Term Paper Starters
The sources listed below can help you get started by giving you ideas on topics
and quick background information. You may also want to access another guide
on using electronic resources for research,
Electronic Library Research Sources for
a General Research Paper at http://wally.rit.edu/instruction/ basic/comp.html
A. TERM PAPER IDEAS
REF LB1047.3 .L35 1998
10,000 ideas for term papers, projects, reports & speeches, 5th ed. NY, NY:
Macmillan , c1998
REF PE1478.M54 1987
Sourcebook for English papers : 1001 ideas for term papers, projects, reports,
and speeches/ Walter Miller. New York, N.Y. : Prentice-Hall, c1987
B. QUICK FACT FINDERS
INDEX D410.F29
Facts on File, 1956-1999.
This publication systematically identifies dates, persons, and major developments.
In addition to its index it provides succinct, objective and systematic textual
coverage of national and international events. The 5 year and annual cumulative
indexes can be used, without the text, to gain a very quick indication of the
most significant topical developments within a given year or years.
REF JK1.C15/Film 1537
Congressional Quarterly Weekly, 1956- weekly.
CQ covers actions of the U.S. Congress and major actions of the President and
the Supreme Court. National and international issues are discussed in some depth.
Indexes are published quarterly and cumulate annually.
REF & RESD AY67.N5W7
World Almanac and Book of Facts 1950- Current year in REF & RESD; Every
Fifth year in PER
REF AY64 .T56 and on the web <http://www.infoplease.com/>
Time Almanac (Information Please).
current year only.
C. QUICK STATISTICS
REF HC106.5.A27
Economic Report of the President transmitted to the Congress. 1947-1965,1970-1982,1985-
Lots of economic data in tables in appendices.
REF HA202.A35
Statistical Abstracts of the United States, 1949- Library has: current 5 years
and every 5th year.
Compiles statistics from all U.S.and many private agencies. Gives time comparisons.
1-2 year delay in statistics depending on availability from the source.
REF HA12.5.U63
Statistical Yearbook/Annuaire Statistique, UN 1960- . Library has: current year
and every 5th year.
Compiles statistics on all countries, some economic groupings and total world
summaries. Includes population and socio-economic data. Text in English and
French; 3 year publication delay (1987 statistics, published in 1990).
REF AZ59.B766
Statistical Yearbook/Annuaire Statistique/Anuario Estatistico, UNESCO 1963-
. Library has: current year and every 5th year. .
Compiles statistics on education, population, media, libraries and museums.
Introduction and text material in English, French, Spanish, Russian and Arabic.
2 year publication delay (1988 statistics published in 1990.)
REF HA, HC, HD, HF depending on subject. Also on the web > http://www.census.gov/
U.S. Census.
We have population, housing, manufacturing, services and trade census thru 1990.
2000 census only on the web.
D. QUICK BACKGROUND INFORMATION
GENERAL ENCYCLOPEDIAS are great sources for a broad overview of many topics.
These are located at the very beginning of the Reference Collection (Call number
AE). We also have 2
Groliers Encyclopedias online.
SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS are excellent sources for historical context, major
theories, identification of persons in the field, classical research and major
sources. Some sample titles are given below. For further titles browse the Reference
stacks in your subject area or ask a Reference Librarian.
|
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
|
Grove Dictionary of
Art Online
|
|
Encyclopedia of Economics
|
McGraw-Hill
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
|
|
Encyclopedia of Feminism
|
New Illustrated Science & Invention Encyclopedia
|
|
Encyclopedia of Psychology
|
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
|
|
Encyclopedia of Social Work
|
West's Encyclopedia of American Law
|
|
Encyclopedia of the Third World
|
World Encyclopedia of Peace
|
E. INFORMATION ON CONTROVERSIAL IDEAS
CMS/REF JK1.C65 last 3 years/PER.JK1.C65 prior vols.
Congressional Digest, 1967- .
Each issue covers one major issue being discussed in the U.S. Congress. It gives
a history of relevant legislation, an objective overview essay, identification
of Congressional persons taking leadership, and ends with verbatim transcript
excerpts of pro and con debate in both the House and Senate.
REF H35.E35 and available on line at http://library.cq.com/
CQ
Researcher, (formerly, Editorial Research Reports).1969-2000 . Published
by Congressional Quarterly.
These excellent 20 page research studies deal with topics of current social
concern. They provide background, a chronology, elaborate on the current situation
and outlook, and discuss a relevant question at issue. They end with a bibliography
of sources used and list additional articles and books. A current index and
content pages of current issues is kept in a binder with the volumes.
QuickRef AS8.E53
Encyclopedia of Associations, current edition.
Identifies special interest groups and professional/ trade associations. Gives
address, officers, publications, and short blurb. Writing or calling a special
interest group can garner a wealth of information.
Book Series
Use the "Einstein" catalog. Type in the title of one of the series listed below.
This will call up individual titles in the series. Each title is a separate
topic. A separate guide entitled Controversial
Issues: Pro and Con Discussions is available which lists some of the recent
books in these series. Each title in these series has its own call number.
- Contemporary World Issues
- Current Controversies
- Ideas in Conflict
- Information Series on Current Topics
- Opposing Viewpoints
- Reference Shelf
- Worldwatch Papers (All volumes in this series under H31.W67 on 4th floor.)
Point of View Journals in RIT Library
The library subscribes to many magazines/journals which represent a particular
point of view espoused by a group. We have journals with conservative, liberal,
religious, minority, environmental, or sexual viewpoints. See a separate guide
for titles in RIT Library.
Maintained by: Linda Coppola
|