Videos are located on the 3rd and 4th floors and may be borrowed for up to 3 weeks. There are tvs, vcrs and captioning available at MRC, basement of the library. Students may view videos there. One * means it's available at ETRR, LBJ 3355. Two ** means it's available at ETRR and MRC, basement of library.
A Commitment to Access for Patients who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing. DVD. Fairview Health Services, 2005. 141 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor, HV2395 .C66 2005.
A notice to patients on access -- The Minnesota Patients' Bill of Rights -- Notice of privacy practices -- Information about advance health care directives.
*AIDS in the Deaf Community: Deaf in the AIDS Community: Creating Partnerships. Videocassette. UCSF Center on Deafness, 1996. 35 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor, HV 2395.A57 1996.
Discusses the unique needs and services of Deaf people with AIDS or infected with HIV.
Listen to the Hands of Our People. DVD. Deaf Vision Filmworks, 2004. 81 mns. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 3rd floor, RA643.8 .L57 2004.
A documentary film featuring seven HIV positive Deaf and Hard of Hearing people living with AIDS.
Alcohol and Drug Information
Alcoholics Anonymous: The Story of How Many Thousands of Men and Women Have Recovered from Alcoholism. Videocassettes. New York: AlcoholicsAnonymous World Services, 1992. 4th floor HV5278 .A45 1992 5 videocassettes (591 min.).
In American Sign Language. Signer/translator/actor, Alan R. Barwiolek ; narrator, Philip E. Giambaresi
This is a signed language video of the third edition of the Alcoholics Anonymous story. It covers individual case studies and maps out the steps that can be taken in order to recover from alcoholism.
ASL Translation of AA's Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions. Videocassette. NTID, 2003. 30 mins. Color/Signed. 4th floor, HV5278 .A7 2003.
Presents a translation of the Twelve steps and Twelve traditions of Alcoholics Anonymous into sign language
v. 1. Preface, forewords to first, second and third editions, the doctor's opinion (56:11) ; Chapter 1 Bill's story (48:58) ; Chapter 2
There is a solution (38:15).
v. 2. Chapter 3 More about alcoholism (41:32) ; Chapter 4 We agnostics (43:44) ;
Chapter 5 How it works (39:44) .
v. 3. Chapter 6 Into action (49:13) ; Chapter 7 Working with others 41:33) -- Chapter 8 To wives (49:52)
v. 4. Chapter 9 The family afterward (40:17) ; Chapter 10 To employers (38:28) ; Chapter 11 A vision for you (39:50)
v. 5. Dr. Bob's nightmare (28:03) ; Appendices (37:48)
Peer Education in Drug and Alcohol Prevention with Deaf Youth. Videocassette.. Rochester, NY: NTID at RIT, 1993. 35 mins.4th floor, HV5824.Y68 .P44 1993
Discusses drug-related problems as they pertain to the deaf youth community.
Signs of Drug Use. Videocassette. Silver Spring, MD: TJ Publishers, 1985. 160 mins. 4th floor, HV2474 .S546 1985. Videotape designed to accompany book Signs of Drug Use.
Jan Gemmill, Mike Jackson. Signers teach ASL signs associated with drug use with printed English glossary shown
Alcohol use and effects (3:32 min.) -- Caffeine-related drugs 10:04 min.) -- Drugs usually in pill form (11:12 min.) -- General drug effects (15:05 min.) -- Marijuana use and affects (21:27 min.) -- Tobacco use (28:09 min.) -- Other signs (30:42 min.) -- Fingerspelled vocabulary (39:21 min).
Signs for Recovery. Videocassette. VMA Video, 2003. 44 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor, HV4997.D43 S545 2003.
Provides an understanding for counselors, social workers, consumers, and others of the specialized signs and concepts used in the chemical dependency and substance abuse treatment setting
*Silent Suffering: Substance Abuse in the Deaf Community. Videocassette. Signs of Sobriety, Inc. 1993. 15 mins. Color/Captioned/Signed. 4th floor, HV 4999.D43555 1993.
Discusses alcohol and drug addiction services to the deaf community and covers cultural, treatment and recovery issues.
Internal Discussions: An Appointment in Cardiology. CD-ROM. Digiterp and College of St. Catherine, 2003. Color/Signed/Captioned. 3rd floor, RC682 .I58 2003
This CD is designed as a follow-up to To the Heart of the Matter and represents an opportunity to apply understanding of the cardiovascular system’s anatomy to interpreting an interaction in a clinical setting. In it, a Deaf patient and his wife goes for an appointment in cardiology and learns he has angina pectoris. The CD provides a systematic approach to dealing with a medical interaction, providing internet resources for preparation; formats for working both consecutively and simultaneously, as well as the chance to observe the actual interpretation created during filming. All of the video is fully accessible, including captions and transcripts, and is designed for use by both hearing and Deaf interpreters. In addition, a study packet, Steps to the Beat, is available to allow interpreters to work with this CD and To the Heart of the Matter to earn RID CEUs. (January 2004).
To the Heart of the Matter: The Cardiovascular System in ASL and English. CD-ROM, Digiterp and College of St. Catherine, 2002. Color/Signed/Captioned. 3rd floor, QM178 .T6 2002
This CD, produced by Todd Tourville, represents a coordinated effort to bring technical information from a college level-setting to working interpreters and ITP students. On the CD-ROM, you will see a cardiovascular system lecture presented by Paul Buttenhoff, an Assistant Professor at the College of St. Catherine and Kendall Kail, a Kinesiology student, who is culturally Deaf, from the University of Minnesota. The lectures cover the same material and are excellent tools for interpreters and students to use when working to improve their receptive and expressive skills. In addition, the CD contains model interpretations for both lectures by Patty McCutcheon, a nationally certified interpreter as well as short warmup lectures by both presenters, transcripts of the English lectures, outline notes from the technical ASL lectures, a list of specialized vocabulary and diagrams of the heart.
All in Due Time: Perspectives on Childbirth from Deaf Parents. 2 CDs. Digiterp and College of St. Catherine, 2003. Color/Signed/Voiced. 3rd floor, RG525.A44 2003.
This 2 CD set features 6 Deaf couples sharing rich stories that include a variety of factors and complications that occurred before, during and after the births of their children. It includes various ideas for using the CD, as well as a listing of internet resources that will help interpreters prepare for work with this material (and with ob/gyn appointments they may be scheduled to interpret.) In addition, the CD provides rich examples of interaction between couples (and summaries of the texts toassist in comprehension.) The couples sharing their perspectives are: Egina and Jimmy Beldon; Heidi and Jeff Branch; Christine and Roger Kraft; Stacie and Scott Miller, Brandi and Tim Rarus, Melody and Russell Stein. (October 2003).
Birth Companions: Perspectives on Doulas and Nurse Midwives in ASL and English. CD. Digiterp and College of St. Catherine, 2005. Color/Signed/Voiced. 3rd floor, RG950 .B47 2005.
Counseling and Mental Health
*Counseling Deaf People: A Skill Training Series. Videocassettes (3). UCSF Center on Deafness, 1993. 60 min. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor, HV 2395.C628 1993 no. 1-3.
Analyze simulated counseling sessions from rehabilitation, college and mental helath settings and learn easy to apply techniques. Comes with a companion guide.
Duffy, K.. Interpreting in Mental Health Settings. Videcassette. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers, 1997. 50 mins. Voiced/Color/Signed. (4th floor, HV2402.I73 1997).
Comes with a companion manual.
Observe several realistic vignettes of challenging issues in the mental health setting. Learn from actual interpreters in these dramatic portrayals with an analytical discussion of each situation. Informative guidebook included. (Sign Enhancers web site
Mental Health Video Series. Videocassettes (3). Sign Enhancers, 1991. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor, HV 4999.D43M45 1991 no.1-3
The 1st video called "What is Therapy?" (25 mins.) describes types of therapies available to deaf and hard of hearing addicts and alcoholics. The 2nd video entitled, "Meeting the Challenge: Working with Deaf People in Recovery" (20 mins.) offers advice to service professionals, and the 3rd video entitled "I Can: Stories of Deaf and Hard of Hearing People in Recovery" (60 mins.) features 6 recovering addicts and alcoholics telling their stories.
Deaf Patients: A Communicative Aid. Videocassettes (4). Sign Enhancers, 1996. 480 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. 4th floor, HV2474 .D425 1996.
An instructional guide for American Sign language interpreters in the medical field. The set includes illustrated text, video text, and an workbook to assist the interpreter in being better prepared on a medical interpreting assignment.
Interpreting in Medical Settings. Videocassette. Sugar Grove, IL : Waubonsee Community College, 1991. (180 mins-2 videos.) Color/Signed/Captioned/Voiced. (ETRR only VIDEO 5115 A-B, C).
This is a three-hour teleclass with Marty Barnum and Sandra Gish. It presents issues of importance to interpreting in health care facilities, and special problems of medical interpreting. The last half hour is a question and answer period
Interpreting in Medical Settings. Videocassette. DawnPictures, 2002. 44 mins. Color/Voiced/Signed/Captioned. (4th floor, HV2402 .I57 2002).
See companion book.
Domestic and/or Sexual Violence
Anywhere, to Anyone. Videocassette. Austin, TX : Orchard Communications. 17 mins. Color/Signed. 4th floor, HV6626.7 .A59 2000.
Dramatization of abuse of deaf women. Examples include a wife of a superintendent of a deaf school, a pregnant unwed woman, college educated successful deaf couple, and a housewife with a hearing husband.
*The Grey Area: His Date/Her Rape. Videocassette. Rochester, NY : NTID/RIT, 1993. 32 mins. Captioned/Signed/Color. 4th floor, HV6558|.G74 1993. (Also available at ETC).
This video clarifies, educates, and offers strategies to young deaf women and men to help ensure communication and control in dating and other social situations. Deaf actors, using American Sign Language (ASL), sensitively and dramatically portray the realistic story lines as narrators candidly review the action and ask questions that will prompt important discussions
*Me Too! Videocassette. ASADV, 2003. 78 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 3rd floor, RC560.S44 M4 2003.
Monologues show a wide range of sexual abuse and relationships in violent situations--from victims, children of abuse, abusers, to survivors. The gift (topic: sexual abuse) -- Soap (topic: incest) -- Mail time (topic: battered wife syndrome) -- To Mrs. JKW (topic: domestic violence, DV) -- Pop (topic: molestation) -- Leave your mark (topic: sexual assault) -- Confession (topic: sex addiction) -- It's nothin' (topic: sexual harassment) -- Head me (topic: date rape) -- Monkey in the middle (topic: CODA of DV) -- Matchbox (topic: DCODA of DV) -- You are never alone (topic: stalking).
What Would You Do?: Making Decisions : A Survival Guide for Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Students. Videocassette. HiP Pub. Group, 2002. 15 mins. Color/Signed/Captioned. 4th floor, HM1166 .W5 2002.
Contains 8 common conflict resolution scenarios involving the personal safety and mental well being of young deaf and hard-of-hearing people. Topics include substance abuse, feeling left out, trust, misunderstandings, communication, and conflicts with parents.
Internal Discussions: An Appointment in Gastroenterology. CD-ROM. Digiterp and College of St. Catherine, 2003. Color/Signed/Voiced. 3rd floor, RC801.I57 2003.
This CD is designed as a follow-up to STOMACH THIS! and represents an opportunity to apply understanding of the digestive system’s anatomy to interpreting an interaction in a clinical setting. In it, a Deaf patient goes for an appointment in gastroenterology and learns she must have two procedures. The CD provides a systematic approach to dealing with a medical interaction, providing internet resources for preparation; formats for working both consecutively and simultaneously, as well as the chance to observe the actual interpretation created during filming. All of the video is fully accessible, including captions and transcripts, and is designed for use by both hearing and Deaf interpreters. In addition, a study packet is underway to allow interpreters to work with this CD and STOMACH THIS! to earn RID CEUs.
Stomach This: The Digestive System in ASL and English. CD-ROM. Digiterp and College of St. Catherine, 2002. Color/Signed/Voiced. 3rd floor, QM301 .S76 2002.
This CD, produced by Todd Tourville, represents a coordinated effort to bring technical information from a college level-setting to working interpreters and ITP students. On the CD-ROM, you will see a digestive system lecture presented by Paul Buttenhoff, an Assistant Professor at the College of St. Catherine and Cara Barnett, a Deaf Instructor with the University of Minnesota's ASL program. The lectures cover the same material and are excellent tools for interpreters and students to use when working to improve their receptive and expressive skills. In addition, the CD contains short warmup lectures by both presenters, transcripts of the English lectures, outline notes from the ASL lectures, and materials for preparation, such as a list of specialized vocabulary, a diagram of the digestive system, and links to the internet for further research.
Health Care Directives: A Do-it-Yourself Workshop Manual & ASL Videotape for Deaf Communities. DVD (46 mins).& CD-ROM. Deaf Hospice Education & Volunteer Project, Minnesota Deaf Community, 2004. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. OVER 4th floor HV2395 .D6 2004.
CD-ROM contents: Sample letters (3) -- Sample flyer -- Health care directive booklet. Companion book.
Interpreting Technical Material: Genetics. Videocassette. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University, 2001. 75 mins. Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor, HV2402.I585 2001.
Includes a pamphlet.
Medical Sign Language Video. Videocassette. CerforMedia, 2003. 152 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (3rd floor, R123 .M435 2003).
My Body, My Responsibility: A Health Education Video for Deaf Women. Videocassette. University of Rochester, 2003. 62 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 3rd floor, RA778 .M8 2003.
Follows two young women who have health care concerns. One visits her primary care physician and, with the assistance of a sign language interpreter, discusses the physical changes associated with puberty, pregnancy and labor, and health habits such as breast self-examination, pregnancy, and STD prevention. The other visits a deaf gynecologist who explains the ob-gyn exam, and more about STDs and pregnancy prevention.