Sign Language, Fingerspelling and Numbers Videos, DVDs and CDs

Videos are located on the 3rd and 4th floors and may be borrowed for up to 3 weeks. There are tvs, vcrs and captioning available at MRC, basement of the library. Students may view videos there. One * means it's available at ETRR, LBJ 3355. Two ** means it's available at ETRR and MRC, basement of library.

ASL Dictionary ASL Practice
ASL Instruction Fingerspelling
ASL Numbers Work Vocabulary


ASL Dictionaries
American Sign Language Dictionary. CD-ROM. Warner New Media, 1994. Color/Signed. 4th floor, HV2475 .S77 1994.  
Based on the best-selliing ASL Dictionary series by Martin L.A. Sternberg, this CD-ROM features video clips, illustrations and text descriptions for 2200 signs; slow motion or zoom-in for a precise view of hand and finger motion; practice sessions and games; ability to find signs for words and phrases using English, French, Spanish, Italian or German; the history of ASL, fingerspelling, sign language etiquette, facial expressions in using sign language; optional audo and a guided tour of the CD-ROM's options.

ASL Video Dictionary and Inflection Guide. CD-ROM. RIT, 1999. Color/Signed/Voiced. 4th floor,  HV2475 .A75 1999.       
Computer-based dictionary that shows 2,700 ASL signs and English equivalents in sentences, which are signed by deaf native signers in QuickTime movies.

ASL Instruction
*American Sign Language: A Student Text, Units 1-27. Videocassette (3). Sign Media, 1980. 1 hr. per video. Color/Signed.4th floor, HV 2474.A524 1990 no. 1-3.
These videos have a series of skits and role enactments that feature individuals using ASL to communicate and reinforces lessons in the student text. (Green book series).

The American Sign Language Phrase Book. Videocassettes (3). Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media, 1988. 180 mins. Color/Signed/Captioned. ETRR VIDEO 5110.
This video series was designed to accompany the text by Lou Fant of the same title. The presentations, sequencing, and pacing of items allows viewers to check their comprehension skills and practice their expressive skills. Each item on the videos are keyed to an exact page in the text, and each video contains over 200 phrases, expressions or sentences. Tape #1 contains everyday expressions, signing and deafness, getting acquainted, health and weather. Tape #2 includes phrases on family, school, food and drink, clothing, sports and recreation. Tape #3 covers travel, animals and colors, civics and religion, numbers, time, dates and money

*Beginning American Sign Language Videocourse. Videocassettes. Sign Enhancers, 1995. Color/Signed/Captioned/Voiced. 4th floor, HV 2474.B459 1992 no. 1-15.
Follow the family life of the Bravo Family (Deaf father, hearing mother, Deaf children) by watching their interactions. The instructor, Billy Seago, demonstrates vocabulary signs and highlights cultural and grammatical aspects of ASL which includes a practice session. Comes with a companion instructor's guide and student workbook.

Lesson 1: Meet the Bravos: Morning Routine Vocabulary (40 mins.)
Lesson 2: Breakfast with the Bravos: Dining Vocabulary (40 mins.)
Lesson 3: Where's the TV Remote? Household Vocabulary (30 mins.)
Lesson 4: Let's Go Food Shopping. Food Vocabulary (40 mins.)
Lesson 5: Review and Practice New Sentences (60 mins.)
Lesson 6: Read Any Good Fingers Lately? Manual Alphabet (35 mins.)
Lesson 7: A School Daze: School Vocabulary (40 mins.)
Lesson 8: A School Daze Sequel: School Vocabulary (45 mins.)
Lesson 9: Dollar Signs. Money Vocabulary. (50 mins.)
Lesson 10: Review and Practice New Vocabulary (60 miins.)
Lesson 11: Playing in the Park, Nature Vocabulary (45 mins.)
Lesson 12: The Doctor Is In. Medical Vocabulary (45 mins.)
Lesson 13: Business as Unusual. Work Vocabulary (45 mins.)
Lesson 14: Let's Go Clothes Shopping. Clothes Vocabulary (40 mins.)
Lesson 15: Review and Practice New Sentences (65 mins.)
Activities Video-Gives examples and ASL exercises (73 mins.)
Assessment Video-Gives timed practice exercises and tests (36 mins.)

Learning American Sign Language : Levels I & II, Beginning & Intermediate. Videocassette. Boston, MA : Allyn and Bacon, 2004. 4th floor, HV2474 .H86 2004. 

RSS: Ready! Set! Sign!! 5 CDs. LLC, 2001. RES, MULTI 352.    
Sign language course for beginning signers.

Sign Language for Everyone: An Interactive Guide to Learning American Sign Language. CD-ROM. Color/Signed. Higher Learning Systems, 1998. 4th floor, HV 2474.S5495 1998.
A comprehensive tool for anyone to learn to express themselves in ASL.

SignLink: Multimedia Lexicon and Tutorial for American Sign Language. CD-ROM. Sorenson Vision, Inc., 1998. Color/Signed. 4th floor, HV 2475.S55 1998. At Reserve Desk in Wallace Library.
Practice your signs using this interactive tutorial

*Signing Naturally Level 1 Student Videotext. DawnSignPress, 1988. 118 mins. Color/Signed. 4th floor, HV 2474.S582 1988.
Designed for use outside the classroom to reinforce and expand vocabulary, grammar and language functions taught in the classroom. Comes with a companion book.

Signing Naturally Level 1 Teacher's Curriculum Guide Videotext. DawnSignPress, 1988. 22 mins. Color/Signed.
4th floor, HV 2474.S5822 1988.
Designed for teachers who teach ASL using this curriculum. Comes with a companion teacher's text.

*Signing Naturally Level 2 Student Videotext. DawnSignPress, 1992. 240 mins. Color/Signed.4th floor, HV 2474.S5823 1992.
Designed for use outside the classroom to reinforce and expand vocabulary, grammar and language functions taught in the classroom. Comes with a companion text.

*Signing Naturally Level 2: Teacher's Cumulative Review. Videocassette. DawnSignPress, 1988. 30 mins. Color/Signed. 4th floor, HV 2474.S5824 1988.
Demonstrates the movement of signs as they are used in everyday conversations, such as introducing oneself, asking for and giving information, asking and giving directions, making requests, talking about activities, identifying others, etc.

*Signing Naturally Level 3 Student Videotext
. Videocassette. DawnSignPress, 2001.Color/Signed. 4th floor, HV2474 .M55 2001.
Comes with companion student text.

Signing Naturally Level 3 Teacher's Cumulative Review. Videocassette. DawnSignPress, 2001. Color/Signed. 4th floor, HV2474.M55 2001.
Designed for teachers' use. Comes with a companion teacher's guide.

ASL Numbers

ASL Numbers: Developing Your Skills Series. These videos focus on the rules and patterns of ASL's complex number systems. Each video deals with a category of numbers that will assist viewers in orgainzing the complex array of number patterns used in ASL. Each tape features explanations and demonstrations of a variety of Deaf models singing numbers in context. In addition, each tape contains practice drills for viewers to check comprehension and production.

*Cardinal and Ordinal System
. Videocassette. Sign Media, 1989. 40 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. 4th floor HV2474 .A186 1989.
*Unique Systems. Videocassette. Sign Media, 1989. 40 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. 4th floor, HV2474 .A184 1989.
*Incorporating Systems. Videocassette. Sign Media, 1989. 46 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. 4th floor, HV2474 .A185 1989.

*Number Signs for Everyone: Numbering in American Sign Language. Videocassette. Dawn Pictures, 1997. 90 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor, HV 2474.n8595 1997.
This video focuses on using number signs in ASL. Knowing how to count isn't enough; handshapes and rules for expressing humbers in quantities, time, money measurements, game scores and more are shown. Comes with a companion workbook.

*Receptive Number Practice with Dr. Sign. DVD. Florida First Coast Signing Video Productions, 1998. 60 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced 4th floor, HV2469.A7 R4 1998.
Provides number practice in sign language.

ASL Practice

ASL Practice Series: ASL Mini Stories:6E. Videocassette. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers, 1994. (45 mins.). Voiced/Color/Signed (ETRR only VIDEO 6515 no.5).
Strengthen your ASL comprehension as Nathie and Mark perform ASL mini-stories. Topics provided for context. Great consecutive interpreting practice! Model interpretations included.

ASL Practice Series: ASL Sentences: Sign to Voice: 6D. Videocassette.Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers, 1994.Voiced/Color/Signed (ETRR only VIDEO 6515 no.2).
Nathie and Mark sign ASL sentences to enhance your skills with classifiers, numbers, emotional variation, use of space, and sign-to-voice interpreting. Model interpretations provided.

ASL Practice Series: ASL Stories:6F. Videocassette. Salem OR: Sign Enhancers, 1994. (30 mins). Voiced/Color/Signed. (RES, HV2474.A48483 1994 and ETRR VIDEO 6515 no.6).
Full-length stories are beautifully signed for receptivity and voice interpreting practice. Model interpretation included.

ASL Practice Series: ASL Vocabulary, Affect, and Structure: 6C. Videocassette. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers, 1994. (45 mins.). Voiced/Color/Signed (ETRR only VIDEO 6515 no.3).
Increase your skills with vocabulary, affect, and ASL structure. Jenna Cassell models interpretations of spoken English sentences.

ASL Practice Series: Funny Bones:6H. Videocassette. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers, 1994. (25 mins.). Voiced/Color/Signed. (ETRR only VIDEO 6515 no.8).
Laugh your way to improved ASL comprehension and interpreting skills with these funnies performed by Lou Fant, Sharon Neumann Solow, and Dan Pineda.

ASL Practice Series: More ASL Sentences (Voice to Sign). Videocassette. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers, 1994. (20 mins.) Voiced/Color/Signed. (ETRR only VIDEO 6515 no. 12).

ASL Practice Series: Vocabulary: 6B. Videocassette. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers, 1994. (20 mins.) Voiced/Color/Signed. (ETRR only VIDEO 6515 no.10).
Improve vocabulary, grammar, and interpreting skills. Practice with Jenna Cassell as she demonstrates ASL conversational signs within interpreted sentences.

ASL Practice Series: Dialogues:6G. Videocassette. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers, 1994. (25 mins). Voiced/Color/Signed. (ETRR only VIDEO 6515 no.7).
Improve your ability to understand/interpret ASL conversations with three dramatic dialogues: teacher/student, counselor/client, and lawyer/client. Model interpretation included.

BITP: Instructional Stories. Videocassette. Knoxville, Tenn.: Knoxville Basic Interpreter Training Program, University of Tennessee, 1991. 34 mins. 4th floor, HV2474 .B58. ASL only.
Several people tell stories in American Sign Language

Handful of Stories, Volume 1. Videocassette. Washington, DC: Gallaudet College, 1981. Color/Signed. 4th floor HV2474.H36 1981 Pt. 1 and 2. 4 videocassettes (ca. 291 mins), 1 script.
Series of signed stories told by a vareity of signers. Most are told in Signed English.

M. Marshall Stories. Videocassette. Rochester, NY: NTID at RIT, 1991. (ca 13 min). Color/Signed. 4th floor, HV2474.M67 1991.
Professor & chauffeur -- Spring break in NYC

One to One Interview:7A. Videocassette. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers, 1989. (46 mins). Voiced/Color/Signed.RES, HV2474 .S445 1989.    
Shows how to interview, and interview with an interpreter. Interview between Hal Jorgensen and Jack Cassell (23 min.) -- Interview with model, interpretation by William Burt (23 min.)

Fingerspelling
1000 Fingerspelled Words. 2 CDs. Signs of Development, 2002. Color/Signed/Captioned. 4th floor, HV2477.O5 2002.   
Keith Cagle presents a comprehensive and intensive listing of most of the fingerspelled words that Deaf people use in their day-to-day lives. Introduces you to a brief history of fingerspelling, provides principles for effective production and reception of fingerspelling and contains 45 categories of fingerspelled words within an ASL sentence. Combines text with video clips. disc 1. Introduction -- Purpose History Principles & tips -- 26 letters of the alphabet & varieties -- Categories (1000 sentences and words) -- Lexicalized fingerspelled words in sentences -- Lexicalized fingerspelled words activity -- Sentence activity. disc 2. Stories in the car -- Stories (varied ages, genders & backgrounds) -- Activity -- Post-test stories -- Further readings.

*Fast Receptive Fingerspelling. DVD. M & M Multi-Media Productions, 2002. 60 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor, HV2477 .F37 2002.
Over 2,300 words fingerspelled in a variety of ways by seven deaf people from a variety of backgrounds. The video asked viewer to cover the bottom of the TV screen, so viewer will not see the captions. In the mean time, viewer should try to read the fingerspelling words he sees on screen on a tape recorder. When finishing viewing, he should take off the cover on the bottom of the screen and see his comprehension by listening to his "voicing" while reading the captions on the screen. The video also asks the viewer not to deprive himself of a good learning experience by giving up too soon .

Finger Flicks. Advanced. Tape 1 : Fingerspelling Drills. Videocassette. SignQuest Publishers, 1994. 90 mins. 4th floor,
HV2477 .F564 1994.  
Eight 10-12 minute lessons: 15 words about a topic, 15 numbers of a certain type, 10 sentences on a topic, with fingerspelling. For advanced students of ASL, professionals who use sign on a regular basis, and practicing interpreters.

Finger Flicks. Intermediate I. Tape 1 : Fingerspelling Drills. Videocassette. SignQuest Publishers, 1994. 86 mins. 4th floor, HV2477 .F56 1994.
Eight 10-12 minutes lessons to help students improve their proficiency in understanding fingerspelling. Fingerspelling is presented at the model's "normal" speed and repeated at a slightly slower rate. For students in third/fourth semesters ASL class.

Fingerspelling 1. DVD-ROMs. Signs for Intelligence, 2005. Color/Signed/Written English.
4th floor,  HV2477 .F565 2005.
These two DVDs contain a 16 week curriculum on teaching fingerspelling to first time students. Lessons are taught using real-life scenarios. Home assignments, practice tests, and exams are included. System requirements: Computer with a DVD drive or a TV/DVD system. Disc 1. Teacher's guide -- Disc 2. Student video. The 16 weekly lessons include acronyms, famous names, numbers, categories, hand location, test preparation, test, personal names, eye contact, double letters, short words, nomenclature, rhythm, misspelled words, exam preparation, final exam.

Fingerspelling 2. DVD-ROMs. Signs for Intelligence, 2005. Color/Signed/Written English. 4th floor, HV2477 .F5662 2005.
These two DVDs contain a 16 week curriculum on teaching fingerspelling to first time students. Lessons are taught using real-life scenarios. Home assignments, practice tests, and exams are included. System requirements: Computer with a DVD drive or a TV/DVD system. Disc 1. Teacher's guide -- Disc 2. Student video. The 16 weekly lessons include presidential names, outer space, skill level, different eras, academic setting, math, prefixes and suffixes, test preparation, test, pace, medical terms, menus, practice sentences, SSI, final exam preparation, final exam. This DVD also presents the Miranda Rights translated into ASL.    

*Fingerspelling: Expressive and Receptive Fluency.
Videocassette. DawnSignPress, 1992. 120 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor, HV 2477.F55 1992.
Based on her popular and successful workshops, the videos discuss dealing with strategies for building and improving both expressive and receptive fingerspelling skills. Comes with a companion booklet.

Fingerspelling: The Final Frontier. Videocassette. Sign Enhancers, 2001. 52 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. 4th floor, HV2480 .F56 2001.

*Fingerspelling Practice Tapes. Videocassette. Sign Media, 1991. Color/Signed. 4th floor, HV 2477.F55 1991 no.1-4.
There are four videos entitled, "Fingerspelling Loaned Signs", "Proper Names", "Geographic Locations" and "Miscellaneous Items". The videos include slow and fast signing with proper names, geographic locations and other useful items.

Work Vocabulary

ASL at Work,Level One : Student Text. Video. NTID, 2005. 75 mins. Color/Signed. OVER 4th, HV2474 .N49 2005.
   
Signing in the Workplace. Videocassette. Time to Sign, 2001. 20 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. 4th floor, HV2474 .S554 2001.
Experts teach viewers individual signs, then viewers see the signs in action through typical workplace scenarios, from job inquiry to office emergencies

For more information contact:
Joan Naturale
Deaf, Disability and Education Librarian
Deafness News and Resources
jxnwml@rit.edu
IM me at ntidlibrarian
Videophone IP: 129.21.179.36 (D-Link)