RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Statistical Sources in Business and Economics

REF HD 8051 .A522
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics. Washington: Government Printing Office. Valuable one volume of major BLS statistics, with each table giving figures for several years. Statistics cover: labor force, employment, hours, productivity, compensation, prices and living conditions, unions and industrial relations, occupational injuries and illnesses, and foreign labor statistics. Two other useful annual statistical volumes in the Bureau of Labor Statistics Bulletin series are "Employment and Earnings" (REF HD 5723 .A42- ) which gives monthly historical statistics by SIC Industry and "Employment and Earnings", States and Areas (REF HD 5723 .F38- ) with figures for states and some cities by 2-digit SIC industries.

REF and RESD HA 202 .A35
Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington: U.S. Department of Commerce. Annual. Summarizes social, political, and economic statistics, primarily from government sources. Excellent starting point for many statistics.

REF HC 101 .A13122
Business Statistics of the United States. Biennial. Washington: U. S. Bureau of Commerce. Provides historical record of the statistical series (about 2,500) appearing currently in the monthly Survey of Current Business, and it is published as a supplement to the survey. Tables give annual averages, beginning with 1947, and monthly figures for the most recent years.

REF HF 1041 .C56
CRB Commodity Yearbook. Jersey City, NJ: Commodity Research Bureau. Annual. Useful statistical compilation covering about 99 commodities and giving, production, prices, stocks, exports and imports.

REF HC 106.5 .A27
Economic Report of the President. Washington: Government Printing Office. Annual. Discusses economic policy and outlook and economic trends of the year. Includes statistical tables relating to income, employment and production.

REF HF 5438 .A34
Sales and Marketing Management: Survey of Buying Power . New York: Bill Communications. Useful for marketing and economic research. Provides current estimates showing US and Canadian geographic variations in population, income and retail business. Up-to-date demographic and sales statistics.

REF HF 5905 .S723
Standard Rate and Data Service. Skokie, IL: Standard Rate & Data Service. Monthly. Three of the volumes (newspapers, spot radio, and television) include marketing statistics at the beginning of each state section.

STATISTICAL SOURCES

County Business Patterns . Washington: U.S. Department of Comerce. Annual series. Individual volumes available for each state as well as an overview volume for the entire US. Reach report presents state and county level employment figures, payroll information and establishment numbers by employment size class. Breakdowns are based on the Standard Industrial Classification Code (SIC ) system (REF HF 1042.S72).

REF HC106.6.S74
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys via NetAdvantage. New York: Standard & Poor's. Quarterly. For each industry, the statistical service includes "Basic Analysis" and "Current Analysis" sections which rate the leading companies by their sales, net income, capital expenditures, return on equity and assets, etc.

US BUREAU OF THE CENSUS SOURCES

US Economic Census Comprehensive and periodic censuses of the nation's industrial and business activities. The economic censuses (retail, wholesale, selective service industries, construction, manufacturers, and transportation) are all taken every 5 years. Check the Industry Analysis Guide for a description and the location in this library.

American Fact FinderSearchable database to the US Population Census information.

BUS Government Periodicals

REF HB235.U6 U54b
CPI Detailed Report . Washington: U.S. Department of Labor. Monthly. Source for detailed breakdown of consumer price index. Gives historical data as well as current.

REF HC101.A186
Economic Indicators. Washington: Government Printing Office. Monthly. Statistical tables and charts for the basic US economic indicators. Includes total output, income and spending, employment and unemployment, production and business activity, prices, money credits and security markets, and federal finance.

REF HD5723.E383
Employment and Earnings . Washington: Government Printing Office. Monthly. Detailed statistics on earnings by type of industry and by compensation levels.

REF HG2401.A5
Federal Reserve Bulletin. Washington: Federal Reserve Board. Monthly. Best single source for current US banking and monetary statistics. Also includes some international financial statistics, and basic business statistics such as construction, employment, prices, national income and the FRB's index of industrial production. For Federal Reserve Bulletin articles go to Federal Reserve Bulletin.

REF HD8051.A78
Monthly Labor Review. Washington: Government Printing Office. Monthly. Indispensable for its current statistics on selected employment indicators, unemployment rates, wages and compensation, price data and productivity, etc.

REF HC101.A13
Survey of Current Business. Washington: U.S. Department of Commerce. Monthly. The single most important sources for current business statistics. Two major sections: (1) "Business Situation" - charts and tables on the current economic situation. Includes statistics on price indexes, personal income and its disposition, unemployment rate, GNP, etc. (2) "Current Business Statistics" - tabular representation of the leading business indicators including GNP, industrial production, domestic trade, and national income. Special reports include "National Income Issue" (July); "Aspect of International Investment" (August); "Balance of Payments" (usually quarterly); "Corporate Profits"; "Local Area Personal Income" (April); "Plant and Equipment Expenditures" (in about 3 issues); "State and Regional Income" (2 times per year).

INTERNET SOURCES

Selected web sites for Statistics. are found on the library's website.



For More Information Contact:
Jennifer Freer
Library Liaison
E. Philip Saunders College of Business
Business News and Resources
jlfwml@rit.edu
IM me at bizlibrarian