RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Sign Language Dictionaries--Videos, DVDs, CDs

References

English

Photography

Sexuality

Anthropology

Fine and Applied Arts

Printing

Social Work

Audiology & Speech

Fingerspelling

Psychology

Sports

Business

Legal

Regional Signs

TV Media

Career Education

Mathematics/Numbers

Religion/Catholic

Theater

Computer Medical/Drugs Sciences S.L. Dictionary Print

Engineering

Optical Finishing Technology

Secretarial

Einstein Library Catalog

The videos (26 topic areas) from the Technical Signs Project are included in this list. The Project Overview and Reading Technical Sign Diagrams (ETRR, RIT Library, Archives & 4th floor HV 2474.T43 1993) manual explains the system used for representing signs in the manuals. For more information, contact Dr. Frank Caccamise at fccncr@rit.edu. Note: MRC means the Media Resource Center located in the basement of WML.

References
Poor, G. (2000). American Sign Language Dictionary and Inflection Guide. CD-ROM. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. Color/Signed. 4th floor, HV2475 .A64 2000.
This is the first and only product that links thousands of signs to sentences that show how they change. This is critical because unlike English words, ASL signs change - inflect - from sentence to sentence to show different meanings. The sign for help, for example, can change to mean help me, help them, help for a long time, etc. The experts at RIT's National Technical Institute for the Deaf have developed this innovative dictionary that not only shows you 2,700 signs, but shows most of them in sentences. You can see the inflections and learn how they work to help gain a true understanding of the language of ASL, not just a list of its vocabulary. Features 2,700 ASL signs and English equivalents, 2,000 signs linked to at least one of 650 sentences that illustrate how the signs change to show different meanings, English translations of sentences, 1,000 signs grouped into 26 categories, Similar Signs -- signs that look alike -- are separately grouped for easy comparison . All signs and sentences performed by Deaf native signers in high quality QuickTime movies Various options for viewing the sentences: ASL first, English second; English first, ASL second; both simultaneously; and various default and replay options for order of presentation and signing speed. Both print (CD booklet) and on-line Help files. An on-line text section that discusses both ASL inflection and ASL sentence structure, with video examples. Works on both Macintosh and Windows platforms. (From NTID web site)

Sternberg, M.L.A. (1994). American Sign Language Dictionary on CD-ROM. New York: Warner New Media. Color/Signed. (4th floor, HV2475 .S77 1994).
Based on the best-selliing ASL Dictionary series by Martin L.A. Sternberg, this CD-ROM features video clips, illustrations and text descriptions for 2200 signs; slow motion or zoom-in for a precise view of hand and finger motion; practice sessions and games; ability to find signs for words and phrases using English, French, Spanish, Italian or German; the history of ASL, fingerspelling, sign language etiquette, facial expressions in using sign language; optional audo and a guided tour of the CD-ROM's options.

Anthropology
*Caccamise, F. (1978). Anthropology I & II. [Videocassette]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (45, 55 min.). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC, VH1843.3A-B).
Hearing and deafness. -- Language. -- Communication modes and methods. -- Sound and hearing loss

Audiologists and Speech Therapists

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Communications Audiology [Videocassette]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (36 mins). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC, VH1843.14)

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Communications Audiology Sentences. [Videocassette]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (43 mins). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC, VH1843.15).

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Communications Speech Pathology [Videocassette]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (30 mins.)
Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC VH1843.16)
Speech pathology 1. -- Speech pathology 2. -- Speech pathology 3 .

Business
, Economics
*Caccamise, F. (1978). Business [Videocassette]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (38 min.). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC VH1843.18 ).
General 1. -- General 2. -- Investments, stocks & bonds 1. -- Investments, stocks & bonds 2. -- Accounting 1. -- Accounting 2. -- Accounting 3

*Caccamise, F. (1985). Economics I & II [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. ( (42, 48 min.). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC-VH 1843.15 & VH 1843.16).
General 1. -- General 2. -- General 3. -- Micro-economics 1. -- Micro-economics 2. -- Microc -economics 3. -- Micro-economics 4. -- Micro-economics- 5

Money & Banking Sign Language Video.(2002). Videocassette. CerforMedia. . 190 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, HG151.3 .B365 2002).

Career Education/Employment
*Caccamise, F. (1978). Career Education I & II [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (49, 36 min.). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC, VH1843.12A-B).
Workshop process terms 1. -- Workshop process terms 2. -- Planning 1. -- Planning 2 and CONTENTS: Comprehensive career education matrix (CCEM) 1. -- Comprehensive career education matrix (CCEM) 2. -- General career education 1. -- General career education 2

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Employment [Videocassette]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (53 min.).Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC, VH1843.19).

Technical Signs Interviews.(1996) Videocassettes. Northridge, CA : Western Region Outreach Center & Consortia, National Center on Deafness. Signed/Color/Captioned.(4th floor, HV2474 .T44 1996).
A series of interviews with deaf professionals, intended to describe various jobs and the American Sign Language signs specific to each job.
No. 1. Computer programming / Bobbi Maucere
No. 2. Graphic arts / Lisa Chahayed
No. 3. Health occupations / Fred Lovitch
no. 5. General contractor / Anthony Ivankovic
no. 6. Business accounting / David Staehle
no. 8. Anthropology / Simon Carmel
no. 9. Theatre arts / Patrick Graybill
no. 10. Human resources / David Strom
no. 15. TV & film production / Barry White
no. 16. TV & film production / Mike Montagnino
no. 17. Organic chemistry / Walter Trafton
no. 18. Home economics / Grace Steingieser
no. 19. Math / Keith Mousley
no. 20. Math & computer science / Harvey Goodstein
no. 22. Electrical mechanical technician / David Johnston
no. 23. Psychology / Matt Searles
no. 26. Architecture / Mark Quinones

Computer
*Caccamise, F. (1978). Computer Terminology I, II, III. [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (55, 56, 54 mins.). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC, VH1843.10A-B).
Prefixes and suffixes

Harris, Raina. (1994). Computer vocabulary [Videocassette]. Wilmington, MA : Resource Power. (40 mins.). Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, HV2475 C657 1994).
A video that helps you to understand the different parts of the computer and its vocabulary using American Sign Language.

Engineering

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Engineering I, II, III, IV [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (57, 49, 45, 35 min.). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC, VH1843.5A-D).
Circuit analysis 1. -- Circuit analysis 2. -- Circuit analysis 3. -- Circuit analysis 4. -- Circuit analysis 5. -- Mechanical 1. -- Mechanical 2; CONTENTS: Construction technology materials 1. -- Construction Technology materials 2. -- Construction technology drafting 1

English

*Caccamise, F. (1978). English I, II [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (35, 50 min.). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC, VH1843.8A).

Fine and Applied Arts

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Fine and applied arts [Videocassette]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (29 min.). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC, VH1843.17).
General foundations 1. -- General foundations 2. -- General foundations 3

Fingerspelling
*Groode, J.L. (1992). Fingerspelling: Expressive and receptive fluency. [Videocassette]. San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress. (120 mins.) Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (4th floor, HV 2477.F55 1992).
Based on her popular and successful workshops, the videos discuss dealing with strategies for building and improving both expressive and receptive fingerspelling skills. Comes with a companion booklet.

*Sign Media. (1991). Fingerspelling practice tapes. [Videocassettes]. Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media.Color/Signed. (4th floor HV 2477.F55 1991 no.1-4).
There are four videos entitled, "Fingerspelling Loaned Signs", "Proper Names", "Geographic Locations" and "Miscellaneous Items". The videos include slow and fast signing with proper names, geographic locations and other useful items.

Legal
*Caccamise, F. (1988). Legal I, II, III, IV. [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (58, 50, 57, 42 min.). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC, VH1843.11A-D).
Includes technical signs for legal terms: people, courtroom procedures and wills; Includes technical signs for legal terms: probate matters, condemnation cases, house closings, divorce, general terms, and law and statutes.

Mathematics/Numbers
*Caccamise, F. (1978). Mathematics I, II [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (57, 19 min.). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC, VH1843.13A-B).
General 1. -- General 2. -- Arithmetic processes. -- Graphical terms & fields of study. -- Powers, roots, & shapes; Measurement systems & quantities. -- Metric measurement

*MacDougall, C. (1997). Number signs for everyone: Numbering in American Sign Language [Videocassette]. San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress.(90 mins.). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (4th floor, HV 2474.n8595 1997).
This video focuses on using number signs in ASL. Knowing how to count isn't enough; handshapes and rules for expressing humbers in quantities, time, money measurements, game scores and more are shown. Comes with a companion workbook.

*Sign Media. (1989). Cardinal and Ordinal Systems [Videocassette]. Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media. (40 mins.). Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, HV2474 .A186 1989).

*Sign Media. (1989). Incorporating Systems. [Videocassette]. Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media. (46 mins.). Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, HV2474 .A185 1989).

*Sign Media. (1989). Unique Systems [Videocassette]. Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media. (40 mins.). Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, HV2474 .A184 1989).

Medical
/Drugs
Medical Sign Language Video. Videocassette. CerforMedia, 2003. 152 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (3rd floor, R123 .M435 2003).

Optical Finish Technology
*Caccamise, F. (1978). Optical Finishing Technology I , II [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (42 min., 48 min). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC, VH1843.7A & B).

Photography

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Photography [Videocassette]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (42 min.). (MRC, VH1843.21).
General 1. -- The camera 1 . -- The camera 2. -- The darkroom

Printing
*Caccamise, F. (1978). Printing [Videocassette]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.(35 min.). (MRC, VH1843.20).

Psychology

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Psychology I, II, III, IV, V [Videocassette]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (50, 46, 55, 53, 50 min.). (MRC, VH1843.9A-E).
Depth perception. -- Memory 1. -- Memory 2. -- Memory 3. -- Thinking 1. -- Thinking 2. -- Motivation 1. -- Motivation 2 General 1. -- Types of psychologists. -- Research 1. -- Research 2. -- Learning and conditioning 1. -- Learning and conditioning 2 Emotional health 1. -- Emotional health 2. -- Emotional health 3. -- Emotional health 4. -- Emotional health 5 Technical signs for emotions, social psychology, attribution theory, proxemics, personal space/zone

Regional Sign Language

ASL Across America Series: Participants demonstrate regional sign variations while discussing personal school experiences, education of deaf children, and the past, present and future of deaf clubs.v. 1. Edited English version of conversation with voice over -- v. 2. Unedited version with voice over and split screen.

ASL Across America: Albuquerque. [Videocassette]. (1992). Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media. Signed and voiced. 4th floor, HV2561.N4 A4 1992.

ASL Across America: Detroit. [Videocassette]. (1989). Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media.112 mins. Signed and voiced. 4th floor, HV2561.M5 D48 1989.

ASL Across America: Philadelphia. [Videocassette]. (1989). Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media.110 mins. Signed and voiced. 4th floor, HV2561.P4 P44 1989.

ASL Across America: San Francisco. [Videocassette]. (1989). Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media. 107 mins. Signed and Voiced. 4th floor, HV2561.C3 S36 1989.

ASL Across America: Seattle. [Videocassette]. (1992). Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media. Signed and voiced. 4th floor, HV2561.W3 S3 1992.

ASL Across America: St. Paul
. [Videocassette]. (1992). Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media. 112 mins. Signed and voiced. 4th floor, HV2561.M6 S7 1992.

Religion
*Caccamise, F. (1978). Religion/Catholic I, II, III. [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (45, 49, 36 min.) (MRC, VH1843.4A-C).
Scripture. -- Old & New Testament biblical persons. -- Biblical places. -- Scriptural study CONTENTS: Holidays and seasons. -- Sacraments. -- God and the holy spirit. -- Jesus CONTENTS: Prayer and worship. -- Liturgical vocabulary 1. -- Liturgical vocabulary 2. -- Liturgical vocanbulary 3. -- Scriptural vocabulary 1. -- Scriptural vocabulary 2. .

Sciences
*Caccamise, F. (1978). Science/Biology [Videocassette]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.(30 min.) (MRC, VH1843.27).
General 1. -- Cell and tissue 1. -- Genetics 1. -- Microbiology 1

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Science/General I, II, III, IV [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned (30 min.). (MRC, VH1843.24A-D).
Physical quantities. -- Mechanical 1. -- Mechanical 2. -- Processes 1. -- Processes 2. -- Processes 3. -- Processes 4. -- Scientific fields

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Science/Physics I, II [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (30 min.). (MRC, VH1843.25A-B).
Wave theory 1. -- Wave theory 2. -- Geometrical optics 1. -- Geometrical optics 2. -- Geometrical optics 3. -- Electricty and magnetism 1. -- Electricty and magnetism 2

Secretarial

*Caccamise, F. (1998). Secretarial I, II [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (44, 47 min.). (MRC, VH1843.1A-B).

Sexuality

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Human Sexuality I,II [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. (37, 50 min.). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (MRC, VH1843.2A-B).
General anatomy & psysiology. -- Female anatomy & Physiology. -- Male anatomy & physiology. -- Health & hygiene 1. -- Health & hygiene 2

Social Work

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Social Work I, II [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (30 min.). (MRC, VH1843.23A-B).

Sports
Baseball. Videocassette. Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media, 1991. 30 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, GV867 .B38 1991).
Containing a brief history of the game, an overview of the rules, and vocabulary used in the game.

Basketball. Videocassette. Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media, 1991. 29 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced (4th floor, GV885 .B38 1991.)
Containing a brief history of the game, an overview of the rules, and vocabulary used in the game.

Soccer. Videocassette. Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media, 1991. 20 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor GV943 .S42 1991.)
Containing a brief history of the game, an overview of the rules, and vocabulary used in the game.

Volleyball. Videocassette.Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media, 1999. 20 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, GV1015 .G655 1991.)
Containing a brief history of the game, an overview of the rules, and vocabulary used in the game.

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Sports/General I [Videocassette]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (? min.) (MRC, VH1843.28).

Television/Media
*Caccamise, F. (1978). Television/Media I, II [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (30, 30 min.). (MRC, VH1843.26A-B).

Theater

*Caccamise, F. (1978). Theatre I, II, III [Videocassettes]. Rochester, NY: RIT, NTID. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (30, 30, 30 min.). (MRC, VH1843.22A-C).
General. -- People 1. -- People 2. -- People 3. -- General facilities 1. -- General facilities 2. -- Stage facilities. -- Stage House 1. -- Stage house 2 Technical 1. -- Technical 2. -- Lighting 1. -- Lighting 2. -- Lighting 3. -- Makeup and costume. -- Basic stage directions. -- Stage positions. -- Analysis 1. -- Analysis 2. -- Analysis 3 Script 1. -- Script 2. -- Acting terms 1. -- Acting terms 2. -- Acting terms 3. -- Acting terms 4. -- Rehearsal. -- Dates and times 1. -- Dates and times 2

For more information contact:
Joan Naturale
Deaf, Disability and Education Librarian
Deafness News and Resources
jxnwml@rit.edu
IM me at ntidlibrarian
Videophone IP: 129.21.179.36 (D-Link)