RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Sources Available In RIT Library For Researching African Americans


  • African Americans - Web Resources
  • African Americans - Historical Sources
  • African Americans - Biographical Sources
  • African Americans - Civil Rights
  • African Americans - Cultural Information
  • African Americans - Economics/Employment
  • African Americans - Education
  • African Americans - Sociological Perspectives
  • African Americans - Law
  • African Americans - Media
  • African Americans - Pictorial Works
  • African Americans - Periodicals
  • African Americans - Indexes & Abstracts

    AFRICAN AMERICANS - WEB RESOURCES:

    Africa Online
    African American Cemeteries.
    African American Studies Research Guide
    African Americans
    African Americans in Science
    African Americans in the Visual Arts
    African Military History
    Africana.com
    American Slave Narratives
    Black Engineer.com
    Black History
    Black-Network.com
    Black Patriots of the American Revolution
    BlackPlanet.com
    Black Web
    Black Web Portal.com
    Cyberlab
    Cyndi's ListEthnicMajority.com
    Juneteenth.com
    Kwanzaa
    Mosaic Web
    NAACP Online
    National Association of Black Journalists
    National Civil Rights Museum
    New York Public Library Digital Schomburg
    Our Shared History
    Universal Black Pages

  •  

    AFRICAN AMERICANS - HISTORICAL SOURCES:

    REF E185.M385 2003
    African American Almanac. Detroit: Gale Research Company, 2003.

    REF E185.A79 1998
    African American Atlas: Black History and Culture. New York: MacMillan, 1998.

    REF E185.96.B44 1994
    African American Biography. (4 volume set). Detroit: Gale Research Company, 1994

    E185.96.G38 2000
    The African American Century: How Black Americans Have Shaped Our Country. New York: Free Press, 2000

    REF E185.A253 1993
    African American Encyclopedia. New York: Marshall Cavendish Corporation, 1993.

    Electronic Resource
    African American Slave Narratives: An Anthology
    . Westport, CT.: Greenwood Press, 2001.

    REF E185.A448 2001
    Almanac of African American Heritage. Paramus, NJ.: Prentice-Hall, 2001

    OVER E185.A79 1998
    Asante, Molefi K. Historical and Cultural Atlas of African Americans. New York: Macmillan, 1991.

    GV583.A75 1988
    Ashe, Arthur. Hard Road to Glory. (3 volume set). New York: Warner Books, 1988

    E185.B46
    Bergman, Peter M. Chronological History of the Negro in America. New York: Harper & Row, 1969.

    F294.A89N423 2001
    Bauerlein, Mark. Negrophobia: A Race Riot In Atlanta, 1906. San Francisco, CA.: Encounter Books, 2001.

    REF E185.5.B488
    Black Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook. Boulder, CO.: Numbers and Concepts, Annual.

    E 185.86.B5418 1995
    Black Women in America. Thousand Oaks, CA.: Sage Publications, Inc., 1995.

    REF E185.86.B542 2005
    Black Women in America. (vols. 1-3). New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.

    REF E185.86.B542 1993
    Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia. (vols. 1 & 2). Brooklyn: Carlson Publishing, 1993.

    E185.61.B7914 1988
    Branch, Taylor. Parting the Waters: Americans in the King Years. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1988.

    REF E185.H64 1991
    Chronology of African American History. Detroit: Gale Research Company, 1991.

    REF E441.D53 1988
    Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery. New York: Greemwood Press, 1988.

    F279.C7D56 2002
    Dimock, Julian A. Camera Man's Journey: Julian Dimock's South. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 2002

    E184.7.E96 1995
    Exploring the African-American Experience Lincoln, PA: Lincoln University Press, 1995

    Electronic Resource
    Facing Black and Jew: Literature as Public Space in Twentieth Century America. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999.

    RARE E185.61.H25
    Hansberry, Lorraine. A Matter of Colour: Documentary of the Struggle for Racial Equality. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1964.

    E185.H82 1993
    Hornsby, Alton. Milestones in 20th Century African-American History. Detroit: Visible Ink Press, 1993.

    E444.I18 1999
    I Was Born A Slave: An Anthology of Classic Slave Narratives. (vols. 1 & 2) Chicago: Lawrence Hill Books, 1999.

    Electronic Resources
    Larson, Kate C. Bound for the Promised Land: Harriet Tubman, Portrait of an American Hero. New York; Ballantine Books, 2004.

    E446.N58 2002
    Newman, Richard S. The Transformation of American Abolitionism: Fighting Slavery in the Early Republic. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2002.

    E169.1.P553 1993
    Piersen, William. Black Legacy: America's Hidden Heritage. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 1993.

    E185.615.S55 1991
    Sigelman, Lee. Black Americans' Views of Racial Equality: The Dream Deferred. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1991.

    E185.925.T39 1998
    Taylor, Quintard. In Search of the Racial Frontier: African Americans in the American West. New York: Norton, 1998

    N6538.N5T37 1996
    Taylor, William E. A Shared Heritage: Art by Four African Americans. Indianapolis: Indianapolis Museum of Art, 1996

    E185.86.B532 1992
    Wallace, Michele. Black Popular Culture. Seattle: Bay Press, 1992.

    REF. E185.W88 1992
    Wood, Paula. I, Too, Sing America: African-American Book of Days. New York: Workman Publishing, 1992.

    AFRICAN AMERICANS - BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES:

    E185.96.A18 1996
    Abdul-Jabbar, Kareem. Black Profiles in Courage: A Legacy of African American Achievement. New York: Wm. Morrow & Co., 1996

    REF ML82.H36 1998
    Black Women in American Bands and Orchestras. Lanham, MD.: Scarecrow Press, 1998.

    REF.E185.96.A48 1996
    African American Voices. ( vols. 1 & 2). Detroit, MI.: U.X.L., 1996.

    REF.E185.96.A44 1994
    African American Biography.(vols. 1-4). Detroit, MI.: U.X.L., 1994.

    REF. E185.A2523 1995
    African American Breakthroughs: 500 Years of Black Firsts. New York: U X L, 1995

    QA1.A213 1997
    African Americans in Mathematics: DIMACS Workshop, June 26-28, 1996. Providence, RI: American Mathematical Society, 1997

    REF PS153.N5A34 1984
    Afro-American Fiction Writers After 1955. Detroit: Gale Research Company, 1984.

    PS508.N3A36 1988
    Afro-American Women Writers 1746-1933: An Anthology and Critical Guide. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1988.

    E185 .A87 2000
    Autobiography of a People: Three Centuries of African American History Told By Those Who Lived It. New York: Doubleday, 2000.

    E185.96.A18 1996
    Black Profiles in Courage: A Legacy of African American Achievements. New York: Wm. Morrow, 1996.

    PN1998.2.B57 1998
    Black Women Film and Video Artists. New York: Routledge, 1998.

    REF.E185.86.B5418 1995
    Black Women in America. Thousand Oaks, CA.: Carlson Publishing, 1995.

    REF E185.86.B542 1993
    Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia. (vols. 1 & 2) Brooklyn: Carlson Publishing, 1993.

    REF Q141.W367 1999
    Black Women Scientists in the United States. Bloomington, IN.: University of Indiana Press, 1999.

    BP223.Z8E42 1997
    Clegg, Claude A. An Original Man: The Life and Times of Elijah Muhammad. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1997

    E444.T82C57 2004
    Clinton, Catherine. Harriet Tubman: The Road to Freedom. New York: Little, Brown, 2004.

    E185.96.C63 1996
    Coleman, Geraldine. African-American Stories of Triumph Over Adversity: Joy Cometh in the Morning. Westport,CT: Bergin & Garvey, 1996

    E185.97.B214D35 1990
    Dallard, Shryllee. Ella Baker: A Leader Behind the Scenes. Englewood Cliffs, NJ.: Silver Burdett Press, 1990.

    REF E185.96.D53 1982
    Dictionary of American Negro Biography. New York: W.W. Norton, 1982.

    BP223.Z8L57336 1998
    The Farrakhan Factor: African-American Writers on Leadership, Nationhood, and Minister Louis Farrakhan. New York: Grove Press, 1998.

    E185.97.K5G36 1986
    Garrow, David J. Bearing the Cross: Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. New York: Wm. Morrow, 1986.

    E185.97.B214G72 1998
    Grant, Joanne. Ella Baker: Freedom Bound. New York: Wiley, 1998

    ML128.B45G7 1988
    Gray, John. Blacks in Classical Music. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.

    REF E185.96.H38 1992
    Hawkins, Walter L. African-American Biographies. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland Publishing, 1992.

    E185.97.A3 2001
    Hilliard, David. This Side of Glory: The Autobiography of David Hilliard and the Story of the Black Panther Party. Chicago: Lawrence Hill Books, 2001.

    E185.97.H77A3 1996
    Hooks, Bell. Bone Black: Memories of Girlhood. New York: Henry Holt, 1996

    E185.97.H77A3 1997
    Hooks, Bell. Wounds of Passion: A Writing Life. New York: Henry Holt, 1997

    E444.T82H86 2003
    Humez, Jean M. Harriet Tubman: The Life and Life Stories. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 2003.

    PS3515.U789Z48 2002
    Hurston, Zora N. Zora Neale Hurston: A Life in Letters. New York: Doubleday, 2002.

    PS3552.A45Z73 1989
    James Baldwin: The Legacy. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1989.

    E185.97.T47J66 1990
    Jones, Beverly W. Quest for Equality: The Life and Writings of Mary Eliza Church Terrell, 1863-1954. Brooklyn, N.Y.: Carlson Publishing, 1990.

    E185.97.K5A52 1998
    King, Martin L. Jr. The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr.. New York: Warner Books, 1998

    OVER PS3515.U799Z79 1991
    Nahiri, N.Y. Zora!: Zora Neale Hurston, A Woman and her Community. Orlando: Sentinel Communications Company, 1991.

    BP223.Z8L5766 1990
    Perry, Bruce. Malcolm: The Life of a Man Who Changed Black America. Barrytown, N.Y.: Station Hill Press, 1990.

    E185.97.A36M38 1998
    McCray, Carrie A. Freedom's Child: The Life of a Confederate General's Black Daughter. New York: Algonquin, 1998

    E185.96.R56 1969
    Robinson, Wilhemenia. Historical Negro Biographies. New York: Publishers Company, 1969.

    E185.96.S225 1993
    Salley, Columbus. Black 100: Ranking of the Most Influential African Americans Past and Present. Secaucus, N.J.: Carol Publishing Group, 1993.

    PS3552.A45Z94 1989
    Weatherby, William J. James Baldwin: Artist on Fire: A Portrait. New York: D.I. Fine, 1989.

    REF E185.96.W52
    Who's Who Among Black Americans. Northbrook, IL.: Who's Who Among Black Americans, Inc., Annual.

    ML406.W56 1998
    Williams, Gilbert. Legendary Pioneers of Black Radio. Westport, CT.: Praeger, 1998.

    REF TR139.W55 1985
    Willis-Thomas, Deborah. Black Photographers 1840-1940: A Bio-Illustrated Bibliography. New York: Garland Publishing, 1985.

    AFRICAN AMERICANS - CIVIL RIGHTS:

    E185.615.B285 1994
    Banner-Haley, Charles Pete T. Fruits of Integration: Black Middle Class Ideology and Culture, 1960-1990. Jackson, MS.: University of Mississippi Press, 1994.

    E185.615.B39 1987
    Bell, Derrick. And We Are Not Saved: The Elusive Quest For Racial Justice. New York: Basic Books, 1987.

    KF4757.B42 1989
    Berger, Raoul. Fourteenth Amendment and the Bill of Rights. Norman, OK.: University of Oklahoma Press, 1989.

    E185.615.B544 1989
    Black Lives, White Lives: Three Decades of Race Relations in America. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1989.

    E185.61.B45 1994
    Black Resistance/White Law: A History of Constitutional Racism in America. New York: A. Lane, 1994.

    E185.61.B728 2001
    Borstelmann, Thomas. The Cold War and the Color Line: America's Race Relations in the Global Arena. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2001.

    E185.61.B7914 1988
    Branch, Taylor. Parting the Waters: America in the King Years, 1954-1963. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1988.

    KF4155.P38 2001
    Brown v. Board of Education: A Civil Rights Milestone and Its Troubled Legacy. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.

    E185.61.B98 1999
    Bush, Roderick. We Are Not What We Seem: Black Nationalism and Class Struggle in the American Century. New York: New York University Press, 1999.

    E185.97.K5A5 2001
    Call to Conscience: The Landmark Speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. New York: IPM, 2001

    E185.61.C292 1991
    Cashman, Sean Dennis. African Americans and the Quest for Civil Rights, 1900-1990. New York: New York University Press, 1991.

    KF4757.C58 1988
    Civil Rights and the Reagan Administration. Washington, D.C.: Urban Institute Press, 1988.

    KF4757.A5C5 1987
    Civil Rights in American History: Major Historical Interpretations. New York: Garland Publishing, 1987.

    REF E184.A1C47 2000
    Civil Rights in the United States (vols. 1 & 2). New York: MacMillan, 2000.

    E185.615.C68 1997
    Color-Blind: Seeing Beyond Race in a Race-Obsessed World. New York: HarperCollins, 1997.

    E185.615.C663 1993
    Conti, Joseph G. Challenging the Civil Rights Establishment: Profiles of a New Black Vanguard. Westport, CT: Praeger, 1993

    E185.615.D39 1994
    Dawson, Michael C. Behind the Mule: Race and Class in African American Politics. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, 1994.

    E185.615.R525 2000
    The Debt: What America Owes Blacks. New York: Dutton, 2000.

    E185.615.D44 1996
    Delgado, Richard. The Coming Race War?: and Other Apocalyptic Tales of America After Affirmative Action and Welfare. New York: New York University Press, 1996

    E185.615.R525 2000
    The Debt: What America Owes Blacks. New York: E.P. Dutton, 2000.

    E185.D46 2002
    Dimensions of Black Conservatism in the United States: Made in America. New York: Palgrave, 2002.

    PS3554.O884052 1999
    Dove, Rita. On the Bus With Rosa Parks: Poems. New York: W.W. Norton, 1999.

    E840.8.Y64A3 1996
    An Easy Burden: The Civil Rights Movement and the Transformation of America. New York: HarperCollins, 1996.

    REF E185.61.E544 1998
    Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America. (Vols. 1-3). Armonk, NY.: Sharpe Reference, 1998.

    E184.7.E96 1995
    Exploring the African-American Experience. Lincoln, PA.: Lincoln University Press, 1995.

    E185.61.F167 2001
    Fairclough, Adam. Better Day Coming: Black and Equality, 1890-2000. New York: Viking, 2001.

    E185.97.F37A35 1985
    Farmer, James. Lay Bare the Heart: An Autobiography of the Civil Rights Movement. New York: Arbor House Press, 1985.

    E185.61.F838 1997
    Fredrickson, George M. The Comparative Imagination: On the History of Racism, Nationalism, and Social Movements/. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1997

    E185.61.H195 1998
    Halberstam, David. The Children. New York: Random House, 1998.

    E185.18.H54 2000
    Higginson, Thomas W. The Magnificent Activist: The Writings of Thomas Wentworth Higginson (1823-1922). New York: Da Capo, 2000.

    Electronic Resource
    Hopkins, Dwight N. Heart and Head: Black Theology-Past, Present and Future. New York: Palgrave, 2002.

    ML3479.W37 1998
    Just My Soul Responding: Rythm and Blues, Black Consciousness, and Race Relations. Berkely: University of California, 1998.

    E185.K39 2002
    Kelley, Robin D.G. Freedom Dreams: The Black Radical Imagination. Boston: Beacon Press, 2002.

    E185.K55 1999
    Klinkner, Philip. Unsteady March: The Rise and Decline of Racial Equality in America. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1999.

    E185.615.L29 2001
    Lasch-Quinn, Elisabeth. Race Experts: How Racial Etiquette, Sensitivity Training, and New Age Therapy Hijacked the Civil Rights Revolution. New York: Norton, 2001.

    E185.L45 1996
    Levine, Michael L. African Americans and Civil Rights: From 1619 to the Present. Phoenix,AZ: Oryx Press, 1996.

    OVER E185.615.M2792 2002
    Marable, Manning. Freedom: A Photographic History of the African American Struggle. New York: Phaidon, 2002.

    E185.615.M285 1996
    Marable, Manning. Speaking Truth to Power: Essays on Race, Resistance, and Radicalism. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1996.

    F334.B69N449 2001
    McWhorter, Diane. Carry Me Home: Birmingham, Alabama: The Climatic Battle of the Civil Rights Movement. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2001.

    E185.O43 2001
    Olson, Lynne. Freedom's Daughter: The Unsung Heroines of the Civil Rights Movement from 1830-1970. New York: Scribners, 2001.

    E185.615.O74 1989
    O'Reilly, Kenneth. Racial Matters: The FBI's Secret File on Black America, 1960-1972. New York: Free Press, 1989.

    E185.61.P67 2001
    Polsgrove, Carol. Divided Minds: Intellectuals and the Civil Rights Movement. New York: Norton, 2001.

    E185.61.P75 1991
    Powledge, Fred. Free at Last: The Civil Rights Movement and the People Who Made It. Boston: Little, Brown, 1991.

    KF8745.T48R32 1995
    Race, Gender, and Power in America: The Legacy of the Hill-Thomas Hearings. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.

    OVER E185.93.M6R36 2001
    Randall, Herbert. Faces of Freedom Summers. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press, 2001.

    E185.61.R685 1999
    Robnett, Belinda. How Long? How Long?: African American Women in the Struggle for Civil Rights. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.

    E185.61.S28 1997
    Salmond, John A. My Mind Set On Freedom: A History of the Civil Rights Movement, 1954-1968. Chicago: Ivan R. Dee, 1997

    E185.89.R45S56 2003
    Should America Pay? Slavery and the Raging Debate on Reparations. New York: Amistad, 2003.

    E185.615.S55 1991
    Sigelman, Lee. Black Americans' Views of Racial Inequality: The Dream Deferred. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1991.

    E185.86.S733 2001
    Smiley, Tavis. How to make Black America Better: Leading African Americans Speak Out. New York: Doubleday, 2001.

    E185.615.S7238 1999
    Steinhorn, Leonard. By the Color of Our Skin: The Illusion of Integration and the Reality of Race. New York: E.P. Dutton, 1999.

    E185.61.H224 1990
    Voices of Freedom: An Oral History of the Civil Rights Movement From the 1950s Through the 1980s. New York: Bantam Books, 1990.

    E185.97.D73L485 2000
    W.E.B. DuBois--The Fight for Equality and the American Century, 1919-1963. New York: H. Holt, 2000.

    E185.61.W394 1990
    Weisbrot, Robert. Freedom Bound: A history of America's Civil Rights Movement. New York: W.W. Norton, 1990.

    KF4757.W53 1991
    Williams, Patricia J. Alchemy of Race and Rights. Cambridge, MA.: Harvard University Press, 1991.

    E185.615.W57 1999
    Without Justice For All: The New Liberalism and Our Retreat From Racial Equality. Boulder, CO.: Westview Press, 1999.

     

    AFRICAN AMERICANS - CULTURAL INFORMATION:

    N6538.N5A76
    African American Art. Chicago: Art Institute, 1999.

    ML3508.A47 2001
    African American Jazz and Rap: Social and Philosophical Examination of Black Expressive Behavior. Jefferson, NC.: McFarland, 2001.

    N6538.A76 1999
    Art by African Americans in the Collection of the New Jersey State Museum. Trenton, NJ.: The Museum, 1998.

    BJ1854.B38 2001
    Bates, Karen G. Basic Black: Home Training for Modern Times. New York: Broadway Books, 2001.

    PE3102.N42B37 2000
    Baugh, John. Beyond Ebonics: Linguistics Pride and Racial Prejudice. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.

    PS374.N4B55 1999
    Billingslea-Brown, Alma. Crossing Borders Through Folklore: African American Women's Fiction and Art. Columbia, MO.: University of Missouri Press, 1999.

    Electronic Resource
    Black Magic: Religion and The African American Conjuring Tradition. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2003.

    HQ536.L335 2000
    Black Working Wives: Pioneers of the American Family Revolution. Berkely, CA.: University of California Press, 2000.

    BJ1857.A37C65
    Cole, Harriette. How to Be: Contemporary Etiquette for African Americans. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1999.

    E185.625.C85 1997
    Cultural Portrayals of African Americans: Creating an Ethnic/Racial Identity. Westport, CT.: Bergin & Garvey, 1997.

    E184.A1C85 1995
    Culture and Difference: Critical Perspectives on the Bicultural Experience in the United States. Westport, CT.: Bergin & Garvey, 1995.

    E185.62.D29 1991
    Davis, F. Jones. Who Is Black: One Nation's Definition. Univeristy Park, PA.: Pennsylvania State University Press, 1991.

    GR111.A47F76 2002
    From My People: 400 Years of African American Folklore. New York: Norton, 2002.

    E185.61.H1972 2001
    Hall, James C. Mercy, Mercy Me: African American Culture and The Aemrican Sixties. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.

    F128.68.H3J33 2001
    Jackson, John L. Harlemworld: Doing Race and Class in Contemporary Black America. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2001.

    E185.86.L353 2002
    Lanehart, Sonja L. Sista, Speak!: Black Women, Kinfolk Talk About Language and Literacy. Austin: Univerity of Texas Press, 2002.

    N6538.M5L38 2003
    Lewis, Samella S. African American Art and Artists. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2003.

    PN1995.9.N4M44 1996
    Mediated Messages and African-American Culture: Contemporary Issues. Thousand Oaks, CA.: Sage Publications, 1996.

    F2191.B55M56 1992
    Mintz, Sidney W. Birth of African-American Culture. Boston: Beacon Press, 1992.

    E185.615.N35 2002
    Neal, Mark H. Soul Babies: Black Popular Culture and the Post-Soul Aesthetic. New York: Routledge, 2002.

    REF E185.5.O74 2001
    Organizing Black America: An Encyclopedia of African American Associations. New York: Garland, 2001.

    E185.86.S633 2001
    Smiley, Tavis. How to Make Black America Better: Leading African Americans Speak Out. New York: Doubleday, 2001.

    E185.615.S582 1992
    Smith, Robert. Race, Class, and Culture. Albany: SUNY Press, 1992.

    GR111.A47T135 1989
    Talk That Talk: An Anthology of African-American Storytelling. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1989.

    GR111.A47T87 1993
    Turner, Patricia. I Heard It Through The Grapevine. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1993.

    E185.86. B532 1992
    Wallace, Michele. Black Popular Culture. Seattle, WA.: Bay Press, 1992.

    E185.86.W4388 1998
    White, Shane. Stylin': African American Expressive Culture From its Beginning to the Zoot Suit. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1998.

    GR111.A47F56 2001
    Whispers on the Color line: Rumor and Race In America. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2001.

    E185.96.W545 1999
    Wiencek, Henry. The Hairstons: An American Family in Black and White. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1999.

    AFRICAN AMERICANS - ECONOMICS/EMPLOYMENT:

    OVER E185.8.B54 1992
    Black Americans. Ithaca, NY.: American Demographics, Inc., 1992.

    HD62.5.B764 1997
    Broussard, Cheryl D. Sister CEO: The Black Woman's Guide to Starting Her Own Business. New York: Viking Press, 1997.

    Electronic Resource
    Cobbs, Price M. Cracking the Corporate Code. New York: American Management Association, 2003.

    HD38.25.U6C65 1997
    Collins-Lowry, Sharon. Black Corporate Executives: The Making and Breaking of a Black Middle Class. Philadelpha, PA.: Temple University Press, 1997.

    HD4903.5.U58D37 1998
    Darity, William. Persistent Disparity: Race and Economic Inequality in the United States Since 1945. Northampton, MA.: Edward Edgar, 1998.

    HB119.A3D54 1997
    A Different Vision: (Vols. 1 & 2). New York: Routledge, 1997

    E185.615.D657 1997
    Double Exposure. Armonk, NY.: M.E. Sharpe, 1997.

    HG179.F328 2000
    Fairley, Juliette. Money Talks: Black Finance Experts Talk to You About Money. New York: Wiley, 2000.

    E185.86.I64 2001
    Information Society and the Black Community. Westport, CT.: Praeger, 2001.

    REF HC102.5.A2I52 1994
    Ingram, John M. African American Business Leaders. Westport, CT.: Greenwood Press, 1994.

    HV4045.I58 1997
    Inner City: Urban Poverty and Economic Development in the Next Century. New Brunswick, NJ.: Transaction Publishing, 1997.

    E185.61.K356 1994
    Kelley, Robin D.G. Race Rebels: Culture, Politics, and the Black Working Class. New York, NY.: Free Press, 1994.

    HV6477.L63 1998
    Locked in the Poorhouse: Cities, Race, and Poverty in the United States. Lanham, MD.: Rowan & Littlefield, 1998.

    E185.8.M18 1992
    Mandle, Jay R. Not Slave, Not Free: The African-American Economic Experience Since The Civil War. Durham, N.C.: Duke University Press, 1992.

    HD8081.A65N45 2001
    Nelson, Bruce. Divided We Stand: American Workers and the Struggle for Black Equality. Princeton, NJ.: Princeton University Press, 2001.

    HV4045.N48 1999
    Newman, Katherine. No Shame in my Game: The Working Poor in the Inner City. New York: Knopf, 1999.

    E185.8.P79 1995
    Pryor, Theodore M. Wealth Building Lessons of Booker T. Washington for a New Black America. Edgewood, MD.: Duncan & Duncan, 1995.

    HT123.R23 1996
    Race, Poverty, and American Cities. Chapel Hill, NC.: University of North Carolina, 1996.

    E185.86.R73 2002
    Robinson, Randall. The Reckoning: What Blacks Owe to Each Other. New York: Dutton, 2002.

    HD8081.A65S56 2000
    Silverman, Robert M. Doing Business in Minority Markets. New York: Garland Publishing, 2000.

    HF5382.5.U5S49 1996
    Simmons, Wilson. Inside Corporate America: A Guide For African Americans. New York, NY.: Berkley Publishing Group, 1996.

    HD5709.2.U6S65 1996
    Soltero, Jose M. Inequality in the Workplace: Underemployment among Mexicans, African Americans, and Whites. New York, NY: Garland Publishing, 1996.

    HG179.S834 1997
    Talking Dollars and Making Sense: A Wealth-Building Guide for African Americans. New York, NY.: McGraw-Hill, 1997.

    HQ536.T55 1998
    Toliver, Susan D. Black Families in Corporate America. Thousand Oaks, CA.: Sage Publications, 1998.

    HD2344.5.U6W35 1998
    Walker, Juliet K. History of Black Business in America. New York: Macmillan, 1998.

    HD62.5.W355 1993
    Wallace, R.L. Black Wealth Through Black Entreprenuership. Edgewood, MD.: Duncan & Duncan, 1993.

    HD8081.A65W58 1997
    Watkins, Steve. The Black O: Racism and Redemption in an American Corporate Empire. Athens, GA.: University of Georgia Press, 1997.

    HV4045.W553 1996
    When Work Disappears: The World of the New Urban Poor. New York: Knopf, 1996.

    HC102.5.L493M3 1995
    "Why Should White Guys Have All The Fun?" : How Reginald Lewis Created a Billion-Dollar Business Empire. New York: Wiley, 1995.

    AFRICAN AMERICANS - EDUCATION:

    LC2781.7.A47 2005
    African American Fraternities and Sororities: The Legacy and the Vision. Lexington: University of Kentucky Press, 2005.

    LC2871.G74 1995
    Black Women in the Academy: The Secrets to Success and Achievements. Lanham, MD.: University Press of America, 1995.

    LC1467.V8B37 1992
    Barnes, Annie. Retention of African American Males in High School. Lanham, MD.: University Press of America, 1992..

    LC2122.B49 1993
    Beyond Silenced Voices. Class, Race, and Gender in U.S. Schools. Albany: SUNY Press, 1993.

    LB2332.3.B53 1997
    Black Women in the Academy: Promises and Perils. Gainesville, FL.: University of Florida Press, 1997.

    LC2781.7.B76 1994
    Brown, D. Gilbert. Debunking the Myth: Stories of African American University Students. Bloomington, IN.: Phi Beta Kappa Educational Foundation, 1994.

    LB1027.5.C653 1995
    Counseling for Diversity. Boston: Allyn & Bacon Publishing, 1995.

    LB1778.2.C74 1994
    Creating and Maintaining a Diverse Faculty. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, Inc., 1994

    LJ34.R67 2000
    The Divine Nine: The History of the African American Fraternities and Sororities. New York: Kensington Publishers, 2000.

    LD3413.D69 2001
    Doyle, William. An American Insurrection: The Battle of Oxford, Mississippi, 1962. New York: Doubleday, 2001.

    LC1099.3.E38 1995
    Educating for Diversity: An Anthology of Multicultural Voices. Boston, MA.: Allyn and Bacon, 1995.

    REF. LB2338.D46
    Financial Aid for African Americans. El Dorado Hills, CA: Reference Service Press, Annual.

    LC2781.5.G58 2003
    Givens, Gretchen Z. Black Women in the Field: Experiences Understanding Ourselves and Others Through Qualitative Research. Cresskell, NJ.: Hampton Press, 2003.

    E185.86.H23 1994
    Hale, Janice E. Unbank the Fire: Visions for the Education of African American Children. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1994.

    LC2771.H35 2001
    Hale, Janice E. Learning While Black: Creating Educational Excellence for African American Children. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2001.

    LC2781.M15 2002
    Making It On Broken Promises: Leading African American Male Scholars Confront the Culture of Higher Education. Sterling, VA.: Stylus, 2002.

    LC3731.P48 1992
    Perspectives on Minority Women in Higher Education. New York: Praeger Publishing, 1992.

    HD2346.U5P54 1995
    Pierce, Joseph. Negro Business and Business Education. New York; Plenum Press, 1995.

    LC2778.L34R43 1998
    Real Ebonics Debate: Power, Language, and the Education of African American Children. Boston, MA.: Beacon Press, 1998.

    LC2781.R43 2000
    Redd, Kenneth. HBCU Gradutes: Employment, Earnings and Success After College. Indianapolis: USA Group Foundation, 2000.

    LC148.2.R48 2001
    Retaining African Americans in Higher Education: Challenging Paradigms for Retaining Students, Faculty, and Administrators. Sterling, VA.: Stylus, 2001.

    PE1405.U6R68 2000
    Royster, Jacqueline. Traces of a Stream: Literacy and Social Change Among African American Women. Pittsburgh, PA.: University of Pittsburgh Press, 2000.

    LC2731.S25 1997
    Sailing Against the Wind: African Americans and Women in U.S. Education. Albany, NY.: State University of New York Press, 1997.

    LC2781.S69 1993
    Spirit, Space, and Survival: African American Women in White Academe. New York: Routledge, 1993.

    LC1099.3.T43 1994
    Teaching Diverse populations: Formulating A Knowledge Base. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1994.

    LB2332.72.T87 2000
    Turner, Caroline. Faculty of Color in Academe: Bittersweet Success. Boston: Allyn & Bacon, 2000.

    LC2781.W55 1991
    Willie, Charles Vert. African-Americans and the Doctoral Experience: Implications for Policy. New York, NY.: Teachers College Press, 1991.

    AFRICAN-AMERICANS - SOCIOLOGICAL PERSPECTIVES:

    HQ759.45.A38 1995
    African American Single Mothers: Understanding Their lives and Families.
    Thousand Oaks, CA.: Sage Publications, 1995.

    F279.C453H37 2001
    Ball, Edward. The Sweet Hell Inside: A Family History. New York: William Morrow, 2001.

    E185.86.B525 1997
    Black Families.
    Thousand Oaks, CA.: Sage Publications, 1997.

    E185.86.B52556 1999
    Black Genius: African American Solutions to African American Problems. New York: W.W. Norton, 1999.

    E185.86.B5263 2002
    Black Men in Their Own Words. New York: Crown Publishing, 2002.

    Electronic Resource
    Black Men on Race, Gender and Sexuality: A Critical Reader Software. New York: New York University Press, 1999.

    HV2392.2.B67 2001
    Borum, Valerie. Culture, Disability and the Family. Washington: Howard University Thesis, 2001.

    HV3176.C85 1996
    Cultural Diversity and Social Work Practice.
    Springfield, IL.: C.C. Thomas, 1996.

    HV5199.5.C85 1997b
    Cultural Competence in Substance Abuse Prevention. Washington, D.C.: NASW, 1997. E185.86.D43 1995
    The Decline in Marriage Among African Americans: Causes, Consequences, and Policy Implications.
    New York, NY.: Russell Sage Foundation, 1995.

    E185.86.D43 1995
    Decline in Marriage Among African Americans. New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 1995.

    E185.86.F36 1997
    Family Life in Black America. Thousand Oaks, CA.: Sage Publications, 1997.

    E840.F73 1996
    Franks, Gary. Searching for the Promised Land: An African American's Optimistic Odyssey. New York: Regan Books, 1996.

    E185.86.F725 1994
    Fraser, George C. Success Runs in Our Race. New York: Wm. Morrow, 1994.

    E185.625.G625 2003
    Gordon, Dexter B. Black Identity: Rhetoric, Ideology, and Nineteenth Century Black Nationalism. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 2003.

    E185.86.H66 1999
    Hill, Robert B. The Strengths of African American Families: Twenty Five Years Later. Lanham, MD.: University Press of America, 1999.

    E185.615.J46 1992
    Jennings, James. Politics of Black Empowerment. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 1992.

    E169.12.J657 1992
    Jordan, June. Technical Difficulties: African American Notes on the State of the Union. New York: Pantheon Books, 1992.

    E185.615.L9 1994
    Lusane, Clarence. African Americans At The Crossroads: The Restructuring of Black Leadership and the 1992 Elections. Boston: South End Press, 1994.

    E185.86.M33 1990
    Madhubuti, Haki R. Black Men: Obsolete, Single, Dangerous? Afrikan American Families in Transistion: Essays in Discovery, Solution, and Hope. Chicago: Third World Press, 1990.

    E185.86.M3828 2002
    Mathis, Deborah. Yet a Stranger: Why Black American Still Don't Feel At Home. New York: Warner Books, 2002.

    E99.C9M29 1996
    May, Katja. African Americans and Native Americans in the Creek and Cherokee Nations, 1830s to 1920s: Collision and Collusion. New York: Garland Publishing, 1996

    PS3563.I3768Z465 2000
    Miller. E. Ethelbert. Fathering Words: The Making Of An African American Writer. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2000.

    F869.L89A26 1993
    Reading Rodney King/Reading Urban Uprising.
    New York: Routledge, 1993.

    HQ759.915.T39 1993
    Taylor, Dorothy. Positive Influence of Bonding in Female-Headed African American Families. New York: Garland Publishing, 1993.

    E886.2.W53 2002
    Wickham, DeWayne. Bill Clinton and Black America. New York: Ballantine Books, 2002.

    E185.615.W4925 2000
    Williams, Lena. It's the Little Things: The Everyday Interactions That Get Under the Skin of Blacks and Whites. New York: Harcourt, 2000.

    E185.96.W69 1999
    Woodtor, Dee. Finding a Place Called Home: A Guide to African American Genealogy and Historical Identity. New York: Random House, 1999.

  • AFRICAN AMERICANS - LAW:

    HF5549.5.A34A42 1996
    Affirmative Action.
    New York: H.W. Wilson, 1996.

    KF3464.B45 1991
    Belz, Herman. Equality Transformed: A Quarter-Century of Affirmative Action. Bowling Green, OH.: Social Philsophy & Policy Center, 1991.

    KF4757.B37 2000
    Belz, Herman. A New Birth of Freedom: The Republican Party and Freedmen's Rights, 1861-1866. Bronx, NY.: Fordham University Press, 2000.

    E185.86.H46 1996
    Black Women in the New World Order: Social Justice and the African American Female. Westport, CT.: Praeger, 1996.

    HV9104.J67 1995
    Black Youths, Delinquency, and Juvenile Justice. Westport, CT.: Praeger, 1995.

    HV8141.B85 1999
    Burris, John. Blue vs. Black: Let's End the Conflict Between Cops and Minorities. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1999.

    HF5549.5.A34D68 2000
    Doverspike, Dennis. Affirmative Action; A Psychological Perspective. Huntington, NY: Nova Science, 2000.

    HV9950.E87 1995
    Ethnicity, Race, and Crime: Perspectives Across Time and Place.
    Albany, NY.: State University of New York Press, 1995.

    KF4755.5.F57 1992
    Fiscus, Ronald J. The Constitutional Logic of Affirmative Action. Durham: Duke University Press, 1992.

    HV9950.F74 1996
    Free, Marvin D. African Americans and the Criminal Justice System.
    New York, NY.: Garland Publishing, 1996.

    HV8699.U5J33 1996
    Jackson, Jesse. Legal Lynching: Racism, Injustice, and the Death Penalty. New York: Marlowe & Co., 1996.

    KF9223.K43 1997
    Kennedy, Randall. Race, Crime, and the Law. New York: Pantheon Books, 1997.

    KF4755.5.K85 1992
    Kull, Andrew. The Color-Blind Constitution. Cambridge, MA.: Harvard University Press, 1992.

    KF4755.L57 1992
    Lively, Donald E. The Constitution and Race. New York: Praeger Publishing, 1992.

    KF3464.R33 1991
    Racial Preference and Racial Justice: The New Affirmative Action Controversy.
    Washington, D.C.: Ethics and Public Policy Center, 1991

    E185.615.R2144 2004
    Racism. San Diego, CA.: Greenhaven Press, 2004..

    E176.1.R56 1999
    Riley, Russell. The Presidency and the Politics of Racial Equality: Nation-Keeping From 1831-1965. New York: Columbia University Press, 1999.

    KF3464.R65 1991
    Rosenfeld, Michel. Affirmative Action and Justice: A Philosophical and Constitutional Inquiry. New Haven, CT.: Yale University Press, 1991.

    KF228.I64U76 1991
    Urofsky, Melvin I. A Conflict of Rights: The Supreme Court and Affirmative Action. New York: Scribner's Sons, 1991.

    AFRICAN AMERICANS - MEDIA:

    ML3508.A47 2001
    African American Jazz and Rap: Social and Philosophical Examinations of Black Expressive Behavior. Jefferson, NC.: McFarland, 2001.

    OVER PN2270.A39A53 1989
    Andrews, Bert. In The Shadow Of the Great White Way: Images From The Black Theatre. New York: Thunder's Mouth Press, 1989.

    PS628.N4B56 1996
    Black Theatre USA: Plays by African Americans From 1847 to Today.
    New York, NY.: Free Press, 1996.

    REF PN1995.9.N4B58 1988
    Blacks in American Film and Television: An Encyclopedia.
    New York: Garland Publishing, 1988.

    PN6725.B76 2001
    Brown, Jeffrey A. Black Superheroes, Milestone Comics and Their Fans. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2001.

    REF ML102.M88P37 1993
    A Century of Musicals In Black and White: An Encyclopedia of Musical Stage Works By, About, or Involving African Americans.
    Westport, CT.: Greenwood Press, 1993.

    PN1995.9.N4C58 1995
    Cinemas of the Black Diaspora: Diversity, Dependence, and Oppositionality. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 1995

    E185.625.C85 1997
    Cultural Portrayals of African Americans: Creating an Ethnic/Racial Identity. Westport, CT.: Bergin & Garvey, 1997.

    PS591.N4E94 1994
    Every Shut Eye Ain't Asleep: An Anthology of Poetry by African Americans Since 1945.
    Boston: Little, Brown & Co., 1994.

    PN1995.9.N4G46 1994
    George, Nelson. Blackface: Reflections on African-Americans and the Movies. New York, NY.: HarperCollins, 1994.

    PS508.N3G53 2000
    Giant Steps: The New Generation of African American Writers. New York: Perennial, 2000.

    Electronic Resource
    Graham, Allison. Framing The South: hollywood, Television, and Race During the Civil Rights Struggle. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2001.

    F128.68.H3J33 2001
    Jackson, John L. Jr. Harlemworld: Doing Race and Class in Contemporary Black America. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2001.

    PN1995.9.N4J66 1991
    Jones, G. William. Black Cinema Treasures: Lost and Found. Denton: University of North Texas, 1991.

    N8232.M44 1990
    McElroy, Guy C. Facing History: The Black Image in American Art, 1710-1940. San Francisco: Bedford Arts, 1990.

    PS3563.I3768Z465 2000
    Miller, E. Fathering Words: The Making of an African American Writer. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2000.

    PN1995.9.N4R45 1993
    Reid, Mark. Redefining black Film. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1993.

    PN1995.9.N4R47 1997
    Representing Blackness: Issues in Film and Video. New Brunswick, NJ.: Rutgers University Press, 1997.

    REF PN1995.9.N4R54 1998
    Richards, Larry. African American Films Through 1959. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1998.

    PN4874.R74A3 1991
    Rowan, Carl T. Breaking Barriers: A Memoir. Boston: Little, Brown, 1991

    NC1766.5.A35S26 1997
    Sampson, Henry. That's Enough, Folks: Black Images in Animated Cartoons, 1900-1960. Lanham, MD.: Scarecrow Press, 1997.

    P94.5.A37S28 2002
    Say It Loud: African American Audiences, Media and Identity. New York: Routledge, 2002.

    P94.5.A372U574 1990
    Split Image: African Americans in the Mass Media.
    Washington, D.C.: Howard University Press, 1990.

    PN1995.9.N4S77 1999
    Struggles for Representation: African American Documentary Film and Video. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1999.

    ML3479.W37 1998
    Ward, Brian. Just My Soul Responding: Rhythm and Blues, Black Consciousness, and Race Relations. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1998.

    PN1995.9.S47W56 1997
    Willis, Sharon. High Contrast: Race and Gender in Contemporary Hollywood Film. Durham, NC.: Duke University Press, 1997.

    PS628.N4W56 1990
    Wines in the Wilderness: Plays by African American Women From the Harlem Renaissance to the Present.
    New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.

    NX512.3.A35W75 1990
    Wright, John S. A Stronger Soul Within a Finer Frame: Portraying African-Americans in the Black Renaissance. Minneapolis: University Art Museum, University of Minnesota, 1990.

    E184.A1W96 2002
    Wynter, Leone. American Skin: Pop Culture, Big Business, And the End of White America. New York: Crown Publishing, 2002.

    AFRICAN AMERICANS - PICTORIAL WORKS:

    OVER E185.96.B74 1997
    Breaking Racial Barriers: African Americans in the Harmon Foundation Collection.
    Washington,DC: National Portrait Gallery, 1997.

    TR654.C586 1989
    Close to Home: Seven Documentary Photographers.
    San Francisco: Friends of Photography, 1989.

    REF. TR139.W55 1989
    Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers, 1940-1988. New York: Garland Publishing, 1989.

    TR654.I415 1994
    Imes, Birnay. Partial to Home. Washington: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1994.

    OVER TR140.B264J2 1993
    J.P. Ball: Daguerrean and Studio Photographer.
    New York: Garland Publishing, 1993.

    ML3556.S738 2000
    Southern, Eileen. Images: Iconography of Music in African American Culture (1770s-1920s). New York: Garland Publishing, 2000.

    RARE N7433.4.T56D355 1994
    Tisdale, Danny. Danny, The Last African American in the 22nd Century. Atlanta, GA: Nexus Press, 1994.

    OVER TR647.W47 2003
    White, Wendel A. Small Towns, Black Lives: African American Communities in South New Jersey. Oceanville, NJ.: The Noyes Museum of Art, 2003.

    OVER TR690.W54 1993
    Willis-Thomas, Deborah. VanDerZee, Photographer, 1885-1983. New York: H.N. Abrams in Association with the National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution, 1993.

    PERIODICALS RELATING TO AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES:

    Microfilm 565
    Africa Report. 1960-1995. Washington, D.C.: African-American Institute, 1971-. Indexed by: Humanities Index, M.L.A., P.A.I.S, Social Sciences Index. ( This title is also available electronically through the Library's catalog )

    PER E185.5.M35
    African-American Review.
    Monthly. Terre Haute, Ind.: Indiana State University Press. 1995-. Indexed by: Book Review Index, Humanities Index, Film Literature Index and Abstracts of English Studies. ( This title is also available electronically through the Library's catalog )

    Microfilm 591
    Black Collegian. 5 issues/year.
    New Orleans: Black Collegiate Services, 1972-. Indexed: Index to periodicals By or About Blacks. ( This title is also available electronically through the Library's catalog )

    Current TwoYear Only
    Black News Digest. Weekly.
    Washington, D.C.: Department of Labor. Indexed: Index to U.S. Government Periodical

    Microfilm 599
    Black Scholar. Monthly.
    San Francisco: Black World Foundation, 1969-. Indexed: P.A.I.S., Social Sciences Index, Abstract of English Studies, C.I.J.E. ( This title is also available electronically through the Library's catalog )

    Microfilm 732
    Ebony. Monthly.
    Chicago: Johnson Publications, 1960-. Indexed by: Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, Business Periodicals Index. ( This title is also available electronically through the Library's catalog )

    Microfilm 923
    Essence. Monthly.
    New Haven, CT.: Hollingsworth Group, 1974-. Indexed by: Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, Business Periodicals Literature. ( This title is also available electronically through the Library's catalog )

    Microfilm 1584
    Jet. Weekly.
    Chicago: Johnson Publications, 1983-. Indexed by: Magazine Index, Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. ( This title is also available electronically through the Library's catalog )

    E185.5.N317
    National Urban League. State of Black America. Annual.
    New York: National Urban League. Not Indexed.


  • Maintained by: Sarah Reynolds Outreach/User Services Coordinator
  •