Technical Intepreting and Sign Language Videos, DVDs and CDs

Videos are located on the 3rd and 4th floors and may be borrowed for up to 3 weeks. There are tvs, vcrs and captioning available at MRC, basement of the library. Students may view videos there. One * means it's available at ETRR, LBJ 3355. Two ** means it's available at ETRR and MRC, basement of library.

Dictionary
ASL Technical and Specialized Vocabulary Resource Dictionary.
2 CDs. Signs of Development, 2004. Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, HV2474.B35 2004).
David Bar-Tzur introduces these topics. Disc 1: Language -- Leisure -- Society -- Spirituality -- Disc 2: Mind and body -- Systematic thinking -- The applied sciences -- The hard sciences

Computers
Computer Vocabulary
. Videocassette. Wilmington, MA : Resource Power, 1994. Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, HV2475 C657 1994).
A video that helps you to understand the different parts of the computer and its vocabulary using American sign language.

Gigabyte Me: Interpreting Technology. CD-ROM. Signs of Development, 2004. Color/Signed/Captioned. (3rd floor, QA76.15 .G44 2004).
Educational and community interpreters will benefit from this workshop - it combines vocabulary specific to the computer field as well as stories to see the vocabulary in action. Jody is an entertaining presenter who is a native to ASL. The twenty application stories are also excellent ASL-to-English practice or to use for Discourse Mapping activities. Jody is not only an expert on technology issues but also an amazing language model!

Election
Views from the Voting Booth: Deaf Perspectives on the Importance of Voting. CD-ROM. Digiterp Communications, 2004. Color/Signed/Captioned. (4th floor, JK2160 .V43 2004).
Created to support voter education and registration drives, this CD features 20 perspectives on the importance of voting as well as information on the process of registering to vote. It also is an excellent tool for interpreters interested in looking at persuasive discourse in ASL. This resource includes written translations, the ability to play all of the perspectives in succession or as individual perspectives, English captioning of all video in sign language; and suggestions for interpreter education

Banking & Insurance
Money & Banking Sign Language Video
. Videocassette. CerforMedia, 2002. 190 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, HG151.3 .B365 2002).

*Interpreting in Insurance Settings. Videocassette. DawnPictures, 2002. 67 mins. Color/Voiced/Signed/Captioned. (4th floor, HV2402 .I565 2002). See companion book.

Science

How Can I Interpret It When I Don't Know What It Means? Classifiers and Wave Dynamics.CD-ROM. Signs of Development, 2004. Color/Signed/Captioned. (3rd floor, QC174.2.H69 2004).
David Bar-Tzur looks at the specific field of Physics with a focus on using Classifiers to convey technical information. This workshop provides an opportunity for Deaf interpreters as well to practice working from David's interpretation of the material. There are also English lectures on the material for hearing interpreters to practice following David's description of terms, classifiers usage, and the concepts behind these technical topics. David follows this lecture on how best to interpret it with an unrehearsed interpretation of the material.This workshop is great for Interpreters working in education and Deaf consumers taking classes are typically confronted with specialized vocabulary of complex topics. With limited exposure to Deaf adults or the subject matter, this can be one of the more problematic and frustrating areas for interpreters and consumers in every discipline but especially education.

How Can I Interpret It When I Don't Know What It Means? Chemical Reactions. CD-ROM. Signs of Development, 2004. Color/Signed/Captioned. (3rd floor, QD40.H69 2004).
Three lectures are given in English about (1) elements and compounds, (2) molecules and reactions and (3) stoichiometry.For each part there are three other sections: (1) Signs, Classifiers, Negotiated signs are discussed, (2) The participant then interprets the same lecture as in step 1 and (3) The author models how to interpret this same lecture.

Interpreting Technical Material: Genetics. Videocassette. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University, 2001. 75 mins. Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor, HV2402.I585 2001.
Includes a pamphlet.

Statistics and Mathematical Concepts
ASL Sign Terms for Statistics. CD-ROM. Signs of Development, 2002. Color/Signed/Captioned. (3rd floor, QA276.14 .A75 2002).
Ever taken statistics? The content of the class can be quite complex with foreign terms and those that are synonyms for words used daily such as "population" and "error" but which have a very different meaning in Statistics. This wwworkshop will give you a brief overview of some of the more common terms found in statistics to assist you in making your interpretations more conceptually accurate.

How Can I Interpret It When I Don't Know What It Means? Calculus. CD-ROM.. Signs of Development, 2004. Color/Signed/Captioned. (3rd floor,  QA303.3.H69 2004).
David Bar-Tzur looks at the specific field of Calculus and provides an English lecture on the material, discusses that material and how best to interpret it, and then provides an interpretation of the material unrehearsed. This workshop is great for Interpreters working in education and Deaf consumers taking classes are typically confronted with specialized vocabulary of complex topics. With limited exposure to Deaf adults or the subject matter, this can be one of the more problematic and frustrating areas for interpreters and consumers in every discipline but especially education. This workshop will provide a framework for negotiating unknown terms in Calculus, preparation, resources, and some hands-on practice working with complex texts.

Interpreting Math After 1 + 1=2, What Do I Do? 2 CDs. Signs of Development, 2003. Color/Signed/Captioned. (3rd floor, QA11.5 .I68 2003  disc 1-2 ).
Chris Kurz is the presenter. Interpreting mathematics concepts can be quite challenging for interpreters at all levels. This discipline of interpreting requires a working knowledge in order to convey the complexities of the subject conceptually. This workshop will provide an overview of many of the most common mathematics concepts as well as a look at interpreting at all levels of the educational spectrum.

Mirrored Math: Five Parallel Math Lessons in ASL and English
. CD-ROM. Digiterp and College of St. Catherine, 2002. Color/Signed. (3rd floor, QA155.M57 2002).
This CD-ROM includes five advanced Algebra lessons taught in American Sign Language by Steven Fuerst, a high school math teacher at the Wisconsin School for the Deaf and Harv Schuldt, a retired high school math teacher from Faribault, MN. The CD has five lesson plans, with a place on each for the user to access Steve’s and Harv’s respective lessons. It is an excellent tool to use when wanting to develop ASL to English and English to ASL skills in the area of advanced mathematics.

Technical Topics

Negotiating Technical Topics. CD-ROM. Signs of Development, 2004. Color/Signed/Captioned. (4th floor, HV2474 .B357 2004).
A WWW workshop designed for the training and development of sign language interpreters. This program teaches the signs for various specialized and technical topics, including topics in the fields of science, math, religion, language, spirituality, leisure, and society.

For more information contact:
Joan Naturale
Deaf, Disability and Education Librarian
Deafness News and Resources
jxnwml@rit.edu
IM me at ntidlibrarian
Videophone IP: 129.21.179.36 (D-Link)