Quaint Cuts, Dingbats, and Flourishes:
Selected Bibliography of Copyright-free Graphics for Reproduction
This bibliography lists many of the books in the RIT Library collections
that are useful sources of pictures and other decorative embellishments
for desktop publishing, invitations, announcements greeting cards,
posters, and other graphics projects. The illustrations included
in these collections derive from a great variety of copyright-free
sources dating from the middle ages to the twentieth century and
were selected and presented in a format suitable for reproduction
by photostat, photocopy, or scanning (most are black and white line
illustrations). In most cases, up to ten illustrations can be copied
for each project without obtaining permission from the publisher.
The following general categories have been used to group the books
listed in this guide:
General Picture Collections
Special Subject Collections
Decorative Patterns and Motifs
Initials, Monograms, and Display Lettering
Type Ornaments
Decorative Borders and Frames
Symbols and Signs
Sources useful for locating other types of illustrations, such as photographs
and reproductions of specific works of art, are given in the guide, "Picture
Searching: Selected Resources."
GENERAL PICTURE COLLECTIONS
On Order
Advertising Cuts of the 20s and 30s. New York: Dover, 2000.
Advertising cuts illustrating industry, construction, transportation, healthcare
services, sports, entertainment and other ventures. 765 black and white illustrations.
CD-ROM included.
- HF5813.U6A67 1989
Carbarga, Leslie, ed. Advertising Spot Illustrations of the Twenties
and Thirties: 1,593 Cuts. New York: Dover, 1989.
- Illustrations depicting figures and scenes related to topics such as "business,
communications, trades and services, automobiles, travel and sports" in
styles ranging from late Victorian to art deco
- NE628.2.C36
Catchpenny Prints: 163 Popular Engravings from the Eighteenth Century.
New York: Dover, 1970.
- Reproduced from a series of engravings published as broadsides in London
around 1790 by the firm of Bowles and Carver. Most cuts are quite small
and rendered with a rather crude vitality. Subjects are often humorous and
include literary characters, birds and animals, themes from children's horn
book sheets (alphabets, all manner of objects to be spelled, nursery rhymes),
trades and occupations, ships, and fashionable and comical types of the
day.
- NE1147.6.C7A55 1974
Crawhall, Joseph. Pictorial Archive of Quaint Cuts in the Chapbook Style.
New York: Dover, 1974.
- Reproduction of all the illustrations from Crawhall's 1889 Impresses
Quaint rendered in a heavy, intentionally archaic style reminiscent
of 17th and 18th century woodcuts. Subjects include "scenes of dalliance
and revelry, hunting and fishing, vendors and 'cries', tools and trades,
musicians and musical instruments, plant and animal life, heraldry, emblems
and mottos ..."
- NE900.S82
The Encyclopedia of Small Spot Engravings. Phoenix: Valley of the
Sun Publishing, 1969.
- General picture encylopedia compiled primarily from 19th century publications.
Subjects include American history, animals, trades and occupations, architecture
and city views, manufactured items, people, and mythological figures. Subject
listing is given on page 4.
- NC1478.P86H86 1985
Grafton, Carol Belanger, ed. Humorous Victorian Spot Illustrations.
New York: Dover, 1985.
- Over a thousand reproductions of line drawings taken from issues of Punch(1841
to 1914). Illustrations are grouped by broad subjects--men, women, children,
sports, food, art, music, transportation, weapons, telephones, umbrellas,
carrying things, animals, and signs of the zodiac. Drawing styles range
from realistic to highly exaggerated.
- OVER Z250.3.P48 1983
Grafton, Carol Belanger, ed. Pictorial Archive of Decorative and Illustrative
Mortised Cuts. New York: Dover, 1983.
- 551 images, all with blank areas for the insertion of type, reproduced
from 19th century type specimen books and periodicals. Illustrations are
grouped by broad subjects which include human figures holding scrolls, placards,
sandwich boards, and newspapers, animals such as elephants draped with blank
saddle cloths, floral compositions, landscape vignettes, bottles and other
packages, and timepieces. Styles range from the crude chapbook style to
the sinuous Art Nouveau.
- NE1092.V5 1982
Grafton, Carol Belanger, ed. Victorian Spot Illustrations, Alphabets
and Ornaments from Porret's Type Catalog. New York: Dover, 1982.
- Reproductions of the wood engravings published in Henri-Désiré
Porret's Illustrations Typographiques (Paris, 1838-1842). Illustrations
are grouped by broad subjects including display and novelty alphabets, ornamental
borders, cherubs, subject and trade cuts, the zodiac, allegorical and religious
figures, the military, food and drink, buildings and landscapes, animals,
plants, and ships.
- REF N7560.P5
Hart, Harold H. The Picture Reference File. 2 vols. New York: Hart
Publishing, 1976.
- Volume 1, A Compendium, contains a diverse collection of 2500 illustrations
depicting things (aircraft, gods and goddesses, wild animals), concepts
(horror, madness), and activities (exhortation, smoking, and tippling).
A few typographic devices have also been included. Volume 2, Humor, Wit,
& Fantasy, covers similar subjects, but the illustrations are uniformly
light-hearted. Illustrations were gathered from 19th and 20th century books
and periodicals. Both volumes have detailed subject indexes following the
pictures.
- REF AG6.H413
Heck, Johann Georg. Encyclopedia of Source Illustrations: A Portable
Picture Library of 5,000 Steel Engravings .... 2 vols. Hastings-on-Hudson:
Morgan and Morgan, 1972.
- Reprinting of all the plates from The Iconographic Encyclopedia of
Science, Literature and Art, the "Anglicized" edition of Brockhaus's
Bilder Atlas, published in Philadelphia in 1851. Pictures illustrate
aspects of the natural sciences, history, mythology and religion, fine arts,
military sciences, and technology in crisp line.
- REF NC997.H58 1956
Hornung, Clarence P. Handbook of Early Advertising Art, Mainly from American
Sources. 3rd ed. Volume 1, Pictorial Volume. New York: Dover, 1956.
- Over 200 pages of cuts reproduced from 19th century type specimen books
covering a vast array of subjects, among them,animals, holidays, allegorical
figures, vehicles, trades and occupations, portraits of famous people, and
household articles. Excellent crisp reproductions. Detailed subject index
starts on page 243.
- MULTI 60
PhotoDisc. The Object Series: Everyday Objects, 1-3. Nos. 6-8. Seattle:
21st Century Media, 1995.
- "PhotoDisc is a carefully edited collection of stock photography ...Each
volume includes hundreds of images in both high and low resolution. The
Object Series ... features collections of objects from celebrated digital
artists and photographers, including Clement Mok, Glen Mitsui and Nick Koudis
... Images are shot against seamless white backgrounds, drum-scanned and
come with built-in clipping paths for simplicity of use."
- MULTI 60
PhotoDisc. Object Series: Metaphorically Speaking. No. 9. Seattle:
21st Century Media, 1995.
- "PhotoDisc is a carefully edited collection of stock photography ...Each
volume includes hundreds of images in both high and low resolution. The
Object Series ... features collections of objects from celebrated digital
artists and photographers, including Clement Mok, Glen Mitsui and Nick Koudis
... Images are shot against seamless white backgrounds, drum-scanned and
come with built-in clipping paths for simplicity of use."
- REF NC998.4.P538 1986
The Pictorial Handbook of Creative Graphic Design. Rome: Edition
Belvedere, 1986.
- Hundreds of black and white cuts, most quite small, drawn from publications
from the 1920's to the present. Vast subject scope including vehicles, figures,
manufactured goods, floral motifs, and animals.
- RESD REF NE75.R611-.R614 1970
The Ron Yablon Graphic Archives. 4 vols. Exton: Art Direction Book
Company, 1970.
- Unnumbered volumes are Things (manufactured goods, clothing, art
objects), People (engaged in various activities), Nature (animals,
plants, bucolic scenes), and Typography & Design Devices. Cuts and
illustrations are rendered in line and were culled from 19th and early 20th
century sources. Fair reproductions on heavy paper in loose-leaf format
for easy copying. Pictures are arranged by general categories, no index
has been provided.
- N4035.H36Z86 1978
Sietsema, Robert, comp. Attention Getters. New York: Hart Publishing,
1978.
- Over 300 miscellaneous cuts from 19th and 20th century books and periodicals.
Subjects include animals, artists, dining and drinking, the military, music,
performers, and sports.
- NE940.S9
Sutphen, Richard. Old Engravings and Illustrations. 2 vols. Minneapolis:
The Dick Sutphen Studio, 1965.
- Compilation of reproductions of illustrations from books, periodicals,
and advertisements published between 1860 and 1907. Vol. 1, People
includes illustrations of various occupations, time periods from ancient
civilizations through the 19th century, and well-known historical figures.
Vol. 2, Things includes illustrations of architecture, vehicles,
furniture, mechanical devices, animals, natural scenes, and ornamental motifs.
- OVER TT771.B75 1974
William Briggs and Company. Designs and Patterns for Embroiderers and
Craftsmen. New York: Dover, 1974.
- 512 motifs (mostly floral) from the William Briggs and Company Album
of Transfer Patterns published around the turn of the century. Designs
are all rendered in outline form and range from full-page compositions to
tiny accents including borders and repeat patterns as well as single motifs.
SPECIAL SUBJECT COLLECTIONS
Animals and Insects
On Order
Full-Color Decorative Butterfly Illustrations. New York: Dover, 1999.
388 color illustrations. Book and CD-ROM.
388 butterflies of different sizes and shapes.
- NE962.A5C58 1971
Gesner, Konrad. Curious Woodcuts of Fanciful and Real Beasts. New
York: Dover, 1971.
- Reproduces a selection of the woodcut illustrations from Gesner's mid-16th
century Historia Animalium and later works based on this treatise.
Includes mammals, birds, fish, and insects rendered with great charm but
varying degrees of accuracy. An index to the illustrations is given on pages
113 to 114.
- NK1449.A1T7 1988
Grafton, Carol Belanger, ed. Treasury of Animal Illustrations from Eighteenth-Century
Sources. New York: Dover, 1988.
- 600 illustrations of mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, crustaceans,
arachnids, insects, mollusks, and a few botanical specimens from engravings
in 18th century French natural history publications. Includes an index following
plate 138.
- NE962.A5H37 1979
Harter, Jim, ed. Animals: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth- Century
Sources. New York: Dover, 1979.
- 1,419 reproductions of wood engravings of mammals, birds, fish,insects,
and reptiles taken from Brehm's Tierleben, The Pictorial Museum of Animated
Nature (London), The Riverside Natural History (Boston), Johnson's
Natural History (New York), and the French periodical La Nature.
Illustrations are broadly grouped by phylum and each is supplied with its
common English name. A detailed index is given on pages 280 to 283.
- N6505.H67 1978
Hornung, Clarence Pearson, ed. The American Eagle in Art and Design.
New York: Dover, 1978.
- 312 examples of the eagle rendered in many media including photographs
of actual birds, 19th and 20th century graphics (type and calligraphic ornaments,
posters, magazine covers), free-standing and relief sculpture, and various
craft media (textiles, glass, ceramics).
- N7760.H84 1981
Huber, Richard. A Treasury of Fantastic and Mythological Creatures.New
York: Dover, 1981.
- 1,087 renderings based upon or reproduced from historical sources,including
mermaids, chimeras, dragons, gargoyles, devils. Sources for each image are
identified and a subject index is provided.
- REF QL46.A46
Pollack, Pam, comp. The Animal Kingdom. New York: Hart Publishing,
1977.
- Over 2,000 pictures of mammals, fish, insects, reptiles, amphibians, and
birds compiled from 19th and 20th century periodicals and books. Includes
a detailed subject index.
- NC961.7.A54A54
Rice, Don, ed. Animals, A Picture Sourcebook. New York: Van Nostrand
Reinhold, 1979.
- More than 700 illustrations of mammals reproduced from 19th and early
20th century sources. Renderings range from scientifically accurate to rather
fanciful. Pictures are arranged by order, family, and species and a detailed
index of common and scientific names is given on pages 155 to 156.
- N7668.F57R52
Rice, Don, ed. Fishes, Reptiles and Amphibians: A Picture Sourcebook.
New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1981.
- Reproductions of over 500 drawings and engravings compiled from19th and
early 20th century sources. Illustrations are arranged alphabetically by
order and family with a detailed index of common and scientific names is
included.
Eating and Drinking
- OVER GT2855.H37 1979
Harter, Jim. Food and Drink: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth- Century
Sources. 3rd rev. ed. New York: Dover, 1983.
- Over one hundred pages of illustrations selected primarily from sources
such as Harper's, Leslie's, The [London] Graphic,
and The London Illustrated News showing many aspects of food and
eating. Images are grouped by general subjects, such as menu decorations,
cooks, eating, kitchens, children, wedding feasts, cooking and serving implements,
kinds of food (raw and cooked), haute cuisine, and drinking.
- N8217.D67D56
Pollack, Pam, comp. Dining and Drinking. New York: Hart Publishing,
1977.
- 300 illustrations showing situations related to eating and drinking reproduced
from 19th and 20th century books and periodicals. Banquets, picnics, restaurants,
ethnic feasts, and family dinners are some of the topics illustrated.
Fashion
- On Order
Tierney, Tom. 140 Great Fashion Designs, 1950-2000. New York: Dover
Publications, 2001.
- 140 full-color figures with fashions from the later part of the 20th century.
-
-
Flowers and Plants
- NK1560.F75 1982
Foord, J. Decorative Plant and Flower Studies. New York: Dover, 1982.
- Republication of Decorative Plant & Flower Studies for the Use of Artists,
Designers, Students, Others (London, 1906). Plates show common flowers,
herbs, and trees in outline style. Captions and descriptive texts accompany
the illustrations.
On Order
Floral Illustrations. New York: Dover, 1997.
Reproductions of 89 images depicting many different flowers.
NE953.V5 1985
Grafton, Carol Belanger, ed. Victorian Floral Illustrations. New York:
Dover, 1985.
- Reproductions of 344 wood engravings of exotic plants from Paxton's
Flower Garden (London, 1850-1853) and The Natural History of Plants
(London, 1902). Renderings are very clear with great attention given
to detail and scientific accuracy. Latin and common names are provided for
all examples. An index to scientific names is given on pages 106 and 107.
- NK1560.H3 1960
Hatton, Richard G. The Craftsman's Plant-book. N.p.: Chapman and
Hall,1909. Reprint. Handbook of Plant and Floral Ornament from Early
Herbals. New York: Dover, 1960.
- Over 500 pages of pictures reproduced from the woodcut and copperplate
engraving illustrations of 16th century herbals.Includes herbs, trees, flowers,
and vegetables. Illustrations are somewhat muddy but still reproduceable.
- NK1560.R3525 1986
Raymond, Jehan. Decorative Floral Designs for Needleworkers and Craftspeople.
New York: Dover, 1986.
- Reproductions of the Art Nouveau line drawings from Le Cuir: Compositions
Decoratives (Paris, 1906). Floral and plant subjects form frames, corners,
borders, panels, and individual accent motifs.
- OVER QK98.S95 1976
Sweerts, Emanuel. Early Floral Engravings. New York: Dover, 1976.
- Reproduction of all 110 copperplate engravings from the herbal, Florilegium
Emanuelis Sweerti Septimonti Batavi Amsteledami ... (Frankfurt am Main,
1612). Captions give the common and botanical names for each example and
an index is provided on pages xv to xvi.
Holidays
- OVER GT3930.H64
Holidays. New York: Hart Publishing, 1977.
- Full page and spot illustrations and decorative motifs for 19 religious
and civil holidays compiled primarily from 19th century books and periodicals.
- GT4985.H594
Hornung, Clarence P., ed. An Old-Fashioned Christmas in Illustration
and Decoration. New York: Dover, 1970.
- Full page illustrations, cuts, and ornamental alphabets and borders related
to the secular aspects of Christmas, taken from 19th century magazines,
prints, greeting cards, and books. Includes illustrations by Thomas Nast,
Ralph Caldecott, and Walter Crane.
- NC139.N3A4 1978
Nast, Thomas. Thomas Nast's Christmas Drawings. New York: Dover,
1978.
- Illustrations from Nast's Christmas Drawings for the Human Race
(1890) including his drawings for Harper's and a selection of his
work illustrating Clement Moore's "Night Before Christmas."
Manufacturing and Manufactured Goods
- PT1762.E8 1973
Amman, Jost, and Sachs, Hans. The Book of Trades (StŠndebuch). Reprint.
New York: Dover, 1973.
- Republication of the Eygentliche Beschreibung aller Stande auff Erden
... of 1568. Woodcut illustrations show contemporary professions, trades,
and crafts, among them, carpenters, shoemakers, musicians, papermakers,
printers, comb makers, clergymen, and potters.
- OVER T9.E473
Diderot, Denis. A Diderot Pictorial Encyclopedia of Trades and Industry.
2 vols. New York: Dover, 1959.
- 485 plates (most reproduced in the original size) from the 1763 edition
of Diderot's L 'Encyclopedie ou diccionaire raisonne des sciences, des
arts et des metiers showing manufacturing processes and technical arts
on the eve of the industrial revolution. The processes and implements used
for everything from beekeeping to casting a cannon to building Noah's ark
are shown in the clear reproductions from the original engravings. A detailed
subject index is given at the end of Volume 2.
- TS199.E28
Glazebrook, G. de T.; Brett, Katharine B.; and McErvel, Judith. A Shopper's
View of Canada's Past: Pages from Eaton's Catalogues, 1886-1930. Toronto:
University of Toronto Press, 1969.
- Line drawings and halftones illustrating the vast stock of Eaton's, which
like Sears, Roebuck and Montgomery Ward, sold everything from houses to
fountain pens. Date of the source catalog is given for each plate. An index
to the illustrated merchandise is given on pages xvii to xviii.
- MULTI 60
PhotoDisc. Object Series: Just Tools. No. 10. Seattle: 21st Century
Media, 1995.
- "PhotoDisc is a carefully edited collection of stock photography ...Each
volume includes hundreds of images in both high and low resolution. The
Object Series ... features collections of objects from celebrated digital
artists and photographers, including Clement Mok, Glen Mitsui and Nick Koudis
... Images are shot against seamless white backgrounds, drum-scanned and
come with built-in clipping paths for simplicity of use."
- NK2715.C67
Pollack, Pam, comp. Chairs. New York: Hart Publishing, 1977.
- Over 500 line drawings and halftones of chairs and seats from ancient
times through the 20th century reproduced from 19th and 20th century retail
catalogs, periodicals, and books. Arranged chronologically with a detailed
subject index starting on page 143.
- NC242.P9A4 1977c
Pyne, William Henry. Rustic Vignettes for Artists and Craftsmen.
New York: Dover, 1977.
- Reprint of all 641 illustrations from the 1824 edition of Pyne's Microcosm;
or, a Picturesque Delineation of the Arts, Agricultures Manufactures, &c.
of Great Britain .... published by Ackermann. Scenes show rural and
primitive industrial occupations and are organized by broad subject.
- OVER TJ19.R67 1987
Rowe, William. Machinery and Mechanical Devices: A Treasury of Nineteenth-Century
Cuts. New York: Dover, 1987.
- A collection of "vintage machines, odd contraptions, and incongruous gizmos,"
selected from 19th century periodicals and books and arranged into surreal
collages by noted illustrator and book artist Rowe.
- OVER TS199.S432 1968
Sears, Roebuck and Company. 1897 Sears, Roebuck Catalogue. Reprint.
New York: Chelsea House, 1968.
- Almost 800 pages illustrating the universe of goods available in late
19th century America--clothing and jewelry, household furnishings, tools
and farm implements, cosmetics and medicines, weapons, vehicles, and toys.
Illustrations are generally small line drawings and the reproductions are
somewhat muddy. A detailed subject index starts on page 775.
- TS199.S435 1970
Sears, Roebuck and Company. 1927 Edition of the Sears, Roebuck Catalog.
Reprint. New York: Bounty Books, 1970.
- Slightly abridged version of Sears, Roebuck's 1927 Fall and Winter Catalogue
with a scope as broad as that of the 1897 publication, but many more halftone
illustrations and somewhat more emphasis on clothing and leisure goods.
An index is given on pages 550 to 570.
- OVER TS199.S435 1976
Sears, Roebuck and Company. The Best of Sears Collectibles, 1905- 1910.
New York: Arno Press, 1976.
- Reproduction of selected pages from Sears catalogs from 1905 through 1910
showing merchandise that is now considered "collectible"--cameras, lamps,
stoves, musical instruments, etc. Rather muddy reproductions of the original
line drawings.
- N8217.C48G66
Sietsema, Robert, comp. Goods & Merchandise. New York: Hart Publishing,
1978.
- 1500 pictures of manufactured items of all types taken from over 40 19th
and early 20th century retail and trade catalogs, periodicals, and books.
A detailed subject index is given on pages 124-127.
- TS199.W255
Ward (Montgomery) and Company. Montgomery Ward & Co. Catalogue and Buyer's
Guide, No.57, Spring and Summer, 1895. Reprint. New York: Dover, 1969.
- Unabridged reprint of the 1895 catalog with small but very clear line
drawings of the vast array of merchandise available from Montgomery Ward--household
furnishings, clothing and jewelry, tools and farm equipment, toys, office
supplies, cosmetics and patent medicines, yard goods, books, etc. A detailed
subject index is given between pages 2 and 3.
- OVER TS199.W26 1969
Ward (Montgomery) and Company. 1922 Montgomery Ward Catalogue. Reprint.
N.p.: HC Publishers, 1969.
- Facsimile reproduction of Montgomery Ward's Golden Jubilee Catalog, No.
97, shows the wealth of products available to the average American in 1922.
Both line drawings and halftones are used to illustrate the merchandise,
and pictures are generally quite clearly reproduced. A detailed subject
index starts on page 323.
Music
- ML460.B93 1964b
Bonanni, Filippo. Antique Musical Instruments and Their Players.
New York: Dover, 1964.
- Reproductions of 152 plates engraved by Arnold van Westerhout for the
1723 publication, Gabinetto Armonico. Clear full-page illustrations
show instruments of all types, periods, and origins being played by musicians
in appropriate costumes. Brief descriptions of the instruments accompany
each plate and an English language name index at is given at the end of
the volume.
- OVER ML89.H37 1980
Harter, Jim. Music: A Pictorial Archive of Woodcuts & Engravings.
New York: Dover, 1980.
- 841 reproductions of woodcuts and wood engravings illustrating a great
variety of ancient and modern musical instruments, musicians performing
(singly and in groups), portraits of composers, early recording equipment,
and musical notation.
People
- NE962.C47 1978
Grafton, Carol Belanger. Children: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth
Century Sources. New York: Dover, 1978.
- 240 half-page size reproductions of wood engravings published in Chatterbox
and British Workwoman between 1884 and 1899. Illustrations show boys
and girls engaged in various everyday activities--sleeping, playing with
toys, washing, reading--as well as more dramatic scenes.
- NE962.H35H37 1985
Harter, Jim. Hands: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century Sources.
New York: Dover, 1985.
- 1166 reproductions of wood engravings taken from Chatterbox, Die
Frau als Hausarztin, Illustrated London News, La Nature,
Scientific American, and Tom Tit. Images show hands performing
a great variety of tasks, among them, pointing, performing magic tricks,
sewing, using tools, performing scientific experiments, making shadow figures,
holding objects, and spelling out the deaf alphabet.
- NE962.M44M46 1980
Harter, Jim. Men: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century Sources.
New York: Dover, 1980.
- Reproductions of 412 wood engravings culled from periodicals such as Harper's,
Leslie's and Illustrated London News. The selection includes
men of all ages and races engaged in activities such as fencing, dancing,
mining, running, riding horses, cooking, skiing, smoking, hunting, and rescuing
babies from burning houses.
- N7632.W599
Harter, Jim. Women: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth Century Sources.
New York: Dover, 1978.
- 319 reproductions of wood engravings originally published in Harper's,
Leslie's, The [London] Graphic, and The Illustrated London
News showing women of many ages and races engaged in a great variety
of activities, among them, acrobatics, factory work, murder, sleep, and
painting. Sizes range from full page reproductions to small cuts.
- NC975.V5 1990
Johnson, Judy M., ed. Vintage Spot Illustrations of Children: 795 Cuts
from the Teens and Twenties. New York: Dover, 1990.
- Approximately 800 illustrations originally published in early 20th century
women's and childrenÕs magazines. Children (sometimes with mothers) are
shown engaged in a variety of lighthearted activities, and many illustrations
are related to holidays.
- MULTI 60
PhotoDisc. Object Series: Just Hands. No. 11. Seattle: 21st Century
Media, 1995.
- "PhotoDisc is a carefully edited collection of stock photography ...Each
volume includes hundreds of images in both high and low resolution. The
Object Series ... features collections of objects from celebrated digital
artists and photographers, including Clement Mok, Glen Mitsui and Nick Koudis
... Images are shot against seamless white backgrounds, drum-scanned and
come with built-in clipping paths for simplicity of use."
- N8219.L2T72
Trades & Professions. New York: Hart Publishing, 1972.
- Over 1000 pictures of workers in many occupations (accountants, barbers,
loggers, weavers, etc.) culled primarily from 19th and 20th century books
and magazines. Illustrations are grouped into 53 categories with a detailed
subject index starting on page 412.
Silhouettes
- NC910.D24 1975
Day, Jo Anne C. Decorative Silhouettes of the Twenties for Designers
& Craftsmen. New York: Dover, 1975.
- 84 silhouettes reproduced from a collection of German die-cuts manufactured
in the 1920's. Figures include fashionable ladies and gentlemen, cupids,
Pan, butterflies, bucolic and historical scenes.
- NC910.S49 1979
Grafton, Carol Belanger, ed. Silhouettes: A Pictorial Archive of Varied
Illustrations. New York: Dover, 1979.
- Silhouette illustrations from a variety of pre-20th century sources grouped
by broad subject: men, women, children, groups and scenes, birds and animals,
other subjects from nature and ships.
Transportation
- NC825.V45T7 1984
Harter, Jim. Transportation: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century
Sources. New York: Dover, 1984.
- 525 reproductions of wood-engraved illustrations from 19th century periodicals
(Harper's, Leslie's, Scientific American ). Images
are grouped by broad subjects and include bicycles, cars, horse-drawn vehicles,
ships, trains and exotic forms such as rickshaws, elephants, and swan barges.
- TS2033.C6 1970
Cook (G. and D.) and Company, New Haven. G. & D. Cook & Co.'s Illustrated
Catalogue of Carriages and Special Business Advertiser. Reprint. New
York: Dover, 1970.
- Unabridged and unaltered reproduction of the 1860 trade catalog of the
Connecticut manufacturer. Clear illustrations of Cook's line of carriages
with a variety of goods and services (steam engines, hardware, safes, sewing
machines, hotels, etc.) advertised on page versos.
- OVER TJ603.2.W49 1972
White, John H., Jr. Early American Locomotives, with 147 Engravings.
New York: Dover, 1972.
- Illustrations of locomotives, most of American manufacture, reproduced
from engravings in late 19th century engineering trade journals such as
Railroad Gazette and Engineering. Brief descriptions (including
dates and manufacturer) are given for each plate.
Miscellaneous Pictorial Material
- NE962.C48O43 1979
Fox, Charles Philip, ed. Old-Time Circus Cuts. New York: Dover, 1979.
- 202 illustrations reproduced from 19th and early 20th Century circus advertisements,
showing clowns, animals, acrobats and other circus acts in a variety of
styles.
- N8140.L35
Lehner, Ernst and Johanna Lehner. Devils, Demons, and Damnation.
New York: Dover, 1971.
- "244 representations, symbols, and manuscript pages of devils and death
from Egyptian times to 1913." Includes illustrations by Durer, Holbein,
Cranach, and Rembrandt. Images are grouped into chapters such as "Hell and
Damnation," "Danse Macabre," and "Witches and Warlocks."
- MULTI 60
PhotoDisc. Object Series: Just Documents. No. 12. Seattle: 21st
Century Media, 1995.
- "PhotoDisc is a carefully edited collection of stock photography ...Each
volume includes hundreds of images in both high and low resolution. The
Object Series ... features collections of objects from celebrated digital
artists and photographers, including Clement Mok, Glen Mitsui and Nick Koudis
... Images are shot against seamless white backgrounds, drum-scanned and
come with built-in clipping paths for simplicity of use."
- N8261.W42W4
Pollack, Pam, comp. Weather. New York: Hart Publishing, 1977.
- 200 illustrations of weather and sky conditions--clouds, gales lightning,
rain, rainbows, sandstorms, snow, sunbursts, thunderstorms, tornados, and
wind. Most pictures are line drawings culled from 19th and 20th Century
books and magazines.
- NE958.N48 1986
Rice, Don, ed. The New Testament: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century
Sources. New York: Dover, 1986.
- 311 reproductions of wood engravings from 19th Century Bibles including
titles illustrated by the Dalziel brothers and W.J. Linton.Illustrations
are presented in biblical sequence with captions from the Revised Standard
Version of the Bible. A subject index is given on pages 138 to 139.
- OVER U800.W4
Sietsema, Robert, comp. Weapons & Armor. New York: Hart Publishing,1978.
- 1400 pictures of weapons and armor used from ancient times through World
War I, most reproduced from 19th Century periodicals and books. A detailed
subject index is given on pages 189-191.
DECORATIVE PATTERNS AND MOTIFS
- NK1483.A1D3 1981
D'Adetta, Joseph. Treasury of Chinese Design Motifs. New York: Dover,
1981.
- 284 line drawings derived from motifs and patterns decorating Chinese
art objects (14th to 19th Century). Includes floral, animal, wave, and abstract
designs suitable for spot illustrations, borders, and frames.
- NK1530.D73
Dresser, Christopher. Modern Decoration: Being a Series of Original Designs
.... London: B.T. Batsford, 1886. Reprint. N.p.: American Life Foundation
& Study Institute, 1976.
- Includes the 50 plates of primarily floral motifs, borders, and all-over
patterns from the original edition plus selections from Dresser's 1862 work,
The Art of Decorative Design.
On Order
Full-Color Allover Patterns. New York: Dover, 2001. book and CD-ROM.
Over 125 patterns adapted from 15th to 20th-century sources.
- NK1530.H66 1975
Hornung, Clarence P. Allover Patterns for Designers and Craftsmen.
New York: Dover, 1975.
- 114 repeating patterns reproduced in full page size. Designs range from
abstract to representational, and are suggestive of the decorative vocabularies
of a great variety of European and Oriental styles--Celtic spirals, Chinese
lattices, Arabic stars, and Japanese family crests. Many designs have been
rendered in color.
- NK1530.H67 1976
Hornung, Clarence P. Background Patterns, Textures and Tints. New
York: Dover, 1976.
- 92 full page plates of geometric patterns, trompe I'oeil surfaces, freehand
designs, grids, moire patterns, etc.
- NK1570.H58 1970
Horemis, Spyros. Optical and Geometrical Patterns and Designs. New
York: Dover, 1970.
- Illustrations ranging in size from 2" X 2" to 9" X 11" including a few
plates suitable for background patterns. Some illustrations have been reproduced
in color.
- NK1570.L56 1972
Loeb, Marcia. Art Deco Designs & Motifs. New York: Dover, 1972.
- 100 geometric designs loosely based on art objects and architectural decoration
from the 1910's and 1920's. Includes corners, borders, an alphabet, and
many ornamental motifs (some full page size). A few illustrations are in
color.
- NK1580.K7 1978
Knight, F. Scroll Ornaments of the Early Victorian Period. New York:
Dover, 1978.
- Reproduction of the plates from Knight's Scroll Ornaments Designed
for the use of Silversmiths, Chasers, Die-Sinkers, Modellers, &c. &c.
published by J. Williams in London in the 19th century. Designs include
a variety of borders, medallions, and motifs ornamented with classically-derived
forms such as acanthus leaves, masks, and palmettes.
- NK1530.M53
Mirow, Gregory. A Treasury of Design for Artists and Craftsmen. New
York: Dover, 1969.
- 725 line drawings of paisleys, floral and geometric designs, folk and
primitive motifs.
- NK1396.A76R67 1985
Rowe, William. Art Deco Spot Illustrations and Motifs. New York:
Dover, 1985.
- 513 geometric designs and stylizations of natural forms ranging from postage
stamp-size to full-page. Includes corners, borders, and many designs with
blank areas for type.
- NK1535.R68A52 1973
Rowe, William. Original Art Deco Designs. New York: Dover, 1973.
- 80 pages of full page designs, borders and decorative motifs, a few alphabets
and number sets, most based on geometric forms. Includes several color plates.
- NK1560.F55 1987
Solo, Dan X., ed. Floral and Decorative Allover Patterns. New York:
Dover, 1987.
- 93 full-page plates of highly stylized repeat patterns, most derived from
nature (leaves, flowers, animals). Stylistic influences include Japanese
art, Art Nouveau, and Art Deco.
INITIALS, MONOGRAMS, AND DISPLAY LETTERING
- NK3640.B22 1983
Baker, Arthur. Calligraphic Swash Initials. New York: Dover, 1984.
- 500 examples of capital letters, each given in at least 10 variations,
and all exhibiting the author's characteristic bold flowing style.
- NK3640.C48 1970
Cirker, Hayward, and Cirker, Blanche, eds. Monograms and Alphabetic Devices.
New York: Dover, 1970.
- Unabridged republication of four 19th Century books of monograms, names,
ciphers, and other alphabetic devices, most quite ornamental. Indexes to
names and monograms begin on page 215.
- NK3640.M713 1982
Diebener, Wilhelm, ed. Monograms & Decorations from the Art Nouveau Period.
New York: Dover, 1982 .
- Reprint of all the plates from the 6th edition of Diebner's 1911 Monogramme
und Dekorationen. Extensive examples for each two-letter monogram represent
a variety of styles. Miscellaneous decorative devices and several complete
alphabets are also reproducted. An index of monograms precedes the plates.
- NK3620.D64 1976
Florid and Unusual Alphabets by Midolle, Silvestre and Others. New
York: Dover, 1976.
- 109 complete alphabets selected from four 19th Century albums--Silvestre's
1843 Alphabet-Album..., Stirling's 1844 Bellezas de la caligraf’a,
Klimsch's Zierschriften, and Midolle's 1834 Galerie: Compositions
avec Ecritures Anciennes et Modernes.... Many alphabets incorporate
pictorial elements and in several, letters are constructed from such diverse
motifs as devils, Gothic tracery, and human figures.
- NK3630.G5 1972
Gillon, Edmund V., Jr., ed. Pictorial Calligraphy and Ornamentation.
New York: Dover, 1972.
- Selected pages from three 17th Century works on calligraphy: Morante's
Nueva arte de escrevir (1616-1631), Sellari's Laberinto di varii
caratteri (1635), and Antonozzi's De caratteri (1638). In addition
to initials and alphabets, plates include frames ornamented with figures,
animals, and flourishes.
- NK3630.B55 1981
Grafton, Carol Belanger, ed. Bizarre and Ornamental Alphabets. New
York: Dover, 1981.
- 1,685 upper case letters drawn from 11th to 20th Century sources. Examples
include alphabets composed of body parts, animals, and demons, as well as
ornamental and historiated letters.
- NK3625.V53F36 1984
Grafton, Carol Belanger, ed. Fanciful Victorian Initials. New York:
Dover, 1984.
- Over one thousand decorated initial letters (most humorously illustrated)
taken from Punch. Cuts are grouped by letter and a miscellaneous
section includes short words and phrases (the, finis, etc.).
- REF NC997.H58 1956
Hornung, Clarence P. Handbook of Early Advertising Art, Mainly from American
Sources. 3rd ed. Volume 2, Typographical and Ornamental Volume. New
York: Dover, 1956.
- 310 pages of ornamental and display alphabets, decorative initials, borders,
type ornaments, scrolls and flourishes, rules and panels reproduced primarily
from type specimen books published before 1890.
- Z250.W86 1977
Kelly, Rob Roy, ed. Wood Type Alphabets, 100 Fonts. New York: Dover,
1977.
- 100 display fonts, some with lowercase letters, numbers, and complementary
borders and decorative devices reproduced from the catalogs and specimen
books of American wood type manufacturers of the 19th Century.
- NK3631.L37A45 1976
Larcher, Jean. Fantastic Alphabets. New York: Dover, 1984.
- 24 uppercase display alphabets evoking specific themes such as "Gruyere,""Computer,"
and "Carnaval." Words and phrases show applications of selected faces.
- NK3625.A7L63 1975
Loeb, Marcia. New Art Deco Alphabets. New York: Dover, 1975.
- 38 complete uppercase alphabets, five including numbers, and many incorporating
pictorial elements.
- NK1530.G52
The Main Street Press, comp. A Book of Ornamental Alphabets, Initials,
Monograms, and Other Designs. New York: Main Street/Universe Books,
1976.
- 120 plates selected from The Universal Decorator published in London
in 1863. Includes ornate alphabets and other letter devices, borders, corners
scrolls, and ornamental motifs based on tiles, bosses, column capitals and
other forms of architectural decoration.
- OVER Z250.3.R64
Menten, Theodore, ed. Art Nouveau & Early Art Deco Type & Design from
the Roman Scherer Catalogue. New York: Dover, 1972.
- Reprint of selected pages from the 1908 catalog of Roman Scherer, a manufacturer
of wood type in Lucerne, Switzerland. Includes approximately 100 floral
and abstract borders, 100 decorations (rules, pointing hands, stars, florals,
arrows, etc.), and 24 alphabets, all given in a variety of sizes for easy
adaptation.
- NK3600.N39
Nesbitt, Alexander, ed. Decorative Alphabets and Initials. New York:Dover,
1959.
- Includes line renderings of 8th to 15th century manuscript initials, reproductions
of initials in 15th to 18th century printed books (many incorporating figures
and floral ornament), and ornamental alphabets and initials from 19th and
early 20th century books and type specimen catalogs.
- NK3625.A73T73 1984
Petzendorfer, Ludwig, ed. Treasury of Authentic Art Nouveau Alphabets,
Decorative Initials, Monograms, Frames & Ornaments. New York: Dover,
1984.
- Slightly altered republication of Schriftenatlas neue Folge ...
published in Stuttgart by Julius Hoffmann around 1903. Includes 137 complete
alphabets, 23 sets of ornate capital letters, examples of initials and names,
and examples of typographic applications (title pages, labels, logos, advertisements,
etc.) by contemporary designers. A glossary is given on page ix and an alphabetical
list of typefaces begins on page xii.
- NK1535.R68A45 1974
Rowe, William. Exotic Alphabets and Ornament. New York: Dover, 1974.
- Highly decorative Art Deco style alphabets incorporating natural forms
and abstract patterns and including one alphabet of full page size letters.
Large decorative panels based on insect, shell, and floral themes are reproduced
in Part 2.
- NK3615.S3 1756a
Schwandner, Johann Georg von. Calligraphia Latina. N.p.: n.p.,1756;
Reprint. Calligraphy. New York: Dover, 1958.
- Unabridged republication of the 18th century treatise with illustrations
drawn by Ferdinand von Freisleben. Includes calligraphic alphabets, borders,
cartouches, frames, and tailpieces.
- Z250.A77 1976
Solo, Dan X. Art Nouveau Display Alphabets. New York: Dover, 1976.
- 100 Art Nouveau style fonts most with lowercase letters, numbers, and
symbols, and many with complementary type ornaments. Selected from the Solotype
Typographers Catalog.
- Z250.S17 1979 Solo, Dan X. Sans Serif Display Alphabets. New York:
Dover, 1979.
- 100 fonts, most with lowercase letters, numbers, and punctuation marks.
Many fonts are given in several weights. Selected from the Solotype Typographers
Catalog.
- NK3630.S67 1978
Solo, Dan X. Special-Effects and Topical Alphabets. New York: Dover,
1978.
- 100 fonts complete with upper- and lowercase alphabets and numerals drawn
from the Solotype Typographers Catalog. Examples include faces evocative
of the names "Arrowhead,""Bunny Ears,""Static," and "Jiminy Christmas."
- Z250.V53
Solo, Dan X. Victorian Display Alphabets. New York: Dover, 1976.
- 100 fonts (most quite ornamental), with lowercase letters, numbers, and
punctuation marks given for many fonts. Many also include complementary
cuts or type ornaments. Selected from the Solotype Typographers Catalog.
- Z250.25.D43 1985
Solo, Julie. Decorative and Display Numbers. New York: Dover, 1985.
- Complete 0-9 number sets in 739 fonts. Great variety of styles (unembellished,
ornamental, pictorial, novelty) and weights. Selected from the Solotype
Typographers Archive.
- NK3640.T3 1985
Takahashi, Kiyoshi. Modern Monograms. New York: Dover, 1984.
- 1,310 two-letter monograms using a wide variety of typefaces. Arranged
by the first letter, two or three examples are given for each combination.
TYPE ORNAMENTS
- NK3631.B34A4 1981
Baker, Arthur. New Calligraphic Ornaments and Flourishes. New York:
Dover, 1984.
- Boldly rendered ornaments drawn by the author including horizontal elements,
arrows, pointing hands, swirls, framing elements, birds, and fish. Many
designs are reproduced in several sizes for ease of duplication.
- NK1580.B3 1983
Grafton, Carol Belanger, ed. Banners, Ribbons & Scrolls. New York:
Dover, 1983.
- 500 ornaments varying in size from small cuts to full-page borders drawn
from a variety of 19th century periodicals, type catalogs, book plates,
and copy books. Styles range from Gothic to Art Nouveau, and many examples
include pictorial elements (eagles, figures, flowers, landscapes). All incorporate
blank areas to insert lettering.
- OVER Z250.3.P5
Grafton, Carol Belanger. Pictorial Archive of Printer's Ornaments from
the Renaissance to the 20th century. New York: Dover, 1980.
- Approximatey 1500 ornaments taken from type specimen catalogs and other
sources from the Renaissance through the 19th century. Includes headpieces,
tailpieces, dingbats, scrolls, trophees, lunettes, fleurons, calligraphic
and heraldic devices, cupids, and wreaths.
- Z250.3.S65 1982
Solo, Dan X. Art Nouveau Typographic Ornaments. New York: Dover,
1982.
- Hundreds of examples of borders, spot illustrations, head- and tailpieces,
dingbats, scrolls, wreaths, and frames, most derived from plant and animal
forms. Ornaments have been drawn from turn-of-the-century type speciman
catalogs published in Europe and the United States and many are reproduced
in mirror image.
- NK3631.T35A4 1983
Takahashi, Kiyoshi. 850 Calligraphic Ornaments for Designers and Craftsmen.
New York: Dover, 1984.
- A great variety delicately rendered non-representational figures drawn
by the author, ranging from the simple to the very complex. Designs are
suitable for ornaments or borders and many are reproduced in several sizes.
- NK1530.T93 1980
Typony, Inc. Etcetera Graphic Devices. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold,
1960.
- Very clearly printed motifs (floral, crosses, snowflakes, nautical, heraldic,
abstract), dingbats, frames and borders, cartouches, etc. ranging in style
from highly ornamented to severe.
DECORATIVE BORDERS AND FRAMES
- OVER Z250.3.B782 1976
Bruce's (George ) Son and Company. Victorian Frames, Borders and Cuts
from the 1882 Type Catalog of George Bruce's Son & Co. New York: Dover,
1976.
- Selection of material from Specimens of Printing Types, published
in New York in 1882. Ornate ornamental and pictorial borders in all shapes,
frames, and corners, many with complementary cuts. Also includes pictorial
cuts of occupational scenes and emblems.
- OVER Z250.3.D47 1987
Derriey, Charles. Borders, Frames, and Decorative Motifs from the 1862
Derriey Typographic Catalog. New York: Dover, 1987.
- 113 plates from Specimen-Album issued by the Parisian firm of Charles
Derriey. Ornaments span a wide variety of historical styles and include
vignettes, corners, frames and cartouches, boxes, andrules. Sample compositions
of contemporary commercial applications (cards, letterheads, title pages,
etc.) are also included.
- NK1530.C37 1975
Gillon, Edmund V., Jr., ed. Cartouches and Decorative Small Frames.
New York: Dover, 1975.
- Over 300 examples of frames and labels dating from the 16th through the
20th century, many incorporating pictorial elements (cupids, sinuous ladies,
laughing Santas, hands, flowers, fruit, and architectural elements, for
example). Many examples are derived from bookplates and all have blank space
for the insertion of type.
- NK1530.G54 1973
Gillon, Edmund V., Jr., ed. Decorative Frames and Borders. New York:
Dover, 1973.
- Almost 400 frames, borders, and cornerpieces, most drawn from 19th and
early 20th century type specimen catalogs. Styles range from Egyptian to
Art Nouveau and all have blank areas to insert type. Many examples incorporate
pictorial elements and even scenic vignettes, among them cats, playing cards,
shoes, theater curtains, and magic lamps.
NK3630.4.B67A78 1983
Grafton, Carol Belanger. Art Nouveau Frames and Borders. New York:
Dover, 1983.
250 abstract and figurative borders in a great variety of shapes and sizes
reproduced from 19th century periodicals (The Inland Printer, Harper's
Weekly, Art et Decoration, and Simplicissimus) and type
specimen books.
- OVER Z250.3.T73 1984
Grafton, Carol Belanger, ed. Treasury of Victorian Printer's Frames,
Ornaments and Initials. New York: Dover, 1987.
- Examples reproduced from the 1883-1885 volumes of The Printers' International
Specimen Exchange, an annual compilation of the best British commercial
letterpress and lithographic printing. Border elements include "fretwork,
diaper patterns, foliated and floriated decoration, and many other ornamental
devices ... designs incorporate scenic vignettes, religious and mythological
subjects, naturalistic images of plants and animals ..." Over 200 ornaments,
including decorative initials, head- and tailpieces, fleurons, and dingbats
are also reproduced.
- NK3630.4.B67V52
Grafton, Carol Belanger, ed. Victorian Pictorial Borders. New York:
Dover, 1984.
- 124 full-page figuratively illustrated borders from Moore's Irish
Melodies (London, 1846), the German periodical Jugend, Chants
et chansons populaires de la France (Paris, ca. 1840), and Chansons
populaires des provinces de France (Paris, 1860). Subjects include
sentimental scenes, flowers, and medieval settings. All include space
to insert type.
- OVER Z250.3.R64
Menten, Theodore, ed. Art Nouveau & Early Art Deco Type & Design from
the Roman Scherer Catalogue. New York: Dover, 1972.
- Reprint of selected pages from the 1908 catalog of Roman Scherer, a
manufacturer of wood type in Lucerne, Switzerland. Includes approximately
100 floral and abstract borders printed in a variety of sizes for easy
adaptation.
SYMBOLS AND SIGNS
- REF and OVER AZ108.D74
Dreyfuss, Henry. Symbol Sourcebook: An Authoritative Guide to International
Graphic Symbols. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1972.
- Internationally-used pictographs presented in uniform one inch size.
Symbols are given for all disciplines and activities and are organized
by meaning and also by graphic form. A detailed subject index is given
on pages 270-292.
- NK1570.H6 1959
Hornung, Clarence P. Hornung's Handbook of Designs and Devices.
Rev. ed. New York: Dover, 1959.
- 1836 motifs based on fundamental geometric forms such as the circle,
the triangle, the square, the diamond, the cross, the pentagon, the hexagon,
etc., derived from historical ornamental forms. All motifs reproduced
in white on black in a uniform one inch size.
- REF AZ108.L4 1969
Lehner, Ernst. Symbols, Signs & Signets. New York: 1950. Reprint.
New York: Dover, 1969.
- 1355 pictorial and abstract devices pertaining to a great variety of
subjects--religion, astronomy, magic, heraldry, etc. Also includes trade
and makers' marks, Japanese crests, cattle brands, and other types of
marks.
Maintained by Kari Horowicz.
|