The manuals (9 topic areas) from
the Technical Signs Project are included in this list.
The Project Overview and Reading Technical Sign Diagrams
(ETRR, Archives & 4th floor HV 2474.T43
1993) manual explains the system used for representing signs
in the manuals. For more information,
contact Dr. Frank Caccamise at fccncr@rit.edu.
The following resources are found in RIT
Library and/or the Educational
Technology Resource Center (ETRR) in Building 60, 3355. If you are
interested in more books on this topic, use the subject: "Sign
Language--Dictionaries" or "Deaf--Means of Communication," in
the library's Einstein catalog.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries-Use the following
specialized reference books. These are good resources to use when starting
to do research on a topic. Articles are written by experts in the field
and have bibliographies for fruther reading. If you are not sure of a topic,
browsing through these works will give you topic ideas. Be sure to check
the table of contents and the index to find your topic. Most if not all
of the encyclopedias are located in the Reference area on the 1st floor.
There are many different types of dictionaries. These are good books to
use when you need a quick reference on how to sign a concept. A few may
be found in the REF area but most are on the 4th floor in the deaf section
(HV 2500 area). Descriptions of books are taken from Info
to Go, Einstein Catalog.
or publishers.
Baker, C. & Jones, S.P. (Eds.). (1998). Encyclopedia of bilingualism
and bilingual education. Philadelphia: Multilingual Matters. (REF,
LC3707 .E53 1998).
Check out Part 3: Bilingual education for the deaf and hearing impaired.
*Van Cleve, J.(Ed.) (1987). Gallaudet encyclopedia of Deaf people
and deafness. New York: McGraw-Hill. (REF and 4th floor-
HV 2365.G35 1986).
Check out the following articles from Volume 3: Sign Languages-Origins,
Facial Expressions, American, History, Australian, Australian Aboriginal,
Belgian, Brazilian, British, Canadian, Chinese, Danish, Finnish, French,
German, Ghananian, Indian, International Gestures, Irish, Israeli, Italian,
Japanese, Malaysian, Mexican, Norwegian, Philippine, Plains Indian, Polish,
Portuguese, Providence Island, Puerto Rican, Rennellese, South African,
Spanish, Swedish, Swiss, Taiwanese, and Yugoslavian (p. 31-118). Also, Sign
Writing Systems (p. 118-120), Signs-Fingerspelling, Artistic, Name Signs,
Home Sign, Technical and Invented Signs (120-132); Sociolinguistics-Multilingualism,
Diglossia, Pidginization and Creolization, Language Planning and Standardization,
Language Variation, Types of Variation, Studying Variation, and Ethnography
of Communication (152-157). Sign Language Continuum- ASL and English, Continuum
Switching, Sign Language Dialects, Phonological Rules, Grammatical Rules,
Regional Variation, Ethnic Variation, Language Attitudes-Background, Speech
Studies, Deaf Community, Effect on Communication, and Language Supremacy
(157-167) , Language Policy and Education-Sociolinguistic Situation, Disseminating
Information, Program Goals, Competence in English, ASL Use, Academic Goals,
Cultural Awareness, Desired Linguistic Behaviors, Educational Program Implications-Grouping
Criteria, Teacher Competencies and Qualifications, and Family Learning Opportunities.(167-173),
Total Communication, Simultaneous Communication and Bilingualism (173-182).
American Sign Language
Butterworth, R.R. (1995). The Perigee visual dictionary of signing
: An A-to-Z guide to over 1,350 signs of American Sign Language.
New York : Berkley Pub. Group. (REF HV2475 .B87 1995).
This text is the easiest, most comprehensive alphabetized guide to American
Sign Language (Ameslan) available today. Unlike other signing books, which
organize by "categories", the Visual Dictionary is arranged in
a straightforward easy-to-use dictionary format. Inside you'll find special
features offering a fast, simple approach to the art of signing, including
over 1,350 signs - arranged alphabetically with directions on how to form
each sign; detailed illustrations - showing precise hand positions and exact
movements; memory aids - to assist in recalling how to make each sign; sample
sentences - to clarify grammatical usage; numbers - from one to one million,
including monetary signs; fingerspelling - a vital tool for communicating
words for which there are no signs, or for when the sign has not yet been
learned; helpful hints - suggestions and tips for easier signing; and comprehensive
index - including all entries and their synonyms for easy cross-referencing.
(from Einstein Catalog )
*Costello, E. (1994). Random House American Sign Language dictionary.
New York, NY: Random House. ( REF, 4th floor HV2475
.C667 1994).
The most authoritative and up-to-date American Sign Language (ASL) dictionary--and
the only sign language dictionary to include actual definitions. This comprehensive
ASL dictionary provides over 5,600 signs and entries in an easy-to-use alphabetical
format. Excellent illustrations, modeled by more than 80 deaf models and
drawn by three deaf artists, capture the overall gesture without sacrificing
attention to detail: users see how each sign begins and ends and the motion
that occurs in between. Multiple meanings (e.g., to ring a bell versus to
wear a ring) are provided and defined. Arranged like a typical dictionary,
this work is easy to use and very detailed. Even the end sheets provide
ready reference to the manual alphabet and more common handshapes. Sign
language, has changed in response to a more enlightened time, and these
changes are evident here. Not only have the signs for homosexual, China, and Japan been updated,
for instance, but new words reflecting the computer age, such as disk and
byte, have been included. (from Einstein
Catalog ).
*Fant, L. & Miller, B.G. (1994). The American Sign Language phrase
book. Chicago, IL: Contemporary Books. (4th floor, HV2475 .F36 1994).
Comes with companion video. A reference to everyday expressions in American
Sign Language (ASL) in 17 topic areas. Phrases, grouped in sections such
as signing and deafness, getting acquainted, health, school, family, weather,
travel, and religion, are illustrated with b&w drawings. Discusses ASL
grammar, and includes a sign language alphabet. Comes with companion videos
(5110,ETRR). (from Einstein Catalog
).
Flodin, M. (1996). Signing everyday phrases. New York, NY
: Perigee Books. (4th floor HV2474 .F55 1996).
Arranged by topic, this handy book is a much needed reference for those
who come in contact with deaf people on an occasional or even a frequent
basis: nurses,waiters and waitresses, firemen, policemen, doctors and emergency
rescue workers, as well as friends and family members. With more than 3,100
signs, easy-to-follow directions and illustrations, and an extensive index
for easy reference, this text will teach you familiar phrases.
Hoffman, C.M. (1990). Sign language comprehensive reference manual
for signers and interpreters. Springfield, Ill. : Charles C. Thomas.
(4th Floor HV2475 .H64 1990).
This text contains more than 6,500 entries, including vocabulary and idioms,
with cross-references and sign descriptions. It is intended mainly for interpreters
but can also be used effectively by signers who have at least a working
knowledge of sign language.The manual is employed most profitably when the
user reads the entire sign description before manually executing the sign.
Since it is written for the right-hand dominant signer, those who are left-hand
dominant must reverse the descriptions where appropriate. Due to the three
dimensional nature of sign language, it is difficult, if not impossible,
to learn how to sign from the two-dimensional pages of any book. Additionally
knowledge of deaf culture is critical to contextually appropriate signing.
Therefore, a qualified teacher is of utmost importance to the sign language
student who wishes to build real competence in sign production, proper grammatical
construction and the all-important understanding of deaf culture. Dedicated
and motivated interpreters and signers are constantly striving to increase
their inventories of internalized signs. Sometimes, however, this knowledge
can slip away if it is not frequently called upon, either expressively or
receptively. It is with this human frailty in mind that this book has been
written; not for those who have had no sign language experience, but for
serious interpreters and signers whose memories need occasional assistance
and who wish to increase their sign language repertoires. (from
Charles C. Thomas website)
Lapiak, J. A. (2001). Handspeak. Retrieved March 12, 2003
from http://www.handspeak.com/
Uses live signing models to present signs. Browse alphabetical listings
of words, categories such as animals, colors, education, food and drink,
places, sports, alphabets, numbers, baby signs and international signs.
Sternberg, M. (1998). American Sign Language.
New York : HarperCollins Publishers. (4th floor, HV2475 .S77 1998).
Updated and revised for the first time in 17 years, this dictionary introduces
more than 1,500 new signs and 4,000 illustrations. He has revised the original
version of this work to include over 7000 signs and 12,000 illustrations.The
book presents each sign with its pronunciation and part of speech and explanatory
matter, including the derivation of the sign, its description in terms of
handshape and orientation,and cross references to other words that use a
similar sign. While other dictionaries like The American Sign Language
Handshape Dictionary incorporate aspects of deaf culture and phonology
into the prefatory material, Sternberg concentrates on signs. (from Einstein
Catalog )
*Stokoe, W., Casterline, D. & Croneberg, C. (Eds.). (1975). Dictionary
of ASL on linguistic principles.Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet College
Press. (4th floor, HV2475.S8).
This dictionary has provided the foundation and inspiration for most of
the descriptive research in ASL. This is the only dictionary to list signs
by formational elements and it includes four appendices: ASL syntax,
Name Signs, ASL Numeration, The Linguistic Community and Sign Language
Dialects.
*Supalla, S.J. (1992). The book of name signs: Naming in American
Sign Language. San Diego, CA : DawnSignPress. (4th floor, HV2474.S866
1992).
Rules for name sign formations and their appropriate uses.
Sutton, V. (2002). SignWriting online dictionary database.
Retrieved August 1, 2002 from http://www.SignBank.org/.
Look up signs by handshape, or alphabetically by words. Includes pictures,
signs, words which is good for educational environments.
*Tennant, R. (1998). The
American Sign Language handshape dictionary.
Washington, D.C. : Clerc Books, Gallaudet University Press.(REF
and 4th floor- HV2475 .T46 1998.)
American Sign Language students can look up specific signs without needing
to know their meaning in English beforehand by using this dictionary. This
unique, two-way sign language dictionary can help users locate a sign whose
meaning they have forgotten, or help them find the meaning of a new sign
they have just seen for the first time. Instead of offering a conventional
alphabetical arrangement of English words and their corresponding signs,
the dictionary organizes more than 1,600 ASL signs by 40 basic handshapes
and includes detailed descriptions on how to form each sign to represent
the varying terms that it might mean.
The text introduces how signs are used in ASL structure and presents clear,
explicit directions on how to identify a sign and its meaning in the specific
context of its use. ASL students can track down almost any sign by employing
a logical process of elimination, starting with whether the sign in question
is made with one hand or two. Further distinctions of handshape, palm orientation,
location, movement, and other nonmanual body signals help them to pinpoint
their search while also refining their grasp of ASL syntax and grammar.
A complete English word index provides the option of referring to an alphabetical
listing of English terms to locate an equivalent sign or choice of signs.
The uncommon balance of cross-reference features in dictionary presents
students, sign language teachers, and Deaf people alike with a genuine two-language
resource that enhances the opportunity to hone communication skills in both
modes.(from Gallaudet
University Press).
*Ward, J. (1978). Ward's natural sign language thesaurus of useful
signs and synonyms. Yolanda, Calif. : Joyce Media. (4th floor, HV2475.W37).
Audiologists and Speech Therapists
*Caccamise, F. (1993). Technical Signs 4: Manual 4: Communication:
Audiology and speech pathology. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID.(4th floor and Archives HV 2474.t43 1993 v. 4).
Lists line drawings of signed audiology and speech related vocabulary using
Sutton's Movement writing notation system.
Vold, F. (1990).Signing with your clients: A practical manual for
audiologist and speech language pathologists. Washington, D. C.:
Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor HV2474.V65).
This book, designed for use with deaf and hard of hearing clients, shows
how to sign the most frequent questions and statements used by clinicians.
The manual includes more than 500 line drawings illustrating the signs for
237 sentences.(from Info
to Go )
Career Education/Employment
*Caccamise, F. (1993). Technical Signs 5: Manual five: Career education.
Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (4th floor and Archives
HV2474.T43 1993 v.5).
Computer
*Costello, E. (2001). Random House Webster's American Sign Language
computer dictionary. New York : Random House. (4th floor, HV2475
.C6623 2001).
Explore the signing world of computers, the Internet, e-mail, and the World
Wide Web. This unique compilation of ASL signs is the ideal, up-to-date
reference tool -- providing access to cyberspace for members of the Deaf
community, their families, friends, teachers, and colleagues.Includes full-torso
illustrations and descriptions of how to make the signs Lookup made
easy through multiple cross references Full definitions, not merely
one-word glossaries. (from Random
House Publishers).
English
*Caccamise, F. (1997). Technical signs manual 6: Signs for English
terminology. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (4th
floor and Archives HV 2474.T43 1997 no.6).
Fingerspelling
*Bahleda, S.J. (1996). Fingerspelling, the real world. Cinccinnati,
OH: Real World Press.(4th floor, HV2477 .B35 1996).
Contains over 2,000 practice words including those relating to deaf history
and culture, names from popular culture, history, geographic locations and
science and nature. Also provides tips for expressive and receptive fingerspelling
and exercises for signing numerical information. (from Info
to Go).
Gaertner, S. (n.d.). ASL fingerspelling dictionary. Retrieved
August 1, 2002 from http://www.where.com/scott.net/asl/.
Gay, G. (22, April 2001). Fingerspelling wizard. Retrieved
August 1, 2002 from http://www.iwaynet.net/%7Eggwiz/asl/.
View Norwegian, French, United Kingdom, Deaf-Blind alphabets
Invented Signed English Systems
Anthony, D. (1978). Seeing essential English elementary dictionary.
Boulder, Colo. : Pruett Pub. Co. (4th floor HV2475.A68 1978).
This is an invented system created to represent the English language.
*Bornstein, H., Saulnier, K., & Hamilton, L. (1983). The comprehensive
Signed English dictionary. Washington, DC: Gallaudet College Press.
(REF and 4th floor, HV2475.C65 1983).
This text is the premier volume of the Signed English series. This complete
dictionary has over 3,100 signs, including signs reflecting lively and contemporary
vocabulary. The American Manual Alphabet, numbers, and sign markers are
all located in the front of the book for easy reference. Other sections
provide a general description of the Signed English system, its logic, and
its use. (from Einstein Catalog )
*Bornstein, H., & Saulnier, K. (1984). The Signed English starter.
Washington, DC: Kendall Green Publications. (4th floor-2 copies HV2474.B67
1984).
This book covers 940 basic signs. Information on sign systems, the use of
markers and how deaf children learn English is also provided. (from Info
to Go)
*Gustason, G. (1993). Signing exact English. Los Alamitos,
CA : Modern Signs Press. (4th floor, HV2475 .G87 1993).
Presents a system of signs to represent the English language.
Legal
*Caccamise, F. (1998). Signs for legal and social work terminology.
Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (4th floor, HV2474
.C326 1998).
Foret, A.T. (1976). A manual and dictionary of legal terms for interpreters
for the deaf. Detroit, Mich.: Center for the Administration of Justice,
Wayne State University Law School. (4th floor KF156.F65 1976).
Mathematics/Numbers
*Caccasmise, F. & Lang, H. (1996). Signs for science and mathematics
: A resource book for teachers and students. Rochester, NY:
RIT, NTID. (4th floor and Archives
HV2474 .C328 1996).
*MacDougall, C. (1998). Numbering in American Sign Language : Number
signs for everyone. San Diego, CA : DawnSignPress (OVER 4th FL.
HV2474 .N86 1998).
With this book you have immediate access to ASL numbers gathered in one
volume. Organized in twelve chapters with sign vocabulary, phrases, and
their English translations. (from DawnSignPress)
Medical/Drugs
*Costello, E. (2000). Random House Webster's American Sign Language
medical dictionary. New York : Random House. (REF HV2475
.C663 2000).
This dictionary of medical signs, all of them clearly illustrated, carefully
described, and -- unlike other ASL dictionaries -- are defined. This book
contains over1,000 signs, including signs for illnesses, treatments, and
drugs, as well as for human anatomy and psychology, described with step-by-step
instructions for making the sign, and fully illustrated with full-torso
drawings Such signs are clearly needed by the ever-increasing numbers of
Americans for whom ASL is either their native language or the language they
learn in order to communicate effectively with those who use it. (from Einstein
Catalog )
*Garcia, W.J. (1983). Medical sign language: Easily understood definitions
of commonly used medical, dental, and first aid terms. Springfield,
IL: Charles C. Thomas. (OVER 4th floor HV2475.G37 1982).
This book explains medical terms and shows how to translate the English
words into ASL. Each entry lists the term, defines it, and places it in
context. Detailed descriptions of the appropriate sign(s) follow, accompanied
by clear line drawings of each sign. (from Info
to Go)
*Woodward, J. (1980). Signs of drug use. Silver Spring,
MD: T. J. Publishing. (4th floor, HV2475.W65)
This book provides more than 160 different signs related to drug and alcohol
use. Signs are clearly illustrated and notes on the derivation of each sign
are presented. Companion video from ETRR Video 5265. (from Info
to Go) .
Pidgin Sign English or PSE
*Bragg, B. & Olson, J.R. (1993). Meeting halfway in American Sign
Language: A common ground for effective communication among deaf and hearing
people. Rochester, NY: Deaf Life Press. (4th floor HV2474 .B724
1994).
The most lavishly-illustrated photographic sign-language book ever published
(approx. 1,300 photographs). An ideal supplementary text for intermediate
sign-language classes-but can be used and enjoyed by beginning and advanced
students as well. Contains complete frame-by-frame visualizations of two
anecdotes, Bragg's "Crackers" and Olson's "Experiences of
a Hearing Educator," a "Dialogue," and Robert Frost's poem
"Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening." Photos of 43 indispensable
handshapes/classifiers are also featured. Practice texts include Olson's
"The Day I Almost Got Fired for Signing" and Bragg's hilarious
"Beefeater Catastrophe." With introduction, explanation, notes,
glosses, and bibliography.(from
Deaf Life Press)
Regional Sign Language
*Kelly-Jones, N. (1981). Signs everywhere. Los Alamitos, CA
: Modern Signs Press. (4th floor, HV2475.K44)
*Shroyer, E. H. (1984). Signs across America : A look at regional
differences in American Sign Language. Washington, D.C. : Gallaudet
College Press. (4th floor HV2474.S476 1984).
This book provides a fascinating and unique look at regional variations
in American Sign Language. The authors contacted native signers in 25 states
to find out their signs for 130 selected words. The results -- more than
1,200 signs -- are illustrated in this book. It is an invaluable reference
for teachers of American Sign Language that explores the subtle differences
in signs from different geographic areas. (from Einstein
Catalog)
Religion
Bar-Tzur, D. (1999). Resources for religious/spiritual interpreting.
Retrieved August 2, 2002 from http://www.rit.edu/~dabdis/rlgn/rsorcs.html
*Caccamise, F. (1993). Technical signs 7: Manual seven: Religion/Catholic.
Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (4th floor and Archives HV 2474.T43 1993 v. 7).
Costello, E. (1986). Religious signing: A comprehensive guide for
all faiths. New York: Bantam Books. ( 4th floor, HV2475.C67 1986).
This guide includes vocabulary for effective communication in religious
settings. More than 500 signs are included. The book contains a special
section of favorite verses, prayers and blessings. A complete index and
cross-references are also included.
*Namir, L. (1977). Dictionary of sign language of the deaf in Israel.
Jerusalem: Ministry of Social Welfare. (4th floor, HV2475.N35).
Shuart, A.K.(1986). Signs in Judaism : A resource book for the Jewish
deaf community. New York, N.Y. : Bloch Pub. Co. (4th floor HV2475.S529 1986)
Umiker-Sebeok, J. (1987). Monastic sign languages. New York:
Mouton de Gruyter. (3rd floor, P117.M66 1987).
Sciences
*Caccasmise, F. & Lang, H. (1996). Signs for science and mathematics
: A resource book for teachers and students. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (4th floor and Archives HV2474
.C328 1996).
Sexuality
*Minkin, M.B. (1991). Signs for sexuality : A resource manual for
deaf and hard of hearing individuals, their families, and professionals.
Seattle, Wash. : Planned Parenthood of Seattle-King County. (4th floor,
HV2475 .M56 1991).
This text provides more than 90 new terms covering sexual abuse, sexually
transmitted diseases, and reproductive health. There are more than 250 vocabulary
terms and over 600 photographs showing signed words and phrases. (from Info
to Go)
*Woodward,
J. (1979). Signs of sexual behavior: An introduction to some sex-related
vocabulary in American Sign Language. Silver Spring, MD: T.J. Publishers.
(4th floor- HV2475.W66).
This book serves as an introduction to signs used by the deaf community to communicate
about sexual behavior. More than 100 signs are illustrated and notes are provided
on the derivation of signs. See companion videotape at ETRR 5269. (from Info
to Go)
Social Work
*Caccamise,
F. (1998). Signs for
legal and social work terminology. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (4th floor, HV2474 .C326 1998).
Sports
Hamilton,
H. (1985). Sports signs. Los Alamitos, CA : Modern Signs Press.(4th
floor HV2475.H355 1985 Vol. 1-6).
Theater
*Caccamise,
F. (1993). Technical
signs 8: Manual Eight: Theater. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (4th floor and Archives HV 2474T43 1993 v. 8).
International Sign Languages<
Bar-Tzur, D. (1999). Dictionaries to assist in translating the web sites
into English. Retrieved August 2, 2002 from http://www.rit.edu/%7Edabdis/indj/dcoew.html#dict.
(To translate into languages other than English or to check for the latest updates
and languages not listed, see Freedict.com,
the Linguist
list: dictionaries,
Pedro's dictionaries, Travlang's
dictionaries, or YourDictionary.com).
Alphabets
*Carmel, S.J. (1975). International hand alphabet charts. Rockville,
Md. : Carmel. (4th floor, HV2474.C37).
Australia
Jeanes, C. R., Reynolds, B.E &. Australasian Sign Language Development Project.
(1982). Dictionary of Australasian signs for communication with the deaf.
Victoria, Australia : Victorian School for Deaf Children. (4th floor HV2475.D53
1982).
*Johnston, T. A. (1987). A general introduction
to Australian Sign Language (Auslan). Adelaide : TAFE National Centre
for Research and Development.(ETRR only HV2474 .J644 1987).
*Johnston, T.A. (1987). A preliminary signing
dictionary of Australian sign language (Auslan).Adelaide : TAFE National
Centre for Research and Development.(ETRR only HV2475 .J64 1987).
*Johnston, T.A. & Wilkin, P. (1998). Signs of Australia : A new dictionary
of Auslan (the sign language of the Australian deaf community). North
Rocks, NSW, Australia : North Rocks Press : Royal Institute for Deaf and Blind
Children. (ETRR only HV2475 .J64 1998).
Smith, G. (197-?) .Let's talk with our hands. [Parramatta], N.S.W.,
Australia : North Rocks Central School for Deaf Children (4th floor, HV2475.S58).
Brazil
*Hoemann, H. W., Beroske, S. M., & Ames, S.L. (1984). The sign language
of Brazil. Mill Neck, New York: Mill Neck Foundation.
(4TH floor,
HV2474.L5613 1984)
Includes alphabet, numerals and Portugese/English sign
lexicon
China
Chung-kuo lung jen hsieh hui. (1995). Chung-kuo shou yü.
Pei-ching : Hua-hsia ch`u pan she. (4th floor, HV2475 .C486 1995).
Yah, S.C. (1977). The Chinese signs : Lexicon of the standard sign language
for the deaf in China. Hong Kong: Chiu Ming Pub. Co.(4th floor HV2475.C48)
France
Commission francophone du langage des sourds. (1984). Les Signes. Bruxelles
: La Commission. (4th floor, HV2475 .S536 1984 v.1 - v.4).
Conradt, M. (1984). Dictionnaire du langage des signes. Liege
: Commission francophone du langage des sourds. (4th floor, HV2475.D534 1984).
Germany
Hanke, T. (1995). German sign language dictionary on psychological terms.
Retrieved August 2, 2002 from. http://www.sign-lang.uni<hamburg.de/projects/PsychLex.html
Hanke, T. (1996). German manual alphabet / Deutsches fingeralphabet.
Retrieved August 2, 2002 from http://www.sign-lang.uni-hamburg.de/fa/
Maisch, G. & Wisch, F-H. (1987). Gebärden-Lexikon. Hamburg
: Verlag Hörgeschädigte Kinder. (4th floor, HV2475 .M37 1987).
Great Britain
Brien, D. (1992). Dictionary of British Sign Language/English.
Boston : Faber and Faber. ( 4th floor HV2475 .D53 1992).
BritishSignLanguage.com. (n.d.).Retrieved August 2, 2002 from
http://www.britishsignlanguage.com/
Deuchar, M. (1984). British sign language. Boston : Routledge
& Kegan Paul. ( 4th floor HV2469.E5D48 1984).
Hungary
Lancz, E. & Berbeco, S. (1999). A magyar jelnyelv Szótára.
(OVER 4th floor HV2475 .L359 1999).
Ireland
Foran, S. J. Irish sign language. Dublin: National Association
for the Deaf, 1996 (OVER 4th FL. HV2475 .I7 1996).
Irish
fingerspelling alphabet. (n.d.).
Retrieved August 2, 2002 from http://homepages.iol.ie/%7Ejohnpmon/signs.html
Irish numbers in sign. (n.d.).
Retrieved August 2, 2002
from http://homepages.iol.ie/~johnpmon/numbers.html
National Association of the Deaf. (1979). Irislan
: Basic Irish sign language for non-communicating students. Dublin: National
Association for the Deaf. (4th floor HV2469.I7I75).
Israel
Bar-Tzur, D. (1999). Resources for religious/spiritual interpreting.
Retrieved August 2, 2002 from http://www.rit.edu/~dabdis/rlgn/rsorcs.html
Costello, E. (1986). Religious signing: A comprehensive guide for all
faiths. New York: Bantam Books. ( 4th floor, HV2475.C67 1986).
This guide includes vocabulary for effective communication in religious settings.
More than 500 signs are included. The book contains a special section of favorite
verses, prayers and blessings. A complete index and cross-references are also
included.
Midreshet Sde-Boker. (1996). Hebrew fingerspelling. Retrieved
August 2, 2002 from http://www.boker.org.il/deaf/israel/esign.htm
*Namir, L. (1977). Dictionary of sign language of the deaf in Israel.
Jerusalem: Ministry of Social Welfare. (4th floor, HV2475.N35).
Shuart, A.K.(1986). Signs in Judaism : A resource book for the Jewish
deaf community. New York, N.Y. : Bloch Pub. Co. (4th floor HV2475.S529 1986)
Japan
Hasegawa, H. (1991). Japanese signs for computing terminology.
Ibaruki, Japan : Tsukuba College of Technology. (ETRR only HV2475 .H384 1991)
*Zen Nihon R¯oa Renmei. Shuwa Kenkyu Iinkai. (1991). An English dictionary
of basic Japanese signs. Tokyo, Japan : Organization Committee of the
XI World Congress of the Deaf c/o Japanese Federation of the Deaf. (4th floor
HV2475 .E54 1991).
Malaysia
Persekutuan Orang Pekak Malaysia.(2000). Bahasa isyarat Malaysia = Malaysian
sign language. [Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia] : Persekutuan Orang Pekak Malaysia.
(4th floor HV2474 .B343 2000).
Netherlands
Effatha Gebarenboek. (n.d.). Dutch sign dictionary. Retrieved
August 2, 2002 from http://www.effatha.nl/gebaren/
New Zealand
Kennedy, G. (Ed.). (1997). A dictionary of New Zealand Sign Language.
Auckland: Auckland University Press with Bridget Williams Books.(REF HV 2475.D56 1997).
Over 4000 signs are illustrated with line drawings. Each entry contains information
on how to make the sign, its semantic scope, and the words or phrases which
can be used to translate the sign. The signs are given in handshape order, with
alternative access offered by an index of words and phrases.
Polygot
(1988). Introduction to world sign language. Japan : Kosaido Books.(4th
floor, HV2475 .I587 1988).
Bar-Tzur, D. (2000). Deaf culture and sign languages of the world.
Retrieved August 2, 2002 from http://www.rit.edu/%7Edabdis/indj/dcoew.html
Ethnologue. (2002). Languages of the world. Retrieved August 2,
2002 from http://www.ethnologue.com/web.asp
Gay, G. (22, April 2001). Fingerspelling wizard. Retrieved August
1, 2002 from http://www.iwaynet.net/%7Eggwiz/asl/.
View Norwegian, French, United Kingdom, Deaf-Blind alphabets
Sign languages and fingerspelling international. (2001). Retrieved
August 2, 2002 from
http://www.taubenschlag.de/links/asle.html
Proctor, C.O. (1995). NTC'S Multilingual dicionary of American Sign Language:
The essential guide to multilingual communication with American Sign Language.
Lincolnwood, Illinois: National Textbook Co. (REF 1st floor HV2475 .N73 1995).
This dictionary contains approximately 2,500 entries in Arabic, Chinese, Dutch,
English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguse, Russian, Spanish
and Swedish-each illustrated with an appropriate representation of the word
in ASL.
Proctor, C.O. (2000). Signing in fourteen languages: A multilingual dictionary
of 2,500 American Sign Language words. New York: Black Dog & Leventhal
Publishers. (REF and 4th floor HV 2475.P75).
Translates Arabic, Chinese, Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese,
Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish and Swedish into American Sign Language.
*Sandager, O.K. (1986). Sign languages around the world. North Hollywood, Calif. : OK Pub.(4th floor HV2475.S26 1986).
Sutton, V. (2002). Who uses SignWriting? Retrieved August 1, 2002
from http://www.SignBank.org/
22 countries use the SignWriting notation system.
Quebec
Alphabet manuel de la LSQ. (n.d.). Retrieved August 2, 2002 from
http://www.cvm.qc.ca/dcb/pages/alphabet.htm
Slovakia
*Csonka, S, Mistrík, J., & Ubár, L. (1986). Frekvencný
slovník posunkovej reci. Bratislava : Slovenské pedagogické
nakl. (ETRR only HV2475 .C76 1986).
Podborsek, L., Möderndorfer, M., & Zveza slusno prizadetih Slovenije.(1984).
Govorica rok : prirocnik za ucenje kretalnega govora. [Ljubljana]
: Zveza sluno prizadetih Slovenije. (4th floor HV2475 .G68 1984).
South Africa
Penn, C. (1992). Dictionary of Southern African signs for communicating
with the deaf. [Pretoria] : Joint Project of the Human Sciences Research
Council and the South African National Council for the Deaf. (OVER 4th floor.
HV2475 .P46 1992 v.1 - 5).
Soviet Union-Russan Federation
Geilman, I. F. (1975-1979). Spetsificeskie sredstva obsceniia gluhih :
Daktilolgiia, imimika : ucebnoe posobie, castie I. Leningrad.(4th floor,
HV2474.G45 v.1-4).
Spanish
Gustason, G., Zawolkow, E., & Norris, C. B. (1982). Libro para las
familias de habla hispana que tienen hijos sordos enlas escuelas y que usan
Signos para el ingles exacto. Los Alamitos, CA : Modern Signs Press.(4th
floor HV2475.G8718 1982 ).
O'Rourke, T. & Sternberg, M.L.A. (1973). Curso basico en communicacion
manual : Programa de adiestramiento en communicacion..Silver Spring,
Md. : NAD. (4th floor HV2474 .C977 1973).
Royet, H.M. (1993). Lenguaje manual Colombiano.
Bogotá, Colombia : FENASCOL, Federacion Nacional de Sordos de Colombia.
(ETRR only HV2475 .R69 1993).
Thailand
M¯anf¯a Suwannarat, Samakhom Khon Hu
Nuak h & Khrongkan Ch. (1986). Pathanukrom phasa m-.[Bangkok,
Thailand] : Samakhom Khon Hu Nuak h. (ETRR only HV2475.P37 1986).
Other Sign Languages
Australian Aborigines
Sebeok, T.A. & Umiker-Sebeok, D.J. (1978). Aboriginal sign languages
of the Americas and Australia. New York : Plenum Press. (4th floor,
E98.S5A23 v.1 & 2).
Dance and Sign Language History
Williams, D.(2000). Anthropology and human movement : Searching for origins.
Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press. (4th floor, GV1595 .W53 2000).
Native Americans
Dubois, D. (1985). Indian Signals and Sign Language. Wings Book.
(OVER 4TH floor, E98.S5F7613).
Compiled by Joan Naturale
Email: JXNWML@rit.ed
Links checked 16 August 2004.