This guide lists all photography periodicals (magazines, journals, newsletters, bulletins) currently received at RIT Library. Periodicals from related disciplines frequently carrying articles about photography are also included here. A selected list of consumer and news magazines noted for the consistently high quality of their design and illustrations is provided in a separate listing. Photography periodicals that have ceased publication, creative directories, and most annuals are omitted from this list. RIT Library's holdings of these titles can be found by consulting "Einstein," the on-line library catalog. Periodicals devoted exclusively to film and video are listed in a separate guide, " Current Periodicals: Film, Video, and Related Imaging Systems."
Publication frequency, local holdings, and location at RIT Library are given for each title. The location of back issues and current issues are given on the first line of each entry.
If a title is regularly indexed by any of the indexing and abstracting services currently available at RIT Library, this information is given in the entry. The abbreviations used for each service are listed in the first section of the guide, "Indexing and Abstracting Services."
Periodicals are listed alphabetically by title in each section. A subject index is given at the end of the guide.
Imaging Abstracts. 1988- . Bi-monthly.
[Previous title: Photographic Abstracts. Vol. 1-67, 1921-1987].
Electronic Format: RIT Library Web Page: Electronic Resources via PIRA
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/pira/pira.html
Abbreviated as IA.
Photohistorica: Literature Index of the European Society for the History
of Photography. 1978-1996. Irregular.
Print format back issues: INDEX TR15.P46.
Abbreviated as PH.
Related Disciplines
Applied Science and Technology Full-Text.
Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases and Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ast/ast.html
Print Issues: INDEX TA1.A66 1958-1990.
Abbreviated as ASTA.
Art Full-Text. Indexing 1984 -. Abstracts 1994 - . Monthly. Selected
Full-text beginning 1997 - .
Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases and Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/art/art.html
Print Issues: INDEX N1.A1A68. Vol. 32-38 1983/84-1989/1990.
Abbreviated as ART.
Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts.
Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Electronic Resources via CHIN
(Canadian Heritage Network).
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/chin/chin.html
Print format issues: INDEX AM1.A7. Vol. 16-34. 1979-1997
Abbreviated as AATA.
Artbibliographies Modern.
Electronic Format: RIT Library Web Page: Electronic Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/artbib/artbib.html
Print format issues: INDEX N1.A79. Vol. 1- 24, 1969-93. Semi-annual.
Abbreviated as ABM.
BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art. Vol. 1- , 1991- . Quarterly.
[Incorporates RILA: International Repertory of the Literature of Art.
Vol. 3-15, 1977-89].
Print format issues: INDEX N7510.R44.
Abbreviated as BHA.
Design and Applied Arts Index.
Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases and Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/daai/daai.html
Print format back issues: INDEX NK1110.D47. Vol. 1-6, 1987-93. Semi-annual.
Abbreviated as DAAI.
Humanities Full-Text.
Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases and Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/omni/omni.html
Indexing 1982-. Abstracts 1984- . Full-Text, 1994- .Monthly.
Print Issues: INDEX AI3.H85 v.1-21 1974/75-1994.
Abbreviated as HUM.
Medline via EbscoHost
Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases and Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/acadelite/acadelite.html
Abbreviated as MED.
Readers' Guide Full-Text
Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases and Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/omni/omni.html
Indexing 1982-. Abstracts 1984- . Full-Text, 1994- .Monthly.
Print Issues: INDEX AI3.R4 v.1-54 1900-1994.
Abbreviated as READ.
OVER PER TR640.A2 / CMS
Afterimage. Vol. 1- , 1972- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART, BHA, PH.
PER TR1.A568 / CMS
American Photo. Vol. 1- , 1990- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART, PH.
PER and RARE PER TR1.A62 / CMS
Aperture. Vol. 1- , 1952- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, ART, PH.
PER NC997.A1A66 / CMS
Applied Arts Magazine. Vol. 1- , 1986- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by ABM,
DAAI.
PER TR640.A73
Archive. No. 7/8-33, 1978-1998 . 3 issues/year. Indexed by ABM, BHA.
PER Z674.2.A67 / CMS
Art Documentation. Vol. 4- , 1985- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, BHA,
DAAI.
PER N1.A43 and Film 934 / CMS
Art in America. Vol. 44- , 1956- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART, BHA,
DAAI.
PER Z675.A85A78 / CMS
Art Libraries Journal. Vol. 1- , 1976- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, BHA,
DAAI.
PER NE1.P692 / CMS
Art on Paper. Vol. 3- , 1998- . Indexed by ABM, ART.
PER N1.A814 / CMS
Artforum International. Vol. 2- , 1956- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART,
BHA, DAAI.
PER N1.A6 / CMS
Artnews. Vol. 43- , 1944- . Monthly. Indexed by AATA, ABM, ART, BHA,
DAAI.
Available online by using Einstein and DCE account.
Artjob. Bi-weekly.
Film 1132 / CMS
Artweek. Vol. 10- , 1979- . Weekly. Indexed by ABM, ART.
PER TR1.A613 / CMS
ASMP [American Society of Media Photographers] Bulletin. Vol.
4- , 1985- . Monthly.
Current Year Only / CMS
ASPP [American Society of Picture Professionals] Bulletin. Quarterly.
PER TR640.B556 / CMS
Blind Spot. No. 13 - , 1999- . ART.
PER TR1.B8 and Film 1320 / CMS
British Journal of Photography. Vol. 1- , 1853- . Weekly. Indexed by
ABM, ART, PH.
PER TR1.C18 / RESD
Camera Austria. No. 2- , 1980- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, PH.
PER TR1.C55 / CMS
Camerart. Vol. 3- , 1960- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM.
PER TR1.S422 / CMS
Camerawork. Vol. 14- , 1987- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM.
PER TR640.C462 / CMS
CEPA. 1991- . Quarterly.
PER NC997.A1C2 / RESD
Communication Arts. Vol. 1- , 1959- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by ART, ABM,
DAAI.
PER N8554.G47 / CMS
Conservation, the GCI [Getty Conservation Institute] Newsletter.
Vol. 6- , 1990- . 3 issues/year. Indexed by ABM.
PER TR640.C66 / CMS
Contact Sheet. No. 67- , 1990- . 5 issues/year.
PER TR640.C74 / CMS
Creative Camera. No. 34- , 1967- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART, PH.
PER NC991.A1C7184 / CMS
Creative Review. Vol. 12- , 1992- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, DAAI.
Current Year Only / CMS
Critical Mass. Quarterly.
Current Year Only / CMS
Daguerreian Society Newsletter. Bi-monthly.
PER T385.D475 / CMS
Design Graphics. No. 9- , 1995- .Bi-monthly. Indexed by DAAI.
PER TR256.D54 / CMS
Digital Camera. Vol. 2- , 1999- .
Film 1780 / CMS
Discourse. Vol. 14- , 1992- . 3 issues/year.
PER AS 30 .D68 /CMS
DoubleTake. Vol. 1 - 1995 - . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM.
PER TR1.E8 / CMS
European Photography. Vol. 1- , 1980- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM,
ART, PH.
PER TR1.E93 / CMS
Exposure. Vol. 11- , 1973- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, ART, BHA, PH.
PER N1.A1F53 / CMS
Flash Art. No. 106- , 1982- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART, BHA, DAAI.
PER N4.F5816 / CMS
FMR [English edition]. No. 1- , 1984- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART,
DAAI.
CMS
Focus on Imaging: The Magazine for Photo Lab, Digital Lab, and On-Site Imaging
Professionals. v. 23, no.1 -. Jan. 2001 - .
PER TR1.F49 / CMS
Fotologia. No. 1- , 1984- . Irregular.
PER TR1.F756 / CMS
Fotomagazin. Vol. 19- , 1967- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, PH.
Current Year Only / CMS
Future Image Report. 10 issues/year.
PER N8.G73 and Film 1340 / CMS
Graphis. Vol. 2- , 1946- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART, DAAI.
PER TR721.G785 / CMS
Guilfoyle Report: A Quarterly Forum for Nature Photographers.. Vol. ,
no. 4-v.18, no.6, 1989-1999 . Quarterly.
Now available online at Guilfoyle Report Online through Einstein. Use RIT dce
account for access.
PER TR1.H37 / CMS
Hasselblad Forum [English edition]. 1975- . Quarterly.
Current Year Only / CMS
Hasselblad News. Quarterly.
PER TR15.H58 / CMS
History of Photography. Vol. 1- , 1977- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM,
ART, PH.
PER TR690.H68 / CMS
Hotshoe International. No. 75- , 1995- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by ABM,
DAAI.
PER TR1.I47 / CMS
Image. Vol. 1- , 1952- . Annual. Indexed by ABM, ART, BHA, PH.
PER TR845.B75 / CMS
Image Technology: Journal of the BKSTS [British Kinematography, Sound
and Television Society]. Vol. 68- , 1986- . Monthly. Indexed by IA, PH.
Current Year Only / CMS
In the Loupe: the Newsletter of the Photographic Resource Center at Boston
University.
PER TR1.G35 / CMS
International Museum of Photography at George Eastman House Newsletter.
Vol. 7- , 1985- . Bi-monthly.
PER TR1.I65 / CMS
International Photographer. Vol. 6- , 1934- . Indexed by ABM.
Current Year Only / CMS
Japan Camera Trade News: JCTN. Monthly.
PER N1.J58 and Film 531 / CMS
Journal of Aesthetic Education. Vol. 4- , 1970- . Quarterly. Indexed
by ABM, ART, BHA.
Film 597 / CMS
Journal of Audiovisual Media in Medicine. Vol. 1- , 1978- . Quarterly.
Indexed by MED.
PER R118.J68 / CMS
Journal of Biocommunication. Vol. 8- , 1981- . Quarterly. Indexed by
MED.
PER TR1.B5 and Film 792 / CMS
Journal of Biological Photography. Vol. 1- ,1932- . Quarterly. Indexed
by MED..
PER TR1.P7943 and Film 1749 / CMS
Journal of Imaging Science and Technology. Vol. 1- , 1957- . Bi-monthly.
Indexed by IA.
PER TR1.J84 / CMS
Journal of Photographic Science. Vol. 1- , 1953- . Bi-monthly. Indexed
by ABM, IA, PH.
PER TR640.K38 / CMS
Katalog. Vol. 4- , 1992- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, BHA.
PER TR1.L415 / CMS
Leica-Fotografie International. Vol. 8- , 1959- . 8 issues/year. Indexed
by PH.
PER and RARE PER AP2.L54715 and Film 1299
Life. Vol. 1-v.23, no.5, 1936-2000 . Monthly. Indexed by HUM.
PER TR640.L86 / CMS
Luna Cornea. No. 1- , 1992- . Quarterly.
PER NC997.A1L86 / CMS
Lurzer's International Archive. 1987- . Bi-monthly.
Current 2 Years Only / CMS
Mini Lab Focus. Monthly.
Current Year Only / CMS
NAEA [National Art Education Association] News. Bi-monthly.
OVER PER N1.N47 / CMS
New Art Examiner. Vol. 6- , 1978- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART, BHA.
PER TR820.N272 / CMS
News Photographer. Vol. 27- , 1972- . Monthly.
PER TR1.N44 / CMS
Nikon Salon. Vol. 31- , 1986- . Semi-annual.
OVER PER TR640.N84 / CMS
Nueva Luz. Vol.4- , 1994- . Quarterly.
PER NX1.O25
October. No. 2- , 1977- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, ART, BHA.
Now available full-text via Academic Search Elite: 1997-
OVER PER RE1.O64 / CMS
Ophthalmology Times. 1995 - . Weekly.
PER Z701.P3 / CMS
Paper Conservation News. No. 1- , 1976- . 3 issues/year.
PER TS1109.P192
Paper Conservator. Vol. 1- , 1976- . Annual. Indexed by AATA.
PER TR1.P966 / CMS
PC Photo: Il Progresso Fotografico. Vol 1, no.1- , 2002-. ABM.
Film 998 / CMS
Petersen's Photographic. Vol. 1- , 1972- . Monthly.
PER TR1 .P4615 / CMS
Photo [French edition]. No. 61- , 1972- . Monthly.
OVER PER TR1.N39 / RESD
Photo District News. Vol. 2- , 1981- . Monthly.
Also available full-text via ProQuest Research Library: 1998- .
PER TR1.P2 and Film 509 / CMS
Photo Electronic Imaging. Vol. 1- , 1958- . Monthly.
PER TR1.P618 / CMS
Photo Marketing. Current 3 Years Only. Monthly.
OVER PER TR640.P545 / CMS
Photo Metro. Vol.13- , 1994- . Monthly.
PER TR287.D36 / CMS
Photo Techniques. Vol. 17- . 1996- .Bi-montly.
Current Year Only / CMS
Photo Trade News. Monthly.
PER TR1.P462 / CMS
Le Photographe. No. 1311- , 1975- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, PH.
PER TR1.S87 / CMS
Photographers Forum. Vol. 1- , 1978- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM..
PER TR1.P7942 and Film 1466 / CMS
Photographic Journal. Vol. 17- , 1876- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART,
PH.
PER TR1.P7944 / CMS
Photographic processing. Current five years only. Monthly.
PER TR1.P805152 / CMS
Photographica. Vol. 1- , 1984- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by ABM, PH.
PER TR1.P883 / CMS
PhotoVision. No. 1- , 1981- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM.
PER Z692.P5A66 / CMS
Picture Professional. Vol. 15- , 1985- . Quarterly.
PER TR268.P45 / CMS
Pinhole Journal. Vol. 1- , 1985- . 3 issues/year. Indexed by ABM.
Film 1070 / CMS
Popular Photography. Vol. 1- , 1937- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, PH, READ.
PER Z119.P8985 and Film 1217 / CMS
Print. Vol. 1- , 1940- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, ART, BHA, DAAI.
PER TR690.A1I5 and Film 712 / CMS
Professional Photographer [McLaren Publishers]. Vol. 5- , 1965- . Monthly.
Indexed by PH.
PER TR1.A2 and Film 1104 / CMS
The Professional Photographer [Professional Photographers of America].
Vol. 2- , 1951- . Monthly.
PER TR1.P7955 and Film 991/ CMS
PSA [Photographic Society of America] Journal. Vol. 1- , 1935-
. Monthly.
PER TR1.R36 / CMS
Rangefinder. Vol. 27- , 1978- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM.
OVER PER TR690.S44 / CMS
Select. No. 14- , 1987- . Bi-monthly.
Current Year Only / CMS
SPE [Society for Photographic Education] Newsletter. 5 issues/year.
PER N81.S84 and Film 940 / CMS
Studies in Art Education. Vol. 11- , 1969- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM.
Also available full-text via ProQuest Research Library: 1997-.
PER N8650.S82 / CMS
Studies in Conservation. Vol. 24- , 1979- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM,
ART, PH.
PER N8554.T4 / CMS
Technology & Conservation. Vol. 2- , 1977- . Quarterly. Indexed by ART.
PER TR1.V54 / CMS
View Camera. Vol. 5- , 1992- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by ABM.
PER GN347.S85 / CMS
Visual Anthropology Review. Vol. 7- , 1991- . Semi-annual
PER NA1.A58 / CMS
Architectural Digest. Vol. 26- , 1970- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM.
PER NX504.D47 / CMS
Details. Vol. 5- , 1986- . Monthly.
PER AP2.E54 / CMS
Elle [American edition]. Vol. 5- , 1990- . Monthly. Indexed by DAAI.
PER AP2.E845 and Film 201 / CMS
Esquire. Vol. 55- , 1961- . Monthly. Indexed by READ.
PER TX341.I656 / CMS
Food & Wine. Vol. 7- , 1984- . Monthly.
PER TT570.A6 / CMS
Gentlemen's Quarterly: GQ. Vol. 41- , 1971- . Monthly. Indexed by DAAI,
READ.
PER TX1.G75 / CMS
Gourmet. Vol. 6- , 1946- . Monthly. Indexed by HUM.
PER and RARE PER TT500.H3 and Film 1083 / CMS
Harper's Bazaar. Vol. 65- , 1931- . Monthly. Indexed by READ.
PER NA7100.H65 and Film 1087 / CMS
House Beautiful. Vol. 62- , 1927- . Monthly. Indexed by READ.
Film 1407 / CMS
Interview. Vol. 5- , 1975- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, HUM.
Current 3 Months Only / CMS
Magazine [Sunday Times, London]. Weekly.
PER TT500.M26 /CMS
Marie Claire [French edition]. No. 511- , 1995- . Monthly. Indexed by
DAAI.
PER TX1.M37 / CMS
Martha Stewart Living . No. 65- , 1999- . Monthly.
PER G1.N27 / RESD
National Geographic. Vol. 21- , 1910- . Monthly. Indexed by READ.
PER F128.1.N4 and Film 1112 / CMS
New York. Vol. 1- , 1968- . Weekly. Indexed by ASTA.
Film 4000 / RESD
New York Times. Vol. 1- , 1851- . Daily. Indexed by NYTD.
Film 4000 / CMS
New York Times Magazine. Vol. 1- , 1851- . Weekly. Indexed by NYTD.
PER AP20.P342 / CMS
Paris-Match. No. 1130- , 1971- . Weekly.
Film 981 / CMS
Rolling Stone. No. 1- , 1967- . Bi-weekly. Indexed by READ.
PER DK1.U67 and Film 1160 / CMS
Russian Life. No. 100- , 1965- . Quarterly. .
PER AS30.S6 and Film 982 / CMS
Smithsonian. Vol. 1- , 1970- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, READ.
PER GV561.S733 and Film 475 / RESD
Sports Illustrated. Vol. 26- , 1967- . Weekly. Indexed by READ.
Current Year Only / CMS
Stern Magazin. Weekly.
Film 1649 / CMS
Texas Monthly. Vol. 15- , 1987- . Monthly.
Film 1650 / CMS
Travel & Leisure. Vol. 17- , 1987- . Monthly..
PER and RARE PER AP2.V3 / CMS
Vanity Fair. Vol. 33- , 1929- . Monthly. Indexed by DAAI, READ.
PER and RARE PER TT500.V7 and Film 1409 / CMS
Vogue [American edition]. Vol. 1- , 1892- . Monthly. Indexed by DAAI,
READ.
PER TT500.V7185 / CMS
Vogue Deutsche. 1994- . Monthly. Indexed by DAAI.
PER TT500.V72 / CMS
Vogue Italia. No. 406- , 1984- . Monthly. Indexed by DAAI.
Current Year Only / CMS
W. Monthly.
PER NK2113.W34 / RESD
Wallpaper. Jan/Feb. 2000-. Bi-montly.
Current Year Only / CMS
Women's Wear Daily. Daily.
Applied/CommercialPhotography
Applied Arts Magazine
Communication Arts
Creative Review
Graphis
Hotshoe International
International Photographer
Lurzer's Int'l Archive
Print
Select
Bio-medical Photography
Journal of Audiovisual Media in Medicine
Journal of BioCommunication
Journal of Biological Photography
Ophthalmology Times
Career and Professional Information
Artjob
ASMP [American Society of Media Photographers] Bulletin
Digital Camera
Guilfoyle Report
Photo District News
Photoletter
Professional Photographer [McLaren Publishers]
Professional Photographer [Professional Photographers of America]
Rangefinder
Studio Magazine
Studio Photography
Conservation
Conservation, the GCI [Getty Conservation Institute] Newsletter.
Paper Conservation News
Paper Conservator
Studies in Conservation
Technology & Conservation
General Interest Consumer Magazines
(Including shelter, food, travel, regional publications)
Architectural Digest
Esquire
Food & Wine
Gourmet
House Beautiful
Interview
Martha Stewart Living
National Geographic
New York
Rolling Stone
Smithsonian
Texas Monthly
Travel & Leisure
Vanity Fair
Wallpaper
Education
Exposure
Journal of Aesthetic Education
NAEA [National Art Education Association] News
SPE [Society for Photographic Education] Newsletter
Studies in Art Education
Fashion Magazines
Details
Elle [American edition]
Gentlemen's Quarterly
Harper's Bazaar
Marie Claire [French edition]
Mirabella
Vogue
Vogue Deutsche
Vogue Italia
W
Women's Wear Daily
History, Criticism, Theory News Magazines Photographic Industry
Photographic Science Photojournalism Picture Editing and Librarianship Technique Maintained by Kari Horowicz.
Afterimage
Aperture
Archive
Art in America
Art on Paper
Artforum International
Artnews
Artweek
Blindspot
Camera Austria
Camerawork
CEPA
Contact Sheet
Creative Camera
Critical Mass
Daguerreian Society Newsletter
Discourse
Doubletake
Flash Art
FMR [English edition]
Fotologia
History of Photography
Image
In the Loupe
International Museum of Photography at George Eastman House Newsletter
Katalog
Luna Cornea
New Art Examiner
New York Times
Nueva Luz
October
Photographica
PhotoVision
Pinhole Journal
Visual Anthropology Review
Magazine [Sunday Times, London]
National Geographic
New York Times
New York Times Magazine
Paris Match
Russian Life
Sports Illustrated
Stern Magazine
Digital Camera
Focus on Imaging
Future Image Report
Japan Camera Trade News: JCTN
Mini Lab Focus
Photo Marketing
Photo Trade News
Photographic Processing
Image Technology: Journal of the BKSTS [British Kinematography, Sound, and
Television Society]
Journal of Imaging Science and Technology
Journal of Photographic Science
(See also "News Magazines" above)
Doubletake
News Photographer
Art Documentation
Art Libraries Journal
ASPP [American Society of Picture Professionals] Bulletin
Picture Professional
Design Graphics
Petersen's Photographic
Photo Electronic Imaging
Photo Techniques
Popular Photography