Introduction to EndNote 7
EndNote is a reference or citation database that stores, manages, and searches
for bibliographic references. EndNote builds lists of cited works. The citations
can be inserted into word documents, such as, MS Word or Word Perfect, and can
be formatted into any citation style desired. It is not platform dependent;
EndNote works well on PCs & Macs.
Wallace Library has EndNote installed on the Research Zone computers (1st floor) and the VIA area computers
(2nd floor) and in the BibLab located on the 3rd floor.
What is covered in this tutorial?
Basic to intermediate Endnote skills are covered. For further explanations
of Endnote features, please refer to the EndNote guide and tipsheets available at the product's website.
Getting Started – viewing an existing EndNote library & having “write
access.”
Go to: Start menu -> Programs -> Endnote ->. When Endnote
launches, select open an existing Endnote Library. (this is EndNote’s default library showing you how and Endnote Library is set up) OR select create a new Endnote Library to save your citations.
Library Window
defaults to author’s surname, year of publication, title of work. It can
be customized in the Preferences’ area under the Edit menu ->
display fields.
show preview / hide preview button – shows / hides complete citation that
is highlighted
click on author, title, & year headings to alphabetize or numerically
order by year
double click citation in list to edit citation – EndNote automatically saves
changes
How to add citations / references
type citation / reference into EndNote by going to the References menu
choose New – once in the New citation form, choose Reference
Type
author names may be entered 2 ways:
- first middle last
- last, first middle
individual authors are listed one per line
red type denotes a new author to citation list
navigate citation form by using tab key
To search for citations / references in the Library window
go to Reference menu -> choose Search option
try a search: type the keyword, extinction, into the first
empty box below the first Any Field box
check the And radio button -> in the second Any Field box,
type in 1990 -> change Any Field to Year -> in the Contains
field, change to Is greater than or equal to. The keyword search is
for any records that relate to extinction and are published from
1990 to present.
Output styles under Edit menu –> default is: Annotated
you can Print, Export (under File menu) to disk (locate
a:// drive in Save In box) – the annotation includes contents
of abstract field & citation.
Cite While You Write - formats bibliography & citations – must have
document & EndNote open at the same time
open an example: go to Word File menu -> click on Open
-> choose c:// drive -> Program Files -> Endnote folder
-> open Examples folder -> open paleo word document
you will see citations that are delimited – ie, EndNote formatted
– they will not look like this in the final paper
Inserting an in-text citation
place the cursor where you want the in-text citation to go, leaving
a space after the prior character. Go to Tools menu in Word
-> EndNote -> Find Citation -> in the Search
For box, type in author, title, year, or keywords to locate citation(s)
highlight citation, click on Insert. To update References/Bibliography,
click on Tools menu and then on Format Bibliography. Save
document.
to change style, click on Tools menu and then on Format Bibliography
and pick a different style.
Changing / Choosing Citation Style
go to File menu in EndNote -> Output Styles -> Open
Style Manager – check desired style and close windows. Go back to Output
Styles & check next to the desired style. EndNote will automatically
update your bibliography in the new style.
click on Edit button in Style Manager to fine tune the bibliography’s
features
in the Cite While You Write menu, Format Bibliography also
provides bibliography output options
Creating your own EndNote library - recommendation: have only one library
from EndNote’s File menu, choose Newname and Save your
library name – choose location where to save – EndNote will automatically
add its extension, .enl
your default library can be set to automatically open when EndNote is launched
– open library or libraries you want to automatically open: go to Edit
menu under Libraries.
OR open your library when you launch EndNote by going to File menu
under Open.
get an error message? Repair your files by closing the Library-go to Tools
menu under Recover Library. Endnote creates a new, repaired
library with the suffix, Saved.
save your library by using a floppy or zip disk
Adding citations/references to your library
manually
by using remote databases
from previously downloaded online databases
use Save a Copy command under File menu to save to disk
Manually
go to References menu, click on New
choose Reference Type-you can change this at any time during the
input process
enter raw data into each of the fields – leave formatting to Endnote
close reference-it automatically saves
copy & paste – copy text and use the Paste with Text Styles command
in the Edit menu – you will then paste uniform fonts & styles
drag & drop text within a citation/reference or between libraries
Using remote databases – 3 choices:
Connect from Tools menu -> select a university/college
library catalog -> RIT -> search box appears -> type in
search terms and click on Perform Search. Copy All References To
button inserts citations in designated library. The Connect function
will only work (with few exceptions) with library catalogs.
Copy & Paste into Reference Form -> for any database that does
not automatically import citations into a Endnote Library -> Einstein,
Wallace’s online catalog at: http://wally.rit.edu
-> perform search –> mark record boxes of those to be exported –>
Save Marked Records ->click on Export Saved List -> choose
Endnote -> e-mail records – citations will have to be copy &
pasted into a new Reference form.
Direct import from database -> Article First (all FirstSearch
databases work) http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/firstsearch/fs.html
-> check record boxes-> List of Records-> choose Article First
filter -> imported titles will be listed in designated library. OR
try ABI Inform http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/abi/abiweb.html
Perform search via Search Methods box -> mark record boxes ->
Marked Lists -> Export -> Export Directly ->
Click on Examples -> Highlight library -> Open.
All databases with this feature will vary somewhat in the process of saving
and exporting records. Read the help screens…!
After practicing this tutorial, you will be ready to learn more advanced techniques
in managing your EndNote library.
maintained by Marianne Buehler
|