RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

 

SERVICE MANAGEMENT RESOURCES

BOOKS

Below is a list of service management related subjects. Click on anyone of them to see a list of books available in our library. Once the list is on the screen, click on the title of the book to see if it is available to take out. If a book is currently out you can put in a request for it. When the book is returned to the library, an email will be sent to you letting you know it is available for you and can be picked up at the Circulation Desk. Requesting books requires a library pin number, click here to set up a library account if you have not done so already.

The lists below are basic subject searches done in the library's catalog. Notice that sometimes the library's subject heading found on the catalog search screen does not match the subjects listed below. You can go directly into the catalog anytime to search for books. These links are designed to help get you started. Advanced searching can help you locate books not found in these general lists and can also help you narrow down the subject. You can also use ConnectNY to search for books not in our collection but available to you through a consortium of libraries. To learn more about ConnectNY click here. To learn more about searching for books or to request a book be added to the RIT collection contact Jennifer Freer.


Benchmarking
Consumer Satisfaction
Employee Training
Managing Employees
Service Industries
Service Management
Teams in the Workplace

 

ARTICLES

Search for articles on various service management related topics in these article databases. Most of these databases work in different ways. ABI/Inform and Business Source Elite are excellent places to start your project. They have superb Advance Search features and contain a broad variety of publications. Refer to the help guides when available for basic search techniques and contact Jennifer Freer for individual training.

ABI/Inform via ProQuest

Regional, national and international news articles, trade magazines/newsletters. Includes access to New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Use Advanced Search for effective searching. Online help guides are available here for ABI.

Business Full Text

Various trade journals and periodicals. Limited full text. This is part of Wilson's OmniFile. Use Advanced Search for effective searching. Once in the search screen select Omnifile Full Text Mega which will open a subject area field along the bottom left. In this window select Business to narrow the materials you search.

Business Source Elite via Ebsco

News articles covering companies, industries, and countries. Includes Harvard Business Review in full text. Use Advanced Search for effective searching. Online help guides are available here for Business Source Elite.

Factiva

News articles covering companies, industries, and countries. Use the News Pages section to read current issues of selected national and international newspapers and periodicals.

ERIC

World's largest source of education information.

Emerald Fulltext

Emerald Fulltext provides online access to over 130 full text management journals .Covers the major management disciplines including marketing, HR and organizational development, library & information management, quality and operations management.

Gartner Intraweb

IT information from Gartner.

Health Source Consumer Edition

Consumer health information on many topics

Health and Wellness Resource Center

A comprehensive resource that provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information.

Hoovers

In-depth information on 15,000 small, medium and large public and private companies worldwide.

Investext

A premier financial research database containing institutional investment reports on companies and industries.

JSTOR

The JSTOR collection of journals is a unique database of complete full-text back files (including accompanying charts, graphs, equations, and pictures) of core scholarly journals. A small selection of finance journals included. Use Advanced Search for effective searching. Online help guide here.

Lexis/Nexis

Lexis/Nexis Academic provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options, including: Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

Regional Business News via Ebsco

Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Science Direct via Elsevier

Access to the over 60 full text of business, accounting and management journals from Elsevier. Elsevier's Basic Search works well for narrowing down articles. Their "basic search" is equal to other databases' "advance search." Online help guides available here.

 

Citation Tools


APA Style Guide (a condensed version of the APA Manual)
RefWorks (a web-based citation management tool)


For More Information Contact:
Jennifer Freer
Library Liaison
Hospitality & Service Management
Business News and Resources
jlfwml@rit.edu
IM me at bizlibrarian