School Psychology: A Guide to Resources at RIT Library
The master of science degree in School Psychology at RIT is unique
as to the types and variety of resources and materials available
to its students. This guide is an attempt to draw together information
on the resources at RIT Library which are specifically geared
toward those enrolled in the program. Any questions regarding this
guide or any of the resources or procedures described herein should
be directed to Linda Coppola, Liberal Arts Librarian, ext. 5-2626.
SELECTED SOURCES OF INFORMATION
Graduate Research Methodology and Thesis Writing
BF76.5 .R474 2003
Cone, John D. Dissertations and theses from start to finish : psychology and related fields . Wiley, 2003.
REF Q180.55.P7 L63 2000
Locke, Lawrence F. Proposals that work : a guide for planning dissertations
and grant proposals. Sage, c2000.
Additional Thesis and Dissertation Resources Available from RIT Libraries can be found at http://wally.rit.edu/pubs/guides/thesis.htm
RESD and REF BF76.7.P82 2001
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th edition,
2001.
BF76.5.C645
Schinka, John A. Research methods in psychology. Wiley, 2003.
RRLC ACCESS Program
The Rochester Regional Library Council (RRLC) has set up a program to facilitate
thesis research for Masters and Doctorate degrees. The ACCESS program allows
book borrowing privileges at all area libraries. Each participating library
receives a limited number of cards and must carefully screen each application
to determine if the resources of other libraries are needed. Those wishing
to apply can obtain an application form at the RIT Library Reference Desk or apply online at http://wally.rit.edu/services/access/index.html After filling out all required information (including a specific statement
about the proposed research project), the application will be reviewed by
the Liberal Arts Librarian.
Applications are to be made only after the resources of RIT have been exhausted.
Handbooks, Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Reference books are good starting points for research. Bibliographies following
articles in encyclopedias and handbooks will identify landmark research and
in-depth studies on that topic. Following are recommended examples organized
by subjects:
School Psychology
REF LB1027.55.H57 1996
Fagan, Thomas. Historical Encyclopedia of School Psychology. Greenwood
Press, 1996.
REF LB1027.55 .E523 2005
Encyclopedia of School Psychology. Sage Publications, c2005.
REF LB1051.H2356 1998
Reynolds, Cecil. Handbook of School Psychology. 3rd ed. John Wiley and
Sons, 1998.
General Psychology
REF BF31.B25 1999
Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology & Counseling. 2nd ed. Baker
Books, c1999
REF BF31 .C65 2001
Colman, Andrew M. A Dictionary of Psychology. Oxford University Press,
2001.
REF BF31 .C72 1999
Corsini, Raymond. Dictionary of Psychology. Brunner/Mazel, c1999.
REF BF31 .E52 2001
Craighead, W. Edward. Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science.
3rd ed. John Wiley & Sons, 2001.
REF BF31 .E52 2000
Kazdin, Alan E. Encyclopedia of Psychology. v.1-8. APA, 2000.
REF BF109.A1 P67 1991
Kimble, Gregory A. Portraits of Pioneers in Psychology. v.1 -5. APA &
L. Erlbaum, 1991-2003.
REF BF109.A1 B56 1997
Sheehy, Noel. Biographical Dictionary of Psychology. Routledge Reference,
1997.
REF BF431.E59 1994
Sternberg, Robert J. Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence, v.1-2. Macmillan,
1994.
REF BF181 .H336 2002
Steven's Handbook of Experimental Psychology. John Wiley & Sons,
2002.
Education and Educational Psychology
REF LB1051.H2354 1996
Berliner, David C. Handbook of Educational Psychology. Macmillan, 1996.
REF LC4007 .E53 2002
Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education. Wiley, 2002.
BF712.7 .I58 1996
International Encyclopedia of Developmental
& Instructional Psychology. Pergamon, 1996.
REF LB15.E47
Deighton, Lee C. Encyclopedia of Education, vols. 1-8. Macmillan, 2002.
REF LC3707 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education. Multilingual
Matters, c1998.
REF LC191 .I49 1997
International Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Education. Pergamon,
1997.
LB3051 .S66 2001
Janesick, Valerie J. The assessment debate: a reference handbook. ABC-CLIO, c2001
Clinical Psychology - Medical Therapies
REF RC480.5 .H276 2001
Corsini, Raymond, ed. Handbook of Innovative Therapy. 2nd ed. John Wiley
and Sons, 2001.
RESD & 3rd floor RC455.2.C4D54 1994
DSM--IV: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th ed.
American Psychiatric Association, 1994.
REF & 3rd floor RC455.2.C4 A48 2000
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-IV-TR. American
Psychiatric Association, 2000.
REF RC475.7 .H47 2002
Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy. Elsevier Science, 2002.
REF RJ499.3 .H356 1997
Noshpitz, Joseph D. ed. Handbook of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry.
Wiley, 1997.
Tests/Testing - Critiques, Descriptions and Catalogs
REF BF176 .C65 2000 v. 1-2
Commissioned Reviews of 250 Psychological Tests. E. Mellen Press, 2000.
REF BF431.G625
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures. v.1-8. APA, 1997-2003.
REF BF176 .M35
Mental Measurements Yearbooks, 1st- , 1938- . Buros Institute of Mental
Measurement, University of Nebraska. To be published biennially with supplement
in intervening year. A test is included in a MMY edition if it is: a first
edition, a revised edition, or has generated 20 or more new references since
the last edition. MMY contains test descriptions followed by scholarly reviews.
Further references identify articles discussing construction, validity, limitations
and use. Each edition is indexed by test titles, personal names (authors)
and broad subject categories. Where necessary, cross references are given
to earlier MMY editions.
REF BF176.T42
Test Critiques, vol. 1- , 1986- . Test Corporation of America. The
use of Test Critiques is a good deal less complex than the Mental Measurements
Yearbook series. One hundred tests are critiqued in each volume. Test Critques
lacks the extensive bibliographies of MMY, however.
REF BF176.T48 2002 v.1-2
Tests in Print, VI: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews and the Literature on
Specific Tests, 2002. Buros Institute of Mental Measurement, University
of Nebraska. Tests in Print serves as a master index of in-print tests and refers
the reader to all the original test reviews in Mental Measurements Yearbook.
The title index includes variant forms of the test name and also acronyms. A
directory of publishers is included with full details for ordering.
Testing and Test Construction - Handbooks and Reference Sources
RESD and REF LB3051.A693
APA Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing. American Psychological
Association, 1985.
REF BF176 .C654 2004
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment.v.1-4. Wiley, 2004
BF176.M35 1996
Newmark, Charles S. Major Psychological Assessment Instruments. Allyn
and Bacon, 1996.
REF LB2822.82 .S82 2001
Standards and Schooling in the United States : an encyclopedia. ABC-CLIO,
2001.
Circulation of Test Kits
Test kits for use by School Psychology students have special circulation requirements.
All test kits are kept at the Reserve Desk and can only circulate to School
Psychology graduate students enrolled in the testing courses. The check-in of
test kits can be a lengthy process as each item in the kit must be accounted
for. A School Psychology graduate student will be assisting with the reserve
process.
To facilitate the policies in force regarding test kit circulation, the following
rules must be observed:
- The patron must have an RIT ID card.
- The patron must be on the School Psychology class list from the School Psychology
Department. Patron names must then be entered into the circulation computer
system with a special code. This computer input process takes several days
after the first class.
- Test kits should be requested by correct test kit number found on the listing
of test kits to be distributed in the testing class. A copy of this list will
be at the Reserve Desk.
- Patrons may borrow no more than 6 test kits at one time.
- Test kits circulate for one week at a time. The overdue fine is $5 a day.
The patron checking out the test kit will be held responsible for all overdue
fines. Circulation privileges will be denied until all fines are paid.
- Test kit contents will be inspected upon return. The patron will be held
responsible for any items not returned.
- Patrons may renew test kits either in person or by calling 475-2562.
If problems arise that should be brought to the library's attention, contact
one of the following persons: 1) The School Psychology graduate student working
at the Reserve Desk; 2) Morna Hilderbrand x5-2560, Reserve
Service; or, 3) Linda Coppola, Librarian liaison for School Psychology.
Journals
See a separate guide for Psychology/School
Psychology: Indexes, Journals and Annuals
Maintained by: Linda Coppola
|