Web Sites
HANDBOOKS AND MANUALS
Z692.P5E822 1992
Evans, Hilary. The Art of Picture Research: A Guide to Current Practice,
Procedures, Techniques, and Resources. London: Blueprint, 1992.
N 59.J66 1999
Jones, Lois Swan. Art Information and the Internet: How to Find It, How
to Use It.. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1999.
TR147.S38 1991
Schultz, John, and Barbara Schultz. Picture Research: A Practical Guide.
New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1991.
REF N4000.S478 1973
Shaw, Renata V. Picture Searching: Techniques and Tools. New York:
Special Libraries Association, 1973.
INDEXES TO REPRODUCTIONS OF WORKS OF ART
Indexes to reproductions provide access to photographs of works of art published
in art books, exhibition catalogs, museum collection catalogs, and periodicals.
The indexes provide artist and title access and many also include indexes
to the subjects of the art works. Indexes may be general or focus on particular
media, time periods, or countries. All provide information about the size
of the reproduction and whether it is in color or black-and-white.
REF N7620.A2 1960z
A.L.A. Portrait Index: Index to Portraits Contained in Printed Books and
Periodicals. 3 vols. New York: B. Franklin, 196?.
Art Full-Text. Indexing 1984 -. Abstracts 1994 - . Monthly. Selected
Full-text beginning 1997 - .
Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases and Resources
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/art/art.html
Print Issues: INDEX N1.A1A68. Vol. 32-38 1983/84-1989/1990.
REF N7525.C55
Clapp, Jane. Art in Life. 2 vols. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press,
1959, 1965.
REF NB36.C55
Clapp, Jane. Sculpture Index. 3 vols. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press,
1970.
REF N7225.H38
Havlice, Patricia Pate. Art in Time. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press,
1970.
REF ND45.H38
Havlice, Patricia Pate. World Painting Index. 4 vols. Metuchen, N.J.:
Scarecrow Press, 1977, 1982.
REF N7525.H48 1974
Hewlett-Woodmere Public Library. Index to Art Reproductions in Books.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1974.
REF N7525.K67
Korwin, Yala H. Index to Two-Dimensional Art Works. 2 vols. Metuchen,
N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1981.
REF ND205.M57
Monro, Isabel Stevenson, and Monro, Kate M. Index to Reproductions of American
Paintings: A Guide to Pictures Occurring in More than Eight Hundred Books.
2 vols. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1948, 1961, 1977.
REF ND45.M6
Monroe, Isabel Stevenson, and Monro, Kate M. Index to Reproductions of
European Paintings: A Guide to Pictures in More than Three Hundred Books.
New York: H.W. Wilson, 1956.
REF TR199.M67
Moss, Martha. Photography Books Index: A Subject Guide to Photo Anthologies.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1980.
REF TR199.M67 1985
Moss, Martha. Photography Books Index II: A Subject Guide to Photo Anthologies.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1985.
REF N6490.P3234
Parry, Pamela Jeffcott. Contemporary Art and Artists: An Index to Reproductions.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1978.
REF TR199.P37
Parry, Pamela Jeffcott. Photography Index: A Guide to Reproductions.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1979.
REF NE90.P17 1983
Parry, Pamela Jeffcott. Print Index: A Guide to Reproductions. Westport,
Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1983.
REF ND205.S575
Smith, Lyn Wall, and Moure, Nancy Dustin Wall. Index to Reproductions
of American Paintings Appearing in More than 400 Books Mostly Since 1960.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1977.
ILLUSTRATION INDEXES
Illustration indexes provide access to images published in other sources, generally
well-illustrated periodicals such as National Geographic, Smithsonian,
and American Heritage. Most images are photographs, and most are still
protected by copyright. Some of the titles listed below (for example, all editions
of the Illustration Index), are broad in scope, covering a variety of
objects, events, and activities. Others (for example, Index to Illustrations
of Animals and Plants) have a narrow focus. The RIT Library collections
include most titles indexed in the sources included here.
REF N7525.V3 1980
Appel, Marsha C. Illustration Index. 4th ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow
Press, 1980.
REF N7525.V3 1984
Appel, Marsha C. Illustration Index V: 1977-1981. Metuchen, N.J.:
Scarecrow Press, 1984.
REF N7525.V3 1988
Appel, Marsha C. Illustration Index VI: 1982-1986. Metuchen, N.J.:
Scarecrow Press, 1988.
REF N7525.A67 1993
Appel, Marsha C. Illustration Index VII: 1987-1991. Metuchen, N.J.:
Scarecrow Press, 1993.
REF QH46.5.C54 1991
Clewis, Beth. Index to Illustrations of Animals and Plants. New York:
Neal Schuman, 1991.
REF NC996.E62
Ellis, Jesie Croft. Index to Illustrations. Boston: F.W. Faxon Company,
1967.
REF N7525.G72 1973
Greer, Roger C. Illustration Index. 3rd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow
Press, 1973.
REF QL46.M869 1981
Munz, Lucile Thompson, and Slauson, Nedra G. Index to Illustrations of
Living Things Outside North America: Where to Find Pictures of Flora and Fauna.
Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, 1981.
INDEX AI3.R4 (Print format) and RIT Library Web Page (Electronic format)
Readers' Guide Abstracts Indexing 1983 -. Abstracts 1984 -. Monthly.
Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Electronic Resources via FirstSearch.
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/firstsearch/fs.html
Print Issues: INDEX AI3.R4 v.1-54 1900-1994.
REF NC996.S5
Shepard, Frederick Job. Index to Illustrations. Preliminary ed. Chicago:
American Library Association, 1924.
REF Z7998.N67T45
Thompson, John W. Index to Illustrations of the Natural World: Where to
Find Pictures of the Living Things of North America. Syracuse, N.Y.: Gaylord
Professional Publications, 1977.
REF N7525.V3 1966
Vance, Lucile E. Illustration Index. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow
Press, 1966.
PICTURE DICTIONARIES
An extensive list of books which provide illustrations on a wide variety
of topics (taken primarily from nineteenth and early twentieth century periodicals
and books) is given in the library research guide, "Quaint Cuts, Dingbats,
and Flourishes: A Selected Bibliography of Copyright-free Graphics for Reproduction."
Copies of the guide are available at the Take-one Rack on the first floor
of the library and also at this web site at: http://wally.rit.edu/pubs/guides/quaintcuts.html.
The following is a selection of general collections of images.
REF AG250.B47
Bettmann, Otto. Bettmann Portable Archive: A Graphic History of Almost
Everything. New York: Picture House Press, 1966.
REF N7593.C53 4045
Cirker, Hayward, and Cirker, Blanche. Dictionary of American Portraits:
Pictures of Important Americans from Earliest Times to the Beginnings of the
Twentieth Century. New York: Dover, 1967.
OVER T15.E313 1963
Eco, Umberto, and Zorzoli, G.B. The Picture History of Inventions from
Plough to Polaris. New York: Macmillan, 1963.
REF CT213.F33 1988
The Faces of America. New York: Facts on File Publications, 1988.
REF CT213.F33 1990
The Faces of America II. New York: Facts on File Publications, 1990.
REF N7560.P5
Hart, Harold H. The Picture Reference File. 2 vols. New York: Hart
Publishing, 1976.
REF AG6.H413
Heck, Johan Georg. Encyclopedia of Source Illustrations: A Portable Picture
Library of 5,000 Steel Engravings. 2 vols. Hastings-on-Hudson: Morgan
and Morgan, 1972.
MULTI 60
PhotoDisc. The Object Series. Nos. 6-12 (Everyday Objects 1-3, no.
6-8; Metaphorically Speaking, no. 9; Just Tools, no. 10; Just Hands, no. 11;
Just Documents, no. 12). Seattle: 21st Century Media, 1995.
RESD NE75.R611-.R614 1970
The Ron Yablon Graphic Archives. 4 vols. Exton, Pa.: The Archives/Art
Direction Book Company, 1970.
DIRECTORIES OF PICTURE COLLECTIONS AND STOCK PHOTOGRAPHY SOURCES
Many creative directories include sections listing stock photography sources
and picture agencies. For a complete list of RIT Library's collection of current
creative directories, consult the library research guide "Creative Directories
for the Commercial Arts" available at the Take-one Rack by the Reference Desk
on the first floor of the library and at this web site at
http://wally.rit.edu/pubs/guides/creativedir.html.
REF TR690.2.A79 1990
ASMP [American Society of Magazine Photographers] Stock Photography Handbook:
A Compilation. 2nd ed. New York: ASMP, 1990.
REF N7525.B4
Bennett, Edna. Pictures Unlimited: Sources of Pictorial Illustrations.
New York: Photographic Trade News, 1968.
REF TR12.B525
Blue Book. New York: AG Editions. Biennial.
REF CD3027.S75 1990
Burger, Barbara Lewis, comp. Guide to the Holdings of the Still Picture
Branch of the National Archives. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and
Records Administration, 1990.
REF N4015.M6D38 1988
Davidson, Martha. Picture Collections, Mexico: A Guide to Picture Sources
in the United Mexican States. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1988.
REF TR12.N37 1977a
Directory of British Photographic Collections. New York: Heinemann,
1977.
REF N4000.E8 1992
Evans, Hilary, and Evans, Mary, comps. The Picture Researcher's Handbook:
An International Guide to Picture Sources and How to Use Them. 5th ed.
London: Blueprint, 1992.
REF TR12.F73 1986
Free Stock Photography Directory. Allentown, Pa.: Infosource Business
Publications, 1986.
REF TR12.G73
Green, Shirley L. Pictorial Resources in the Washington, D.C. Area.
Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1976.
REF TR199.G838 1984
Guide to Canadian Photographic Archives. Ottawa: Public Archives Canada,
1984.
REF TR12.G85 1984
Guide to Local History Photograph Collections in the Rochester Region.
Rochester, N.Y.: Local History Committee of the Rochester Regional Research
Library Council, 1984.
REF Q11.S79 1989-
O'Connor, Diane Vogt. Guide to Photographic Collections at the Smithsonian
Institution. 5 vols. [vol. 1-4 now published]. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian
Institution Press, 1989- .
REF TR12.P43 1987
Pearce-Moses, Richard, comp. Photographic Collections in Texas: A Union
Guide. College Station: Texas A & M University Press, 1987.
REF TR12.P425 1991
Photo Agencies, Photo Libraries. Baden-Baden: Presse Informations Agentur,
1991.
REF TR690.6.S864 1992
Stock Images Direct from Photographers. New York: Direct Stock, 1992
REF TR12.P56
Photographer's Market. Cincinnati: Writer's Digest Books. Annual.
REF N4000.S68 1983
Robl, Ernest H. Picture Sources 4. New York: Special Libraries Association,
1983.
REF TR12.S86 1992
Stock Photo Deskbook. 5th ed. New York: Photographic Arts Center, 1995.
RARE TR690.S79
Stock Workbook. Vol. 1- . Toronto: Scott & Daughters, 1987-Date. Annual.
REF F851.U56
Union Guide to Photograph Collections of the Pacific Northwest. Portland,
Oreg.: Oregon Historical Society, 1978.
REF TR12.W67 1982
World Photography Sources. New York: Directories, 1982.
DIRECTORIES OF HISTORICAL AND STOCK FILM SOURCES
Many directories of services and products for the commercial film and video
industry include listings for stock film collections and distributors. For
a complete list of RIT Library's collection of current film industry directories,
see the library research guide "Creative Directories for the Commercial Arts"
available at the Take-one Rack on the first floor of the library and also
at this web site at http://wally.rit.edu/pubs/guides/creativedir.html.
REF PN1993.4.F69 1989
Footage '89: North American Film and Video Sources. New York: Prelinger
Associates, 1989.
REF PN1993.4.F69 1991
Footage '91: North American Film and Video Sources. New York: Prelinger
Associates, 1991. [supplement, corrections to Footage '89].
REF PN1998.H8 1973
Hurst, Walter E. Film Superlist: 20,000 Motion Pictures in the Public
Domain. Hollywood, Calif.: 7 Arts Press, 1973.
REF PN1998.H8 1979
Hurst, Walter E. Film Superlist for 1940-49 Motion Pictures in the U.S.
Public Domain. Hollywood, Calif.: 7 Arts Press, 1979.
REF PN1998.H8 1989
Hurst, Walter E. Film Superlist: Motion Pictures in the U.S. Public Domain,
1950-1959. Hollywood, Calif.: 7 Arts Press, 1989.
REF PN1993.4.W68 1993
Klaue, Wolfgang, ed. World Directory of Moving Image and Sound Archives.
Munich: K.G. Saur, 1993.
REF PN1998.A1R68
Rowan, Bonnie G. Scholars' Guide to Washington, D.C. Film and Video Collections.
Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1980.
DIRECTORIES OF MUSEUMS
REF N50.A54
American Art Directory. New York: Bowker. Biennial [library retains
only the current edition].
REF TR12.M4 1995
An Index to American Photographic Collections. 3rd ed. Boston: G.K.
Hall, 1995.
REF N50.I6
International Directory of Arts. Frankfurt: Art Address Verlag Muller.
Annual.
REF AM1.M76 1992
Museums of the World. 4th rev. and enl. ed. Munich: K.G. Saur, 1992.
REF AM10.A2O4
The Official Museum Directory. Washington, D.C.: American Association
of Museums. Annual.
REF AM11.T78 1985
Truesdell, Bill. Directory of Unique Museums. Phoenix: Oryx Press,
1985.
RIT Library CATALOG [EINSTEIN] SUBJECT HEADINGS
Use the library catalog's subject search to find whole books on a
specific topic. The subject headings listed below are used to indicate heavily
illustrated materials. The cataloging record for each book in the library
has a physical description of the item stating the number and kind of illustrations
it includes.
[Topic]-Illustrations Photography of [Topic]
[Topic] in Art [Topic]-Portraits
[Topic]-Pictures, Illustrations, etc. [Topic]-Pictorial Works
PERIODICALS
Not received at WL
American Archivist. Washington, D.C.: Society of American Archivists,
1938-Date.
PER Z674.2.A67
Art Documentation. Tucson, Ariz.: Art Libraries Society of North America,
1982-Date. Quarterly.
PER Z675.A85A78
Art Libraries Journal. London: Art Libraries Society/UK, Eire, 1979-Date.
Quarterly,
PER Z692.P5A66
Picture Professional.
New York: Picture Professional, 1985-Date. Quarterly. Continues ASPP
[American Society of Picture Professionals] Newsletter.
PER Z692.P5P5
Picturescope. Washington, D.C.: Special Libraries Association, Picture
Division, 1973-1987. Quarterly.
PER N3998.V57
Visual Resources: VR. Redding Ridge, Conn.: Iconographic Publications,
1980-1996. Quarterly.
WEB SITES
Boston College, Babpst Art Library Resources, Finding Images and Multimedia
on the Web
http://www.bc.edu/libraries/centers/bapst/resources/s-images
Boston University Library, Finding Images on the Web
http://www.bu.edu/library/instruction/findimages/index.html
MIT, Exploring Images on the Internet
http://libraries.mit.edu/rvc/image-collections/index.html
University of Connecticut Libraries, An Introduction to Finding Images
on the World Wide Web
http://www.lib.uconn.edu/~habbey/images
Maintained by Kari Horowicz.