacture packaging goods and services.

    REF NK1160.D42
    Design Firm Directory. Weller Associates, Annual. This directory gives descriptive information on graphic and industrial design firms. These companies are located in the United States and in Canada.

    REF TS195.A3D5
    Directory of Contract Packagers and Their Facilities. Packaging Institute International, Annual. There are 303 contract packager service locations listed geographically. This information provides the type of products handled, physical properties of products accepted, type of packages and packaging operations performed.

    REF TS195.A3I569
    Directory of Packaging Consultants. Packaging Consultants Council, Annual. This is an alphabetical listing of companies with descriptions, and the type of packaging they are involved with.

    REF TS195.A3I575 1999
    International Packaging Sourcebook. Leatherhead, Surrey: Pira International, 1999. This is an international directory for the packaging industry.

    REF HD9820.1.P33
    Paperboard Packaging Resource Directory. Advanstar Communications, Annual. This is a state by state listing of container industry companies. The descriptions are brief for each of the companies listed.

    REF TS195.A1P4
    Packaging Digest Machinery, Materials, Guide. Cahners Publishing, Annual. This is a directory of manufacturers and contract packagers. The directory is divided by type of business conducted.

    REF HD9999.C74P334
    Packaging Outlook. West Chester, PA.: Packaging Strategies, Inc., Annual. This source gives the reader an idea of the growth and/or decline of the packaging industry in the coming years.

    REF TS195.A1P338
    Packaging Sourcebook. North American Publishing, Annual. This is a great source to find information on the state of the packaging industry, as well as, a directory ofpackaging companies.

    REF HD9999.C743U74 1997
    Rauch Guide to the U.S. Packaging Industry. Bridgewater, NJ.: Rauch Associates, 1997. This is a good source for information on the U.S. Packaging industry.

    Creative Directories

    Other good sources to use when job hunting are the various creative annuals. These annuals are good because they not only list companies and designer names, they will also give excellent examples of the designer's or firm's work.

    Listed below are just a few of the creative directories subscribed to by the RIT Library.

    RESD TS195.2.B46
    Corporate Design.
    New York: PBC International,1987- .

    RARE NC997.A1G7
    Graphic Arts Awards Annual.
    Arlington, VA.: Printing Industries of America. 1984- .

    Packaging Periodicals with Job Ads

    PER TS1200.A1S5
    Boxboard Containers.
    Lafayette, IN.: Haywood Publishing. 1957-

    PER TP201.C483
    Chemical Packaging Review.
    W. Chester, PA.: Packaging Research International. 1993-.

    PER TS1200.A1F64
    Folding Carton Industry. London, Eng.: Binsted House, 1978-.

    PER Z258.G7
    Gravure. New York: Gravure Association of America. 1987-. (Current issues kept at the Reserve Desk).

    PER TP201.C483
    Hazmat Packager & Shipper. West Chester, PA.: Packaging Research Institute, 1995-.

    PER TS195.A1P3
    Packaging (USA).
    Boston, MA..: Cahners Publishing Company. 1983-. (Current issues kept at the Reserve Desk).

    OVER PER TS195.A1P4
    Packaging Digest.
    Mount Prospect, IL.: Packaging Digest, Inc., 1963-. (Current issues kept at the Reserve Desk).

    PER HF5770.P4
    Paperboard Packaging.
    Chicago, IL.: Board Products Publishing. 1959-.

     


    Please Note: Unless otherwise stated, current issues of all the above journals may be found on the current magazine shelves located on the second floor of the library.

     


    Maintained by: Sarah Reynolds Outreach/User Services Coordinator

  •