REF TR145.R4 1984
Stark, Amy. Researching Photographers. Tucson: Center for Creative
Photography, 1984.
Pamphlet explaining basic research strategies for photographic biography and
providing a list of standard sources.
REF TR9.A89 1985
Auer, Michele, and Auer, Michel. Encyclopedie internationale des photographes
de 1839 a nos jours: Photographers Encyclopedia International. 2 vols.
Hermance: Editions Camera Obscura, 1985.
Entries for 1,600 photographers working in all genres give biographical data,
lists of exhibitions, bibliographical citations, portraits of the photographers,
and illustrations of typical work. International scope, bi-lingual (French
and English).
RESD TR139.E53 1997 + supplement
Auer, Michele. Encyclopedie internationale des photographes des debuts
a nos jours = Photographers Encyclopedia International from its beginning
to the present. Neuchatel, Switzerland: Ides et calendes, 1997.
CD-ROM of over 3,000 photographers with biographies, exhibition lists, bibliographies
and addresses, less complete information for 3,000 others plus a chronology
of the history of photography, a dictionary of processes and more that 5,900
images.
REF TR139.B4 1975
Beaton, Cecil, and Buckland, Gail. The Magic Image: The Genius of Photography
from 1839 to the Present Day. Boston: Little Brown, 1975.
205 biographies of fine art and commercial photographers. International scope.
Entries describe typical media and genres, major collections and exhibitions,
and provide anecdotal critiques of professional careers. Illustrations for
most entries.
REF TR139.B767 1983
Brown, Turner, and Elaine Partnow. Macmillan Biographical Encyclopedia
of Photographic Artists & Innovators. New York: Macmillan, 1983.
Entries for approximately 2,000 19th- and 20th-century fine art and commercial
photographers, photo-scientists, critics, teachers, and museum and gallery
personnel give basic biographical and directory data, publications, collections.
International scope.
REF TR139.C66 1982, REF TR138.C66 1988, and REF TR139.C664 1995
Contemporary Photographers. 1st, 2nd, 3rd eds. Chicago: St. James,
1982, 1988, 1995.
Each edition presents extensive biographical data, including exhibitions,
collections, and publications for 750 late 19th- and 20th-century photographers.
Statement by the photographer and/or a brief critical essay are given in each
entry. Many entries include black-and-white illustrations. International scope.
REF TR15.E48 1988
Edwards, Gary. International Guide to Nineteenth-Century Photographers
and Their Works. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1988.
Listing of over 4,000 photographers compiled from over 300 auction catalogs
published between 1903 and 1986. Entries give photographers' nationalities
and locations of their studios, descriptions of the photographs sold (dates,
processes, formats, general subjects, and locations), and list the catalogs
documenting the sales, including whether works are illustrated in the catalogs.
No other bibliographic information and no price information is included.
REF TR145.C673
The Encyclopedia of Photography. 20 vols. New York: Greystone Press,
1963.
Entries for 80 photographers working in all genres present basic biographical
data, describe typical work, and outline major career developments. International
scope, emphasis on 20th century figures. Complete list of biographies appears
in volume 20.
REF TR139.G36 1990/1991
George Eastman House Biography File of Photographers. Rochester, NY:
George Eastman, House, 1990.
Listing of 35,000 19th- and 20th-century photographers compiled from references
in photographic literature and holdings of American photographic collections.
Entries are brief, giving dates and nationality for all photographers. Selected
bibliographic citations, major collections, and exhibitions are listed for
major figures. Microfiche format.
REF TR9.I24 1984
ICP Encyclopedia of Photography. New York: Crown, 1984.
Biographical entries describing the major professional activities and the
historical importance of 250 photographers born before 1940 are given in the
main alphabetic sequence. Briefer entries (dates, primary media) are given
for 2,000 photographers, historians, and critics in Appendix 1. International
scope.
REF TR12.E85 1998
International Photography: George Eastman House Index to Photographers,
Collections, Exhibitions. New York: G.K. Hall, 1998.
Extensive 3 volume set -- volume 1 photographers; volume 2 collections; volume
3 exhibitions.
REF TR71.J35 1983
Jammes, Andre, and Janis, Eugenia Parry. The Art of the French Calotype;
with a Critical Dictionary of Photographers, 1845-1870. Princeton: Princeton
University Press, 1983.
The approximately 150 entries for "photographers who used the paper negative,
not professional calotypists," vary from brief citations of extant work to
full biographies with critical descriptions of work, lists of exhibitions,
bibliographies. Illustrations for some entries.
REF TR139.K445 1988
Kelbaugh, Ross J. Directory of Maryland Photographers 1839-1900. Baltimore:
Historic Graphics, 1980.
List of several hundred Maryland photographers compiled from city and business
directories, periodicals, census information, and other sources. Most entries
provide only the photographer's medium, active dates, address, and the source
of the information. Short illustrated biographical essays are provided for
10 photographers.
REF TR139.A43 1989
Krantz, Les. American Photographers: An Illustrated Who's Who Among Leading
Contemporaries. New York: Facts on File, 1989.
Lists approximately 1,000 living photographers active in all genres. Biographies
give addresses, fields of specialization, descriptions of typical work, and
awards. A genre index is provided. Reviewers have questioned data compilation
methods, so researchers should be wary of the accuracy of information given
in this work.
REF TR139.M3
Matthews, Oliver. Early Photographs and Early Photographers: A Survey in
Dictionary Form. New York: Pitman, 1972.
Listings for 300 photographers and photographic firms active up to 1910. International
scope. Brief entries include dates, nationality, typical media and genre,
and a selected bibliography for each photographer.
REF TR139.N34 1982
Naggar, Carole. Dictionnaire des photographes. Paris: Editions du Sevil,
1982.
Substantial entries, including exhibitions, collections, publications by and
about 420 19th- and 20th-century photographers and photography critics from
28 countries. Includes black-and-white photographs for many entries. French
text.
On Order
Palmquist, Peter E. Pioneer Photographers of the Far West: A Biographical
Dictionary, 1840-1865. Stanford, California: Stanford University Press,
2000.
REF TR24.C2P34 1990
Palmquist, Peter E. Shadowcatchers: A Directory of Women in California
Photography before 1901. Arcata, Calif.: P.E. Palmquist, 1990.
Listings for over 1,000 women active as photographers and/or working in photographic
businesses or industries. Entries include basic biographical and career data,
illustrations of the subject or her work. Information was drawn from U.S.
census records, city directories, newspapers, journals, and archives.
REF TR24.M4D57 1993
Polito, Ronald, and Chris Steele. A Directory of Massachusetts Photographers:
1839-1900. Camden, Maine: Picton Press, 1993.
Listings for 6,800 Massachusetts photographers and photographic workers, compiled
primarily from city directories. Main body of the directory is organized by
town. Entries include addresses (residential and business), advertisements,
and other facts garnered from these primary sources. A series of indexes including
personal and business names and listings of women photographers and photographers
in the military during the Civil War, are given at the back of the volume.
REF TR12.P74 1986
Pritchard, Michael. A Directory of London Photographers 1841-1908.
Bushey: ALLM Books, 1986.
A list of over 2,500 photographers and their addresses compiled from issues
of the London Post Office Directory from 1841 to 1908. Each entry includes
the year(s) during which the photographer was listed in the directory.
REF TR365.R48
Rinhart, Floyd, and Marion Rinhart. The American Daguerreotype. Athens:
University of Georgia Press, 1981.
"Biographies" section, pages 379 to 421, gives dates, residence, and a brief
description of activity for 1,800 daguerreotypists and related artists. Sources
of information are cited for each listing.
REF TR24.O7R624 1993
Robinson, Thomas. Oregon Photographers; Biographical History and Directory:
1852-1917. 2nd ed. Portland, Oreg.: Great Northwest Books (dist.), 1993.
Extensive directory compiled from city and county directories, select photography
annuals, and local newspapers. Entries range from a single address to several
pages and many include the full text of newspaper articles and advertisements
from periodicals. Alphabetical arrangement by name with indexes to particular
formats and media (panoramic, stereo, etc.), women photographers, and cities.
REF N6536.W5
Who's Who in American Art. New York: Bowker, 1983-Date. Biennial.
Basic biographical data including a selected list of publications, exhibitions,
and collections for approximately 500 living photographers. Emphasis on fine
art photographers and educators.
REF TR12.W48 1951
Who's Who in Photography. London: Focal Press, 1951.
Brief entries for photographers, most practicing in applied fields, include
address, date of birth, professional memberships, and areas of specialization.
Overwhelming number of entries are from Great Britain with a smattering of
individuals from other countries. Alphabetical arrangement with geographical
and genre indexes. Not illustrated.
REF TR12.W486
Who's Who in Photography. Plymouth, Vt.: Five Corners Publications,
1991.
Listings for approximately 1600 professional and "advanced amateur" photographers
currently working in the United States. Entries incude contact informtion,
specialities, brief biographical information, professional affiliations, and
a listing of publications and exhibitions. Geographical and specialty indexes
are given at the back of the book.
REF TR139.W55 1985
Willis-Thomas, Deborah. Black Photographers, 1840-1940: A Bio-bibliography.
New York: Garland, 1985.
Entries for 65 major American photographers. Fullest entries include biographical
data (dates, geographic location), principal subjects and processes, collections,
annotated bibliographic citations, exhibitions, and illustrations of typical
work. Arrangement is chronological. Name, geographic, and collection indexes
are provided.
REF TR139.W55 1989
Willis-Thomas, Deborah. An Illustrated Bio-bibliography of Black Photographers,
1940-1988. New York: Garland, 1989.
Biographies of 416 photographers and studios. Fullest entries include dates,
place of birth and activity, education, employment, brief critical assessments
of the subjects' work, lists of collections and exhibitions, selective bibliographies.
Alphabetical arrangement. Extensively illustrated (black-and-white reproductions).
Some factual errors.
REF TR6.5.W57
Witkin, Lee D., and Barbara London. The Photograph Collector's Guide.
Boston: New York Graphic Society, 1979.
Very full biographies for 234 19th- and 20th-century photographers, most working
in the fine art genre. Supplementary lists give dates and nationalities for
1,000 daguerreotypists and 6,000 photographers working in other media.
Directory entries facilitate personal contact between individuals sharing common interests (members of an organization) or needs (service providers and users). As such, they are updated frequently but rarely provide more information than current addresses and phone numbers.
General Directories
REF TR12.P485 1989
The Photograph Collectors' Resource Directory. 3rd ed. New York: Photographic
Arts Center, 1989.
A list of photographic artists who represent their own work begins on page
99. Address and telephone number are given in each listing.
REF TR12.S86 1995
Stock Photo Deskbook. 5th ed. New York: The Photographic Arts Center,
1995.
Listings for over 1000 photographers in the United States and abroad who sell
their photographs as stock. Address and telephone number, and subject specialties
are given in each entry. Alphabetical arrangement for each country. Only listings
for the United States separate individual from institutional and commercial
sources.
REF Z6951.W6
Working Press of the Nation. 5 vols. Chicago: The National Research
Bureau. Annual.
"Feature Writers, Photographers, and Professional Speakers Directory" (volume
4) lists approximately 1,000 freelance photographers, giving for each the
address, telephone number, professional affiliations, principal subject areas,
and a list of publications in which photographs have appeared. Specialty and
geographic precede the biographical listings.
Creative Services Directories
Creative directories are tools intended for advertising professionals and those working in related service fields, such as commercial art and photography, graphic design, printing, fashion styling, etc. Most of these include self- promotional advertisements illustrating the work of the visual artists listed in the directory. A complete list of current creative directories available in the RIT Library collection is given in the guide, "Creative Directories for the Commercial Arts," available at the Take-One Rack by the Reference Desk and through this Worldwide Web site.
Membership Directories
REF TR12.A53
American Society of Media Photographers. Membership Directory. New
York: ASMP. Annual. Current year only.
List of members by membership category with business address and areas of
specialization. Geographical index by state.
REF TR139.S6
Society for Photographic Education. Membership Directory and Resource Guide.
New York: SPE. Annual. Current year only.
Alphabetical list of members and their addresses.
The retrospective bibliographies listed here all provide citations to monographs about individual photographers. They also analyze books, exhibition catalogs, and other publications dealing with the work of more than one photographer, thereby improving access to information listed under general subject headings in the library catalog. Further, these sources provide essential (though very selective) access to unidexed periodical literature.
REF TR139.W664 vol.1
Bibliography of Books By and About Women Photographers in the Collection
of the Women in Photography International Archives as of January 1, 2000.
Arcata, CA: Women in Photography International Archive, 2000.
REF Z7134.B6
Boni, Albert. Photographic Literature: An International Bibliographic
Guide. 2 vols. New York: Morgan and Morgan, 1962, 1972.
Over 12,000 annotated citations to books, periodical articles, and pamphlets.
Photographers are listed by name in the general alphabetical subject sequence.
Best for important historical figures.
REF NK1160.D5 1991
Designers International Index. 3 vols. London: Bowker-Saur, 1991.
Extensive bibliography of periodical articles, monographs, exhibition catalogs,
and reference sources which includes listings for over 2,300 photographers.
Emphasis is on 20th-century artists, though major 19th-century figures are
included. Organized by artists' names with media and country indexes given
in volume 3. International scope.
REF TR145.H438 1989
Heidtmann, Frank. Bibliographie der Photographie: deutschsprachige Publikationen
der Jahre 1839-1984. 2 vols. 2nd ed., rev. and enl. Munich: Saur, 1989.
Comprehensive bibliography of monographic, serial, and ephemeral publications
on the history, aesthetics, and technology of photography. Section B.1 ("Publications
by and on Persons in Photography"), beginning on page 356 of Volume 1, gives
a list of publications about individual photographers arranged alphabetically
by photographers' names. Consult the general index in Volume 2 for references
in other sections of the bibliography.
REF TR15.J64 1990
Johnson, William S. Nineteenth-century Photography: An Annotated Bibliography
1839-1879. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1990.
Selective index to 58 photography and general interest periodicals published
between 1839 and 1879. The first section, "By Artist or Author," includes,
in many cases, extensive biographical information as well as citations to
periodical literature by and about the photographers profiled.
REF Z7137.I57
Library Catalog of the International Museum of Photography at George Eastman
House. 4 vols. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1982.
Lists approximately 30,000 monographic titles on the history, aesthetics,
technology, and science of still and motion picture photography. Works on
individual photographers are found under the photographers' names in both
the Author/Title Catalog (v olumes 1 and 2) and the Subject Catalog (volumes
3 and 4). Entries are presented in standard library catalog format.
REF Z5961.U5A77
Newhall, Beaumont. "Photography." In Arts in America: A Bibliography.
4 vols. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1979.
Section N (volume 3) provides a list of 600 books, exhibition catalogs, and
periodical articles by and about 175 individual photographers. Fine art orientation,
although some photojournalists and commercial photographers have been included.
Excellent annotations.
REF Z7134.P46
Photography. Santa Barbara: Clio Press, 1982.
Annotated bibliography of books, exhibition catalogs, periodical articles,
and dissertations published between 1972 and 1979. Emphasis on fine art photography,
although commercial photography and photojournalism are also covered. Section
2 presents material grouped by country and each has a subdivision, "Individual
Photographers." The "The Names Index" beginning on page 255 provides more
convenient access to this information.
REF TR15.R665 1989
Roosens, Laurent, and Salu, Luc. History of Photography: A Bibliography
of Books. 2 vols. London: Mansell, 1989, 1994.
Includes almost 16,500 books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, offprints,
and other published sources. References to individual photographers are included
in the main subject sequence. Coverage of individual photographers is limited
to those born before 1936 and listings are selective, not comprehensive. Full
bibliographic information for each item cited. Author/personal name index
begins on page 399 of volume 1 and page 327 of volume 2.
Library of Congress Subject Headings (red books on the dictionary stand near the Reference Desk), lists all the terms used in the Einstein subject index.
RIT Library's complete photography periodical holdings are listed in Einstein, the library catalog. A guide to titles currently received and their indexing sources,"Current Photography Periodicals," is available at the Take-One Rack near the Reference Desk and through this Worldwide Web site.
Art Full-Text. Indexing 1984 -. Abstracts 1994 - . Monthly. Selected
Full-text beginning 1997 - .
Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases and Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/art/art.html
Print Issues: INDEX N1.A1A68. Vol. 32-38 1983/84-1989/1990.
Art Index Retrospective. Indexing 1929-1984. Citations and Abstracts.
Electronic format: RIT Library Web page: Databases and Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/artretro/artretro.html
Print Issues: INDEX N1.A1A68. Vol. 1-32. 1929-1983/84.
Artbibliographies Modern.
Electronic Format: RIT Library Web Page: Electronic Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/artbib/artbib.html
Print format issues: INDEX N1.A79. Vol. 1- 24, 1969-93. Semi-annual.
Covers approximately 25 photography periodicals among the 350 art journals,
general interest, and magazines, books, exhibition catalogs, and dissertations
indexed in each issue. Annotations are provided for all entries. Photographers
are listed by name in the general alphabetic sequence.
BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art. Coverage: Abstracts; 1991-1995.
Print format back issues: INDEX N7510.R44. . Quarterly.
Includes periodical literature, books, exhibition and auction catalogs, dissertations,
festschriften. Covers few titles exclusively devoted to photography. Best
for historical figures and contemporary fine arts photographers. Look for
photographers' names in the subject index (index volume) or browse through
the "Pictorial Arts--Photography" headings in the "1800-1945" and "1945-2000"
sections. Descriptive annotations for each entry.
International Photography Index. 1977-1981.
Print format back issues: INDEX TR1.I49. Annual.
Covers approximately 110 photography and art journals and general interest
magazines. Material about individual photographers is indexed in the "Artists"
section (arranged alphabetically by artists' names) and also in the exhibition
and book review sections. Emphasis on fine art and documentary photography.
Some entries have brief content annotations.
Photography Magazine Index. 1978-1985.
Print format back issues: INDEX TR1.P8812. Annual.
Covers 12 popular photography magazines. Material about individual photographers
is found under the following headings: "Biographies," "Careers," "Exhibitions,"
"Interviews," and "Portfolios." Articles are arranged by date of publication
in each section, making the index tedious to use.
Photohistorica: Literature Index of the European Society for the History
of Photography. 1978-1994 .
Print format back issues: INDEX TR15.P46. Irregular.
Covers approximately 75 photography and art journals and general interest
magazines. Most material about individual photographers is indexed in the
"Biographies" section (organized alphabetically by authors' last names) but
can also be found in other sections (e.g. "Colour"). Fine art emphasis. Annotations
are given for each entry.