Videos are located on the 3rd and 4th floors and may be borrowed for up to 3 weeks. There are tvs, vcrs and captioning available at MRC, basement of the library. Students may view videos there. See link http://www.ntid.rit.edu/DRFF/About.htm
9/11: Fear in Silence. Ann Marie Bryant, 2005. 8 mins. Color/Signed/Captioned.
Documentary trailer based on stories by Deaf and HH civilians who witnessed and survived the horror of the September 11 attacks at the WTC.
Absence. Catherine Elliot. 5 mins. Color/ Signed/Captioned. (Archives, 3rd floor).
In BSL with English subtitles. The film combines live action and animation to share the experiences of deaf people.
Alice and the Aurifactor. Jorg Fockele. 15 mins. B&W/Signed. (3rd floor PN1995.91.G47 A553 1995 and Archives, 3rd floor).
Signed (German sign language), with title cards in German with English subtitles.
A deaf girl, Alice, enters the world of bedtime stories to face an evil sorcerer who is oppressing a land of deaf people by turning deaf people into mutated hearing beings.
Asramu Ku. Leon Lim. 11 mins. Color/Signed. (Archives, 3rd floor).
Maylasian Sign Language and English subtitles at end. A deaf man reflects on his dormitory struggles when he attends class reunion.
Audism Unveiled. H-Dirken L. Bauman, Ben Bahan and Facundo Montenegro. Color/Signed.
While the term audism may be relatively new, what it refers to - the discrimination of Deaf and HH people - has been occuring for centuries. This documentary explores the experiences of audism in the lives of Deaf and HH people.
Chronic Embarrassment. Sam Dore. 8 mins. Color/Signed/Captioned/Voiced. (Archives, 3rd floor).
British Sign Language. Three hip Briton clubbers swap tales of night-time interactions with the hearing world.
Cigar 101. Tracey Salaway. 1 min. Color/Silent. (Archives, 3rd floor).
This silent short shows a Cuban cigar man in Ybor City, Tampa, Florida. The soundtrack "Old Woman Tampa" was composed and produced by the film-maker.
Deaf Noir. 14 mins. In ASL and Croatian Sign Language with English captions. (Archives, 3rd floor).
Filmed in the noir style, this short features an uptight accountant, a drunk, Croatians and madness!
Deaf Northwest. Irene Taylor Brodsky. 25 mins. ASL with English captions. (Archives, 3rd floor).
This is about a small deaf community living outside of Portland, Oregon in the country's only assistive living facility exclusively for deaf and deaf blind adults The short explores the need for effective communication for deaf and deaf-blind persons as they age.
Deafplanet.com. Mark Bishop, Matt Hornburg, Joanne Cripps and Anita Small. 6 mins. per episode. ASL, Spoken English and English captions. (3rd floor, PN1992.8.S33 D43 2004 and Archives, 3rd floor).
Max is a hearing boy who accidently crashes his rocket ship on Deaf Planet, a world where everyone is deaf. We follow Max on his many learning adventures on Deaf Planet. Disc 1: To air is human -- The clever lever -- The itch -- Muscle mania -- "Lightning" the load -- Math-O-Matic -- Max overdrive -- I'm stuck on you -- Heat -- The silent giant -- Disc 2: Bad vibrations -- Reflex effects -- What goes up must come down -- bonus material: web interactive -- animal facts -- slide shows -- behind the signs -- special effects
Dear Frankie.142 mins. Spoken English and English captions. (3rd floor, PN1997 .D42 2005 and Archives, 3rd floor).
To spare the feelings of her fatherless boy, Lizzie secretly authors letters from his "father" recounting seafaring adventures around the world. Torn between exposing the truth and protecting her son, Lizzie hires a handsome stranger to play the role of a father and gets more than anyone bargained for
Dis?ABLE. Louis Neethling. 10 mins. BSL and English captions. (Archives, 3rd floor).
If you were given a chance to hear again, would you? During a party, a deaf person is given a chance to experience the harrowing reality of a world full of sounds.
Don't Mind. Patti Durr and Liz Sorkin. 12 mins. ASL and English captions. (Archives, 3rd floor).
Bill opens his home when he is unexpectedly asked to babysit a neighbor's daughter. The child invites chaos and confusion into his life and teaches him to laugh again.
Eclipse. Onisha Blagdon. 3 mins. No dialogue. (Archives, 3rd floor).
UCLA student film of the power of the sun and the moon and how love cannot be eclisped. Filmed in the silent movie style.
Fastest Hands in the West. Joseph Josselyn. 7.5 mins. ASL. (Archives, 3rd floor).
An ASL saga of cowboys telling their own stories with the fastest hands in the west.
Flying Fingers. Tracey Salaway. 7.5 mins. No dialogue. (3rd floor, TR897.7 .S35 2005 and Archives, 3rd floor).
A computer animated film about communication barriers, in both imaginary and real worlds.
Groei. Anja Hiddinga and Leendert Pot. 5 mins. Dutch Sign Language and English captions. (3rd floor, PT5881.15.M6 G76 2000z and Archives, 3rd floor).
This short is a creative blending of film image and a sign language poem. It produces a distinctive cinematographic design which evokes the similarities between the development of a human being and the seasons.
Hear No Evil. Amanda Mundin. 10 mins. BSL and English captions. (3rd floor PN1995.9.D35 H437 2002 and Archives, 3rd floor).
Dave is a bumbling electrician who stumbles into Aisha, a seemingly suicidal woman while on a routine call. Filled with pity, he decides he must save her. Is she the damsel in distress or is he the one in need of tender loving care?
Help Me. Kamau Buchanan. 12 mins. ASL and English captions. (Archives, 3rd floor).
A deaf man struggles with reality.
in/visible. Emily Jane Steinberg. 4 mins. ASL. (Archives, 3rd floor).
A visual video-poem which explores the beauty and expression of movement both in language and nature.
Ishara. Irene Taylor Brodsky. 32 mins. Nepali Sign Language with English captions. (4th floor, HV2855.9 .I74 1994).
Ishara is the sanskrit word for gesture or hand sign. Looks at the lives of deaf children in Nepal, exploring the hardships of daily life in a country where deafness is considered a result of karmic worth. Made in cooperation with UNICEF.
J & J Exterminators. Michael Freeman. 3 mins. No dialogue. http://www.studentfilms.com/film/get.do?id=604 (3rd floor, Archives).
Stubborn, gentle Jenna and world class exterminator, Justin, embark on a buggy job in the sunny suburbs.When a mutant cockroach wrecks havoc,
it's up to J & J Exterminators to clean up the mess.
Jack in the Box. Wonsuk Chung. 5 mins. No dialogue. (3rd floor, Archives).
Two women wonder what to do with a mysterious Jack in the Box.
The Leaf. Liz Sorkin. 2.5 mins. No dialogue. (3rd floor, Archives).
This short shows a day in the life of a leaf. Through its journey, we meet four people that the leaf comes across in its path.
The Lips. Liz Sorkin. 1 mins. No dialogue. (3rd floor, Archives).
As a deaf person, I grew up with hearing people who expected or assumed that every deaf person could lip-read. Even if they talk too fast, have a moustache or mumble, they assume we can lipread perfectly. True???
Little Hands. Katrine Talks, 2002. 16 mins. Color/Signed/Captioned. In Danish Sign Language and spoken English. (4th floor, HV2793 .T35 2002 and Archives, 3rd floor).
Little Hands offers a glimpse into the lives of a group of deaf children at a Danish 'fritidshjem,' a recreation centre where they meet after school. We follow their games and controversies in a place where they can communicate without barriers in their own language - Sign Language. Here, deafness ceases to be a disability and becomes part of the lively and vibrant world they belong to.
The Lost Reels. Matthew Humphreys. 5 mins. BSL. (4th floor, HV1597 .H86 2004 and Archives, 3rd floor).
Mervyn is deaf and has recently become blind. The lifecycle of a butterfly, memories, and the simple act of making a cup of tea are entwined to articulate Mervyn's experience.
Mother's Love. Bridget Klein. 8 mins. ASL. (3rd floor, Archives).
This short explore the meaning of family. It is a story of two mothers, one Deaf and one hearing, creating a loving family with a deaf child.
Mr. V. Wayne Betts, Jr. 3 mins. No dialogue. http://www.artofadambetts.com/wbjr/mrv/ (3rd floor, Archives).
The imagination gone wild.
Mysterious Alarm. 5 mins. ASL, minimal dialogue. (3rd floor, Archives).
Man gets strange wake-up call.
No Talking Allowed. Matt Daigle and Yoon Lee. 45 mins. ASL and English captions. (3rd floor PN1995.9.M27 N68 2003).
A frustrated painter is looking for a model he can paint. He goes through several models before making a requirement, No Talking Allowed. A struggling model thinks this is strange but goes along with it.
Overdue. Lauren Mauldin. 2 mins. No dialogue. (3rd floor, Archives)
A specific book has disappeared from the shelves of a library. Venturing into the library section on deafness, the main character finds that the shelves are filled, one after another, with rows and rows of audiological/pathological texts. The film concludes with a call to resistance.
Paper Airplane. Adrean Mangiardi. 14 mins. English subtitles. (3rd floor, Archives)
A deaf man's interpretation of sounds, family and identity.
RIT/Gallaudet Weekend. Liz Sorkin. 7.5 mins. ASL. English captions.(3rd floor, Archives).
This short is about the RIT/Gallaudet weekend tradition, its importance and why it should continue.. Why do people still participate? Is it the compettion? Is it just for social gatherings?
See(m)ing is Believing: Questioning What We Know. Shawn Broderick and Emily Steinberg. 4 mins. ASL. (3rd floor, Archives).
What happens to a concept when you build with moving images and not written words? Should we believe what we see? Or is seeing really just seeming?
Secret Love. 90 mins. German Sign Language, Spoken German, International Sign Language and English captions. (3rd floor, PN1995.9.D35 S75 2001 and Archives, 3rd floor).
Antonia is a deaf nun who works at a homeless shelter and journeys daily from the convent to the city by train. She encounters a deaf man, Mikas. These two, while different from each other, share an ease of communication that they don't share with others. This relationships opens up an exciting, new world for Antonia.
Soulmate. Ryan Commerson and Wayne Betts, Jr. 2 mins. No dialogue. (3rd floor, Archives).
The trappings of past love.
Text, Batteries and Earwax. Reid Brothers. 16 mins. BSL with English captions. (3rd floor, PN1995.9.D35 T49 2003 and 3rd floor Archives ).
Comical drama about the unlikely friendship between Lenny and Steve, two very different D/deaf men.
To Have, To Find. Susan Dupor. 5.5 mins. ASL and Signing Exact English. (3rd floor, Archives)
This hand animated short is the tale of a young Deaf girl's escape from reality with her dog Lucky. The film draws upon the artist's personal experiences.
Treetop Opera. Tracey Salaway. 2.5 mins. No dialogue. English captions for sound effects. (3rd floor, Archives)
Cicadas, the most amazing insects emerge from burrows in 17 year cycles and arrive to the treetop, especially males. They sing songs to attract females.
Tricks. Samuel Dore. 10 mins. BSL, Spoken English and English captions. (3rd floor, Archives).
Two different worlds clash as an arrogant film producerr meets a call girl with a difference.
Two Worlds Apart. Bernard Bragg. 20 mins. ASL. (3rd floor, Archives).
Bernard stars as a famous deaf philanthropist who may be hiding a dark secret.
What is Art? 10 mins. Emily Steinberg.(3rd floor, Archives).
This film may suggest an answer.
For more information contact: