Who Represents You?
Quick Guide to Local/State/U.S. Officials
The following is a listing of Sources for government officials, representatives,
and staff at the various levels of government. Also, sources for representatives
of government-related institutions, agencies and groups. Sources are annotated
to indicate the type of material included.
MONROE COUNTY/ROCHESTER
REF JS451.N79M6 & online
Monroe County Directory.
Monroe County Legislature, N.Y. Annual. Gives listings of Town officials, County
legislators, Boards and Commissions.
REF JS344.C5A24
Municipal Yearbook. International City Managers Association. Annual.
Gives County and City officials for cities of 2500 or more.
REFJK3430.W48 & online
Who Represents You, a
Guide to Your Elected Officials. League of Women Voters, Rochester,
N.Y. Annual. Gives name, address and phone number of Monroe County, U.S., N.Y.S.,
Rochester, Town and Village representatives for Monroe County voters.
NEW YORK STATE
REF JK3430.N5 & online
New York Red Book. Biennial.
Gives pictures and biographies of N.Y. State Senators and Assemblymen, Judiciary,
and State Departments. Also includes N. Y. Commissions, Authorities and Agencies,
US Senators, Members of Congress and the U.S. District Courts for New York.
REF JK3430.N46
New York State Directory. Annual. Lists N.Y. State committees, agencies,
and political action groups by policy area. Includes representative listings
for NY county, state and federal government.
ALL STATES
REF JK2403.B6 & suppl. 1-3
Book of the States. Council
of State Governments. Annual. Presents textual discussions of current issues.
Directories are supplements. Suppl. 1 - State Elective Officials and Legislatures.
Suppl. 2 - State Legislative Leadership, Committees, and Staff. Suppl. 3 - State
Administrative Officials Classified by Function. The CSG website has links to
the official webpages of each state.
UNITED STATES
REF JK1012.A44
Almanac of
American Politics. National Journal. Biennial. Gives pictures, biographical
and career information on Senators and Representatives. Includes District maps.
REF F192.5.C365
Capital Source. National Journal. Semi-annual. Who's Who, What, Where
in Washington.
REF JK1341.C63
Congressional Districts in the 1990's. Congressional Quarterly. 1993.
Best source for maps of State Congressional Districts.
QUICK JK1012.C65
Congressional Staff Directory. Congressional Staff Directory. Annual.
Gives home and D.C. addresses, career biographies, and Committee memberships
for Senators/Representatives. Gives staff listings, including biographical profiles
of key staff personnel. District descriptions include a listing of component
cities/counties with a separate listing of cities and their corresponding Congressional
District number.
REF JK 1.C14
CQ Guide to Current American Government. Spring issue after election year.
Gives complete election results.
REF JK1011.C6
Congressional Directory. U.S. Congress. Biennial. Gives Senator's and
Representative's home and D.C. addresses, staff, biographies and Committee memberships.
REF JK723.E9 .F43
Federal Staff Directory. Congressional Staff Directory. Annual. Gives
White House, Cabinet Depts, and Independent and Quasi-Official Agencies staff
listings, including biographical profiles of key staff personnel.
REF JK1010.P64 & CD version
Politics in America: Members of Congress in Washington and at Home. Congressional
Quarterly. Biennial. Information on Senators & Representatives in D.C. &
at home, including pictures & statistical data.
REF F192.3.W33.
Washington Information Directory. Congressional Quarterly. Annual.
Organized by subject. Includes Congressional Committees, administrative
agencies, national and international organizations, research groups, professional
and business groups, political parties, and political action groups.
REF F192.5.W3
Washington (year of publ.), A Comprehensive Directory of the Key Institutions
and Leaders of the National Capital Area. Columbia Books. Annual. Organized
by subject.
Between the publication of editions of the above sources, new appointees and
election changes are listed in the following sources:
REF KF62.A3W44
U.S. Code, Congressional & Administrative News. West Publishing Company.
Semi-monthly pamphlets.
REF JK1.C15
Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report. CQ. Weekly. Articles on election
results.
Maintained by Linda Coppola
|